The Postmortal: A Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$19.19
Qty:1
  • List Price: $29.99
  • Save: $10.80 (36%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
The Postmortal: A Novel has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Postmortal: A Novel MP3 CD – Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
MP3 CD, Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged
"Please retry"
$19.19
$18.14 $18.30

20 Popular Fiction Books Under $10
Take a journey, go back in time, or discover the deepest truth with this selection of literature and fiction books now under $10 each for a limited time. Learn more
$19.19 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"A must-read for fans of postmodern dystopia in the vein of Margaret Atwood, Chuck Palahniuk, and Neil Gaiman" ---Library Journal

About the Author

Drew Magary is a writer for Deadspin, NBC, and Maxim. His first book, Men with Balls, was released in 2008. The Postmortal is his first novel.

Johnny Heller has narrated some five hundred books and garnered a bunch of swell awards and accolades, including Publishers Weekly Listen-Up Awards, Audie Awards and nominations, AudioFile Earphones Awards, and selection as one of AudioFile magazine's Top Fifty Narrators of the Twentieth Century.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • MP3 CD
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio; MP3 - Unabridged CD edition (December 5, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1452655324
  • ISBN-13: 978-1452655321
  • Product Dimensions: 5.3 x 0.6 x 7.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 3.3 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (135 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #4,415,095 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

51 of 57 people found the following review helpful By TChris TOP 100 REVIEWER on August 30, 2011
Format: Paperback
In 2019, the "cure for aging" -- gene therapy -- is legal in only four countries, but immortality can be purchased on the black market. The issue is divisive: gene therapy's opponents use terrorist tactics to attack the black market while protests in favor of legalizing the cure turn ugly. The desire to cheat death ultimately triumphs.

John Farrell takes the cure without devoting much thought to its downside: If you stop aging, retirement isn't an option and you can forget about social security. If your parents don't die, you don't inherit. If you live forever, you never experience eternal respite from annoying relatives and politicians, it's less easy to ignore future threats like global warming, and the escape clause from your marital vows -- until death do us part -- becomes a nullity. Couples often say they marry so they can grow old together. Would they bother with marriage if eternal youth made possible an eternal choice of partners? On a more serious note, the pressures of overpopulation would dramatically increase the already unsustainable consumption of finite resources, a predicament that would initially lead to hoarding, then to war, and ultimately to a barren planet.

Beginning in 2019, Farrell blogs about the impact gene therapy has on his life and the world. The introduction to The Postmortal advises us that Farrell's text files are discovered in 2090. Through Farrell's eyes, we watch the escalating disaster: the rise of pro-death pressure, the burgeoning prison populations resulting from life sentences that last forever, the harsh measures China imposes to assure that its citizens forego the cure, the glorification of suicide, the fracturing of society.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
I love the premise of this book - in our world in the not-so-distant future, a cure for aging has been discovered. The President has banned it in the U.S., but it is available on the black market. John Farrell, a bit of an Everyman who happens to be a divorce lawyer, has a connection and decides to take The Cure.

Initially, mayhem and madness ensue, in the best possible ways. John's future world is one of snarkiness, dark gallows humor, Shocking Revelations, and more than a few unexpected twists and turns. At least, it is in the first handful of chapters. After that, well, it becomes a lot darker and the gallows humor becomes more gallows and less humor. Random acts of violence, bitterness, resentment, ennui, and the decline of all forms of faith, hope and love are apparently the name of the game in the future. If we really are in for that kind of future, I am in no rush to sign up - let alone to extend my stay with a late check-out.

In other words, eek, she said.

The book started out terrifically, laugh-out-loud funny. And then shifted, on a dime, to horrifically, cry-out-loud depressing.

The subject matter is heavy - I get it. Issues of resource management, over-population, who "deserves" to be kept alive, and our obligations to one another in society are weighty topics. So is the concept of death. They deserve to be treated with respect - although I'm also fairly certain that they deserve to be treated with mockery and sarcasm because we don't want to take ourselves too seriously, now do we?

There are a lot of take-home platitudinous messages in the book because of the weight of the topics covered. "Be careful what you wish for" is, obviously, prime among them.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Avid Reader Michelle on August 11, 2012
Format: Paperback
Like other reviewers, I've read a lot of Magary's blog posts. He's generally pretty funny.

I picked up this book because it was sitting all lonely on the library shelf. I'm sure Magary had several people edit the book prior to publication. That's why the plot holes were just so glaring. The worst? When The Most Boring Killer on Earth, John, is given a job to kill some nice suburban lady with a dog because she's just old and needs to go. This is the moment when John sort of develops a conscience although he's still lacking a personality. That portion of the story just doesn't hold up. It makes absolutely no sense that the government would order the "involuntary end" of suburban dog lady while allowing the roadsides to be inhabited by cesspools of humanity that would be much easier, and wiser to ...end. To even get to dog lady's house, John has to drive through and by hordes of homeless. Why would the government not just order their deaths instead of inoffensive dog lady? No, it has to be dog lady because that cute dog might just cause John to grow a feeling.

I guess there had to be ridiculous contrived plot twists to drive the story because the personality of the main character certainly couldn't.

Also, reading the phrase "impossible body" made me think Magary was actually channeling Peter King. Does he not know what the word "impossible" means? I kept imaging that she had a body with six boobs, eight arms, nine eyes, three legs but only one foot. That's more of an impossible body than just some random personality-free hot chick with nice breasts.

I still cringe at memory of the final paragraph of the novel. I keep telling myself that Magary knew how bad that was and he just stuck it in there for irony. Right? Right?
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The Postmortal: A Novel
This item: The Postmortal: A Novel
Price: $19.19
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com