The Postmortal: A Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$24.05
Qty:1
  • List Price: $29.99
  • Save: $5.94 (20%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Postmortal: A Novel MP3 CD – Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
MP3 CD, Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged
"Please retry"
$24.05
$24.04 $24.48

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on the current pick, "Landline" by Rainbow Rowell.

Product Details

  • MP3 CD
  • Publisher: Tantor; MP3 - Unabridged CD edition (December 5, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1452655324
  • ISBN-13: 978-1452655321
  • Product Dimensions: 7.6 x 5.4 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 3.3 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (121 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,443,230 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"A must-read for fans of postmodern dystopia in the vein of Margaret Atwood, Chuck Palahniuk, and Neil Gaiman" ---Library Journal

About the Author

Drew Magary is a writer for Deadspin, NBC, and Maxim. His first book, Men with Balls, was released in 2008. The Postmortal is his first novel.

Johnny Heller has narrated some five hundred books and garnered a bunch of swell awards and accolades, including Publishers Weekly Listen-Up Awards, Audie Awards and nominations, AudioFile Earphones Awards, and selection as one of AudioFile magazine's Top 50 Narrators of the 20th Century.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

This book was wonderfully written and very imaginative.
M. Jordan
Sure, there wasn't likely a lot of ways to end it, but I just felt like this way was too predictable and far too expected.
Sam Eggleston
A very imaginative book that kept me guessing til the end.
Devek Von

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

44 of 50 people found the following review helpful By TChris TOP 100 REVIEWER on August 30, 2011
Format: Paperback
In 2019, the "cure for aging" -- gene therapy -- is legal in only four countries, but immortality can be purchased on the black market. The issue is divisive: gene therapy's opponents use terrorist tactics to attack the black market while protests in favor of legalizing the cure turn ugly. The desire to cheat death ultimately triumphs.

John Farrell takes the cure without devoting much thought to its downside: If you stop aging, retirement isn't an option and you can forget about social security. If your parents don't die, you don't inherit. If you live forever, you never experience eternal respite from annoying relatives and politicians, it's less easy to ignore future threats like global warming, and the escape clause from your marital vows -- until death do us part -- becomes a nullity. Couples often say they marry so they can grow old together. Would they bother with marriage if eternal youth made possible an eternal choice of partners? On a more serious note, the pressures of overpopulation would dramatically increase the already unsustainable consumption of finite resources, a predicament that would initially lead to hoarding, then to war, and ultimately to a barren planet.

Beginning in 2019, Farrell blogs about the impact gene therapy has on his life and the world. The introduction to The Postmortal advises us that Farrell's text files are discovered in 2090. Through Farrell's eyes, we watch the escalating disaster: the rise of pro-death pressure, the burgeoning prison populations resulting from life sentences that last forever, the harsh measures China imposes to assure that its citizens forego the cure, the glorification of suicide, the fracturing of society.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful By J. Olson on October 13, 2011
Format: Paperback
This book came to me with high recommendations, and was a moderate, if not major, disappointment. The idea is great- a cure for aging that will render humans immortal. There is a lot of potential in this topic for a book with amazing characters and deep philosophical exploration. This book offers neither. Instead, we get a somewhat hastily-thrown-together dystopian planet which is poorly developed, and we follow the story line of a vapid main character, who experiences many tragedies and adventures. They don't make much of an impression on him, and they don't make much of an impression on the reader either. None of the events or characters do, in fact. There are a few smart moments- such as a glimpse into what emergency rooms might look like twenty (or five) years from now, but with a concept this radical there could have been much more. This book might amaze you if you've never read Philip K. Dick books or any decent science fiction. But if you have, I think you're in for a letdown.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on April 6, 2013
Format: Paperback
This is a disturbing, depressing, compelling, captivating read. I have no experience with Magary's other writings. Perhaps that is why I found no humor in the book as other's have said they found. As I read this book, I kept thinking of Lord of the Flies.

The book begins with an account of the discovery of 60 years of John Farell's "text files" containing an account of his life and the world within which he lived. We are told that these materials are being presented as "incontrovertible evidence that the cure for aging must never again be legalized".

Farell describes his decision to seek the "cure" as an obsession: "I instantly wanted it more than I had ever wanted anything....It was a want. A hunger. A naked compulsion that was bullet proof to logic and reason."

The doctor who gives Farell the cure, describes the people who come to him as vane and obsessive:

"When people come through my door, the first and only thing they think about is, `Oh boy, I'm gonna live forever.' But they don't stop to consider what that means. They want to live forever, but they don't think about what they're going to have to live with. What they'll have to carry with them. And whether or not that's something they really, truly want."

The doctor also tells Farell he can never "die a natural, peaceful death". To which Farell responds.

"I don't think most people die natural, peaceful deaths," I said. "All the loved ones I've seen die have been sick, frail, and helpless. Undergoing chemo. Lying in hospitals. Soiling their beds. Two of my grandparents died alone, with no one to talk to. I don't think natural death offers much in the way of gentle relief. I think it's a slow, wrenching thing I'd like to try to get far, far away from.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By eyecore on November 30, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Three stars = average for the genre... and it seems fair for this book, though it certainly had potential to be GREAT. Part of the problem is the book doesn't know what it wants to be - at times, it seems like a full narration of what is happening. Other times, it's just some brief "news clips" and thoughts like what you'd see on a blog. And that part makes sense, since the intro to the book starts with:
"... Stored inside the device's hard drive was a digital library containing sixy years worth of text files written by a man who went by the screen name of John Farrell. The text files appear to have been written as posts for a blog or online journal. ..."

Okay, that makes sense, but only if the rest of the book follows, which it does not. And because of the way its written, the main character is perhaps the only one that is actually developed enough to where the reader knows much about, but he can be summed up as "an indifferent guy who doesn't know what he wants in life."

While the story does progress in a fashion that holds some attention (and honestly, is entertaining), world events happen almost completely without context. Suddenly bombs are going off, everyone is [...sorry, don't want to include spoilers..]...basically, there is very little knowledge of WHY things happen, they just start happening.

I don't doubt the author is talented, but I do doubt the intentions of this book - it would have been much more interesting and effective had it been a "story" rather than a bunch of disjointed "text files" (but it wasn't even that)...but it would have been a more difficult book to write as well.

The idea and parts of the book could've made it 5 stars - top of the crop for the genre. Unfortunately, its several flaws knock it down to about average. Worth reading if you're out of material, but not something to race and get above others.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?