Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars22
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 11, 2006
This book reminds me why it is so important to give positive feedback both in and out of the workplace. I read it on the plane while returning from a conference and had several people comment that the title looked intriquing. I regularly practice formal acknowledgement and feel I am skilled in that art form, but needed to improve my skills at face-to-face acknowledgement. Judith Ulmas has given me the encouragement (and techniques)to be unafraid to voice appreciation more readily. I plan to read it frequently.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2007
The Power of Acknowledgment.

Thank you for providing the tool, in one tome, to improve lives -- mine, yours, and those around us.

I've learned that everyone needs recognition, and voicing appreciation -- of accomplishments, talents, wisdom and humanity -- is one positive step. This practice truly helps transform.

Written simply and directly, sharing valuable professional and personal experiences, the book provides easy access to inspirational wisdom.

Merilee Kaufman
Actress/Poet/Vocalist
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2007
The Power of Acknowledgement is a direct, easy to read, and engaging book with a powerful and inspiring message. We rarely acknowledge what others do for us--but when we do--we all benefit. The act of acknowledgement is a powerful communicative tool, for the one who uses it and for the recipient. The author provides examples from everyday life that illustrate how the act of acknowledgement transforms our interactions with others and, in turn, transforms our relationship to ourselves. Simply inspiring!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2007
Our interactions with people are often transactions that mute emotion in their execution--we seem to lack the capacity to deliver beyond the scope of our transaction accepting completeness and moving in an uninspiring monotone to the next. "Consider all the people you meet up with everyday," Judith Umlas begins her book. She takes us through the consciousness of her interactions and spends time looking at these transactions asking us to take the control--to breath life into them recognizing the power of [and in] acknowledgement. Her wisdom imparts through an effortless cadence and style that makes this book a quick read as well as creating a moment of reflection as your eyes leave the last page. She finds that "you gain at least as much as--if not more than--the recipients, from giving acknowledgement." This book is well written with a practical approach to improving the art in human communication. I would recommend this book to everyone and hope that crossing cultural boundaries we find this text in as many languages we have in the world today. Thank you for a splendid moment in acknowledgement actualization--well done Judith Umlas!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2007
"The Power of Acknowledgement" is an opportunity to see in print what we, as managers, know is correct but so often forget in the day-to-day practice of our jobs. There is a large dose of what I would call "Common Sense" in this small volume, but it is refreshing to see it on the printed page and use it regularly to remind us how important each positive contribution made by every employee is to the corporate goal. It is all too easy to dismiss a minor success as something the corporation deserves from an employee rather than as a milestone in that particular employee's career development.
This book should sit on every manager's desk as an ongoing reminder that saying "thank you" for a job well done will open the door for future successes. Not acknowledging the effort is virtually sure to lead to disappointment and hamper future effort.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2007
In this powerful book, Judy provides seven principles of acknowledgment that, not only enrich the lives of those around us, but our own lives as well. This is not a book to read just once. This is a book to keep close at hand when ever we need to get out of our own ruts, to be reminded of this marvelous power that is in each of us. Even the raised printing on the cover is a little tactile gift from Judy that says, "This is for you, dear reader, because you care."
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2012
Reading this book was like a light bulb went off over my head...Acknowledgment is a powerful way to connect with people and build strong relationships...duh! It seems so obvious, but honestly this book jump starts you because as you read it you start thinking of one person after another who you want to acknowledge. And how bad it felt when you weren't acknowledged. It walks you through why you should deliver your heartfelt acknowledgments and stop being worried people will think you are cheesy or kissin' butt (so to speak.)

Honestly this books is like a guide to how to avoid relationship problems while all the other self-help books I have read deal with how to fix problems not avoid them. Also, it is the best mother's day gift ever...cause all my mom cries about is not being appreciated and this was a winner for fixing that.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2009
This book is the PERFECT gift for everyone in your life. Don't be fooled by its modest 109 page count, or 10.4 ounce size, because the weight of the content within is massive! How much does it cost, and how long would it take for someone to say, "Great job, I really appreciate your extra effort!" Little things mean a lot, and during difficult economic times in work environments where getting more for less has become a mantra, acknowledgment is one resource that will guarantee a return on investment with immeasurable benefits. Thank you Judy ~ for writing this amazing literary hallmark!

"Those who possess the courage to stand apart gain a rare perspective" and Judy has certainly done that with this book, her wonderful webinars, and dedication to educating the world with The Power of Acknowledgment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2007
An easy and pleasurable read. Such a simple concept that can change your life as well as those around you.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2007
Author Judith W. Umlas has written for "Working Woman" magazine, "The New York Times", and "The Chicago Tribune." In The Power of Acknowledgment, Umlas reveals the positive benefits of people acknowledging one another's accomplishments, talents, wisdom and humanity. Chapters discuss how to use the power of acknowledgment to build stronger relationships, neutralize jealousy and envy, improve one's emotional health, and much more. An invaluable guide to tapping into the simple strength of mutual affirmation and encouragement.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse