Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book on the "why" of concentration, less on the "how"
Why a book on concentration? Well, there are countless self-help books which just encourage you to pursue your desires, some of them with specific advices in some domains. However, the basis of all this is your innate power - and such books try to make you aware and get you to DO instead of thinking about it. This book isn't different in this regard, however, what is...
Published on May 30, 2006 by Adrian S.

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, rubbish publisher
Although the book is good, I agree with one of the other reviewers, the print is really bad. It looks like somebody has printed the book at home with a printer that has an empty ink cartridge.
Published on December 9, 2007 by dutch_lad


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book on the "why" of concentration, less on the "how", May 30, 2006
Why a book on concentration? Well, there are countless self-help books which just encourage you to pursue your desires, some of them with specific advices in some domains. However, the basis of all this is your innate power - and such books try to make you aware and get you to DO instead of thinking about it. This book isn't different in this regard, however, what is different is the explanation that the power to pursue your ideals comes from the power of concentration, for such pursue is the focusing of your bodily, emotional and mental abilities on doing that, a concentration power which can, needs and should be awakened through training. Concentration is of utmost importance, for without it becomes difficult to follow what such other books teach. This is an important lesson - master your mind and all the world is yours, and the way to get there is to train it. My comment - this is after all the purpose of such practices as yoga - mind control, your own mind, this is all that matters.

Most of this book deals with aspects on how concentration could help you every way of life, why you should do it, you are encouraged to go ahead, pursue your desires, enhance and strenghen your mind. Once you have made that decision, you will start to control your life, and maybe other people when you become skillfull enough. Opportunities don't come to us, we must seek them, not give up. The second part provides practical exercises on getting there gradually.

Books are good only to awaken you, to make you aware of your innate power. Look for good things, for you will get back what you offer. Positive thoughts attract positive outcomes, reverse is also true. My comment: this seems to be same as the Karmic law in Asian spiritual traditions.

If you want something, just go ahead and do it, for this is the only way to get it done, no one will help you until you start helping yourself. The greater the task, the greater your reward will be. The men that suceed don't have more talent, they have more will to pursue. Is your manager better than you? Do not give up; obstacles that can be here today, might not be here tomorrow, or some that aren't today will appear next month; but just keep on doing, and you will succeed. For sure, being afraid of obstacles is much more overwhelming than fighting them somehow, for the greatest thing to fear is fear.

Everyone is capable of some concentration, for without it wou would be unable to say or do anything - what is different is the duration of the concentration on some subject or thought. Don't take anyone's opinions about what you can do (by perservering) as granted - they don't know what you can do. The truth is, you don't know what you can do until you try it. When you say "I can't do it", you actually say "I won't try".

Will power is a better asset than money (this is an important lesson). The mind that cannot concentrate is weak; same for the mind which cannot draw itself from a subject or thought (e.g. thinking about work issues at home). Slowness in making decisions (this is me!!!) means weakness of will power.

When you eat, concentrate on eating, when you walk, concentrate on your walk, when you listen to music, concentrate on music, etc. Master all your daily minor activities, so that you are prepared and able to master your demeanor when important things happen in your life.

Control your body movements, for everything you do is controlled by your mind - before you move your arm, you think about it with your mind (focus a part of your mind on that thought). Learn to listen, not talk - listening is more difficult to master and much more rewarding. Control your talking, use it wisely, because it consumes some of your mental energy, which could be used toward accomplishing your ideal. My comment: there is a similar concept in Tibetan tradition, where "energy" and "speech" share the same word. Those that are impulsive, excited, or very emotional waste their mental energy. Everyone has the same power, but those who focus it on one or a very limited number of subjects are able to accomplish much more. Successful people don't do many things, but instead focus on only some - read their biographies. Try to cultivate friendship of people with character, at least until you are strong enough to not be influenced by others.

It is just as easy to surround your life with what you want as it is with what you don't want - it is to be decided by your will. What you have today is the result of what your will decided in the past. What you will have in the future depends on what you think and do now. Sure, it won't be an easy trip, but if you are confident and pursue it you will succeed.

Dumont talks about the benefits of powerful concentration in all walks of life: gives mental poise, can overcome bad habits (concentrating on its opposite), gets business results, provides the courage to do, gives you wealth and so on.

The second part of the book - the exercises - disappointed me somewhat. Maybe this means I didn't learn the lesson - answer is not reading more doing (cultivating the intellect), but doing exercises, cultivating the will, and pursuing my ideals. Still, there are probably enough exercises, ranging from controlling your body, your movements, going to focusing on some subjects. However, in my opinion they aren't that gradual, and actually he doesn't suggest a plan, and this is exactly where such book would have been more helpful. The book was published in 1913, and in this age, people need exact strategies.

Overall, this is a helpful book, and it has some interesting ideas, that's why I give it four stars (I wanted to give it three, for what I've explained just before). I would say the "why" part is much bigger than the "how" part, he actually says that you could make up your own concentration exercises and do something. This is an rather old book, so AFAIK it has no copyright, thus you can find it on the web.

One more thing: he says that in order to summarize books or articles in very few words, you need power of concentration. As you can see from the length of my reviews so far, I'm just a beginner :). Good luck with the concentration exercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basis of my Sucess, January 5, 2010
This review is from: The Power of Concentration (Paperback)
I found this book 40 years ago when I was a struggling teenager. Today I am a sucessful multi-millionaire.
If you are ready, this book is a roadmap to developing your powers. Best of all it gave me reasons, visions and understanding of what I was capable of, and exercises that developed my skills.
I recorded my notes on a cassette and listened over and over until I began to believe and achieve.
Today I was searching for a gift for my struggling grandson when the name I remember most as helping me over the top came to mind. Thank you Thermon Q Dumont.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teaches the importance of concentration for personal and business success, January 11, 2009
This review is from: The Power of Concentration (Paperback)
You all know times when you've thought of a great idea that you abandoned after you allowed negative thoughts to tear it to shreds. Or perhaps you began an important task but didn't complete it because you just couldn't keep focused. Maybe you've found it difficult succeeding in business or advancing in your career because of indecision, timidity, or lack of mental poise.

Dumont writes that the three reasons you cannot concentrate are 1) Deficiency of the motor centers; 2) An impulsive and emotional mind; and 3) An untrained mind. He teaches why concentration is so important and provides several exercises in improving concentration and will power.

"Success is assured when you are able to concentrate for you are then able to utilize for your good all constructive thoughts and shut out all destructive ones. It is of the greatest value to be able to think only that which will be beneficial."

The chapters are:

1. Concentration Finds the Way
2. The Self-Mastery: Self-Directing Power of Concentration
3. How to Gain what You Want through Concentration
4. Concentration: The Silent Force that Produces Results in All Business
5. How Concentrated Thought Links All Humanity Together
6. The Training of the Will to Do
7. The Concentrated Mental Demand
8. Concentration Gives Mental Poise
9. Concentration Can Overcome Bad Habits
10. Business Results Gained through Concentration
11. Concentrate on Courage
12. Concentrate on Wealth
13. You Can Concentrate, But Will You?
14. Art of Concentrating with Practical Exercise
15. Concentrate So You Will Not Forget
16. How Concentration Can Fulfill Your Desire
17. Ideals Develop by Concentration
18. Mental Control Through Concentration
19. Concentrated Will Development
20. Concentration Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teaches the importance of concentration for business and personal success, January 11, 2009
You all know times when you've thought of a great idea that you abandoned after you allowed negative thoughts to tear it to shreds. Or perhaps you began an important task but didn't complete it because you just couldn't keep focused. Maybe you've found it difficult succeeding in business or advancing in your career because of indecision, timidity, or lack of mental poise.

Dumont writes that the three reasons you cannot concentrate are 1) Deficiency of the motor centers; 2) An impulsive and emotional mind; and 3) An untrained mind. He teaches why concentration is so important and provides several exercises in improving concentration and will power.

"Success is assured when you are able to concentrate for you are then able to utilize for your good all constructive thoughts and shut out all destructive ones. It is of the greatest value to be able to think only that which will be beneficial."

The chapters are:

1. Concentration Finds the Way
2. The Self-Mastery: Self-Directing Power of Concentration
3. How to Gain what You Want through Concentration
4. Concentration: The Silent Force that Produces Results in All Business
5. How Concentrated Thought Links All Humanity Together
6. The Training of the Will to Do
7. The Concentrated Mental Demand
8. Concentration Gives Mental Poise
9. Concentration Can Overcome Bad Habits
10. Business Results Gained through Concentration
11. Concentrate on Courage
12. Concentrate on Wealth
13. You Can Concentrate, But Will You?
14. Art of Concentrating with Practical Exercise
15. Concentrate So You Will Not Forget
16. How Concentration Can Fulfill Your Desire
17. Ideals Develop by Concentration
18. Mental Control Through Concentration
19. Concentrated Will Development
20. Concentration Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing innovative thought and clarity, March 25, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Power of Concentration (Paperback)
This book outdoes several others I've read by leading authors (which I will not name). For nonfiction to grab me like this is incredible. That concentration accomplishes so much more than I ever suspected is a big surprise to me. Theron's approach would appeal to actors, leaders of any variety, spiritualists, psychologists and students, physicians, and anyone who seeks the path to intensive self-improvement.

But its title simplifies its scope, which encompasses poise, dynamism, leadership, mental power, and on and on. I believe this author has surpassed these other famous current authors, and because of his time period, I feel that he must have been enlightened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, August 28, 2006
This a an incredible book about improving your life and attitude. It is a must for anyone wanting to know what it takes to be successful. This is what sets the Wealthy apart from the other 90% of america.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teaches the importance of concentration for business and personal success, January 11, 2009
You all know times when you've thought of a great idea that you abandoned after you allowed negative thoughts to tear it to shreds. Or perhaps you began an important task but didn't complete it because you just couldn't keep focused. Maybe you've found it difficult succeeding in business or advancing in your career because of indecision, timidity, or lack of mental poise.

Dumont writes that the three reasons you cannot concentrate are 1) Deficiency of the motor centers; 2) An impulsive and emotional mind; and 3) An untrained mind. He teaches why concentration is so important and provides several exercises in improving concentration and will power.

"Success is assured when you are able to concentrate for you are then able to utilize for your good all constructive thoughts and shut out all destructive ones. It is of the greatest value to be able to think only that which will be beneficial."

The chapters are:

1. Concentration Finds the Way
2. The Self-Mastery: Self-Directing Power of Concentration
3. How to Gain what You Want through Concentration
4. Concentration: The Silent Force that Produces Results in All Business
5. How Concentrated Thought Links All Humanity Together
6. The Training of the Will to Do
7. The Concentrated Mental Demand
8. Concentration Gives Mental Poise
9. Concentration Can Overcome Bad Habits
10. Business Results Gained through Concentration
11. Concentrate on Courage
12. Concentrate on Wealth
13. You Can Concentrate, But Will You?
14. Art of Concentrating with Practical Exercise
15. Concentrate So You Will Not Forget
16. How Concentration Can Fulfill Your Desire
17. Ideals Develop by Concentration
18. Mental Control Through Concentration
19. Concentrated Will Development
20. Concentration Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Long before 'the Secret'., December 8, 2008
By 
D. Johnston (Kitchener, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After reading this book I could not help but identify a large number of similarities between it and the best selling phonom 'The Secret'. In short this book tells us that the power to do well and take control of our lives resides in our ability to properly focus our mental facilties and identifying our own shortcomings and then make a concious effort to deafeat them via sustained mental effort. While this may seem inate, it is a simple principal that is often difficult for people to apply to there own lives. In general this is a very good text which I believe is the precursor to the best selling 'The Secret'. Inspirational and satisfyling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, rubbish publisher, December 9, 2007
By 
Although the book is good, I agree with one of the other reviewers, the print is really bad. It looks like somebody has printed the book at home with a printer that has an empty ink cartridge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Author doesn't demonstrate good concentration skills, at least not when writing, December 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a book about concentration, but the author has difficulty with complete sentences and linking thoughts together. Because of this, the credibility of the book is called into question. I really wanted to learn more about concentration, but think I found the wrong book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Power of Concentration
The Power of Concentration by Theron Dumont (Paperback - October 26, 2007)
$18.99 $16.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.