Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Power of Integrity: Building a Life Without Compromise
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Eli Paperboy Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars11
5 star
91%
4 star
9%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The Prince of Deceipt is having a field day with modern people, even those who think they stand firm on God's word. MacArthur challenges us to carefully find out what we believe about God from His Word, (confession of faith), then live this confession without compromise, something the church has problems with.
Compromise translates into false confession and belief. MacArthur aids by first examinining the essentials to motivate one to find the true confession, then be a person of discernment, which is the true way to live without compromise.
Great advice throughout this work, e.g. "Growing in deeper knowledge of Christ is a lifelong process that will not be complete until we see our Lord face to face," and "Unity of faith is impossible unless it is built on the foundation of commonly held truth."
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2000
This is an excellent book to develop character and integrity. As we use fire to temper steel, our Lord uses trials to temper our character. The wisdom in this scripturally-sound book helps me respond to challenges by displaying the integrity which honors our Lord.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2015
This is a great book to remind us Christians on how to live a life according to the will of God. Pastor Macarthur writes brilliantly, as usual, about a theme that is forgotten in many so called christian churches. We must strive for holiness and this book searches the Bible in order to show us how should we live in this fallen world. Another great resource is JC Ryle's book "Holiness", that we can relate to this topic Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2007
Compromise is often labeled "the language of the devil." In practice, we usually picture something as dramatic as an adulteress relationship as the epitome of compromise. But most compromises are less obvious and just as dangerous. How many of the decisions we make on a daily basis involve even a hint of pride or selfishness? If we were to make every decision with intent on reflecting Christ's holiness, how different would our lives be from what they are now? The call from the scriptures is to become like Christ, and integrity in every aspect of our lives is an important aspect of that.

John MacArthur's The Power of Integrity provides an exploration of integrity what it looks like for the people of God to embody it. The first three chapters of the book deal with the definition and foundations of integrity. MacArthur argues that integrity of character is dependent upon union with Christ and integrity of doctrine, and that our "resources in this process are always God's Word and prayer. Through them you gain the mind of Christ (Col. 3:16)." (p21)

The second part of the book (chapters 4-6) look to various examples of integrity demonstrated in the Bible and in the lives of Christians. MacArthur explores the actions of Daniel and his friends while captive in Babylon, missionary Hudson Taylor, preacher Charles Spurgeon, and the Apostle Paul. All of these provide a clearer picture of how God's people can practically live out the integrity they are called to.

In the final chapters, MacArthur lays out the practice of integrity in the life of the believer. Instead of being passive or pietistic, we are to work with "fear and trembling" while utterly depending on God's work in our lives. We are to seek personal holiness in our through the various relationships in our lives and that leads to practical holiness that's displayed in love toward our Christian brethren as well as our enemies. At the end of the book is a helpful study guide for personal or group study and application.

In general, there's nothing new or original about this book. And there shouldn't be. The call to live a life of holiness as Christ is holy is ancient and yet we still fail at it. MacArthur merely takes these teachings and focuses our attention on them in a manner that is biblical and effectively practical. Among the many reasons for us to pursue integrity, one is that we live before a watching world. John MacArthur challenges us to look different from the world by living lives devoted to God without compromise. As the church continues to blend in with the watching world, books such as The Power of Integrity are necessary reminders of our responsibility to be work out our sanctification in this life.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2009
This is a good book that biblically describes a life of integrity - a life without compromise regarding biblical principles.

Integrity is consistent obedience to God and demonstrating the character of Christ throughout your life while living in a fallen world.

MacArthur starts by describing the essential elements of integrity. Then he moves on to providing biblical examples of people of integrity. Finally, he finishes the book by looking at practical ways to apply integrity in everyday life.

There is a study guide at the back of the book for each chapter. The study guide briefly summarizes the chapter and provides a few questions to answer regarding the information presented in the chapter. Finally, there are a couple of suggestions for prayer and ways to apply the truth examined in the chapter.

Overall, this is a good book to read about the biblical standard for integrity. Integrity is probably needed today more than ever.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 22, 2004
Dr. John MacArthur is simply not a preacher nor just a great teacher of the Word of God nor is he simply writing a book to make money. He actually lives what he writes. Few can honestly admit that today in the evangelical church as we watch so many pastors and teachers fall into sin. Dr. MacArthur will challenge you to holiness and give you a renewed hatred for sin in your own life.
Integrity is not just a word. It is vital to leadership. We have seen the power of falling into immorality in the lives of preachers, Presidents, and other prominent men and women but for the Christian, integrity is much more than a word but it is our very life. Be holy (1 Peter 1:15-16; 2:12).
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
I have read John MacArthur books in the past and I would rate this one near the top. It is a great book for a person who needs some motivation to build more integrity into their personal life. It's a self help book that provides tips and tremendous insight on how you can develop and maintain integrity in a world where this piece of character is lacking. Thank you, John, for another great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2012
I'm using this book with the College & Career group I teach. It's an excellent study that really explains the value and process of living a life with standards that are essential to God's Word and His character. We've really enjoyed this book. The way the chapters are divided make each section an easy read but weighted enough to inspire great discussion and instruction for spiritual growth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2015
great book for pastors
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2014
It came right on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.