Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I would adopt it if the course focused on business
While the authors of texts in basic statistics always claim to the contrary, there is a repetitive sameness to the books. Decades ago, general agreement was reached as to what topics should be covered in the class. Although the advances in technology have made performing computations much easier, that has not led to significant differences in content. Therefore, the only...
Published on October 17, 2004 by Charles Ashbacher

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bland and Dull
I am not quite sure why one would buy this. I know this is a textbook used for university, but I would not recommend this book if you are serious about learning the discipline of business statistics.

First of all, the most important reason: some of the answers in the back of the book are wrong. Have they heard of proofing? Shouldn't authors of textbooks be...
Published on February 15, 2009 by B. Hoffman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I would adopt it if the course focused on business, October 17, 2004
While the authors of texts in basic statistics always claim to the contrary, there is a repetitive sameness to the books. Decades ago, general agreement was reached as to what topics should be covered in the class. Although the advances in technology have made performing computations much easier, that has not led to significant differences in content. Therefore, the only factor that differentiates texts is the style of writing and the focus and quality of the applications.

This book is advertised as being focused on how statistics is used in business, and the authors are effectively consistent in using examples applied to business. Their worked examples are almost exclusively taken from business settings and are appropriate for the current topic. The exercises follow the same pattern, they are numerous and answers to the odd-numbered ones are included in an appendix. The style of writing is at the right level for the introductory student.

Another unique feature of the book is that it is the core for a total package that has seven additional supplementary chapters. These chapters are:

*) Statistics for Quality: Control and Capability.

*) Time Series Forecasting.

*) One-Way Analysis of Variance.

*) Two-Way Analysis of Variance.

*) Nonparametric Tests.

*) Logistic Regression.

*) Bootstrapping Methods and Permutation Tests.

The supplements are separate from the core book, if you are interested in using one of the supplementary chapters, you need buy only the ones you need. This is very sensible, as the core material is generally enough to fill any semester class.

Since the statistics course that I teach is for students from all backgrounds, I will not be adopting this text for the class. However, if it was focused on the business student, I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It got the job done, April 26, 2003
By A Customer
I thought this book sufficed, but wasn't fabulous. I strongly preferred Moore and McCabe's "Introduction to the Practice of Statistics" to this book, although it didn't have a business slant to it. Moore and McCabe are certainly the way to go, though, for stats, if you have a choice at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strongly recommended for college courses in business statistics, March 1, 2008
This review is from: The Practice of Business Statistics: Using Data for Decisions (Book & CD) (Hardcover)
I teach a college course in basic statistics at least once a year and for some time have used the book "The Basic Practice of Statistics" by one of the authors of this one. I have no intention of switching to this book, but I did examine it with the idea of determining if it would be appropriate for a course in basic statistics for business.
My conclusion is affirmative; there are a large number of worked examples that are applications of business scenarios. The discussions are clear, concise and there are a large number of associated diagrams, which are essential to the learning of statistics. I strongly recommend this book for courses in basic business statistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, September 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Practice of Business Statistics: Using Data for Decisions (Book & CD) (Hardcover)
The book was very interesting for business statistics class. The professor mentioned an error in the back of the book for an answer. I rate it a 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bland and Dull, February 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Practice of Business Statistics: Using Data for Decisions (Book & CD) (Hardcover)
I am not quite sure why one would buy this. I know this is a textbook used for university, but I would not recommend this book if you are serious about learning the discipline of business statistics.

First of all, the most important reason: some of the answers in the back of the book are wrong. Have they heard of proofing? Shouldn't authors of textbooks be sending these things around for people to look at them? I mean, seriously? Didn't you guys write the questions? If you can't answer your own questions, you shouldn't write a book on math...

Second, some of the book is laid out funny. I guess that is fine?

If you MUST get this book. Buy the 2nd edition so you can at least have the right answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy, and as expected, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Practice of Business Statistics: Using Data for Decisions (Book & CD) (Hardcover)
Book came shrink wrapped, and brand new as expected. It came in quick, and for textbooks, that is all you can ask for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, unless you are actually going to use it, November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Practice of Business Statistics: Using Data for Decisions (Book & CD) (Hardcover)
I had to get this book for my intro to Statictics class. We didn't use the book that often, so I can't tell you how well it is. My teacher only made us get it because he was one of the many author's of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good communication, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Practice of Business Statistics: Using Data for Decisions (Book & CD) (Hardcover)
The book is in great condition and it was inexpensive. It even came with practice exercises in a the program CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a Helpful Textbook, August 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Practice of Business Statistics: Using Data for Decisions (Book & CD) (Hardcover)
I had to buy this book for an entry-level Stats class. I had a bad teacher and looked to the book to be able to explain things. Its all gibberish! I had an A average in math for a lifetime before taking this class with this idiotic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, November 3, 2005
This book is so terrible I cannot even begin to describe it.

The format is unnatural and hard to get used to, especially if you're used to normal textbooks.

It introduces a few facts, but the examples are just not very good and then it gives you problems to try out and then that format continues througout the whole chapter, making the whole learning experince very odd and uneven. I found it very hard to focus on the material because of that problem.

The material is not hard to learn, if presented the right way, which this book does not do. I can't wait to sell it back.

If you want to get a real understanding of statistics and actually remember some of it, I would advise you to try another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Practice of Business Statistics:  Using Data for Decisions (Book & CD)
The Practice of Business Statistics: Using Data for Decisions (Book & CD) by Layth C. Alwan (Hardcover - February 15, 2008)
$167.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.