Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to the naysayers
Someone from another country once said, this book is no good for another country and gave it low ratings... Well, duh! U.S. law only applies to U.S. stuff. This book is by far one of the best guides on pre-foreclosures and should be considered as the beginner's guide for bank foreclosures. Also, when the title says 'distressed' real estate, it's not talking about bad...
Published on May 12, 2007 by Matt Parker

versus
239 of 260 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a let down
Having read the other reviews, I bought this book with high expectations. I was very disappointed. The book lacks details and contains too much cursory, trivial and anecdotal information. For example, the author explains that public records are listed in alphabetical, he gives great examples of which mobile office equipment to buy and describes over and over how...
Published on May 4, 2007 by Anthony Orapallo


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

239 of 260 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a let down, May 4, 2007
This review is from: The Pre-Foreclosure Property Investor's Kit: How to Make Money Buying Distressed Real Estate -- Before the Public Auction (Paperback)
Having read the other reviews, I bought this book with high expectations. I was very disappointed. The book lacks details and contains too much cursory, trivial and anecdotal information. For example, the author explains that public records are listed in alphabetical, he gives great examples of which mobile office equipment to buy and describes over and over how wonderful the internet is but glosses over important details like actual examples of what exactly you find in the public records and examples of how to determine if a deal is worthwhile or not. He talks about due diligence and that one should research the public records to get information from 50 different places. He even goes on to tell a story about a women who didn't do enough research and ended up with a $19,000 tax lien attached to her pre-foreclosure property. Again though, he never shows any examples or those records or HOW to use those records to determine if a deal is worthy or not. His step-by-step process is not detailed enough to put into practice without doing tons more research. The book seems unfocused and often times wanders away from the point. Overall not a very practical book but probably a pretty good buy if you know nothing about foreclosures, pre-foreclosures or home buying in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to the naysayers, May 12, 2007
This review is from: The Pre-Foreclosure Property Investor's Kit: How to Make Money Buying Distressed Real Estate -- Before the Public Auction (Paperback)
Someone from another country once said, this book is no good for another country and gave it low ratings... Well, duh! U.S. law only applies to U.S. stuff. This book is by far one of the best guides on pre-foreclosures and should be considered as the beginner's guide for bank foreclosures. Also, when the title says 'distressed' real estate, it's not talking about bad properties but rather properties with their mortgages no longer being paid.

The difference is important because distressed properties suggest run down stuff. When actually, a lot of preforeclosures are great houses and for one reason or another the owner no longer chose to pay for it.

Overall a good guide. Also on another note, I only buy books BY investors not marketing gurus or writers. Lucier is a REAL investor, with personal experience. Those are the type of authors you want to read from. Here are other books by REAL investors:

Profit by Investing in Real Estate Tax Liens: Earn Safe, Secured, and Fixed Returns Every Time by Loftis

Complete Guide to Real Estate Tax Liens and Foreclosure Deeds: Learn in 7 Days-Investing Without Losing Series by Sausa

FLIP: How to Find, Fix, and Sell Houses for Profit by Villani
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wealth of information, September 13, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Pre-Foreclosure Property Investor's Kit: How to Make Money Buying Distressed Real Estate -- Before the Public Auction (Paperback)
Foreclosure investing is all the rage nowadays, but Thomas Lucier tells you why you must get in during the PRE-FORECLOSURE phase to really make the big bucks. There's just too much competition for properties once they reach foreclosure.

The author suggests that you get to the properties before they reach foreclosure by doing your homework and locating the properties early. A letter writing campaign is his preferred method of contacting the foreclosees (is that a word???) and will follow up with subsequent letters should he not hear back from the homeowner.

In addition to step by step instructions for locating properties and acquiring them, Lucier gives a treasure trove of information which you can use along the way to help make your job easier. He includes literally hundreds of websites and even provides his email address to provide help to those who need it.

The book covers all the bases, however, it didn't leave me motivated. The author mentions all of the pitfalls and hard work required in this business and clearly doesn't try to mislead the reader into thinking it will be easy money. I appreciate the honesty, but must admit I won't be pursuing pre-foreclosures at this time. However, I haven't ruled it out for the future, and should I choose to do so, the book will serve as a great instructional manual in my quest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong elementary and intermediate advice, January 21, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pre-Foreclosure Property Investor's Kit: How to Make Money Buying Distressed Real Estate -- Before the Public Auction (Paperback)
OK, let's face it. Foreclosures in this country are going to be a serious issue in the next few years. And it will be no one's fault but the lenders who took on the added risk of investing in too many questionable loans, and the borrowers who had no idea what they were getting into.

Having invested in these properties, and being a real estate sales agent with investors looking for such properties, the search processes Thomas Luccier suggests to find these properties are good. I have been using them and a few others for several years now. His foreclosure letters are powerful...perhaps too intimidating. The spreadsheets are great, I have actually replaced a couple of mine with his!

Overall, I find the book usefull more so for a new investor, but valuable nonetheless even for experienced investors like myself. I'm sure I'll refer to it again in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a MUST HAVE for investors!!!!!!, August 2, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Pre-Foreclosure Property Investor's Kit: How to Make Money Buying Distressed Real Estate -- Before the Public Auction (Paperback)
I have bought at least 4 programs from so called "real estate gurus". I spent less than $20 and on Thomas Lucier's book and I got more out of his book then I did out of all 4 programs. His book is easy to read. He tells you exactly what to do, what not to do and why. He educates you about foreclosures and gives you several resources so you can do your own research. I'll be going to my first foreclosure appointment tomorrow evening. I'll go over the book again and plan on using all of the forms and checklists (the book is full of forms). He also answers his emails personally. I feel confident about my appointment I'm excited but not in the least bit nervous because I've read the Foreclosure Property Investor's Kit, and I know what to do step by step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pre-Foreclosure Investor Kit, December 11, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Pre-Foreclosure Property Investor's Kit: How to Make Money Buying Distressed Real Estate -- Before the Public Auction (Paperback)
A realistic guide to investing in the Pre-Foreclosure real estate market. For those who are looking for advice from a long time successful and honest investor without the "become a millionaire overnight" approach. Thomas Lucier walks a beginner through every conceivable step of purchasing and reselling a Pre-Foreclosure property, providing every last detail. This book is a wealth of information, strait to the point citing many internet sources, real life examples, sample letters, check lists, and even what to say while negotiating the terms of the purchase. It becomes clear to the reader from the beginning that the author has a vast knowledge of the topic and conducts a profitable business in an honest and ethical manner. Thomas outlines all that beginners must know to succeed, while highlighting the stumbling blocks that often cause them to fail. He is very systematic in his work and advises on how to take extra precaution to be absolutely certain that you have covered all your bases and do not get ripped off. Best of all he provides his personal email and phone number for you to contact him with questions. I sent him an email asking for his advice and he got back to me within a couple of hours on a Sunday afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page After Page of Useful Facts, July 9, 2006
This review is from: The Pre-Foreclosure Property Investor's Kit: How to Make Money Buying Distressed Real Estate -- Before the Public Auction (Paperback)
This is an extremely informative book focusing on buying property "pre-foreclosure". There are several helpful techniques and even more web site addresses to help the reader do the research required in making wise decisions. There is an entire page of foreclosure reporting services which inform subscribers when properties first enter the foreclosure process. Thomas also lists all sorts of public record sites, sites to locate people, demographic information sites and comparable sales data sites.

There is zero hype or motivational-make a fortune type rah-rah, it's simply page after page of facts. I love facts, and will jot down and even blog a bunch of the sites mentioned, to remember them and for easy access, but a little bit of pep talk would have been a good addition. Meaning a story mixed in about how the author or so-and-so made a great deal of money doing this may have given some the push needed.

By Kevin Kingston, author of: A 20,000% Gain in Real Estate: A True Story About the Ups and Downs From Wall Street to Real Estate Leading to Phenomenal Returns

And my blog is: The Real Estate Investors Blog
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book Rocks......Really, January 15, 2007
This review is from: The Pre-Foreclosure Property Investor's Kit: How to Make Money Buying Distressed Real Estate -- Before the Public Auction (Paperback)
This was my first great Pre-forclosure book I have read. It has all the details needed to put together a system to locate and purchase pre-forclosure properties....Fix them up and flip them or keep them as investment property. I really liked his straight forward...no bull approach to business. He tells it like it is. I have read several other books and they all gave me some information....and some outdated examples...but Mr. Lucier walks you through the process from start to finish....and doesn't leave out any steps...and doesn't sugar coat it....This is not a get rich quick scheme....you work hard and get rich eventually...... I would strongly recommend this book to anybody considering pre-forclosure properties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best pre-foreclosure book out there, January 21, 2007
This review is from: The Pre-Foreclosure Property Investor's Kit: How to Make Money Buying Distressed Real Estate -- Before the Public Auction (Paperback)
This book is one of the best pre-foreclosure books out there. It clearly lays out how to plan your investment, how to look for preforeclosures, how to negotiate, what forms to use, and what warning signs to take note of to avoid risky ventures. A must buy!

-Matt
Illustrator for the Ultimate Foreclosure Kit (ISBN 0978834658)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Convinced Me, September 10, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pre-Foreclosure Property Investor's Kit: How to Make Money Buying Distressed Real Estate -- Before the Public Auction (Paperback)
Excellent book. Very detailed. Absolutely convincded me that I wanted nothing to with this business. The author demonstrates that it is difficult and tricky business,potentially very lucrative, but not a get rich quick scheme. Since I would like to get rich without this much work, I'll pass on this method. And I truly thank this book for steering me right. I take off one star only for the author's occasional right wing rants. But I guess he's entitled. He worked very hard to get rich, and he shares his secrets openly in an inexpensive book, rather than trying to hoodwink you out of thousands by means of an infomercial. If he's got a few screwball political ideas, God bless him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.