Customer Reviews


293 Reviews
5 star:
 (179)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


337 of 343 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners guide and experienced checklist
I am not usually a fan of the 'dummy's guide to....' or '101 easy steps to...' kind of book. This excellent little handbook is a rare exception. Well written and broken down into logical subject headings it is a great checklist for the seasoned prepper to see if their preps are as complete as they think. Have you really checked to see if you have everything needed to cook...
Published on July 19, 2011 by Leslie B. Hock

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars overview that fits in pocket
I don't have anything negative to say about the book. It is an collections of topics. Perfect for flipping through in a waiting room or something. Short chapters and it fits right in your cargo pocket. whole book took about an hour to read. Lots of references and websites listed in the back. Not a keeper for me and I intend to donate it to the library this weekend for...
Published on August 18, 2012 by Geoffrey Gagnon


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect Prepper's book for beginners and friends., January 29, 2012
By 
Clamper1827 (Nevada, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Prepper's Pocket Guide: 101 Easy Things You Can Do to Ready Your Home for a Disaster (Paperback)
I am a Prepper by every definition and I have purchased over a dozen of these books as gifts and guides to friends and coworkers trying to take steps to have normal, everyday preparations in place for the most likely events that would require someone to fall back on their own self-reliance. It is a simple and thoughtful book of basics that I found beneficial to regular everyday people as well as myself. So many of the Prepper material deals with worse case scenarios and global life changing events whereas this book takes you through the common sense and realistic basics to get you ready for most events. It gives good solid and sound advice and steps towards prepping and basic self reliance and delivers it in a friendly, factual manner without any hype or in a demeaning manner. This is the book for everyone who wants to be prepared for the most likely events to occur to everyday Americans. It does not make a political stand or wrap itself in a religious message when explaining steps and strategies. It is not designed to give you the steps to start your own bug out retreat and commune, fend off invading hostile nations invading American, bad guys coming to steal your supplies and kill off the neighbors or the military tactics and strategies afforded to Special Warfare operatives. It is for people who have budgets and live in an everyday society that want to be able to deal with natural disasters, loss of jobs or property and the more serious events other than The End Of The World As We Know It. I would recommend it to everyone other than the most hardcore of Preppers, Survivalists, Paramilitary and Anti-Government Anarchists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A collection of personal observations from a lay person. That's about it., January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Prepper's Pocket Guide: 101 Easy Things You Can Do to Ready Your Home for a Disaster (Paperback)
I feel bad writing a poor review because I get the impression the author is a stay-home mom trying to make some extra money for her family, but this book falls way short of the mark and is not worth the money. The author brings up a lot of good points, but has done virtually no research to enlighten you about those points, and instead relies on her superficial knowledge of all subjects. For example: "Consider buying a generator...Generators that run on gasoline are the most common and easiest to find. However, gasoline can be tricky to store adn transport due to the fire hazard it poses... diesel engines are economical and low-maintenance but are noisy and smelly." Really? Is that supposed to be useful? The author then goes on to state you should hire an electrician to set up your generator. The only thing the author knows anything about is cooking, but as a cook book, this is pretty weak. I would send it back, but it's not worth my time. I'll just toss it in the recycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every man should have this guide, April 19, 2012
This review is from: The Prepper's Pocket Guide: 101 Easy Things You Can Do to Ready Your Home for a Disaster (Paperback)
This book has the basics for getting you started in your efforts to prepare for possible problems and situations that there is a good chance you will have to face sometime in the future. Most Americans are too comfortable to even bother preparing for the possibility that their cozy little lives will be disrupted from events they have no control over. Don't be one of those people. You owe it to yourself and as a man you owe it to your family to be prepared and keep them safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Info for us Moms!, April 18, 2012
By 
Alan Underwood (Katy, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Prepper's Pocket Guide: 101 Easy Things You Can Do to Ready Your Home for a Disaster (Paperback)
This book was so easy to read and loaded with great information!! As a single mom of 3 kiddos I feel better prepare to handle situations that may occur. Items that one may not even think about, but desperately need in emergencies are discussed.

Best of all the information provided has enabled me to make sure that I have a self made preparedness kit in my home, car and office. Each one having the necessary items based on location that I will need to survive for a few days should anything happen.

Thanks Bernie Carr!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Preppers Pocket Guide, January 27, 2012
This review is from: The Prepper's Pocket Guide: 101 Easy Things You Can Do to Ready Your Home for a Disaster (Paperback)
Not a bad book, but I would not depend on it alone. It is great for someone getting into prepping. There is alot of useful information in it. It is a good basic guideline for starting out with. If you are building a library on prepping I would add this book to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good outline for basics, September 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Prepper's Pocket Guide: 101 Easy Things You Can Do to Ready Your Home for a Disaster (Paperback)
This book is easy to understand. Great book for beginners. The author is very practical. If you are new to this lifestyle this book is great to get you started. However this handbook is more of an outline meaning it doesnt go into great depth as to "why" you need to do some of the things listed in the book. This didnt bother me though. Internet research is cheap and easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, January 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Prepper's Pocket Guide: 101 Easy Things You Can Do to Ready Your Home for a Disaster (Paperback)
Very simple, non-hysterical approach to the topic. If you only have time for one book, this would be my choice. I keep both a Kindle version as well as the paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and affordable advice, October 10, 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Prepper's Pocket Guide: 101 Easy Things You Can Do to Ready Your Home for a Disaster (Paperback)
This is an excellent starter's guide to the principle of "prepping". Covers all the items one needs to prepare one's self and/or family for a wide range of accidents and incidents, from earthquake, tornado, to job-loss and pandemic. Lots of short, easily digestible checklists and similar, to get one considering actions. The techniques are affordable and straight-forward. Each of the 101 lists could have become a book in itself, but this is an introductory overview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good and Useful Little Book, October 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Prepper's Pocket Guide: 101 Easy Things You Can Do to Ready Your Home for a Disaster (Paperback)
This is a good book. At first I was concerned that it may have been thrown together as it was published this year, or that the information would be too basic to be useful. I was wrong. It's a great book. It is surprisingly comprehensive for such a small volume and manages to present information in a way that is both practical and succinct. Some may complain that it is too basic. I think they miss the purpose of a book like this. This book is not intended to be a comprehensive tome on all things preparedness. For a book like that check out a James Wesley book or something similar. This book is a thorough and practical introduction to preparedness that is useful for the beginner or those easily overwhelmed by the denser "end of the world" preparedness volumes out there. It is also helpful as a quick go to guide for more experienced preppers. It is also reasonably priced. I suggest getting multiple copies and handing them out to friends and loved ones. A wise investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good info for the money, October 6, 2011
By 
WanderingDude (Albuquerque, NM, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Prepper's Pocket Guide: 101 Easy Things You Can Do to Ready Your Home for a Disaster (Paperback)
I am preparing my home to be ready in an emergency, one which I hope will never happen, and am looking for inexpensive ways to get prepared. This is the first book I have read on the topic. I liked the book even though I don't have anything to compare it to yet. Could the information in this book be available for free on the internet? Probably, but you will have to take the time to do it and weed through all the survivalist nutbag stuff to get to the essentials. Bernie Carr has assembled lots of info in an easy, quick read that mostly just made me think. I am just an ordinary guy in an an ordinary city living in an ordinary house who thinks it to not be a stretch to be prepared to endure some calamity or other.

I think the most useful things are the checklists that appear throughout the book. The author advocates just moving in the direction of these things perhaps spending miniscule amounts of money in a step by step process. For instance, if there is an impending natural disaster (a known) coming to your area, the entire population of a city will be frantically moving about to buy things to get prepared; it would be great to already have some or all of the essentials on hand without having to hit the high stress levels.

Of very high use to me was the section on advance preparation of some kind of binder or even a CD disc that contains copies of all your essential information to be taken with you in case of a hasty evacuation. Should you find yourself unable to get back to your home, things like passwords, copies of passports, birth certificates, ID's, credit card numbers, bank account numbers, emergency phone contacts, etc. would be mighty useful to have in one place.

There is a particular emphasis on being prepared to endure 72 hour emergencies, and two week emergencies.

The best part is, all of it is doable. You can get totally prepared, or you can, over time, move yourself into the direction of being prepared. Much of the information, if used, won't cost you one penny.

Lastly, I'd like to say that although firearms are mentioned very briefly, the author really deemphasizes them, a really conscious choice that I'm glad he made because it kept him out of the wierdo gun-nut category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Prepper's Pocket Guide: 101 Easy Things You Can Do to Ready Your Home for a Disaster
$12.95 $9.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.