Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Informative
Greenstein's work is a necessary point of interest for any scholar of the American presidency. Often, when one considers the presidency, chief among the considerations is a president's accomplishments or his chief policy failures. Focus is given to the opposition just as it is given to the president's party in judging whether a chief executive has lived up to his fullest...
Published on July 10, 2011 by S. Robison

versus
0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review
Haven't used it yet, didn't need it for my summer assignment but will need it for future use in my government class
Published on September 6, 2012 by Ahenry895


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Informative, July 10, 2011
By 
S. Robison (West Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Presidential Difference: Leadership Style from FDR to Barack Obama (Third Edition) (Paperback)
Greenstein's work is a necessary point of interest for any scholar of the American presidency. Often, when one considers the presidency, chief among the considerations is a president's accomplishments or his chief policy failures. Focus is given to the opposition just as it is given to the president's party in judging whether a chief executive has lived up to his fullest potential.

What is often overlooked, however, is the personality of the man in office. This has, as Greenstein notes, a tremendous impact on not only his organizational ability but his ability to retain and gather support. Clearly, too, the president's affability is of vital importance in today's media, as his charisma. Greenstein's work allows comparison among all presidents since FDR. Obviously this should not be read without some knowledge of the American presidency, yet it is an easy and entertaining read that delves into a facet of our nation's power that many overlook yet, in reality, may have one of the biggest impacts of all.

This book does not compare substantively to James David Barber's "The Presidential Character," yet it does provide a more concise and readable summary of the subject that would be a warm-up to Barber's masterpiece work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Require reading I ended up loving, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Presidential Difference: Leadership Style from FDR to Barack Obama (Third Edition) (Paperback)
Bought for a class, but I liked this enough that I've read it twice. It's insightful, humorous and thought-provoking (though the final chapter on President Obama now seems less than accurate). I lent it to my dad and he enjoyed it as well. Great book, worth getting even if it's not for class. It gives a short (ten page) summary of a president's background, rise in politics, and actions in the White House before rating each president on six traits: public communication, organizational capacity, political skill, vision, cognitive style, emotional intelligence. He then sums up what we can learn from each president. It has a surprising amount of depth and information but the fluid prose and balance between formal and informal makes it a pleasure to read. In fact, I think I'll go do so again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing unbaised analysis of each President!, November 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Presidential Difference: Leadership Style from FDR to Barack Obama (Third Edition) (Paperback)
This is a great book. Greenstein writes an easy, riveting read that properly analyzes each presidency. For anyone who would like to know more about the modern presidency in a quick and easy read this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Presidential Difference: Leadership Style from FDR to Barack Obama (Third Edition) (Paperback)
Awesome book. Helped a lot in my American Presidency class, some info is missing when compared to older versions, but it's a great read nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why presidents succeed, January 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Presidential Difference: Leadership Style from FDR to Barack Obama (Third Edition) (Paperback)
I use The Presidential Difference to stimulate discussion in a college-level White House simulation about the factors that account for presidential success. Students grasp the concepts quickly and are able to apply the factors to other leadership settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars and I actually really liked it. The class was required for me so ..., November 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Presidential Difference: Leadership Style from FDR to Barack Obama (Third Edition) (Paperback)
I had to get this for a class, and I actually really liked it. The class was required for me so this isn't a subject I am very interested, but as a US citizen this book was really informational and something other people should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrived safe and in good condition, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Presidential Difference: Leadership Style from FDR to Barack Obama (Third Edition) (Paperback)
The book appears well made, I am wholly satisfied. There was a little bit of boxing around the top right of the front cover but that's probably just from shipping and a little unavoidable. 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Presidential Difference: Leadership Style from FDR to Barack Obama (Third Edition) (Paperback)
Haven't used it yet, didn't need it for my summer assignment but will need it for future use in my government class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Presidential Difference: Leadership Style from FDR to Barack Obama (Third Edition)
$30.95 $22.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.