Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restored !! This Is The Good Stuff !!
******

Here's the short version of my review of the DVD . Here's what you need to know about this new DVD version .

******

The original music has been restored . The meadow scene ( perhaps the very heart of the film ) has been restored . The picture quality is SUPERB . The audio quality is excellent .

******...
Published on March 5, 2005 by from-the-flint-hills

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars * * * * * for the film, but this CUT is butchered !
Unfortunately, the listing (at the time of this writing) fails to mention that this is a "special home video edition". - - Apparently Paramount couldn't (or for whatever reasons) wouldn't get the rights to some of the original music that appeared in the film. - - End result, they had to cut and edit certain scenes. - - While legal problems are understandable,...
Published on December 1, 2003 by Eddie Landsberg


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restored !! This Is The Good Stuff !!, March 5, 2005
This review is from: The President's Analyst (DVD)
******

Here's the short version of my review of the DVD . Here's what you need to know about this new DVD version .

******

The original music has been restored . The meadow scene ( perhaps the very heart of the film ) has been restored . The picture quality is SUPERB . The audio quality is excellent .

******

This is the version of this wonderful and influential film , that you want to buy .

******
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "That's my car gun.", June 30, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The President's Analyst (DVD)
After his stint starring as the eternally groovy American super spy Derek Flint, "Repeat after me: I am not a pleasure unit." in Our Man Flint (1966) and In Like Flint (1967), James Colburn starred in the wonderfully quirky, funny dark political comedy/thriller The President's Analyst (1967).
Written and directed by Theodore J. Flicker, who also worked on a number of television shows including The Dick Van Dyke Show, I Dream of Jeanie, and The Man from U.N.C.L.E, The President's Analyst stars James Colburn as Dr. Sidney Schaefer, a New York psychiatrist who finds himself in the position of being chosen to listen to the problems of the most powerful man in the world, the President of the United States. At first, it seems like a dream position, but soon Sidney realizes it's a lot more than he can handle, as the President does not make appointments with Sidney, but expects him to be 'on call' 24/7, and signals Sidney whenever he needs him through the use of flashing red signal lights in Sidney's office, his home, and even his soup. As the pressures, odd hours and the extreme weight of the problems shared by the president wear on Sidney, his paranoia grows as he sees spies around every corner. Let's face it, how valuable would the President's analyst be to a foreign, or even friendly, power? Sidney's growing paranoia along with his inability to discuss his own problems with his peers due to possible threats to national security, causes Sidney to have a sort of nervous breakdown, to which he decides to run away, hoping to find a little peace and maybe a way out of the situation. Only problem is, now that Sidney is no longer under the protection of the CEA (Central Enquiries Agency), he is now fair game and a target for practically every intelligence agency in the world, even becoming a target for the FBR (Federal Bureau of Regulations), as they all either desire or fear what he's got in his head.
Colburn is wonderful as the cool and intelligent psychiatrist on the lam, pursued various domestic and foreign powers, some intent on capture, while some intent on killing him. It's funny but even when he's 'freaking out', due the extreme pressures of his position and that of being harassed by kidnappers and assassins, he still seems to maintain a somewhat suave and sophisticated demeanor, rolling with the situations as they come up. Colburn is supported by a really excellent cast here, including Godfrey Cambridge as Don Masters, CEA agent and Severn Darden as Russian agent V.I. Kydor Kropotkin, characters, who, while on different sides, share an affable friendship and respect for each other. Also appearing is Joan Delaney as Nan, Sidney's live-in girlfriend (until the FBR discover Sidney talks in his sleep and move her to a hotel for fears that Sidney may reveal state secrets), Barry McGuire (who penned the perennial 60's anthem Eve of Destruction) as the hippy leader of a band Sidney joins in an effort to lose himself, Walter Burke as the uber-moralistic diminutive, ever suspicious FBR director Henry Lux, and William Daniels (the voice of Kitt on the Knightrider television series) as Wynn Quantrill, the head of a many gun owning (protection against the rabid right wing fascist neighbors) liberal suburban family that, while touring the White House, Sidney deceives into allowing him to leave with them, under the guise of a special presidential project involving learning what the real average American family thinks of the government. He's got one of my favorite lines in the film is when Wynn's son is unloading the car and inquires about bringing in the gun to which Wynn replies something along the lines of, "That's my car gun. My house gun is already in the house, so please return my car gun to the glove compartment." My favorite scene in the film is when Sidney, hiding out with a traveling hippy band, takes an intimate break with a female member of the band in a field of tall grass and flowers and a number of secret agents, who've followed them, meet their demise quietly one after another through various means at the hands of their rivals, as they attempt to kidnap or kill Sidney, all with Sidney and his 'date' not realizing what is going on...
I haven't seen this film before now, and I did notice the IMDb has a run time listed as 103 minutes, while the run time listed here is 102 minutes, suggesting something missing, but I couldn't tell you what. The other reviews seem to indicate a flash of nudity during the make out scene in the field, and a movie theater sequence between Sidney and Nan the hippy chick, but I couldn't say for sure. The music in this release, which is really excellent, is original to the film, which wasn't the case for some previous releases, specifically television versions. I had read another review that stated the film had originally incorporated the anagrams FBI and CIA in the movie, but due to pressures brought by these organizations, they were changed to FBR and CEA, with redubbing after the picture was finished. Apparently, if you pay close attention, you can see the actor's lips mouth FBI and CIA even though the spoken word is different.
The print on this DVD looks clean and crisp in wide screen format, but don't bother looking for any special features, as there are none, not even a theatrical trailer. One odd thing with the case, which I've seen a few times before, is the clasps on the side. You have to unlock them to open the case, which is just a matter of flipping the tabs, but don't try to force it open without manipulating these, as you may damaged the case or even the DVD, and remember, 'Killing is an excellent way of dealing with a hostility problem.'
Cookieman108
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Winner Then, A Winner Now, May 6, 2000
By 
J. Finkel (Chicago, Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the funniest movies of all time. A period piece, it satirises many aspects of the 1960s Cold War era. Every scene seems to demolish another icon. Some might complain that Ted Flicker does not know if he is making a love story, a suspense thriller, a hippie love-festival, or a high-tech shoot-em-up. But he chooses his targets carefully and his aim is true. Even the music is a parody.
Although Flicker, over the objections of the studio, removed the hilarious "meet cute" scene, in which Sidney (James Coburn) meets Nan (Joan Delaney), before release, the film is a masterpiece. (I do not know if the studio has replaced this scene for this release).
Godfrey Cambridge, who was a magnificent comedic actor and stand-up comedian, teams up with Severn Darden, who began his career with the original Second City theatre in Chicago. Their interplay is magic, and this film should serve as a special tribute to their memory.
This is the one film I recommend more than any other to friends and colleagues. Definitely one of the 20 films on my Top 10 list, it's a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars * * * * * for the film, but this CUT is butchered !, December 1, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Unfortunately, the listing (at the time of this writing) fails to mention that this is a "special home video edition". - - Apparently Paramount couldn't (or for whatever reasons) wouldn't get the rights to some of the original music that appeared in the film. - - End result, they had to cut and edit certain scenes. - - While legal problems are understandable, what I found disappointing was that it seems the music they replaced the original stuff with bordered on cheap LA garage band music, which in turn seemed to cheapen the film. The person responsible for this probably wasn't much of a music buff, because the music and sound of that era could easily have been replicated... - - but the fact is... if you're getting this film because you've already rented it a million times and like me, its one of your faves... get ready for a bit of disappointment. On the other hand, it is a great movie, and its good to see atleast some effort was made to get it out of the vaults. (Now when are they going to rerelease another '60s counterculture classic : Wild In The Streets ?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're the humanitarian...take the gun !, October 9, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The President's Analyst (DVD)
The way I see it, we still have some catching up to do with Theodore J. Flicker's The President's Analyst. At the time it came out it seem to be a hysterical political satire but as the years have gone on it becomes more and more evident of being way, way ahead of it's and our time.

The basic premise is Sidney(James Coburn)has been recuited as the President's analyst. At first he finds the sessions enthralling but as more and more security restrictions are imposed on him, the pressure builds until finally he takes it on the lam. This creates a tempest within the intelligence community and puts a bull's-eye square on Sidney's back. Everyone wants Sidney for what he can tell them or what he might tell the other guy. I don't know what anyone could possibly find dated in this story. Basically, it would play exactly the same today as it did in 1968. The intelligence community hasn't gone anywhere, it's only gotten dumb and dumber. Actually, today it might play exactly like this for real.

Let me digress and talk about how good everyone is in this great movie. Coburn, Godfrey Cambridge, Severn Dardern, William Daniels, Pat Harrington and everyone down to the smallest role are fabulous. Flicker's screenplay and direction seem effortless and freewheeling. The music is ultra cool, especially Barry McGuire's Changes. The only possible knock I could give is there's not a lot of style to the cinematography and editing after the first twenty minutes or so but it's really not a problem and my only gripe.

So far I've been describing a teriffic movie but this is much more. This is a movie forty or fifty or more years ahead of its time. On the order of Metropolis or 2001:A Space Odyssey this movie's vision is more true today than it was when it was first released. Proof of its greatness. It's multi-layered message deals with borders of all sorts ; psychological, national, judicial, family, corporate, spiritual, ethnic, man and woman to mention just a few. What turns out to be the final conspiracy, which is so ahead of its time and what we still have to look foward to and eventually deal with, is what really blows my mind. One of the hundred greatest films ever and yet another delicious pie with Robert Evans' finger in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware of the Phone Company!, July 23, 2004
By 
D. Hartley (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The President's Analyst (DVD)
Forget the "Flint" movies...this was the role James Coburn was born to play! Unlike the empty-headed 60's spy spoofs Coburn's name usually evokes, "The President's Analyst" is a satire with substance, the kind of film that actually gets better the more times you watch it-on a par with "Dr. Strangelove". Coburn shines as a psychoanalyst who is recruited to be the President's personal shrink by one of his patients. Godfrey Cambridge (in a wonderful performance) is the patient who happens to work for the "CIE" (as opposed to the "FBR"!). The ensuing intrigue and conspiracy paranoia plays out like "Three Days Of The Condor" on acid (literally!). Consistently amusing and a bit "slapstick-y" at times, but the clever political and social satire remains smart and sharp throughout (there's even a scene where a character is desperately trying to reach the White House on a pay phone-a possible homage to the aforementioned "Strangelove"!) You may be surprised at how contemporary this 1967 release feels, despite some inevitable "Summer of Love" trappings. In fact, "President's Analyst" contains the type of elements that would soon find thier way into the more "socially relevant" films of the 1970's, so it was a bit ahead of its time (listen carefully to Godfrey Cambridge's monologue about racism, played directly into the camera; nothing "ha-ha" funny going on there.) A real winner on all fronts. DVD notes: Paramount has given us a sparkling transfer with good audio quality, although dialogue could have been re-mixed with a bit more gain (music and sfx seem to blast and blare in comparison). A minor quibble, as this gem has been long overdue for DVD release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Music, July 9, 2005
By 
Craig Helms (Salt Lake City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The President's Analyst (DVD)
The original music (Barry McGuire's "Inner-Manipulations") has been restored in the DVD version of this fantastic '60s flick. Five stars and two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, September 6, 2002
By 
Vincent G. Macek (Decatur, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film first smacked me upside the head 30 years ago, and it only continues to impress me. Along with 'Bedazzled' from the same year, this is the rare '1960s Movie' that rewards the discriminating viewer with intelligence, wit, and style. There's so much brilliant stuff happening, but I'm impressed by a series of scenes where icon of cool James Coburn, in the title role, leaves his Oval Office sessions - initially puffed up in top-of-the-world awe, then to thousand-yard-stare horror, to tightly-strung weary stress, to migrained impatience, finally to full-blown paranoia - he unravels like a peeled golf ball, underscored by Lalo Schifrin's suitably over-the-top score.
I'd heard during production, the Bureau expressed disapproval of their portrayal (probably straight from Henry Lux Himself), threatening serious tax audits, which prompted the use of the acronyms 'FBR' and 'CEA', clearly dubbed into already filmed scenes.
Lots of familiar TV faces in this film - Will 'Grampa Walton' Geer plays a crusty old-school mentor, William 'St. Elsewhere' Daniels plays a gun-totin' liberal Typical American, funnyman Arte Johnson is truly chilling as a 'rules are rules' FBR agent, Pat 'Schneider' Harrington plays the head of...you'll see.
Contrary to revisionist thinking, everyone in the 60s was NOT a hippie, who were, in fact, a big joke to the media. This is one of a few films of the time to depict them sympathetically and to suggest they may have been on to something.
As volatile as the times were, the crew could still film a shot where, inside the White House fence, a maintenance wheelbarrow wears the ubiquitous TPC logo - just try doing that now.
This film MUST be put onto DVD. And they have to:
- Make it widescreen format - the cinematography suffers under pan & scan.
-Retain Barry McGuire's music. He's in the film, let him sing. That quasi-60s music from a VHS release don't cut it.
-Reinstate the 'art cinema' scene where Coburn's character meets Joan Delaney's. Glad to see other reviewers saw it - I was right, I'm *not* crazy!
-Reinstate the weird disembodied-eyeballs sequence in the nightmare scene. Not essential, but I'd like to see it again, just to know I'm *not* crazy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous, classic satire., April 10, 2004
By 
Mark Fountain (Louisville, KY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The President's Analyst (DVD)
When the President of the US begins suffering from stress, Sidney Schaefer (James Coburn) is selected to be his psychoanalyst. The President finds the sessions enormously useful, but Schaefer finds that what was, at first, a great honor and privilege, spirals out of control. The secrets that he has heard might become very useful --or-- dangerous. His anxiety mounts until he finally decides to just make a break from Washington, setting in motion a cross-country chase with the theme: "Just because I'm paranoid doesn't mean someone isn't after me." And indeed, everyone is. America's enemies want his secrets. Even "friendly" nations have their own agendas. And his own security services are divided between those who want to help him, and those who just want to eliminate him as a security threat.
The same plot could be played as a political thriller but, here, it is done as a marvelous satirical send-up of the 60's. The cold war, psycho-babble, political correctness, hippies, corporate corruption, bureaucracy; it's all there, and it's all fun.
Coburn and the rest of the cast are wonderful. It is one of my all-time favorite comedies. My only concern is whether the studio has bothered to put together the original film with Barry McGuire's music, and a long missing scene where Coburn's character is introduced to his girl friend. If not, I suppose I will still purchase and recommend it, but the studio should then be required to put a sticker on the box saying, "Most of the President's Analyst." We shall see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mother's Milk..., November 16, 2003
By 
Chad Taylor (El Cajon, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this movie on a Saturday night when I was a teen and I roared! Surprisingly, it was almost uncut except for the small amount of nudity in the 'killing fields.' Although dated this film is still hysterical. A 60s black comedy about the reality of the spy business - all to get inside the President's head! Can you imagine a Canadian secret service???? Coburn as the President's analyst is perfect. His wry smiles while he slowly decends into paranoia is unbelievble. The scenes of him being summoned by the Commander in Chief are priceless! Godfrey Cambridge as a black 'license to kill' agent who has 'baggage' from his childhood is a scream. Severn Darden Godfrey's Russian counterpart, despite the fact he is prepared to kill at the drop of his Russian Ushanka is Godfrey's best buddy. The scene with Pat Harrington, Jr. as the phone 'agent' is just over the top!

I agree with Vince Mack and the critics this must be put on DVD in widescreen format with Barry McGuire's music and the 'art cinema' scene where Coburn's character meets Joan Delaney's as well as the weird disembodied-eyeballs sequence. This is an absolute Gem of a movie that needs to be preserved in tact! Additionally since we're talking James Coburn I'd like to see "Waterhole No. 3" another Coburn classic also transferred to DVD!

FOLLOW UP CRITIQUE OF DVD: There's definitely something missing here. Primarily, we never see how Coburn meets Joan Delaney. Once he learns he's going to be you-know-who's analyst we see some shots of Coburn walking around New York and then the film dissolves to his bedroom where he's "undercover" with Joan. How did he meet her? Where did he meet her? This seems to be the biggest hole in the movie narrative which is why the cinema veritae theatre he meets her in initially, is so essential. It appears as though she pops out of no-where. As far as the amount of nudity in other scenes, it's difficult to say. Since this is wide-screen and not panned and scanned it may be that varying shots that were panned and scanned gave an appearance of more than was there. As far as I can remember, EXCEPT for the missing theatre sequence all the other elements are present. Despite it's dated appearance the film and its comic take on the spy biz, bureacracy, psychiatry and paranoia holds up. Pity there are no extras on the DVD, not even an insert and what's with these locks on the DVD cover?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The President's Analyst
The President's Analyst by Theodore J. Flicker (DVD - 2004)
$14.98 $9.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.