Customer Reviews


218 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Better Than Expected
This book was better than expected! I really like to get into the long novels, like Nora Robert's other novels, or Judith McNaught. I just picked this up, intending to read this over the weekend. But once I got started, I couldn't put it down. I finished it in one night.
This book starts as Savannah Morningstar (yeah, what a name!) moves to the small town (which...
Published on March 28, 2001 by geminigirl529@yahoo.com

versus
40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Originally published in mid-90s
This is a good series in typical Norah Roberts fashion, but beware that they were first published by Silhouette in the mid-90s, so if you think it's new, you are being mislead.
Published on July 10, 2011 by Cathy Rex


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Originally published in mid-90s, July 10, 2011
By 
Cathy Rex (Philadelphia, PA, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Pride of Jared MacKade (MacKade Brothers) (Kindle Edition)
This is a good series in typical Norah Roberts fashion, but beware that they were first published by Silhouette in the mid-90s, so if you think it's new, you are being mislead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Better Than Expected, March 28, 2001
By 
"geminigirl529@yahoo.com" (Huntington Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This book was better than expected! I really like to get into the long novels, like Nora Robert's other novels, or Judith McNaught. I just picked this up, intending to read this over the weekend. But once I got started, I couldn't put it down. I finished it in one night.
This book starts as Savannah Morningstar (yeah, what a name!) moves to the small town (which I can't think of right now), with her young son, Bryan. She is weary of running from the law because they want to take her son away from her and put him into a foster home. She wants to start and put down roots, and where better than a close-knit town?
In this town lives the MacKade brother: Jared, Rafe, Shane, and Devin. Rafe is already married, though I haven't read that yet. There is a bit of him and his wife in here. Anyway, Jared is the oldest, and is a lawyer. He's been divorced, and a bit bitter about marriage. He first meets Savannah about her father's death, and thus their relationship starts. He also bonds with Bryan.
The MacKade brothers are so great! Though this is the first MacKade book I've read, I will try to read the others. They are always there for each other, though they tease each other mercifully. All of Nora Robert's series about male brothers are absolutely fantastic! They are always men who are handsome, wild, then convert into interesting but responsible men. Otherwise, great husbands! The Mackade brothers are no exception.
This book is short, and it didn't really go in-depth into the relationship, but I got a feeling that I knew the characters. The way all the people interacted in this novel is so well-written. There is even a lead-in into the story of Devin and Cassie.
Like I said, at first glance, I usually wouldn't pick it up. But I'm really glad I did! I recommend this to anyone who likes to just escape for a few hours and read a good romance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mackade Brothers are great!!!, May 16, 2001
By A Customer
This book is about the oldest brother of four brothers. He is a lawyer and he meets Savannah Moringstar when he goes to see her about her deceased Father. He is a neat freak and she is a single Mother with one son. The other brothers are in the story with there wives and future wives,there is Rafe(his book "Return of Rafe Mackade),Devin("Heart of Devin Mackade") and last Shane('Fall of Shane Mackade).I loved all four books. I recomende reading to all.They make you cry, laugh. and fall in love all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jared and Savannah are HOT, May 13, 2003
I love Nora Roberts, and I was thrilled to read the McKade series. Of the 4, this was my favorite. Jared is a lawyer, who in doing a favor for a colleague, meets Savannah Morningstar, a children's book illustrator and former exotic dancer. They drive each other, and the reader, crazy...in the best way possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars have to give it a 5 star..., July 24, 1999
By A Customer
even though i usually reserve those for the long books...(story is usually more involved and developed) but this being a 4 parter, its earned it. i LOVE these brothers! in this book, jarid is a divorcie which adds to my liking because hes not the perfect lawyer type. (they all seem to have characters flaws, which only makes them all the more real ) im having a difficult time finding the return of rafe mackade, but out of the 3 ive read this is the BEST !! ::smile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unsympathetic characters, December 4, 2008
Quite possibly it's the contrast with the last 3 books I read, but every time I read this, I never like Savannah, and at least this time around, I don't like Jared either.

The Good:
There are some genuinely good parts. Like when Jared talks to Bryan before asking Savannah to marry him.

The Bad:
Savannah doesn't have just a chip on her shoulder--it's the entire rock. And he's a hypocritical Neanderthal. She's nasty and rude, and thinks the worst of people (or at least of men) before she even meets them, and I can't find anything in her to relate to.

He apparently thinks any woman he deigns to be interested in should be a virgin, or at least a victim.

I didn't believe the romance--all I saw was that they had the hots for each other.

I didn't understand the rush--that demand for immediate trust and complete disclosure of every event in her entire life 5 minutes after they meet (yes, I'm exaggerating, but not much).

I was not remotely amused or sympathetic when she destroyed a couple thousand dollars worth of his belongings because she was angry at him.

The Verdict:
On the whole, really not one of Nora's better efforts, but worth reading to complete the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like the first one - skip it, November 17, 2001
By 
I really enjoyed The Return of Rafe MacKade and I looked forward to reading the Pride of Jared MacKade. I enjoyed the book for about the first 150 pages - not as much as the first book, but enough for me to read through the last hundred pages when the characters turned ugly.
Savannah Morningstar had a child when she was 16 years old. Beyond that, Savannah didn't speak much of her past. This and her easy acceptance of Jared into her life made Jared worry about her past and he became jealous of it. My big problem with Jared was he never asked Savannah about it in a calm way. He took digs at her and made accusations.
Savannah claimed to love Jared and he was obviously insecure about her past, so I thought she should have shared with him and spoken with him rationally about it, which she refused to do. While I thought, as insecure as she was she should have better understood his insecurity and reassured him, I couldn't blame her for not wanting to after the way he attacked her about it. Jared learned very early in the story how insecure Savannah was, and he responded by repeatedly undermining her confidence, both in herself and in his "love" for her.
Savannah ultimately responded to this by vandalizing Jared's property. I think this was supposed to be funny. I'm not sure. I found it disturbing. Her actions weren't in the heat of the moment, which would have made them almost understandable. She planned it out and then was proud of herself. Besides all the OBVIOUS problems with this, so much of the book was about what a good mother she was, but the message she was sending to her son here was that it's ok to destroy other people's property if you're mad at them.
These were two people who really brought out the worst in each other. They were sexually attracted to each other, but they never had trust, compassion or understanding for each other - and didn't seem to want them. If these were real people I think we would have seen them on the Jerry Springer show by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pride Can Be a Dangerous Thing, April 5, 2005
By 
Jared MacKade loves the small town where he grew up so it didn't come as any surprise when he came back to practice law there. He remembers re-enacting battles fought during the civil war in the woods near his family home and wrestling with his three brothers, Rafe, Shane and Devin. Those childhood memories and upbringing are the core of Jared MacKade.

Rafe, the oldest brother was now married, and that left the others still on the family farm. Life was good and easy with few complications and that's just how Jared liked it. At least it was uncomplicated until Savannah Morningstar moved into town.

Savannah and her son, Connor, moved to town and kept to themselves. She did little socializing so the rumor mill had nothing on her, which left Jared with little information to prepare for his first encounter with her. He had to contact her regarding Savannah's father's will and wasn't sure how to handle it. He was more than surprised that she was not only drop-dead gorgeous, but independent and stubborn as well. When he told her that her father was dead, she didn't have any reaction. Then when he told her that she had inherited some money from him, he was amazed when she politely refused it.

That wasn't the only surprise Savannah had in store for Jared. She didn't instantly fall for Jared like most women and it seemed as if she was immune to his good looks and charm. In the process of performing his lawyerly duties and informing her of her inheritance, he was attracted to her. He wasn't sure if it was his pride that kept him in contact with her, or something else. In the process, his life was turned upside-down and he loved every minute of it.

Yes, this is a typical romance story line, but typical to Nora Roberts' writing style, we find strong characters that aren't afraid to have their personalities clash once in a while, which makes it very interesting for the reader. The character of Savannah does not have the typical bitter "you done me wrong" type attitude, but instead has let adversity maker her stronger. The character of Jared doesn't portray the normal "I'm gorgeous and know it" attitude, but when his ego takes a direct hit, he builds on it instead of running to someone else who will stroke that ego. I think that's what makes this book so enjoyable and fun.

The Pride of Jared MacKade is the second book in the MacKade series coming after The Return of Rafe MacKade. It is followed by The Fall of Shane MacKade and The Heart of Devin MacKade. I've read all four of these books and found each of them to be well written with fun interactions not only between the four brothers, but also between the female characters and townspeople. There's nothing cerebral about this story, or any of the MacKade stories for that matter, but they're very enjoyable and you'll find yourself smiling throughout each of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can a woman with long buried feelings of inferiority learn to love a man full of stubborn pride??, September 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Jared MacKade was an attorney. He had been married once to a woman whom he thought he loved. They never had that kind of marriage. She never wanted children. Their divorce two years later was amicable. He was happy. Then, while doing a favor for an out of state friend, he met Savannah Morningstar...WOW!! The attraction was immediate for him. Savannah didn't appear affected by him. She was used to being around men with 'that kind of look' in their eyes.
Savannah and her son, Brian, stayed to themselves. Even the 'gossip queen' of the town had no information about her. She almost swallowed her tongue when she had seen Jarrod in jeans and a t-shirt. She had been able to hide that reaction from him so he had no clue. Things heat up quickly between the two of them. Each keeping parts of themselves from each other.
Savannah had been rejected by her father and thrown out at age sixteen after becoming pregnant by a man who would not accept responsibility for his part. The father of the baby took off. Stand up kind of guy. She left the rodeo and managed, with difficulty and determination to make a life for herself and her baby. She had grown up and worked in the rodeo as a calf roper. After leaving the rodeo, she learned to make clothes herself. She had been an exotic dancer. She painted vivid color paintings, and she also was an art illustrator for children's books. All this without a high school education. She had left Oklahoma to start fresh somewhere else, where no one could make her feel inferior or less than she was. She did have a fiery temper...and she knew when and how to use it.
Two people, who based on outward appearances, would never have suited one another. Two different worlds. Yet, they do suit...and this is their story. Two stubborn hot-headed people with tempers. Lots of spicy romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good novel in a fine series, July 17, 2013
By 
Joelline (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pride of Jared MacKade (MacKade Brothers) (Kindle Edition)
The Pride of Jared MacKade is part of a wonderful collection of stories, all linked by four brothers who share common characteristics and yet are quite different from each other. Each is, fundamentally a good, dependable, and inherently lovable and loving man. Yet each is also his own man, with a central strong core of compassion, pride, dependability, heritage, courage, yes, and machismo. Also linking the men is their family history of the Civil War battle fields and forests of 1862 Antietam and a great mansion, imbued with an ancient tragedy and ghosts! Four handsome, nurturing bachelors, each with an inherent streak of male testosterone-laden sexism (which all absolutely deny) meet four women, all of whom carry the scars, experiences, and lessons of their own pasts, and all of whom are determined to create a future for themselves as strong, independent, and fulfilled women, willing to share burdens and lives, but unwilling to be dominated in the process. There is, thus, a similarity among the MacKade novels, yet it is the genius of Nora Roberts which, I believe creates the subtle nuances which allow one to differentiate among the stories and their character while simultaneously connecting the dots that make this series a cohesive unit. You really need to read all four of them, and do please make sure that you read them in the order in which they were written. The cross-references and flashbacks will enhance your pleasure (instead of just confusing you) if you read them in this order: The Return of Rafe MacKade,The Pride of Jared MacKade,The Heart of Devin MacKade,The Fall of Shane MacKade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa42acbdc)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.