Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it DJ Shadow Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars246
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon March 1, 2004
"The Pride of the Yankees" is without a doubt one of the best baseball films of all time. Why? Because it isn't just about baseball. It's about a real person seeking that seemingly impossible American dream and capturing it, only to lose it all too soon. Cooper plays Gehrig with so much heart in this film, that the movie almost seems unreal due to the fact that Gehrig was such a good person, both as a human and as a star athlete.
There are few professional athletes in the world who show so much character and so much love to others as Gehrig did. He faced death with honor and courage. He was and is a true hero. If you're looking for an athlete for your children to look up to, pick the "Iron Man of Baseball."
This film does exceptionally well in capturing the heart and soul of Gehrig. It is a great family film and I highly recommend it. Gehrig might have been in Ruth's(and later, DiMaggio's)shadow, but he was so much bigger than these guys. He was honest, hard-working, and approached people long after the cameras were gone.
Add this one to your collection. It's a keeper, even if you don't know the difference between a baseball and a ball of yarn.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2004
PRIDE OF THE YANKEES is no doubt the greatest baseball movie ever made. The mythologized life story of the New York Yankees "Iron Horse," Lou Gehrig, who played an astounding 2,130 consecutive games (and this in the days before Sports Medicine, no apologies to Cal Ripken), PRIDE OF THE YANKEES is a celebration of good old-fashioned Americana. Gehrig, as the gifted only child of German immigrants, is the son we all wish we could have. His tragic death at 38 from ALS (Lou Gehrig's Disease) robbed the world not only of a phenomenal baseball player but of an icon of determination and grace.

Gary Cooper, himself iconic, plays Gehrig true-to-life as a dedicated husband, friend, son and teammate. The Norman Rockwell touch is rounded out by the adorable Teresa Wright the 1940s actress who was undoubtedly June Cleaver's mentor. Babe Ruth appears as himself, poking fun at his own legend.

Although the movie is myth-magical, the truth is that Cooper's stainless portrayal of Gehrig is as true to life as it can be. Lou Gehrig truly was a big kid who loved to play ball. And that is all. We could all use a little such PRIDE nowadays.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2000
Buyer Beware! This is a COLORIZED movie, and a poor one at that. Gone is any sense of character, drama, tonal texture, or depth of picture that we remember from the original. The manufacturer didn't even give us the opportunity to select either Black & White or colorized versions, an obvious possibility in DVD.
22 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon October 17, 2013
"Pride of the Yankees" has two things going for it that many sports movies lack. First, it has one of the greatest actors of all time, Gary Cooper, who, whether he is playing Sergeant York or the sheriff in "High Noon" or Lou Gehrig, always rises to the top. Second, it is the story of Lou Gehrig, a truly legendary ballplayer, who played in a simpler era long before the age of multimillion dollar contracts and steroids, when character stood for something. And Lou Gehrig, by all accounts, had a stellar character. But the movie is more than a sports movie, for it also takes us into the immigrant home in which he grew up, his love for the game, exemplified by his willingness to play ball with the kids on the neighborhood field, and his ultimately losing battle with ALS.

While there are some minor inaccuracies in the movie, they do not in any way detract from the overall story, one that is as compelling today as it was when the movie was first made in 1943. But these are more than offset by the positive message that is conveyed, which is that whether we live a long life or one cut short, as was Gehrig's, it is far better for us to count our blessings than to dwell on our woes. For in every way Gehrig, despite the blow that he was dealt, realized that he had had a great life and was truly thankful for it.

This is a movie for everyone, not just for baseball junkies, although the latter will appreciate the cameo appearances of Babe Ruth, Bob Meusel, and Bill Dickey, among others.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2007
Also I would like to warn all people on MGM special anniversary editions to movies. I picked up Pride of the Yankees for the dvd art work eventhough I knew it was the exact same movie transfer of the film as it the cheapest mgm Gary cooper movie at only 7.99. I found out why it is the cheapest. Be warned that MGM while quite good at releasing basic movies are the worst at releasing special anniversary editions to any film that they own. Pride of the Yankees 35th anniversary edition comes in a cardboard sleeve. Upon removing this cardboard sleeve, I discovered that the actual artwork on the dvd case is the same as the previous release. In fact it is the previous release with just a cardboard slip case over top of it. They were too lazy to update the artwork to the actual inside dvd case. I am not sure but I don't think they have ever restored or given any extras to any classic movie they own. It is all an evil marketing sceme to fool the customer on their latest anniversary releases where they only update the slip case and not even the dvd case inside. This is a very unerhanded practice that I will never support again. Despite the 8 Gary Cooper releases last year, I do believe that MGM is the bottom of the barrel for movie companies releasing dvds.

This is a five star movie and one of Gary Cooper's top five movies in my opinion, but will not rate it any higher than one star for the rip off dvd from MGM.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2014
This movie is a great character building story. Lou Gehrig worked very hard. He was a consistent, a very productive player who played over 2,000 games without missing a game. But the time came when he couldn't perform. When he received the doctor's prognosis about his condition, he retired, with dignity. He had a loyal wife who stuck with him through everything. It's a story of great baseball, woven with a wonderful love story. It's one of the best movies I have watched.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 1999
This movie could not be more enjoyable to a fan of the classic b/w format of movies. Gary Cooper plays Lou Gehrig, the famous NY Yankees baseball player with a kind heart. The film focuses on Lou's early life, including his college years. It also shows how his nice, but stubborn mother always could not accept being a baseball player as a way to make a living. Another aspect of the film is Gehrig's love for his wife, and how a diesese tragically tore his life apart. Great scene at the end of the movie re-creating Lou's famous speech, (Today, I consider myself...the luckiest man... on the face of the Earth.) Look for Babe Ruth himself playing himself.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
What can you say about Lou Gehrig ? To me he was as good as there was.
They didn't call him " Iron Horse " for nothing. Had he not gotten sick I
think he would still hold his records.
The man off the field was even better than on it. He was just a quite
country boy who loved his family. He was gentle and humble. He didn't need
to talk once he stepped on the field. His bat did that for him.
This is as true a story of Lou Gehrig you will find.
It is worth watching just for his final trip to the stadium.
Gary Cooper did a great job as he always did in most of his movies
and was really the perfect actor for the job.
Even if not a baseball fan this is still a good to watch. It focuses as much
as his off field life with his family as on the field. He was called the " Iron Horse "
for a reason and the name fit even better when dealing with his ALS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2016
Rent this on Amazon Instant Video, stream it on my Roku. The version I rented was in color, the color wasn't very good (but keep in mind that this movie was never originally made in color anyway, so it doesn't have that brilliancy of movies in the golden era of Hollywood that was made in technicolor)... anyway, I wanted to see a biopic about Lou (AKA Iron Horse), and I also wanted to see one where Babe Ruth was actually in it too (the real Babe Ruth had a small part in the movie acting as himself). It's good as far as biopic movies go, especially for a movie back in that time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2016
What can you say about a classic movie. Historically accurate? Enough to tell the story of a great ballplayer until a disease now known as "Lou Gehrig's disease" takes it all away. If this film doesn't put a lump in your throat nothing will. This movie is great for the ladies to watch as it is also a love story.

Great to see the real Babe Ruth as himself!

Cooper the perfect choice to play Gehrig. Walter Brennan is terrific and Teresa Wright is both beautiful and capable in her Oscar nominated role.

Product: a fine clear DVD print played at almost UHD quality on our television.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.