Customer Reviews


705 Reviews
5 star:
 (321)
4 star:
 (187)
3 star:
 (128)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cute tear-jerker: Great DVD to have in any collection
First, a little background of myself - I'm an U.S. Air Force officer, with background in both physical sciences & project management. I tend to steer towards movies that either make me think, or invoke emotional responses (interpret at will). I also gravitate toward movies that have fantastic soundtracks.

I first sought this movie out because my wife enjoys...
Published on February 18, 2006 by Cookie

versus
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad film after the first 30 minutes
Disclaimer: I am not this film's target audience. This is a film that was made for 15-30 year old women, and I'm a man of the same age bracket.

There are three kinds of chick flicks out there. There are the kind that men don't mind watching and may secretly kind of like (see Sleepless in Seattle), the kind that men could do without but will tolerate (see...
Published on February 20, 2005 by William D. Shingleton


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cute tear-jerker: Great DVD to have in any collection, February 18, 2006
This review is from: The Prince and Me (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
First, a little background of myself - I'm an U.S. Air Force officer, with background in both physical sciences & project management. I tend to steer towards movies that either make me think, or invoke emotional responses (interpret at will). I also gravitate toward movies that have fantastic soundtracks.

I first sought this movie out because my wife enjoys cute love movies, and because Julia Stiles plays roles in love stories quite well. The premise itself is a cute one - two people who are made for each other question their lifelong chosen destinies. It touches topics such as class (rich vs. poor), values (working for every penny vs. being spoiled), destiny (pre-destined vs. taking the bull by the horns), to name a few.

I shed tears as I watched this movie with my wife. Not because it's depressing, but because the movie strongly reminded me how lucky I am to be married to my wife, and how a combination of perfect timing, maturity, and perspective got me to recognize true love at the right time in my life. In essence, the movie reminded me how my wife (just a friend @ point of enlightenment) saved me from pursuing an insular, safe life.

Ok enough about my runin with Kleenex -

You can easily watch this with teenagers (most boys won't sit still for this movie). It reinforces the notion that true love can be had for those who are willing to accept it. In short, it's a cheery movie you'd want to have out for viewing, when you have friends/family over for the weekend.

Miranda Richardson and James Fox play the role of queen & king quite nicely. They create a good level of tension with the prince, displaying tension that just begs to be resolved before the movie ends. Eliza Bennett hams up the role of the younger sibling princess quite nicely - especially playing a Gameboy while dressed elegantly.

Alberta Watson, as Julia Stiles' character mother, reminds the audience that parents can be a great source of wisdom. The rest of the supporting cast play roles of people you'd probably find in normal life - college dorm settings mostly.

The movie does a great job of showing how the two main characters grow and change for the better. Rather than seeing one person become a different person within one frame, you can easily see the progression over the entire stretch of the movie.

The movie's soundtrack is fantastic. It's a good synthesis of new and vintage materiel - I learned who Tom Waits was due to listening to the music. Plus, I discovered another fantastic contemporary composer, Jennie Muskett.

I gave this movie 5 stars, because it reminded me how lucky I am to be married to my wife (made me think), got me to shed tears (the emotional response), and because I discovered Tom Waits and Jennie Muskett along the way (the soundtrack thing). Plus, I ended up buying it too, because I don't tire of watching it with my wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 97 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute and sweet "CHEMISTRY" you'll love to watch!, March 30, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wisconsin-born Paige Morgan (Julia Stiles) thinks boys are a distraction. In fact, she never dates, preferring to keep her mind on her pre-med college studies: she's worked hard for everything she's got, having grown up poor. Prince Edvard "Eddie" of Denmark (Luke Mably) has the opposite problem: he has grown up surrounded by wealth and privilege (having been groomed since birth to become the next ruler of his country). Only thing is: he's not ready for the responsibility! The Prince rebels against his parent's upbringing, deciding to go to America to meet girls.
Along with his trusty servant/bodyguard Soren (Ben Miller), the Prince enrolls as a student at a Wisconsin college; they arrive and immediately set off to the local hangout to find some of these Wisconsin girls. It is there that Eddie runs into Paige, who is working; she dislikes him from the start, as he acts as less than a gentleman to her. When Eddie pairs up with her as her lab partner the next day in class, she's not about to change her mind about him...after all, he's just a rich playboy. Isn't he?
Although Eddie started off with Paige on the wrong foot, he quickly realizes that she is the girl for him: the ONLY girl for him. He apologizes for his earlier behavior and the two become friends, and then something more. But when Paige discovers that her Eddie is actually Prince Edvard Valdemar Dangaard, soon to be 51st ruler of Denmark, she is understandably upset that he lied to her...but will she forgive him? And if she does, will the Prince be able to convince his parents to accept a poor Wisconsin girl as the future queen of Denmark?
There are hardly any content issues, for those of you concerned about taking your kids to see the film: there is hardly any language (one swear word, and one use of "bloody"), some time spent at the local student hangout (has a few drinks at a bar), and a brief scene where a girl and guy are kissing and his shirt comes off, but they are interuppted.
From the beautiful scenery and dream-like sequence of events (that come across VERY realistically), this romantic film is definitely worth the watch! The chemistry and love that blossoms between Paige and Eddie is so sweet and believable that you can't help falling in love with the characters themselves, and wishing that every girl could end up with their Prince Charming and live happily ever after!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVED this movie, April 1, 2004
By A Customer
Julia Stiles and Luke Mably were awesome. I saw this movie and loved it. It is the type of movie that can make you smile. I enjoy movies that can make you smile. As for the weather... WHO CARES? The weather added to the storyline, how manytimes has Cinderella gone to the ball in snow? I can't wait till this movie comes out on DVD. The story was like a real fairy tale. Tell me one girl who does not want to get wrapped up in a fairy tale once in a while? We are raised from the beginning of childhood life that fairy tales are just that... in this movie Paige is given the chance to live a true fairy tale. After realizing that she also remembers her dream, she remembers she will never give that up for anyone, not even prince charming. Paige is going to change the world. I loved that aspect of the movie. I want to see women who want to change the world and will work as hard as they have to in order to do so. I dont know, I guess I am just a hopeless romantic or something. But really, I think I just enjoy smiling every once in a while in the world we live in. Go see this movie, It was a real love story to lift your spirts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A (Prince) Charming flick, April 25, 2005
This review is from: The Prince and Me (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
This movie is a particular favorite of mine. Equal part comedy, romance and drama the movie features some wonderful performances (especially from the supporting cast) and enough light-hearted air to stop the drama from being too overbearing.

The movie centers around the romance between a Danish prince and a medical student at the University of Wisconsin.

Seems the Danish prince (Edward) is a little restless and (in an apparent reference to the antics of Britain's Princes William and Harry) is feeling the pressure of the expectations lofted upon him and engaging in car races and dalliances with a number of girls.

Following a particularly embarrassing incident and in the belief that American girls are wild and exhibitionist, Edward persuades his parents to allow him to attend classes in Wisconsin. His intentions are however hardly noble. In fact his persistence in visiting America's Dairyland comes from a television commercial for one of those Girls Gone Wild-type videos that gives Edward the impression that Wisconsin girls are easy - boy is he in for a shock.

It's not long after arriving at Wisconsin that he realizes that the campus is not populated entirely by free-wheeling party girls and in fact the one girl who catches his eye in particular is a very studious medical student (played with warmth and charm by Julia Stiles).

There is a real wicked streak of comedy in here, mostly supplied by the supporting characters such as Edward's bemused and disdainful man servant or his sloth-some roommate. But, what this movie does best is romantic comedy.

Of particular joy is watching Edward grow into the responsibilities of being a future King as his father (played by the amazing James Fox) slips further into decline.

For those who enjoyed movies such as "Boys and Girls" or "Down to You" (which also featured Stiles) then this is a movie you will enjoy. It's warm, charming and uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad film after the first 30 minutes, February 20, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Prince and Me (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Disclaimer: I am not this film's target audience. This is a film that was made for 15-30 year old women, and I'm a man of the same age bracket.

There are three kinds of chick flicks out there. There are the kind that men don't mind watching and may secretly kind of like (see Sleepless in Seattle), the kind that men could do without but will tolerate (see Ghost) and the kind that guys hate (see How to Make an American Quilt). This film falls into the middle category.

The Prince and Me has what seems to me to be your basic chick flick plot - girl is independent, meets arrogant guy, girl changes guy, guy changes girl, they fall in love. The twist here, of course, is that the guy happens to be royalty so there's a fairy tale quality about the end of the film. The plot is not the major problem here, as it does have a couple of interesting twists.

The problem is the execution of the first 30 minutes of the film, which are disjointed and uninteresting. There is a substantial amount of time spent setting up Paige (Julia Stiles)as independent and driven, and some of the scenes dealing with this topic are forced and repetitive. The same is true for the Prince (Luke Mably), though his scenes are considerably more interesting due to comic relief provided by Soren (Ben Miller), the prince's man servant. Overall, the beginning of the film is poorly acted, directed, and written, and frankly was not interesting enough to hold my attention.

This is a shame, because after the Prince and Paige fall in love the film picks up, the writing is crisper, and the direction seems to be better. The subplot with Soren becoming addicted to XBox is absolutely hysterical even though it only consumes a few seconds of screen time. Once the scene shifts to Denmark the film becomes much more engaging, though the last five minutes, with a cop-out to please the mass market, are disappointing.

The DVD has a couple of special features worth watching. The commentary from director Martha Coolidge (who directed one of my favorite films, Real Genius) is above average and has a nice mix of technical film insider stuff about camera angles and insightful commentary into some of the characters. There is a featurette about the lawnmower racing sequence (really, the guy's highlight to the film) that is definately worth watching. The gag reel is average, as are the other featurettes, though it does provide the alternate (read original) ending.

Overall, this film gets 0 stars for the first 30 minutes, three stars thereafter, and 4 for the DVD features. Guys won't like the film unless they're on a date, but they'll at least be able to tolerate it if they can get past the first 30 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cute and believable love story!, April 1, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I saw this cute film a weekend before opening, during a local sneak preview, and let me say, it was great!
Wisconsin-born Paige Morgan (Julia Stiles) thinks boys are a distraction. In fact, she never dates, preferring to keep her mind on her pre-med college studies: she's worked hard for everything she's got! Prince Edvard "Eddie" of Denmark (Luke Mably) has the opposite problem: he has grown up surrounded by wealth and privilege (having been groomed since birth to become the next ruler of his country). Only thing is: he's not ready for the responsibility!
Along with his trusty servant/bodyguard Soren (Ben Miller), the Prince enrolls as a student at a Wisconsin college, in order to meet girls; he immediately sets off to the local hangout to find some. It is there that he runs into Paige, who is working; she dislikes him from the start, as he acts as less than a gentleman to her. When Eddie comes along the next day and pairs up with her as her lab partner, she's not about to change her mind about him...after all, he's just a rich playboy. Isn't he?
Although Eddie quickly realizes that she is the girl for him: the ONLY girl for him. He apologizes for his earlier behavior and the two become friends, and then something more. But when Paige discovers that her Eddie is actually Prince Edvard Valdemar Dangaard, soon to be 51st ruler of Denmark, she is understandably upset that he lied to her...but will she forgive him? And if she does, will the Prince be able to convince his parents to accept a poor Wisconsin girl as the future queen of Denmark?
Running from the paparazzi, exploding lab chemicals, lawnmower races, and a royal procession, this movie is full of cute moments of excitement and fun! For those of you with kids that are worried about content, there is barely any language in the film (one "bloody" and one "I'm going to kick your a**"), and other than a few scenes in a bar hangout and some make-out scenses, it is very family friendly!
From the beautiful scenery and dream-like sequence of events (that come across VERY realistically), this romantic film is definitely worth the watch! The chemistry and love that blossoms between Paige and Eddie is so sweet and believable that you can't help falling in love with the characters themselves, and wishing that every girl could end up with their Prince Charming and live happily ever after!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great romance, Good acting, but a sloppy ending, July 21, 2004
This review is from: The Prince and Me (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Just watched it and I think it's a really good movie. It also has the potential of being a strong romantic hit. In simple terms, the cast was well characterized and balanced, specially Stiles and Mably with thier stunning performances. It's one of the best of Stiles, along side MLS. I even thought Miller's character served the purpose really well. The Limo's were awesome and the Royal exposure was amazingly neat, with the expection of the accents.

Yet, In my opinion, the music throughout the movie is what kept it alive. It defenitly illustrated the blend of comedy and romance. In that perspective Martha Coolidge deserves credit for a superb articulation of the romantic storyline with a passionate approach.

However, one thing that I found to be quite disappointing is the ending. For those who have watched it would know that even though anticipated, it was not the kind of ending one could have expected in a such great story. It was rather fast and inversed to what it was right throughout the movie.

Nevertheless, it was a good one, and I would reccommend it to anyone who loves romantic comedies. and trust me, after watching it, you will defenitely fall in love with Marc Cohn's song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantabulous!, May 18, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Prince and Me (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Thumbs Up for both movies! I'm a sucker for romantic fairy tales and this two movies tops all. Luke Mably is drop dead gorgeous and he look every inch the prince that he portrays. The chemistry between Paige and Eddy is heartwarming. The sequel would have been nicer if the entire cast from the original show reprise their roles....btw,where has " Eddy" little sister disappear to in the sequel??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Above Average Modern Fairy Tale, November 6, 2004
By 
Mark J. Fowler "Let's Play Two!" (Blytheville, Arkansas (The "the" is silent)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Prince and Me (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
The Prince and Me falls into two related genres - Romantic Comedy and "Cinderella Story". As a romantic comedy it is just average and includes several cliches that drive me crazy in this genre.

There are MANY romantic comedies where one character has a secret they hide from their love interest. In "Prince and Me" the secret is that "Eddie", the Danish student who shows up one day at the University of Wisconsin (played convincingly by Luke Mably) is actually the Prince and soon to be King of Denmark. (It is extremly convenient for us that all the Danes in the film including the royal family, prime minister, servants and paparazzi all speak English exclusively!) Our heroine, a farm-girl pre-med student, is played by Julia Stiles, and Ms. Stiles continues a budding acting career where she plays women of depth and character. Her Paige Morgan is accepted to Johns Hopkins Medical School around the same time she discovers Eddie is a Prince, and she aspires to work as a Doctor in an underserved country.

Prince Edvard GOES to Wisconsin because he's one of those Euro-trashy princes in the beginning of the movie and he sees an ad for one of those videos where college girls pull their shirts up, and *these* girls happen to be from Wisconsin. Bent on meeting sleazy young girls at the U of W Edvard immediately becomes fixated on the least sleazy, most-principaled woman in sight.

When the scene comes where Paige discovers Eddie is the Crown Prince she doesn't think "hey.... the hunky guy I was just kissing in the library is actually a PRINCE!" Instead she shrieks at him "you lied to me!" (which is only true for those who consider that a lie can include what you don't say - Eddie only tells Paige that he has to "go into the family business" when he returns to Denmark.)

The King is ill at this exact moment and Edvard must jet back to Copenhagen, which leads to one of the better done Romantic Comedy cliche-moments, the one where one character flies off after the lovers have had a tiff, only to have the other character come flying after them on the next plane. (If you think I've given anything away here, you haven't seen many Romantic Comedies.)

The third act begins here as Paige arrives in Denmark, is reunited with Edvard, and begins to contemplate a possible life as Queen of Denmark. During the breakfast where it first dawns on her that this is possible she suddenly looks uncertain. "Do you think the people will mind if I'm the Queen of Denmark and all I've seen is the airport?"

The Cinderella tale gets a thoroughly modern and believable upgrade, and it must have been difficult for Martha Coolidge and the screenwriters to generate the required romantic conflict for the characters who seem to have everything. Paige is not only the girl getting to go to Johns Hopkins, but the Prince falls in love with her too? There's conflict here?

Okay - it's not the best Romantic Comedy ever. But it's not the worst either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Fairy Tale Lacks Pizazz!, October 6, 2004
This review is from: The Prince and Me (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I'm a sucker for romance and the Cinderella story is one of my favorites - however, there are just so many ways this tale can be told before it gets really old. Director Martha Coolidge gets off to a good start, updating the fairy tale to the 21st century, with our prince from Denmark, not Hamlet(ish) at all, but a very decisive, spoiled and sexy Prince Edvard Valdemar Dangaard (Luke Mably). He really looks royal and is very hunky. Paige Morgan, (played by the lovely Julia Stiles), is the love interest and a premed student at the University of Wisconsin. She's a farm girl who is very focused on a career in medicine with, perhaps, a post-grad stint working with "Doctors Without Borders." Paige has a plan, and early marriage is not on her to-do list. Edvard, bored in Denmark, views a TV commercial, "Wild Girls of the Midwest," and decides that a year at a Wisconsin university might be just the experience to help him mature and settle down. He plans to attend classes undercover, so to speak. He definitely does not want the royal treatment.

OK! Predictable, but still amusing and entertaining, the studious female meets Eddie, playboy prince incognito, and there are some delightful scenes before the film begins to move downhill. Let it suffice to say/write that once the setting moves from the US to Denmark there are few surprises. The romance loses its luster (for me, not them). The impediments to the romance are so predictable. There is no pizzazz, energy, flair. This is a stale tale, and even a terrific cast cannot improve it much.

I am surprised at my lukewarm response to "The Prince And Me." I love princess flicks. Julia Stiles is a favorite, and she doesn't disappoint here. The problem is what she is given to work with lacks freshness and originality. The screenwriting is merely average. I mean, were any cliches ommited from the script? Ms. Stiles does brighten the screen, as do many in the cast - Prince Eddy is a real winner, and so is Soren (Ben Miller), the prince's valet. But there is just no zing! Sorry, but I can't recommend this with more than an average rating.

JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Prince and Me (Widescreen Edition)
The Prince and Me (Widescreen Edition) by Martha Coolidge (DVD - 2004)
$8.99 $6.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.