Customer Reviews


289 Reviews
5 star:
 (235)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply spectacular
This movie came out several years ago, and I still relish listening to the soundtrack today, particularly tracks 2, 7, 8, 12, 14 and 15. I am not a fan of the junky contemporary stuff they stuck on there, but you don't have to listen to it anyway.
Here's a review of my favorite tracks.
Track 2 begins softly, for the intro of the movie. Then WHOMP, Israelites...
Published on January 23, 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music from the movie --- but the pop songs...
I truly enjoyed the first two-thirds of this album. I adore musicals, and I could see the staging of these songs as I listened to the raw emotion running through them. I had heard Sally Dworsky performing "When You Believe" about 6 months previous to the movie, and loved the song then. I still love it now, along with "The Plagues." (Who knew...
Published on February 21, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply spectacular, January 23, 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Lexington, Kentucky) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Prince Of Egypt: Music From The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This movie came out several years ago, and I still relish listening to the soundtrack today, particularly tracks 2, 7, 8, 12, 14 and 15. I am not a fan of the junky contemporary stuff they stuck on there, but you don't have to listen to it anyway.
Here's a review of my favorite tracks.
Track 2 begins softly, for the intro of the movie. Then WHOMP, Israelites slaving in the desert. Incredible music. It perfectly fits the scene: a mighty people straining to be free. The all-male choir for the Israelites is perfect, as are the lyrics. And having some of the singing in Hebrew, brilliant. The music softens for Yechebed's lullaby to Moses, intensifies as the floating cradle encounters the dangers of the Nile, and softens again as the crib is found safe by Pharaoh's daughter. It swells again into the male choir praying to God on High for...Deliverance.
Track 7 is an excellent track sung by Jethro (and no, NOT the Clampets') to Moses about his (or anybody's) meaning in life, whether he knows it or not.
Track 8 is beyond words. It's truly like the very music of Heaven is playing, a celestial choir singing the most awesome tune in the world. If any tune on earth could contain God's glory, this one could. This track alone is worth the price.
Track 14 begins slowly and builds as the Israelites are set free, and Miriam and Zipporah sing of the miracles God provided for them. A great little in-the-middle part, the Israeli children sing a praise song to Jehovah in Hebrew, which peaks in the chorus of Miracles.
Track 15 is another spectacular track. If you've ever wondered what the music could be when God divides waters for His people, this is pretty close! Another track worth listening to.
Disappointingly, the soundtrack does NOT include the score for the chariot race towards the beginning of the movie. That was a mistake not to put it on the disc.
Whether you believe in God, Moses, or the Bible or not, this is an awesome CD to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice songs, Wonderful score by Hans Zimmer, February 28, 2005
This review is from: The Prince Of Egypt: Music From The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
The Prince Of Egypt is an animated movie soundtrack and as such it is replete with songs, but unlike most other animated soundtracks, The Prince Of Egypt contains much of Hans Zimmer's understated score. THe songs are fine and some are interesting, but Hans Zimmer's score is exceptional. While many of his scores are action oriented, Zimmer combines the exotic sounds of the Middle East with an inspiring score. His theme for God is one of the most beautiful that Zimmer has ever written. The only complaint I have is that the cd producers could have written off the contemporary versions of the movie songs at the end and added more score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, July 11, 2000
By 
Jason Farcone (Mukilteo, Wa USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Prince Of Egypt: Music From The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This is one of my favorite soundtrack/scores of all time. First of all, the movie is absolutely incredible, and is my favorite animated movie (along with Iron Giant). The soundtrack is equally great. The thing about this soundtrack, is the songs are actually extremely good. They all go well with the film, have great lyrics, and catchy beats. My personal favorite are the film version of "When you Believe" and "The Plagues". Every song from the film is wonderful. Unfortunately, the songs by the pop singers are horribly weak in comparison, but it's never hard to press the skip button a couple times. But as good as the songs are on this album, the definate highlight is the score. Hans Zimmer has outdone himself, creating one of my all time favorite scores. The music goes perfectly with the film, and every score track on the album is excellent. Two of the best tracks I've ever heard, The Red Sea and The Burning Bush, are so grand and beautiful you can't imagine. Only once has Zimmer provided a better score (The Thin Red Line), but this is so extremely close behind it. If you are a film score fan, you must own this cd, even if you are against songs on soundtracks. This is Zimmer in top form, and if you pass it up you will be missing so much. Even friends who aren't the biggest Zimmer fans believe this is his one brilliant work. Grab it now, and you will be listening to it for many, many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Most Listened to CD, September 30, 2003
By 
This review is from: The Prince Of Egypt: Music From The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I have so much love for this CD, it's a little embarrassing. The songs and music are so beautiful and captivating. My personal favorites are "Deliver Us" the movie version of "When You Believe" and "Burning Bush." The vocals are fabulous, and I think it's adorable when the children sing in "When You Believe." I listen to the singing tracks when I'm in a mood to be energized. However, the beautiful music in "Burning Bush" and "Red Sea" as well are excellent. I listen to this album almost every night before bed, not because it's boring, but because I find it very 'centering.' I am not a fan of the music included that was not from the moive, but it's not terrible, and it doesn't detract from the CD as a whole. A 5-star CD if there ever was one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Music!, February 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you're a fan of soundtracks, this one's good. If you're a fan of Ofra Haza, it's even better. On the tracks where she sings, her voice is uplifting and beautiful. This movie was my introduction to her as a performing artist, and I've been a huge fan since.

Besides Ofra, it's great fun listening to Ralph Fiennes sing on his track, as well as Steve Martin and Martin Short on theirs. The music is well orchestrated and moving, and the pipes and drums in the opening of "All I Ever Wanted" still gives me chills. I was also happy that the songs hadn't been changed much from the ones used in the actual movie, which is a plus if that's the version you enjoyed most.

All in all, its enjoyable to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful . . .Exciting. . .Sad. . .Joyful. . .Brilliant!, January 11, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Prince Of Egypt: Music From The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
My children and I loved the movie "The Prince of Egypt," due in part to this outstanding soundtrack. This music will move you in ways that will take you by surprise and make you shiver! All the songs are brilliantly written by Stephen Schwartz, and wonderfully performed for the film, but there are several standout tracks: "Deliver Us" combines the plight of the israelite slaves, who are waiting for release from bondage, with the sad yet hopeful lullaby of a mother (sung by the INCREDIBLE Ofra Haza) who gives up her child in hope of a better life for him. The middle eastern flavor of the melodies and the strong vocals make this a strong and moving song. Our hands-down favorite track is "When You Believe" (the version sung in the movie). This song will have you crying, laughing, praising and dancing! The hebrew prayer sung by children's voices build up to a blockbuster ending that still gives me chills each time I hear it. My choir is singing "When You Believe" this year, and I'll be lucky if I can sing it without crying. The score by Hans Zimmer is also very powerful.
Michelle Pfeiffer, Martin Short and Steve Martin do a nice job singing their characters' parts. The pop version of "When You Believe" sung by Mariah Carey and Whitney Houston is done with an R&B twist; other stars on the soundtrack CD include Amy Grant and Boys II Men. Overall, the pop versions are merely interesting compared to the riveting songs and score from the actual film. Even if you have not seen the movie, this CD is well worth a listen, and likely to become a favorite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Soundtrack by Super Singers, September 20, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Prince Of Egypt: Music From The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
The Prince of Egypt CD is perhaps the most wonderful movie music in at least a dozen years. This, the original version, is the best of the three different versions of the movie soundtract.

The quality of the songs and the vocals is outstanding. Mariah Carey gives one of her best singing performances ever. The quality of her singing was no doubt elevated by the presence of the greatest of female vocalists - 1. Ofra Haza, and 2. Whitney
Houston ...(in that order). I believe Ofra Haza did much to spread the music on this CD around the world by singing her three songs in many ( 26 ? ) different languages. Some of the other singers performed in multiple languages as well.

The soundtract stands up well on its own even without having first seen the movie. However, for a true and full appreciation of this soundtract, you must watch the movie. You will want to see the movie and listen to the soundtract more than once. The Prince of Egypt is NOT just a movie and music for children. The movie and the music are both major achievements, masterworks by a large group of dedicated professionals. Most children probably will not fully appreciate the depth and beauty of the music. It is worthy of many multiple listenings. When Ofra Haza with her soaring,
beautiful vocals sings "Deliver Us," that alone is worth the price of the CD. Steve Martin on "Playing With the Big Boys" is a gas. The Pince of Egypt CD is loaded with beautiful and inspiring music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thou shalt have a great soundtrack, November 20, 2002
By 
Brandon Cutro (Tyler, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Prince Of Egypt: Music From The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
There is certainly something for everyone in this soundtrack from pop songs, to film songs, to score. The pop songs come from Mariah Carey & Whitney Houston, Brian Stokes Mitchell, K-Ci & JoJo, Amy Grant, and Boyz II Men. The best song of them all comes from Mariah Carey and Whitney Houston called "When You Believe" which got a lot of radio air time. The songs that were sung in the film were written by Stephen Schwartz and are all good songs that compliment the score perfectly, especially "Deliver Us". The score is composed by veteran Hans Zimmer and his trademark high octane style is present throughout. He uses a 3 note theme played by the brass and synths, along with the choir in "Burning Bush" and "Red Sea". "The Reprimand" contains an Egyptian dance sequence played by unique middle eastern instruments. Great orchestral music is featured in "Goodbye Brother" and a cello solo is featured in "Death of the First Born". I wish that there was a separate album for songs and score and that there was much more score present than this. The score only runs about 25 minutes and the rest are songs. Even so, a great soundtrack that is a joy to listen to throughout and will not bore you to death, considering the various different musical selections given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, entrancing., September 28, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Prince Of Egypt: Music From The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This music made the film what it was! The blend of the culture and rythm in the score and the moving lyrics in the songs can bring out emotion. The film-version of "When You Believe" is awe-inspiring. I must admit, though. The Carey-Houston version is getting VERY annoying. Even if you don't nkow the story of Exodus, this is a brilliant portrayal, but don't use it as a true source of the Bible. It isn't. It has been changed slightly for family audiences and for viewing pleasure. For instance, Moses didn't flee, Ramesses banished him because of his greed and jealousy. That isn't in the film. But, I am writing on behalf of the music, not the film. The song "The Plagues" is mystifying. Ralph Fiennes and Amick Byram's voices really blend. the strong, arrogantly stubborn voice of Fiennes is a clear indication of whom he portrays, you don't need the "I will not let your people go" to know that. Byram's pleading, yet equally stubborn voice also lets you know who is presenting his views. You don't need a "Let my people go" for that, either. The intensity builds from the whispers of death i the beginning right up until its climax when Fiennes and Byram simultaneously end their oral struggle. It is magic. As it is plainly obvious, this is my favorite track out of the songs, and overal the best on the CD. But it is too short. However, I fear if it was longer, it would lose its urgency. The best score piece is probably "The Death of the First Born". It is eerie, and gets the message across. It fits the sequence in the film it plays during perfecty. It adds to the suspense and horror, and isn't painfully obvious, like in DeMille's Biblically-perfect film. Other definite pluses in the cd is the film and pop version of "Through Heavens Eyes". And the film-version of "When You Believe". "Deliver Us" is simply moving. "Playing With the Big Boys" lacks the intense drama of the other pieces, but the music is something else. In other words, don't cut out the vocals on your stereo in the complete dark. BUY THIS CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prince Of Egypt Is The Prince Of Musicals, January 29, 2002
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Prince Of Egypt: Music From The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I have always enjoyed veiwing the Prince of Egypt movie. So when I was eight years old and constantly singing the songs from the movie after I saw it, my mother decided to buy me the cd to shut me up. Unfortunetly, this fed my passion for the music, and soon, I was performing the songs in talent shows. But one thing I always noticed about this particular soundtrack, was that there were pathetic popmusic attempts at rerecording the already phenomanal music. The only pop version that I thought was worthy to be on the same cd as the other songs was "When You Believe-Mariah Carey & WHitney Houston". For example, the remake of "Through Heaven's Eyes" Was totally and completely the wrong feel for the song. The interesting tribal sounds from the movie and the deep, rich, melodious voice that sang it enriched the peice. And the song "Humanity" had almost nothing to do with the movie. Not to mention "I will get there" by boyzIImen. In short, stick to the original tracks. But because the P.O.E. is a wonderful musical, it was fortunetly not dragged down by the sub-standard performance of the pop music versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.