Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY FAVORITE MM FILM
I've seen this film perhaps twenty times since it came out in 1957 and find the glowing DVD version perfection, much better than the laserdisk.When I first saw it, I believe it was projected through a lens masked for widescreen. So I was disappointed through the years when the videocassette and laserdisk versions weren't in widescreen. Now I'm delighted that the DVD isn't...
Published on April 6, 2002 by Donald A. Newlove

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MARILYN IS BEAUTIFUL!!!
This isn't the best of her movies, but Marilyn is great to look at and she is very talented in this love story. Olivier, who i love, is also very good in this slow moving romance. worth a look just to watch marilyn's beauty...
Published on July 8, 1999 by E.FAMIGLIETTI


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIVE STARS FOR THE FILM BUT: WHAT IS THE RATIO?, April 3, 2012
This review is from: The Prince and the Showgirl (DVD)
The reverse of the "NEW" Warner packaging shown above on this AMAZON Site for a further DVD release of The Prince and the Showgirl says: "Copyright (C) 2012". So it seems to confirm that detail refers to the new version.

The packaging also states: "This film has been modified to fit your screen".

What does that mean?

All previous Video and DVD releases (apart from one) have been 4x3 standard ratio for old-style square TV sets?

We are aware there was DeLuxe Edition of the film released as a Collector's Item some time back which was in "WIDESCREEN". The cost of old copies of this version on eBay is prohibitive for most people.

I saw the film theatrically many years ago and it was presented in Widescreen 1.85:1. It is also shown that way in cuts shown in the viewing room dailies in MY WEEK WITH MARILYN.

If the old master has been reused once again then "modified" etc. would apply to the old cathay ray television sets and most of us now own widescreen TV's.

So, is the "new" release STILL 4x3 or more hopefully, at long last, remastered in Widescreen 1.85:1, to fit our modern widescreen TV's - or more aptly "your TV Screen" ?

Would any purchaser of the current DVD release of The P and the S please advise us of the actual ratio as I am not about to purchase yet a further identical copy of a previously released version, simply because the brilliant new Michelle Williams film is the cue for making more money from DVD collectors of MM product worldwide.

And why no BluRay version to reveal the beautiful original color and photography of The P and the S?

Thank you.

Eric Glasby AUSTRALIA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated Entertainment, January 18, 2001
By A Customer
This is one of the best films M. Monroe ever appeared in. Here she got the chance to prove that she was not only the blonde sex-bomb, but a real actress. She holds up remarkably well against Sir Laurence Olivier, who is - as usual - gorgeous. Sir Laurence on the other hand plays that Carpathian ruler with a charm that makes forget everything one knows about the Balkans ... However, it is a pity that the movie is not available on DVD, esp. since the quality of the tape is not the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a must for marilyn fans, May 8, 2000
By A Customer
entertaining, at times a bit slow, movie with Laurence Olivier (who also directed) and Marilyn, of course. Marilyn never looked better, she gives a charming performance. There isn't much chemistry between the principals however, maybe due to Olivier's rigid directing and acting style. Not his best! The long churchscene with the awful music is rediculous. All in all it's pretty good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "What's not to like", November 3, 2002
This review is from: The Prince and the Showgirl (DVD)
I thought "The Prince & The Show Girl," (DVD) was about as good as it gets with MM. A fun tale of opposites attracting. Monroe in one of her finer films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The showgirl walks away with the whole thing..., August 30, 2012
By 
Andrew Ellington (I'm kind of everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Prince and the Showgirl (DVD)
The one thing that I took away from `The Prince and the Showgirl' was how much I love Marilyn Monroe as an actress. I know that some considered her talent to be minimal, and it is true that she didn't possess the range that some actresses carry, but she was very good at what she did and she carved a niche for herself that was undeniable. She understood how to sell herself, exploit herself even, but the truth of the matter was that she was playing a part, and she sold it 100%. Watching this film for the first time after seeing `My Week With Marilyn' was a particular treat because I feel like I (to a certain degree) got a behind the scenes look at the film itself and so watching the rapport that developed between Monroe and Olivier onscreen after the tumultuous time they had behind the screen is quite compelling. Despite the hardships she was undergoing in the process, Monroe is dynamic in her role as showgirl Elsie.

The film itself is rather silly and overworked and unbalanced and just not wholly interesting, dragging in particular segments and leaving me kind of blasé to the whole endeavor, but Monroe chews up her scenes with such rabid devotion. Her comedic timing is stellar and her seductive nature is fully intact, but she always layers Elsie with a heart and soul, especially in the film's final moments. Her coolness is alluring and she certainly makes the biggest impact here. Olivier, as respected an actor as he was, can't hold his own against her and winds up becoming a caricature and a baffling presence as he muddles through the nonsensical plot, but Monroe shines brightly and walks away unscathed.

It's a pretty picture, with top notch costumes and sets, but outside of Monroe there really isn't much reason to see this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MARILYN IS BRILLIANT., July 31, 2002
By 
"zmart4ever" (san marcos, ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Prince and the Showgirl (DVD)
This Movie seems a bit dated and slow at times but curiously enough does get better with repeated viewing.
There is very little chemistry here between Laurence Olivier and Marilyn Monroe and it certainly isn't her Fault.
Besides being at once beautiful,funny and touching,Marilyn also delivers a brilliant Performance. It's hard to take your Eyes of her when ever she appears on the Screen, no matter who else might be in the same Shot.
The only thing i find really annoying in this Film is the drawn-out Church Scene with the awful Music.
This is a must have for any Marilyn Fan, of course,but anybody that enjoys romantic Comedies will also like this Film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince and the Showgirl, June 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Prince and the Showgirl (DVD)
This film is the gitty,sexy,seductive Marilyn Monroe.Sir Laurence Olivier co stars and the film is shot in the UK.
Splendid color film.Marilyn is in top form.This sex symbol was not your typical current sexy leading Emaciated
Leading lady.She epitomized the wholesome look.Sadly,we lost her too soon.She was versatile on the screen.
Comedy,drama,musical,she could do it all effortlessly.
This is a fun movie.But her charisma and femininity
Have eyes riveted on her,and Olivier is one of the great actors of his time.
.As Bernie Taupin,lyricist for Elton John wrote in their hit song,goodbye Norma Jean,though
I never knew you at all,you had the grace to hold yourself,while those around you crawled.Her legendary status is timeless.
She remains the ultimate star of the silver screen some 50 years after her untimely death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collector's Set, January 15, 2004
By A Customer
This very special box set contains, the DVD, Senitype (a limited edition image from the film and 35 millimeter film frame) color booklet with rare photos of Marilyn Monroe and a second DVD entitled the LEGEND OF MARILYN MONROE which was produced by David Wolper (The Thornbirds, Roots)and a one-sheet movie poster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There are no bimbos here...., January 5, 2011
This review is from: The Prince and the Showgirl (DVD)
Lawrence Olivier and Marilyn Monroe???? It's true, this bizarre match actually took place in the 1957 film, The Prince and the Showgirl. The story takes place at the 1911 coronation of King George V of England. Olivier plays a decorous Carpathian prince, who attends the coronation with his son, the young King, and the dowager queen. When the eye of his son is snagged by Marilyn the showgirl, the Prince arranges for them to meet, and she attends the coronation with them. The prince, of course, is utterly charmed by her. Olivier served as director, producer, and leading man in this film, which he adapted from a play by Terence Ratigan. Monroe had recently demonstrated her considerable acting talents the year before in Bus Stop, and this role was somewhat unworthy of those. Nevertheless, she took the part of "naive" showgirl and invested it with her brilliant comedic timing, maintaining a sort of tongue in cheek bearing that implied that the joke was certainly not on her. Why an actor of Olivier's stature would choose the role of the wooden prince is a mystery. (Probably he merely wanted to work with the blonde bombshell.) The film that he produced and directed turned out to be sluggishly paced, and the movie fails to achieve the snap and crackle that it might have reached with a livelier director. But the scenes at the coronation are priceless, and the star of the show is unquestionably the incomparable Marilyn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Get it for Monroe, February 21, 2009
By 
L. Peyronnin "liquidlen" (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Prince and the Showgirl (DVD)
This is a very mediocre movie. If it did not have the divine Marilyn and sir Olivier in it, if others had played their parts, nobody today would remember this flick. As it is, Olivier does well playing an ultra stuffed-shirt aristocrat, completely self-absorbed in the politics of his position in life; there is nothing more to the character than that. The only real virtue of the movie is Marilyn, who in this movie, even more so than many of her others, is . . . how should I put this . . . Totally HOT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Prince and the Showgirl
The Prince and the Showgirl by Laurence Olivier (DVD - 2012)
$5.97 $4.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.