Customer Reviews


628 Reviews
5 star:
 (402)
4 star:
 (124)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming, Modern Day Fairy Tale
I thought that Princess Diaries was a charming, modern day fairy tale with a positive message under the lighthearted surface. Anne Hathaway was excellent, with terrific timing and delivery in her comic scenes, and with a touching subtlety in her dramatic moments. Julie Andrews was wonderful, perfectly cast as the majestic queen, with an undercurrent of affection and...
Published on July 26, 2001 by Lois Regen

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Women for Teens
Good points: Julie Andrews' return to the big screen in all of her regal splendor is the definite highpoint of an otherwise frothy affair. She's the only reason I was motivated to watch in the first place - Don't we all wish Mary Poppins was our long-lost grandma? In the lead, Anne Hathaway has the right mixture of fresh-faced beauty and goofy charm for Mia. She was...
Published on July 23, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming, Modern Day Fairy Tale, July 26, 2001
By 
Lois Regen (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
I thought that Princess Diaries was a charming, modern day fairy tale with a positive message under the lighthearted surface. Anne Hathaway was excellent, with terrific timing and delivery in her comic scenes, and with a touching subtlety in her dramatic moments. Julie Andrews was wonderful, perfectly cast as the majestic queen, with an undercurrent of affection and vulnerability beneath her regal exterior. The supporting cast was consistent and strong, and the movie had excellent production values and cinematography. The story meandered a bit in the middle, but soon found its focus again with a strong finish, which proved that there's more to being a princess than makeup and manners.
A refreshing change from the usual kiddy fare of hyper, smart aleck scripts, I would recommend this film to anyone, but especially to parents with young or pre-teen children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Better DVD!!!, January 7, 2002
By 
Mr. JKW "jkw" (Honolulu, Hawai'i) - See all my reviews
THE MOVIE:
Although a bit formulaic with the "ugly duckling" storyline, this movie really was a great way to spend two hours. The basic storyline has Mia (Anne Hathaway), an unpopular (to put in mildly) school girl finding out that she's the heir to the throne of a small European kingdom when her long-lost grandmother (the legendary Julie Andrews!!!) shows up to claim her for the throne.
The rest of the movie basically shows Mia taking the hilarious steps to refine and (physically and socially) transform herself for the throne while she tries to survive the tenth grade, find the right boyfriend and battle off the paparazzi. While the plot may sound cliché, the movie really is a great flick taking you back to those less than secure days of high school. You'll really feel for Mia as she battles her own self-doubts, feelings, emotions and those sometimes cruel classmates of hers (including pop superstar Mandy Moore).
Highlights:
- The first state dinner!!!
- Beating the ticket!!!
- Those high school adventures...
- The hilarious lessons in etiquette...
- The makeover...
- A young girl finds herself!!!
The best scenes in the movie for me were the "State Dinner" and the part where they tried to beat a ticket from a cop.
THE DVD FEATURES:
Overall, Princess Diaries DVD is basically a great representative of what most DVD movies SHOULD be like as it is just chalked full of great extras.
1. 8 deleted scenes from the movie, including commentary from director Gary Marshall introducing each scene and then subsequently explaining why they were cut from the movie. GREAT extra.
2. Behind-the-scenes documentary/featurette "A New Princess." Truly one of the better behind-the-scenes documentaries I've seen with tons of cast and crew interviews, including looks at the different cast members and why they were cast for their specific roles. You'll get to see a lot of the cast interaction including a cast and crew party.
3. Two music videos including Myra's "Miracles Happen" and Krystal Harris' "Supergirl." These were cool...
4. TWO OPTIONAL AUDIO COMMENTARIES: One from Gary Marshall and one from Anne Hathaway and Julie Andrews. The commentaries actually run throughout the movie where they explain and give their thoughts on each scene.
Summed up, this is basically a really, really good DVD and definitely a must-see if you really liked the movie. Disney's done a great job on it.
Overall, if you dig those "teen/chick" types of movies, you'll go for this one. I'd equate this to a cross between "Miss Congeniality" and "Never Been Kissed." It's a fun movie to kill a few hours with or to catch while on a date. If you're a guy, I'll guarantee your spouse/girlfriend will probably like it...
THE VERDICT:
The Movie: Recommended
The DVD: Highly Recommended If You Really Loved the Movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Fun for All--Princess Diaries, August 3, 2001
By 
Elizabeth P. Goldman (Plano, TX United States) - See all my reviews
The Princess Diaries is a true delight for family members of all ages. It is rated G (really) thus you can take any age to see it without fear of being surprised by content that is more suitable for older persons. Don't let the rating, teenagers, keep you from seeing this film. It is humorous and every girl's fantasy.
This is basically a story of a clumsy, awkward, adolescent girl, living with her bohemian artist mother, who discovers her paternal grandmother is a queen, her father was a prince, thus making her a princess and the only heir to the kingdom of Genovia. The girl, Mia, and her grandmother make a pact. She comes for 2 weeks of "training" in all the social graces, etc. befitting a ruler and then she can decide if this is the life she wishes to live or not. Her answer will be graciously accepted. This is not as straight forward and as simple a movie as it appears. There are a few little twists, turns and surprises on the way to the decision. There are also a few lessons on friendship and what is truly important in one's life. Our entire family (ages 8, 9, 17, 25, and 48) enjoyed this movie thoroughly. Although it will not win an Academy award, it is quite an entertaining, charming, modern fairy tale. Don't miss it.
Anne Hathaway (Mia) is funny, quirky, and masters the lip curl quite well in this film. Her clumsiness seems natural and she certainly cleans up well. Her transition from ugly duckling to beautiful swan is reminiscent of the late Audrey Hepburn.
Julie Andrews is perfect in her role as the Queen of Genovia bringing just the right amount of sophistication and warmth to the role. Her scenes with Hector Elizondo (Joe) show subtle senuality and the warm fuzziness and comfort of an old and trusted friend. You know there is another story there that isn't being told. Their dance scene together can make you forget Miss Andrews was a singer. (Kids--she was Mary Poppins!) If you wish to see Miss Andrews in her true glory watch her as "Maria" in the movie, The Sound of Music.
Other cast members who round out the story and do a great job are Terry Wayne (Clark,the hairdresser), Heather Matarazzo (Lilly) as Mia's best friend, Robert Schwartzman (Michael) who is Lilly's brother, and Patrick Richwood as the neighbor/writer. Mr. Robutusen.
Mandy Moore also makes her film debut as one of the "beautiful people" preps who is also part of a singing trio at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Live Action Film For General Audiences!, July 28, 2001
Normally, live action films get PG ratings. This got a G rating and I was expecting it to be very childish, but it's more for teens! The story is great and the acting is remarkable! It's about 15 year old Mina Thermopolis. She's one of the biggest "Freaks" at her school. She has a huge crush on the school jock who's girlfriend is the most popular in school (played by Mandy Moore). When her grandmother who Mia has never met tells her that she's the Princess of a small country in Europe and that she has to rule it, her world turns upside down. She has a complete makeover and now shes the most popular girl in school, the press is on her trail, and all she wants is to be "Invisible". If she dosen't accept her title, her rule will be handed over to stuck up snobs that don't care about anyone but themselves. It's amazing to watch Mia change so much. You'll love it no matter what age you are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Royal Coming of Age Tale, January 8, 2005
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
15-year-old Mia Thermopolis is just hoping to get through school. She mostly invisible and likes it that way. Then her grandmother comes to visit and reveals a secret. Mia is really a princess and next in line for the throne of Genovia. Now Mia must learn to act like a princess while dealing with her new found popularity and fame. Does she want the throne? Can she rule? Will she hurt her friends in the process?

This is a fun movie. Rewatching it recently, I was struck by how realistic it was. Mia goes through many emotions over the course of the movie, all of which exactly what a girl in her shoes would go through. And her growth is quite noticeable. Along the way, there's a great story that moves along nicely and keeps your interest. Newcomer Anne Hathaway is perfect as Mia, and Julie Andrews brings believability to her roll as Queen Clarisse. I can't imagine anyone else in her roll.

The DVD release is perfect for fans of the movie. The widescreen picture looks great and the full surround is perfect. There's a fun behind the scenes featurette, 8 deleted scenes with interesting if somewhat over done commentary by Gary Marshall, and two audio commentaries. The first features director Gary Marshall and the second features a tea party/commentary with Julie Andrews and Anne Hathaway.

Pre-teens girls are the target audience of this movie, and they'll love it. But anyone in the family will enjoy this movie if they'll give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good mother-daughter film..., July 12, 2001
By 
Brit (Minnesota) - See all my reviews
This my be one of the best films for a mother and daughter to go to. It's a fun film that both generations will enjoy. It's like a "Pretty Woman" for the younger kids. I saw this movie at a screening in June, and to be totally honest, I wasn't sure if I would even enjoy it. Being that I have just finish the 10th grade, this film I thought really showed the true high school life in this date in time. I was very surpirsed to have enjoyed it as much as I did. This film may appeal to the younger crowd, but believe me it was even enjoyable and fun for those older as well. If your looking for a cute film and you enjoyed "Pretty Woman" and "Runaway Bride" then you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Princess Diaries, August 7, 2001
By A Customer
I have seen this movie twice on friday and again today with my parents this time. I am 40 years old, and loved this light hearted family fun movie. It made us laugh and smile, we were delighted to hear no bad language and see no dirty sex scenes or violence. It was a feel good movie for all ages ,and most of all well acted, directed and written. My parents loved it as much as I did, and we all thought Julie and cast was right on the mark with their characters.The childen in the audience at both showings rarely got up to go to the restrooms amazing or run off to the snack bar , they didn' talk loud through the movie as the usual par for a movie, and there was much laughter by a packed showing both times.When we left the theatre we felt happy and pleased- We were pleased to see a movie worth paying for, and they don't make many like this anymore sadly. It was well worth the money both times !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute and Happy and Entertaining, July 26, 2001
By A Customer
I thought this movie was very cute and well-acted. Being a Disney movie, it is fairly predictable (hence the four stars), but there were quite a few laughs during the movie. Julie Andrews was great, as usual, and Anne Hathaway is great a comedy. All in all, I found it to be very entertaining and would recommend it to girls and women who want to see a light-hearted movie. This movie will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Family Movie, August 7, 2001
By A Customer
This film is the best of 2001. The best thing about it is it has something for everyone. Moms and Dads can appreciate the fact it's rated G, and the laughs- not to mention Julie Andrews. Kids under 10 (especially girls) will like it because it's basically a fairy tale. Teens like me will probably enjoy it the most, because it's pretty much your average teen movie, only with less cussing. And the love story appeals to everyone. It's also extremely funny. Some parts of the movie make your stomach ache from laughing. It's kind of a cross between My Fair Lady and She's All That. Not to mention the wonderful actors. Julie Andrews (what else can I say?), Anne Hathaway (a great actress, she's good with physical comedy), Mandy Moore (Not only an excellent singer, but a great actor! She sings in the movie too!), and Eric Von Detton (a very cute actor who plays Mandy's boyfriend). The number one reason to see this is the laughs and the story line (even though it's predicable). I'm going to see this movie again soon, and I'm going to buy it as soon as it comes out. Do yourself a favor and go see The Princess Diaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, delightfully charming--a must-see, August 9, 2001
By 
Elizabeth P. Goldman (Plano, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Reviewer: Libby from Plano, Tx. The Princess Diaries is a true delight for family members of all ages. It is rated G (really) thus you can take any age to see it without fear of being surprised by content that is more suitable for older persons. Don't let the rating, teenagers, keep you from seeing this film. It is humorous and every girl's fantasy. This is basically a story of a clumsy, awkward, adolescent girl, living with her bohemian artist mother, who discovers her paternal grandmother is a queen, her father was a prince, thus making her a princess and the only heir to the kingdom of Genovia. The girl, Mia, and her grandmother make a pact. She comes for 2 weeks of "training" in all the social graces, etc. befitting a ruler and then she can decide if this is the life she wishes to live or not. Her answer will be graciously accepted. This is not as straight forward and as simple a movie as it appears. There are a few little twists, turns and surprises on the way to the decision. There are also a few lessons on friendship and what is truly important in one's life. Our entire family (ages 8, 9, 17, 25, and 48) enjoyed this movie thoroughly. It is quite an entertaining, charming, modern fairy tale. Don't miss it. Anne Hathaway (Mia) is funny, quirky, and masters the lip curl quite well in this film. Her clumsiness seems natural and she certainly cleans up well. Her transition from ugly duckling to beautiful swan is reminiscent of the late Audrey Hepburn. Julie Andrews is perfect in her role as the Queen of Genovia bringing just the right amount of sophistication and warmth to the role. Her scenes with Hector Elizondo (Joe) show subtle senuality and the warm fuzziness and comfort of an old and trusted friend. You know there is another story there that isn't being told. Their dance scene together can make you forget Miss Andrews was a singer. (Kids--she was Mary Poppins!) If you wish to see Miss Andrews in her true glory watch her as "Maria" in the movie, The Sound of Music. Other cast members who round out the story and do a great job are Larry Miller (the hairdresser), Heather Matarazzo (Lilly) as Mia's best friend, Robert Schwartzman (Michael) who is Lilly's brother, and Patrick Richwood as the neighbor/writer. Mr. Robutusen. Mandy Moore also makes her film debut as one of the "beautiful people" preps who is also part of a singing trio at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Princess Diaries
The Princess Diaries by Garry Marshall
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.