Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Problem With Money? It's Not About the Money!: Mastering the Unexamined Beliefs that Drive Our Financial Lives
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 30, 2011
As a psychologist, I know that most financial problems come from beliefs about money that prevent people from handling money well. There are countless books out there offering practical tips on saving, investing, and spending money wisely, but even the best money advice in the world won't work if negative beliefs (for example, "I don't deserve money," "I'm not good with money," and "money is the root of all evil") are in the way. This enjoyable, enlightening, and easy to digest book is your road map to understanding your own negative beliefs about money -- and trust me, we all have them -- and creating the empowering money beliefs necessary to build and maintain a rewarding financial life.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 5, 2010
I really liked this book because it addressed the behavioral and psychological side of money. It is not about the left brain managing of money but the subconscious unexamined beliefs we hold that influence the choices that we make. This book is about removing the blindfolds and becoming financially conscious in life with fully examined beliefs so when we make money choices we are making them with our eyes wide open. It is not about the money itself, money is a neutral thing that can be used for any purpose we choose. It can be for good or bad, to invest or waste, it can be used to gain freedom or bondage to things. What this book is about is our beliefs and values that control how we manage and spend or money.
Our beliefs cause our behaviors around money. What we do with our money is a reflection of behaviors and beliefs we learned as children or young adults. this book asks you not to blame those who gave you bad advice or led you down the wrong road, it asks us to take full responsibility for how and why we make bad financial decisions. The books aim is to make us fully conscious of our behaviors regarding money.
Through exercises, examples, and stories this book does a great job uncovering money beliefs in seven areas of life-our earliest memories, family of origin, significant relationships, education, work, spirituality, and worldview.

"We are motivated to grow by the power of our dreams rather than our problems."

Great book for those with money problems but can never figure out why they can't stop making the same mistakes over and over again. This book could be a financial life saver by getting to the psychological root of the problem once and for all.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2016
This is the book to begin to have a life changing, and life lasting experience about the relationship we have with money. If we want to have an enriched life, first we need to understand what our perception of what money means to us. This is an easy to read and easy to understand book. Jane Honeck's book will help you have a healthy happy relationship with money and in this book, you learn how to do just that!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2016
I'm a Clinical Social Worker and highly commend Jane Honeck for her creativity! This is an excellent book to use to unearth unconscious beliefs about money. There's still the tricky part about what to do with that knowledge once you have it, but an excellent tool nonetheless. A+!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 16, 2011
Money; Finances; the bank account. Words that nobody - and no married couple - like to talk about. Let's face it, people will talk about their sex lives more easily than they do their finances. We hide from them, pretend like they don't exist, and do everything in our power to avoid having to sit down and have a real conversation about them. It's such a shame - but what's the problem with talking about money? The problem is we don't know how and we are afraid of facing our biggest fears -- our own self!

In this book the author takes us on a very easy to follow journey about how we can confront these fears we have about finances and help move our lives along. Through easy to read chapters and helpful "write it down" exercises she doesn't lecture us or tell us that it's all our own fault -- instead, like a kind grandmother, she holds our hand and helps us discover the true problem with our financial woes. Advice isn't given so much as it is learned and discovered.

I would recommend this book for parents who want to give their soon-to-be-in-the-real-world kids a heads up on their financial life; for those who find themselves struggling paycheck to paycheck; and even those who think they are living comfortably, but lie away sometimes at night worrying about financial matters for no apparent reason.

A good read, a good gift book and most importantly a good book to help you overcome probably what is one of your biggest fears -- money and all the things associated with it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2016
If you have ever thought there was a better way than how you're currently spending or saving money, you will definitely benefit from reading this book! It will challenge your thought processes about "money problems" which is tough to face, but so necessary! The book is designed so that you can put your new beliefs and new behaviors into practice almost immediately. Guided imagery will reveal your deepest rooted beliefs about money that you may have carried around since childhood. If you're ready to get serious about your money issues, it's time to buy this book and start changing your future!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2011
Having counseled many about their relationship with money, I was glad to see someone discussing the deep beliefs that stop us from acting out of intelligence. Embracing True Prosperity: Guided Visualizations & Practical Tools To Realize Your Deepest Dreams My own experience mirrors Ms. Honeck's--we cannot simply force a change without recognizing the times and places where our fears of being an Adult with money began. Jane Honeck uses guided imagery to open the mind to the stuck spots and talk to our scared parts with kindness. It is a small book, which at first dissuaded me from appreciating the depth of her intentions. It is best being small, however, for someone just opening to the idea that there is a split between what they know and how they behave and feel deeply inside. I look forward to your next level of teaching and guiding.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2011
Movement from unconscious ignorance to conscious ignorance and then to knowing--and understanding--is a journey we need to take over and over again--in different areas and aspects of our lives. Waking up to the presence of our enculturation as exhibited in our unexamined money beliefs and claiming mindful choosing around money is a big part of growing up and claiming maturity.

In this book, The Problem with Money? It's Not About the Money!, author Jane Honeck has supplied a means both simple and clear for becoming financially conscious. "State it (the unexamined money beliefs), debate it, recreate it," she says. Take a small step and then the next and the next after that. "Any positive movement forward is something to celebrate," she encourages.

For those who blame themselves for their not knowing/ignorance and incompetence with money, Jane Honeck's approach is both revelation and relief. She points the way from money mystification to mastery--and makes it fun besides.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2011
If you are looking for lots of tips on how to save and/or invest your money, then THE PROBLEM WITH MONEY? IT'S NOT ABOUT MONEY! by Jane Honeck is not something you should rush out to buy.

Rather, the author (a CPA and seminar leader for over 30 years) spends most of her book looking at the unexamined beliefs that drive our financial lives . . . she contends that when we discover these, we can best put manage our money.

I never gave this idea too much thought; i.e., until I read THE PROBLEM . . . and in doing so, I became clearer about some of my beliefs.

As Honeck notes:

* Money decisions all boil down to choice. And your choice is always correct if you are conscious of why you make your decisions. But unconscious choices get us into trouble. Unconscious choices wake us the next day, month or year an make us say, "What have I done? How did I get here?"

That's so true, in that I've done exactly that (but never realized it). She continues:

* But the problem with money is it's not about the money. That's right. It's not about the money! It's about the unexamined beliefs that drive our financial lives. These beliefs lead us to make money decisions with the wrong set of facts. And then we try to solve our problems with the wrong set of tools. It's like changing a tire on the wrong car with a curling iron! Your beliefs drive your financial bus, and you may be sitting behind the wheel with a blindfold on.

What makes this such a good book are the visualization exercises that are included at the end of each chapter . . . here was my favorite:

* You open the door [to a cottage you come across in a walk] and find a table with a note next to $500. The note says, "This $500 is my gift to you. Please do with it whatever you want. The only thing you must do is tell me how you will spend it."

Decide how you would spend this money--no judgments allowed. Just go with your fist thoughts. Write how you plan to use the $500 in your journal.

You then find yourself being given gifts of $5,000, $50,000, $500,000, etc. The key: You're asked to think about how you felt making those spending decisions.

To make this easier, Honeck clearly explains how to employ each of five thought-provoking worksheets:

Unexamined Beliefs
Restated Beliefs and Truths
Growing Edge Affirmations
Financial Visions and Next Steps
Blue Print for Change

Though I finished THE PROBLEM WITH MONEY? several days ago, I'm still thinking about it (always a good sign) . . . also, I'm going to recommend it to all those who have a problem dealing with the subject.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Problem With Money -
It's Not About The Money
By Jane Honeck CPA
Reversing Falls Press 2010

Reviewed By: Dr. Joseph S. Maresca
_______________________________

A family can never deal effectively with debt until coming to
terms with deeply held belief systems. The author provides
a simple formula for examining beliefs. First, state your beliefs.
Then, debate them with alternatives. Finally, recreate or
reshape them to come to terms with reality.

Examples of deeply held beliefs are as follows:
o We need to keep up with what next door family is doing.
o I wouldn't be seen dead in those clothes.
( So, go out and spend a fortune to stand out in a crowd.)

All of these beliefs cost us dearly in the long run.
The thing to do is to examine them dispassionately.
Debate the alternatives and make the appropriate changes.

Next, the author advises us to break down goals into smaller
snippets or steps forward. In addition, we should not push goal
achievement too hard. The book articulates a good rule.
That is, we cannot change our relationship to debt without
changing how we spend and why. Ultimately, we must plan
to become financially conscious.

We need to stop associating money with power.
Instead, Americans should extol goodness over financial
resources. We need to stop excessive concerns over money.

In our relations with others, my own experience is to
limit loans to friends. Never lend out any amount that
you cannot afford to lose.

Overall, the book is an excellent value for the small
price charged. The advice is clear and unambiguous.
Reading this book will force consideration of
many deeply held views. These modes of behavior
may be holding us back from enjoying the process of life more fully
and albeit less stressfully.

Next, the author should re-write this book to
instruct governments on how to spend money .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.