Customer Reviews


444 Reviews
5 star:
 (354)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


304 of 308 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A high-intensity tutorial and a great reference
This book (widely known as K&R, after the authors' initials) has for over twenty years been the best way to learn C. When I got this book in 1980, I had access to a Unix system and worked through much of the tutorial material in it. On the way I learnt a great deal, not just about C, but about good programming style, code reuse, the value of clear comments--in...
Published on March 13, 2000 by Mike Christie

versus
49 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the beginner
This book is a good reference manual for C programming, but it
should not be the book from which you learn C. I tried, but as
a result, I find it very frustrating writing simple programs. I'd call it "C For Geniuses" or "C For Those Who Already Know C". I agree that I've eventually found everything I've needed to know in this book, but the...
Published on June 24, 2003


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

304 of 308 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A high-intensity tutorial and a great reference, March 13, 2000
By 
Mike Christie (Cold Spring Harbor, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The C Programming Language, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
This book (widely known as K&R, after the authors' initials) has for over twenty years been the best way to learn C. When I got this book in 1980, I had access to a Unix system and worked through much of the tutorial material in it. On the way I learnt a great deal, not just about C, but about good programming style, code reuse, the value of clear comments--in short, I was introduced to the skill set of an experienced computer professional.
The book was a trendsetter in several ways. For example, the very first exercise given is to print "hello, world"; this is now seen as the first exercise in innumerable other, more recent books, many of which may not realize that they are borrowing from K&R. The rest of chapter 1 (there's a chapter 0, an introduction; another geek-cool change which has been widely copied) is a tutorial that takes you through assignment statements, data types, if/else, for, while, printf, function definitions, arrays, and variable scoping, in less than 30 pages. If you work your way through the embedded exercises you'll have written utilities to strip tabs, reverse input by lines, strip trailing whitespace from input, and several others. This is much more challenging than most tutorials, but the effect on the student is that you feel you are being treated as an equal. The book doesn't talk down to you; it gives you accurate and concise answers. It's written for programmers, in other words.
The next few chapters go back over the elements of C in more detail, and should also be treated as a tutorial. Going through this material religiously will be far more valuable than any college class could possibly be.
There is a reference section at the back, which is good to have. But the real value of this book is in the tutorial approach: it is a rare pleasure in the computing field to find a book that is simultaneously clear, stimulating and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


145 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best programming book I ever bought., July 12, 2000
This review is from: The C Programming Language, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
I've first bought this book when I started my academic studies, after 5 years of work with Fortran 77 & three years of work with Pascal.

This small book (270 pages, including the index) served me well through my degree, and I still keep the dog-eared, yellowing, aged book with me at work.

The book focuses on the language itself - this is no hands-on book (no explanations on how to use this compiler or that debugger, though it is a little biased toward Unix) - in a clear, concise, and thorough way covering all of the language and it's standard libraries.

I especially liked the excercises (the solutions come in a seperate volume) and the C source code examples of how some of the library routines are (or may be) implemented.

With this book I had no problem understanding the more difficult subjects (e.g. many people have problems with pointers, and this book makes the subject easy to understand) and avoiding pitfalls.

I've read it in a week, and keeping it in hand's reach smoothly started programming in C.

The only drawback I see in this book is it's price, it's a small book which sells *very* well, and I'd expect it's price to be lower. This book is *not* for people who study C as their first programming language (those would be better served with a pair of books - a first course in programming and compiler guide).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


118 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most elegant programming book I have ever read, November 8, 1997
By 
This review is from: The C Programming Language, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
This book is not "for Dummies". It assumes that you already have some knowledge of structured programming languages (i.e. Pascal). For example, this book spends four well-written pages explaining everything you need to know about functions. If you don't know what a function is, this will clearly not be enough. However, if you do know about functions, this book will not drone on and on for an entire chapter or two on the subject like some of the foot-crunching tomes the size of an encyclopdia.
The book is expensive ($40) for its size (approx. 250pgs.), but it is worth every penny. To quote the authors: "C is not a big language, and it is not served well by a big book."
As a bonus, almost anything you need to know about C can be found in seconds using the excellent index. It should be noted that this is a language reference and will NOT tell you how to use your editing environment or compiler.
In summary, intermediate or advanced programmers should be able to learn C with reasonable proficiency in a short amount of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Condensed Cream-Of-C Soup, February 20, 2002
By 
Kamilche (Tumwater, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The C Programming Language, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
About 5 years into my programming career, I was mildly interested in learning C, so I picked up this book. At the time, I was deterred - it was very brief, terse, and confusing, so I put it back down again.
But now, years later, with many more languages under my belt, I find myself again drawn to C. So I picked up this book again (2nd edition), and finally, I see the light! It is a wonderful book, I agree with all the glowing comments people have written about it, BUT! It is a book written by a computer programmer, for other computer programmers, not a book written by a teacher for a beginning student.
C is alive and well, and still in use today - it lives "at the core" of most popular languages. You can see its influence on C++, JavaScript, even Visual Basic. If you are ready for it, reading and working through the examples in this book will provide you with a solid base for understanding an amazing variety of 'newer' programming languages.
You have to work through the examples, though. If you 'just read' this book, you'll comprehend and retain close to '\0' (null) of the information presented. It's only by going through the examples, that you really nail the subject matter. Yeah, I know, some of these examples are tough - but they're also real-life, and typical of routines every programmer writes and uses. I myself sweated blood over exercise 3-3, but hours later when I was done, the satisfaction of comparing my answer favorably to others was worth it. :-)
I have the C For Dummies books 1 and 2, and after going through them, I was still a Visual Basic programmer. ;-D If you already are a computer programmer, and want to obtain serious knowledge in C without wasting your valuable time, learn from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The C Bible - no Question, November 24, 1999
This review is from: The C Programming Language, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
This is probably the greatest introductory programming world ever written!
This is the classic "how to program" book. The book may seem quite old, but so is C, so you'll not miss anything. Half of the other introductory books written today will often quote this book, especially in reference to the "hello, world." example contained within. The "K&R" is well known among programmers as the all-time classic programming book - for any language.
If you read through this book, I promise that you'll find it easy to grasp with a pace that will not bore you to tears.
For those of you just starting off, remember that this is not a C++ book. You may not want to use Visual C++ 6.0 with this book. Instead, you can download a DOS based C compiler from wwwdeloriecom. I believe you'll find that compiler much more appropriate for learning C with this book, and best of all, it's FREE. After this book, you should have very little trouble adapting your knowledge to C++ and the Visual C++ 6.0 IDE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accept no substitutes, April 25, 2001
By 
Rachel Simmons (Los Altos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The C Programming Language, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
Boy, does this book ever take me back. The first edition of this book was the first book about computers I had ever read. I had an Apple IIe, a C development environment (on 6 floppy disks, which had to be swapped in and out while building), and was trying to teach myself to program. I mostly understood what I was reading - until I got to the section about pointers, which I found incomprehensible. I just couldn't figure it out, until I was reading another book about the Apple II, which explained how the video system worked - then I got the idea that if I took a pointer and set it to video buffer, I could change what was displayed on the screen. Voila, it worked, and I was started on a profession that lasted to this day.
I still have that first edition, and years later, in 1988, when the second edition was published, I bought that. Well, there hasn't been a third edition, nor has one been needed. C is essentially a finished product. It does what it was made to do, which was to fill a role that didn't exist at the time of its creation, a language that could be used for both systems and applications programming. At that time assembly language was used for systems programming, and languages like COBOL, FORTRAN, or Pascal were used for applications programming. C could be used for both, and the rift between systems programming languages and applications programming languages was healed, at least until recently (applications programming has largely migrated to C++, while systems programming is still largely done in C).
If you want to do systems programming, you just need to learn C. But what if you want to do applications programming? Is it still worth your while to learn C? Well, yes. Here are some reasons why: First, C++ (and Java too, for that matter) are derived from C and are easier to learn once you know C - in fact, C++ is essentially a superset of C, to learn C++ you need to learn pretty much all of C anyway. Second, there are still a lot of C programs around, it is handy to be able to work on them should the need arise. Third, programming examples pretty much everywhere are routinely written in C. Fourth, C is just a neat language in its own right in which to write code; it is small and easy to learn, lends itself to small, fast code, and is available in almost every development environment.
So, if you are going to learn C, should you get this book?
For the first edition, the answer was easy because the book at that time not only taught people to program the language, it was the authoritative definition of the language - you would have been foolish to attempt to learn the language without it.
For this edition, that is not necessarily true - in fact, the book cover now refers to "ANSI C", as ANSI has taken over defining the language standard, which the first edition of this book had formerly filled. In one sense, "K & R", as it has been known through the years, is now just another book about C. But in another sense, this book still is C - you can put the first edition and this one side by side (I have both before me now - the first edition is battered and worn, but otherwise very like the second), and be amazed at how similar the two are. Not many changes were made to the language definition between the two editions (all of them good ones), so there was little need to rewrite because of content changes. Most of the changes were for clarity - the chapter on pointers, which gave me so much trouble so many years ago, was the only one completely re-done for the second edition and is much the better for it.
So what does this book have that other C programming books do not? Authority. History. Community. The creator of the language wrote this book. For over two decades programmers have learned the language from this book. This is the book that you are more likely to share with other programers than any other. In sum, if you are interested in learning C programming, it should be an easy decision to go ahead and get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, September 12, 2001
By 
Optimistix (New York City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The C Programming Language, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
It is difficult to avoid cliches when talking about this book - it is just so good, that one can't help heaping superlatives on it.
This book is affectionately known as 'K & R', after the names of the authors, and it is almost definitely the most widely respected of all books on any given programming language.
This is the book that introduced the 'Hello World!' program to the world :-), which is now practically a standard first program in any introductory book on any programming language.
This is straight from the creators, and the implied authority, while an excellent reason in itself for taking a look at the book, pales in comparison to its other merits - brevity & clarity being foremost.

This book is best appreciated if you already have some programming background - i say this from experience, since i knew Fortran 77 & Pascal before i learnt C, and the knowledge of Pascal, in particular,made it much easier for me to pick up C than classmates for whom it was the first programming language.
Of course, if you're new to programming, you could still try learning from this, but it might be a bit of a struggle. If so, the books by Kelley & Pohl, K.N.King or Gottfried(Schaum series) may be useful for 'getting upto speed' with C first, and then coming to K & R.
C is the one language which is both 'high level' and 'low level' at the same time - to date, it is the nearest to the ideal of a programming language that is easy enough in description to be followed by human readers, and at the same time close enough to the machine's language to be executed fast.There are faster languages, to be sure - assembly language is necessarily faster than any high level language. But just try coding a reasonably involved program in assembly, or even reading such an effort ! There are other languages which might be 'easier' for people to read, but they are slower(C++,Java,etc,etc).
It is also the 'mother' of all modern biggies - C++ owes even its very name to C, Java was derived from C++, and Perl is **written** in C !!
So knowing C would give you a better appreciation of the other languages as well.

And it's still the language of choice for systems programming - so no systems programmer can afford to be a non-expert at C.
Anyway, back to the book - and what a book it is! The authors are not just great programmers, they are outstanding writers as well.

The book is just 274 pages, but it will teach you more than most thick 'tomes' on programming could ever possibly teach.
And no, that doesn't imply that it's 'dense' or abtruse. The authors choose their words judiciously, and there is not a word out of place.The book is designed to make you think, for there is no better way of learning than to think things out for yourself.
Reading the carefully worded text and working out the compact examples will teach you a lot - if you can go through all the exercises, well then you'll surely be an expert when you finish the book. I never did, but i learnt enough to implement several projects in C over the past six years, right from searching and sorting to cryptography and speech recognition.
The examples in this book are a thing of beauty (and therefore a joy forever!!). Elegance, in one word.
It has that universal characteristic of a great book - no matter how many times you read it, you'll learn something new.
You may buy several other books for specialized purposes of particular projects, but when you want to get into the nitty-gritty, to clarify any elusive points, you'll return here, to 'the word of the law', as laid out by the creators of the language.
Basically, if you program in C, you've just got have this book -
and once you have it, you'll find it indispensable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference Book, Beginners Look Elsewhere, October 30, 2002
By 
HiRez (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The C Programming Language, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
"The C Programming Language" is NOT a book for beginning programmers, or for those very new to C who wish to learn gradually. It is not much of a tutorial. It's written for either very experienced programmers coming from other languages, or for those who know the basics of C and need a reference book. The descriptions and examples are terse, and the learning curve is steep. Once you are comfortable programming in C, however, this is the one book you want next to you (and it will likely be the ONLY reference book you will ever need for straight ANSI C). Since it was written by the original authors of the C language, it's hard to imagine anyone being more authoritative on the subject, and although there's little hand-holding, it is well-written and pleasant enough to read through cover-to-cover. When you're ready to really get your hands dirty, do not hesitate to order this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference Book with Terse Examples., April 24, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The C Programming Language, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
This is the one and only book to have on the C programming language, written by the original developers of the language. It covers all of the syntactic and semantic issues of the language. Any question regarding C can be answered here and can be located quickly thanks to its good index. I am impressed by the completeness of this text, it includes very useful information such as: precedence and associativity rules, bit-wise operators, the preprocessor, control structures, pointers, the standard C library, I/O, interaction with the UNIX operating system, and a complete language specification. The list goes on!

For nearly every feature of the language, there are very useful exercises that will either familiarize the reader with the feature or clarify the reader's previous knowledge. Although many of the examples are targeted towards intermediate or advanced programmers, beginning programmers should be able to get a lot out of many of the examples.

I have purchased many 1000+ page books on different languages including C and have found that many are incomplete and spend numerous pages on topics that can be stated in one or two paragraphs. This book in around 250 pages covers everything you need to know about the C programming language and I would highly recommend getting a copy for your own library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any C or C++ programmer, October 10, 2003
By 
Kenneth I. Cramer (Pocatello, ID United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The C Programming Language, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
If you intend to do any real world programming, you will need to know C. Whether writing in C, or just maintaining someone else's C code. Even if you're doing C++, It's still based on C.
If you want to be able to use C, you should have this book. Contrary to what others have reported, it is possible to learn C from this book. It just isn't spoonfed to you. You have to look at things, and apply concepts rather than copy and modify code.
I got my first copy of this book about 7 years ago, and I still carry it in my laptop bag, which goes pretty much wherever I do.
One thing however. If you're expecting to learn how to program from this book, you WILL be disappointed. You should already know something of structured programming languages. For that matter, if you are new to programming, C itself isn't your best choice. Python seems to be the modern beginner language of choice. Others choose Visual Basic, however that has it's own problems.
Overall however this is the best C programming book out there, if you're willing to make the effort to understand it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The C Programming Language, 2nd Edition
The C Programming Language, 2nd Edition by Brian W. Kernighan (Paperback - April 1, 1988)
$67.00 $46.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.