Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liberty University Textbook
This is the best survey I've read so far. It gives a very clear picture of the history of what was going on in Israel as the books were being written. It ties each book of the Bible together really well in conjunction with what was going on throughout the rest of Scripture and why it was important to the original audience as well as to current readers. I will...
Published on June 5, 2009 by WriterlyWife

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
great
Published 3 months ago by oken k sundal


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liberty University Textbook, June 5, 2009
By 
WriterlyWife (Albuquerque, NM USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Promise and the Blessing: A Historical Survey of the Old and New Testaments (Hardcover)
This is the best survey I've read so far. It gives a very clear picture of the history of what was going on in Israel as the books were being written. It ties each book of the Bible together really well in conjunction with what was going on throughout the rest of Scripture and why it was important to the original audience as well as to current readers. I will definitely refer back to this book as a recourse when questions come up in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read!, August 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Promise and the Blessing: A Historical Survey of the Old and New Testaments (Hardcover)
I had to read this book for a Bible class but I loved it so much I recommended it to others as a devotional to read along with the Bible. They also enjoyed it! If you want to be enriched in God's knowledge while also getting a better historical understanding of the times of Moses, David, Jesus, Paul and so on this is the book to read! God Bless you all who choose to buy and read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Promises and Blessings, August 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Promise and the Blessing: A Historical Survey of the Old and New Testaments (Hardcover)
I have done a regular men's study - I truly wish I would have had this reference years ago. I love the way it approaches everything. The information is so good and easy to cross reference. A must for any serious ongoing study.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, October 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Promise and the Blessing: A Historical Survey of the Old and New Testaments (Hardcover)
I also read this book for a Bible class in college. This book is so well written and tells the story of the Bible so well that I had a hard time putting it down. It was hard to believe it was a textbook.

I have always been a Christian, but never considered myself a Bible scholar. This book helped me understand the Bible so much more. It really ties everything together.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn more about the Bible and its teachings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Promise and the Blessing: Is a great historical survey of both the O.T and N.T., September 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Promise and the Blessing: A Historical Survey of the Old and New Testaments (Hardcover)
I liked many aspects of this book especially how it gave a brief over view of each of the pages most important context on the side bar of the page, making it easy to reference for later. I also like how it would grab many of the issues that might be controversial for some and expound in a little more detail, sharing some valuable insights.

This book is a quick overview which can be said of most survey style books. For those who desire a more in depth explanations of the individual books of the Bible I recommend individual book commentary's such as PNTC or NICNT as well as others that can address in more details some of the historical and literary issue that you find in most books of the Bible. A quick note to those who may not know much about commentaries there are several different types I like to break them down into three simple categories; however, they can be a combination of the three and may include other styles that are listed. These commentaries can include but may not be limited to exegetical, ex-positional and topical. Exegetical commentaries usually give exegetic approach which tries to extract from the book you are studying both historical and literary context. Ex-positional commentaries simply put are more sermon like in nature and give a lot of personal insights to the specific book one is studying as well as some applications that may or may not fit the text. While topical commentaries focus on topical teachings of the Bible. These brief explanation in no way explain some of the other details that may be found in these commentaries and it really depends on what the reader may want to gain in there reading of the Bible, which will determine which way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!!, December 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Promise and the Blessing: A Historical Survey of the Old and New Testaments (Hardcover)
I gave this book as a gift to someone in ministry and they loved it. It has lots of detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, December 6, 2013
This review is from: The Promise and the Blessing: A Historical Survey of the Old and New Testaments (Hardcover)
I had this for my class. I gave it to my pastor, but I loved it so much I am buying it again. This is a great book. It does nto have the feel of a textbook at all. Simply amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, November 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Promise and the Blessing: A Historical Survey of the Old and New Testaments (Hardcover)
Fascinating reading.This is one textbook I'm actually enjoying! Informative, but in a relaxed, rather casual style. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, June 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Promise and the Blessing: A Historical Survey of the Old and New Testaments (Hardcover)
good overview of old testament and new testament
very up to date and pictures to help visual people like myself
great reference but easy enough read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This helped me learn better about the NT outside the Bible, May 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Promise and the Blessing: A Historical Survey of the Old and New Testaments (Hardcover)
I used it for the New Testament this go around and is a pretty good survey book. It takes a secular approach at times, but I guess that is necessary for learning a bit about surveys. Maybe I am overly critical. I just like books that takes stances, especially when I think it is the correct one. Not that what I think is correct, but that I learned correctly from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Promise and the Blessing: A Historical Survey of the Old and New Testaments
$49.99 $11.98
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.