Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a voice teacher and early music fan, August 8, 2008
This review is from: The Psalms of David - Choir of King's College, Cambridge - Sir David Willcocks, Sir Philip Ledger (Audio CD)
THE PSALMS OF DAVID: ONE, TWO AND THREE ARE ALL INCLUDED ON THESE CD'S; SO WHY SPEND YOUR MONEY IN-DI-VID-U-AL-LY????
The book of Psalms is a collection of 150 Hebrew religious poems which were sung to music in the worship of the temple of Jerusalem. The Psalms of these discs give some idea of the emotional range of these poets, for they voice joy and sorrow, thanksgiving and despair, penitence and faith, hope and love.

The structure of the psalms has influenced the manner of singing them. Broadly speaking, psalms have been sung to three types of music: (1) plainsong, (2) hymn tunes and (3) Anglican chant. These records illustrate the third method.

Since there are many collections of chants, there are differing conventions, some of which are: two sides of the choir (Descani and Cantoris) sing alternate verse or half-verses, or men alternate with boys. In some choral establishments the singing is always supported by the organ; in others some psalms are sung unaccompanied. Many of these possibilities of expressive contrast are illustrated on these discs.

Of course, we have here many varied King's College Choirs from the year 1968 - 1972 (Willcocks-director) and 1974 (Ledger). As per usual there is very little difference in sound between them. We still are graced with the clear crystalline sound of the boy sopranos, the velvet-toned male altos, the tuneful tenors and the resonant basses. The overall result is a choir with excellent balance, great emotional investment, clear diction and that 'special' unnamed something that this choir possesses. This is a truly inspiring musical treat that can be enjoyed by all choral music lovers, but especially meaningful to the believer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MAGNIFICENT RECORDING, March 13, 2010
By 
Scott May (Atlanta, Georgia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Psalms of David - Choir of King's College, Cambridge - Sir David Willcocks, Sir Philip Ledger (Audio CD)
I am devoted to Anglican Chant and I find this recording of the Psalms of David by the Choir of King's College Cambridge absolutely fantastic. In fact hardly a day goes by that I don't listen to it. It does my spirit and outlook on life far more good than all of those pills I have to take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of Psalms in Harmony(To be Continued)-By Choir Of Kings College Cambridge, November 15, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Psalms of David - Choir of King's College, Cambridge - Sir David Willcocks, Sir Philip Ledger (Audio CD)
Hey, This CD is awesome,a very great selection from the Book of Psalms.
Along with some of my favorites-Psalm 24, Psalm 114,Psalm 134.
Also very good arrangements and beautiful sung by one of the world's best-Choir of Kings College Cambridge in excellent sound quality from Capitol/EMI.
This CD of Psalms is very good for relaxiing the soul.
But Hey ,this Choir is awesome great to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Myles Coverdale...., November 16, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Psalms of David - Choir of King's College, Cambridge - Sir David Willcocks, Sir Philip Ledger (Audio CD)
I make no pretense of being a music critic, but I must say that this collection of the psalms sung in the Anglican tradition is wonderfully uplifting. Myles Coverdale's beautiful translation of the psalter is used as, I believe, it is used in the Anglican Book of Worship. I don't think that anyone who reveres good, classical ecclesiastic music will be disappointed in this collection. Well, somebody will be, but...whatever...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, November 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Psalms of David - Choir of King's College, Cambridge - Sir David Willcocks, Sir Philip Ledger (Audio CD)
Excellent quality of sound. I am transported listening to this great production. The Psalms have always brought me peace.
Angel voices!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It will be one of your favorites, November 13, 2013
By 
D. M. McCann (Home of tax-free shopping and underfunded schools) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Psalms of David - Choir of King's College, Cambridge - Sir David Willcocks, Sir Philip Ledger (Audio CD)
This is one of my favorite sacred music cd's. Every track is beautiful, but if you're anything like me you'll fall in love with a few and listen to them over and over. I was prompted after listening to do some research on the composition/translation of the psalms. The old language is especially meaningful. Once cannot help but wonder if those who are making this "beautiful noise" are as affected by the message as the hearer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable addition to one's Classical Music Liturgy collection., November 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Psalms of David - Choir of King's College, Cambridge - Sir David Willcocks, Sir Philip Ledger (Audio CD)
Magnificent, royal, absolutely beautiful to listen to or use as a daily aid to prayer. The words are sung clearly and distinctly and the light organ music in the background is very pleasant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Psalms of David - Choir of King's College, Cambridge - Sir David Willcocks, Sir Philip Ledger (Audio CD)
Being a Roman Catholic, years ago, we chanted these psalms. Not only is it nostalgic, but worshipful.
Thank you,
Jbiscorner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The World's Loveliest Music, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Psalms of David - Choir of King's College, Cambridge - Sir David Willcocks, Sir Philip Ledger (Audio CD)
This music is sublime, no other word does it justice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best chanting of Psalms EVER!, July 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Psalms of David - Choir of King's College, Cambridge - Sir David Willcocks, Sir Philip Ledger (Audio CD)
I really love this CD and would recommend it to anyone who loves traditional chanting of psalms. The tunes used are easy to follow if you didn't previously know the music and the singing is heavenly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.