Customer Reviews


204 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good insights
According to Warren, "If your church is healthy, growth will occur naturally." His main purpose for writing the book is to provide the necessary information to build healthy churches. Warren relates his thoughts in five sections: (1) "Seeing the Big Picture" (growing deeper through discipleship), (2) "Becoming a Purpose-Driven Church" (growing through ministry), (3)...
Published on January 16, 2006 by M. Teresa

versus
108 of 125 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, Practical, but Weak in Biblical Foundations
I find it hard to rate this book accurately. I have read few books that have been more helpful in the realm of practical church life. Warren skillfully presents a blue-print on how to grow a healthy in church in which the five purposes (which are presented Biblically) of worship, discipleship, fellowship, ministry, and evangelism are held in balance. The steps to take are...
Published on October 9, 2001 by Brian G Hedges


‹ Previous | 115 16 1721 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Church Changing, October 26, 2007
By 
RevDrBill (Harrison, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Purpose Driven Church: Every Church Is Big in God's Eyes (Hardcover)
I read this book over a decade ago. It literally changed how I, a pastor, now "do church." The church I serve has been transformed and now is a joyful, healthy place to be. We are impacting our community for Christ and seeing lives changed. Warren's concepts are simple yet profound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Post-Katrina, February 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Purpose Driven Church: Every Church Is Big in God's Eyes (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book for any church--whatever size and whatever stage in development. The local church is a living organism and as such it's health is manifest in growth. A church that is not growing is either sick or dying. Church health (and balance) is emphazised in this text and not numbers. I belong to a once large church in eastern New Orleans that was devastated by Katrina. Rick Warren's book gives many truths and pointers on how our church can rebuild and be better than ever. The illustration in the first chapter about the movements of God being manifest in waves and us being the "surfers" is timely. Katrina was/is a blessing in being a rather large WAVE in this part of the country that many are recognizing and riding with joy and new purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book Ever Written on Church Growth, March 29, 2009
By 
Robert Larson (West Chester, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Purpose Driven Church: Every Church Is Big in God's Eyes (Hardcover)
This is easily the best book ever written on Church Growth. Rick Waren does a great job of dispelling the myths about "Mega Churches" and explaining the biblical principles that drive the growth of large churches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book!, February 15, 2010
By 
Es Jay (Waco, TX USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As I heard before, this book is one of the best written on the topic of church. I learned and was inspired a lot. A must reading for every Christian serious about his/her faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars full of great ideas!, November 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Purpose Driven Church: Every Church Is Big in God's Eyes (Hardcover)
I really liked this book. What a great witness to reaching the people around you for Christ! Neat read for possibilities for church growth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD BOOK., November 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Purpose Driven Church: Every Church Is Big in God's Eyes (Hardcover)
I RECOMEND THIS BOOK TO ALL WHO WOULD LIKE TO GET IN TOUCH WITH CURRENT CHURCH ISSUES. IT IS VERY REVELANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book showed up in great condition and on time, July 18, 2013
After reading the book, I hate it. The product was in great condition but the content of the book was disturbing to say the least. I would never read another Rick Warren book nor support his ministry in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. In the top three, August 21, 2002
By 
Erich E. Geary (Texarkana, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Purpose Driven Church: Every Church Is Big in God's Eyes (Hardcover)
I was amazed when I first read this book. Here was some one saying coherently what I have always believed. The book has more of a management slant, but it is a focus long ignored by churches. Every Christian and church needs to read this book and work to apply the principles. No one should use this book as a cookie cutter or master plan for his or her church. Use the book as a guide that can be modified to your needs. Even if you have concerns about his theology, you can separate and adapt the principle from the theology. Read this book and When God Builds a Church by Bob Russell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source for Christ-centered churches, August 13, 2004
In reading the previous review I concluded that there will be differing reactions to this book based on the readers' perspectives on the Bible and the need for Jesus in individual lives. Rick Warren is an evangelical pastor who believes that the Bible is absolutely true and accurate and that everyone needs the presence of Jesus Christ in his or her life. His Saddleback church congregation is (contrary to many modern Christian churches) focused on reaching those who have no history of faith in Jesus. I believe Rick does an excellent job in his discussion of effective ways that Saddleback uses to reach out to these folks. He is quick to point out that different congregations with differing demographics or area of the country will have to take these factors into consideration. He uses the five purposes which are the foundation for his book, The Purpose Driven Life, to show how Saddleback approaches worship, fellowship, discipleship, ministry and evangelism. Surely there is something here that any pastoral team can use to identify the needs of their congregation and plan for meeting those needs. The only negative that I felt as I read the book was my reaction to the author's references to other mass-marketed resources he has written, but if you can look past those references (you are not required to buy any of them) then there are plenty of nuggets here for pastors and church leaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good.., May 4, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Purpose Driven Church: Every Church Is Big in God's Eyes (Hardcover)
I could only read an hour of this. I really liked, 'Purpose Driven Life' but this is hardly as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 1721 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Purpose Driven Church: Every Church Is Big in God's Eyes
The Purpose Driven Church: Every Church Is Big in God's Eyes by Rick Warren (Hardcover - November 27, 1995)
$21.99 $15.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.