Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Queen's Diamonds
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
55
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$80.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 25, 2012
This coffee table sized book is a visual feast with life sized photos of each piece - tiaras, crowns, diadems, bracelets, necklaces, brooches, earrings and rings. Some are also shown through enlarged photos. Presented chronologically according to its original owner, the list begins with Queen Adelaide and continues through to HM Queen Elizabeth. The history of each piece along with photos of the queens who wore it gives a fascinating glimpse of how these priceless pieces have been changed to fit fashion.

Though the book is a bit pricey, Amazon's price is considerably cheaper than ordering it from the Royal Collection (I checked.) The quality of the paper, the color printing, and the graphic layout are of the unsurpassed quality one would expect from an official royal release. For anyone interested in history, British royalty, or diamond jewelry, this book is a treasure.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2012
Like a diamond this book is flawless, stunning, brilliant and forever. A very small but illustrative part of the queen's jewelry collection concentrating in diamonds (only pearls and two emeralds examples are added to the mix) is given to the reader's consideration. The photos are perfect and in many examples details of backings give a view of the remarkable craftmanship of the jewels. The text not only clarifies the origins of some of the baubles but also the sentimental history is commented. If you have Leslie Fields early book The Queen's Jewels, the two books are a perfect match.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2012
Big, luscious photos with close-ups of the jewels. I just wish it covered more of Queen Elizabeth's collection. I have "The Queen's Jewels" and "The Royal Jewels" which cover many of the other gems, but I was hoping for more, given this book is so much bigger. Still, I'm very happy with the quality of the photography, and the size of the photos.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2012
I ordered this book on a lark, and worried it might be a rehash of other similar books. Was I wrong what a wonderful book. The pictures are large and detailed. I really love the stories of each of the women who wore these jewels. But some of my favorite pictures are the ones of the reverse of the jewelry. It is fasinating to see the way the gems sit in the setting. I really love this book and think you will too.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2012
This book is amazing not just because of the meticulous history and detail about each beautiful piece of jewelry -- but the photography and the quality of the book are incredible.

I just love it and I am having the most fun reading about each piece, and the books shows all the former owners of each item wearing them, so you get a great sense of the history and continuity these jewels possess.

I can't recommend it too highly. If you are a diamond lover, or a lover of British history, buy this book!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What a great gift for a closet Royalist who also loves jewelry! Weighing in at a serious six pounds, this coffee-table-sized book wasn't quite what I expected, as the Crown Jewels aren't really discussed. Rather, this is a book about the Queen's personal diamond jewelry, much of which she inherited from her mother, who died at the age of 102 in 2002. The Queen Mother, in turn, had inherited a large cache of diamond jewelry from British society hostess, Dame Margaret Helen Greville. including a diamond necklace reputedly belonging to Marie Antoinette, a pair of diamond chandelier earrings, and a tiara.

There are scads of tiaras in this book, all beautifully photographed (also diadems and crowns for those inescapable State Occasions). There's Queen Mary's fringe tiara, worn by Queen Elizabeth II on her wedding day (it can also be worn as a necklace), the Vladimir tiara (hung alternatively with baroque pearls or emeralds and deserving of a luscious two-page foldout in both of its incarnations), the halo tiara, the Greville tiara (see above--this one is on loan to the Duchess of Cornwall, Prince Charles' current consort), the Kokoshnik tiara (modelled after one owned by the Empress Maria Feodorovna), the Delhi Durbar tiara, the Strathmore tiara (worn low on the brow, flapper-style), and the Lover's Knot tiara, but my favorite tiara is Queen Mary's Girls of Great Britain and Ireland Tiara. Stamp collectors will recognize this tiara from many issues of British and Commonwealth stamps, plus coinage and banknotes.

Also featured in glittering splendor are phalanxes of brooches, necklaces, bracelets, stomachers (these really should be called bosom-ers), rings, earrings, clips, pampilles, and sautoirs. The provenance and history of each piece is detailed, and although the author does not go into the romance of the diamonds, he gives tantalizing hints. I'd love to know more about Mrs. Greville, who started life as the illegitimate child of a brewer. (There is a photograph of the tin trunk in which Mrs. Greville's jewels were delivered to Queen Elizabeth in 1942.) Another interesting story involves the mistress of Prince Francis of Teck, Queen Mary's brother. He died unexpectedly, willing many fabulous jewels, most especially the 'Cambridge Emeralds' to his paramour. Queen Mary managed to reacquire them from Lady Kilmorey, but what did that transaction involve? And why did King Khalid of Saudi Arabia buy 80 diamond bracelets from noted jeweler, Harry Winston? (I know--because he could).

Romantically-inclined historians and lovers of rare and costly diamonds will also enjoy Ian Balfour's "Famous Diamonds."
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
This is the most beautiful book on royal jewels I've ever seen --- and I've seen many and own most of them. Words cannot convey the size of the photographs, the intricate detail of the jewelry described (some shown front and back) and the quality of the paper. The history of each piece is interesting, detailed and well-researched. I just wish there was a companion book by this author on the Queen's colored jewelry collection. This book is pricy, but it's six pounds of utter heart-stopping beauty if you love royalty and jewelry. Save up and buy this book. You'll not regret it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2012
This is a magnificent book showing the Queen's jewels in beautiful detail. The history of the jewels is fascinating and the photographs are amazing. Well worth the money. A book to enjoy for many years.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
As a jeweler, I have always thought that gems are immortal (they really are) and that they hold memories. Jewelry is one of those things that are durable enough to last through generations and even centuries. this is the ultimate history book. every time YOU go to the jewelry store, you are starting a new history. go back through old photos of your family and look at the jewelry. when those pieces are passed down and subsequent family members wear them, you see the family history. Jewelry is beautiful, wearable, history. this book shows wonderful photos and paintings of some of the best documentation of that history. within the reflections of gems and jewels are the memories of events when each was worn. the history of a family. yours or the Royal Family. seeing this displayed in this wonderful and impressive book is inspirational. I hope, when I am back in a Jewelry shop, will be on the counter to show that each purchase in the beginning of a family history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2015
This is a good book. It's nicely done but the older Leslie Field book, called "The Queen's Jewels" , covers more ( emeralds, sapphires, rubies etc) and this seems to be a retread of the diamond section of that book. If you do not have that book, then you will enjoy this and I recommend it. It has lovely photographs! However, I would have saved my money if I had known that I already had the information in another book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.