Customer Reviews


443 Reviews
5 star:
 (279)
4 star:
 (68)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


299 of 324 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brief Summary and Review
*A full summary of this book is available here: An Executive Summary of Peter Schiff's 'The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy-How to Save Yourself and Your Country'

The main argument: Since the housing and financial crash of 2008, America's recovery has been tepid at best. Unemployment has remained high; manufacturing has not returned; personal savings...
Published 22 months ago by A. D. Thibeault

versus
578 of 657 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
This book may be useful to someone who has not read Schiff's other books, or who does not listen to his TV appearances or his own radio show. However, I was immensely disappointed to find out that this book is not very helpful in any practical sense.

The reason for that is that there is a single chapter (out of 28!) where he discusses how to protect your...
Published 23 months ago by Bruno


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

299 of 324 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brief Summary and Review, May 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy---How to Save Yourself and Your Country (Hardcover)
*A full summary of this book is available here: An Executive Summary of Peter Schiff's 'The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy-How to Save Yourself and Your Country'

The main argument: Since the housing and financial crash of 2008, America's recovery has been tepid at best. Unemployment has remained high; manufacturing has not returned; personal savings are as low as they've ever been, and personal debt as high; housing is still a mess, and banking not much better; and, to top it all off, government debt is awe-inspiring and seems completely insoluble. According to financial investor, commentator and author Peter Schiff, while all of this is certainly disheartening, it should not come as much of a surprise. Indeed, Schiff argues that all of this economic slumping is a natural result of America's misguided economic policies; including especially the Federal Reserve's manipulation of interest rates, the government's uncontrollable borrowing, and, in connection with this, the maintaining (and even expansion) of unsustainable social programs . For Schiff, these same policies led directly to the crash of '08 (which he correctly and very famously predicted), and are leading the U.S. directly into an even worse crash now. In his new book `The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy--how to Save Yourself and Your Country' Schiff outlines how America got itself into this mess in the first place, what the end game is likely to be, and what the nation and its citizens should do to make the coming unpleasantness the least unpleasant as possible.

The main problem--and where most of the other problems begin--according to Schiff, is the Fed's manipulation of interest rates. By interfering with the free market value of money, and making it cheaper than the market would dictate, the Fed encourages financial bubbles that then necessarily pop. When a bubble pops, the market needs to correct itself; however, over the past 20 years, the Fed has not really allowed this correction to take place, as every time a bubble pops the Fed has lowered the interest rate even further, causing more money to enter the system and a new bubble to form. First it was dot-com stocks, then it was housing, and now it is government spending.

As a matter of fact, while government spending has reached new and mind-boggling heights in the recent past, it has actually been ballooning in this direction for years, spurred on largely by the low-interest rates that the Fed has provided. The government has used this borrowed money to maintain and extend social programs (such as Social Security and Medicare), and, more recently, bailout packages for failing businesses and entire industries. All the while, the government has been going deeper and deeper into debt. A big part of what has allowed the American government to borrow as much as it has (and to keep on borrowing now) is the fact that the American dollar is the world's reserve currency, which means it is always in demand, and hence people and organizations have been willing to act as creditors in order to get it. For Schiff, though, the sheer size of the debt, and the fact that it is running away faster and faster everyday (and has no realistic chance of ever being repaid) will sooner or later turn investors away from considering the American dollar a valuable reserve--at which point it will lose its status as the world's reserve, and investors will stop investing in it.

At this point, the American government will have but two options. It can either declare bankruptcy, or it can print the money it needs to pay its debt. In either case, an enormous crash will result, for in the first case, an astronomical sum of money that the economy had assumed existed will suddenly be wiped away, and in the latter case hyperinflation will set in, and the American dollar will be whittled down to worthless.

At this point, the country will be forced to start over. For Schiff, this may not be such a bad thing, for, according to him, the nation has simply put itself in an unsustainable position, and the sooner it starts over the better. At that time, Schiff argues, America can finally get back to the small government and free-market forces that the country's founding fathers designed the nation around. While much of the book is focused on how the country can do this now, before the crash hits (in such areas as banking & finance, taxation, healthcare, education, the military, et. al.), Schiff very much believes that nothing can actually prevent the crash from coming, and that therefore, most of the rebuilding will have to be done after The Real Crash.

The book is very easy to read and the arguments laid out clearly and concisely, and backed up with both theory and historical evidence (though a little more of the latter would have been nice, on occasion). The author has done well to bring libertarian views into the mainstream. A full summary of the book is available here: An Executive Summary of Peter Schiff's 'The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy-How to Save Yourself and Your Country'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


578 of 657 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, May 25, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy---How to Save Yourself and Your Country (Hardcover)
This book may be useful to someone who has not read Schiff's other books, or who does not listen to his TV appearances or his own radio show. However, I was immensely disappointed to find out that this book is not very helpful in any practical sense.

The reason for that is that there is a single chapter (out of 28!) where he discusses how to protect your wealth from this new crash, and even that is pretty generic.

Mostly the book is his political beliefs in why we need restructuring of our money and system. I agree with most of that. However, I have read the majority of this before in not just one, but THREE other Schiff books! It's a rehash for cash, apparently, timed to take advantage of the economy and markets souring this summer.

Anyone who listens to his web radio program has already heard virtually all of this. But the title and subtitle are very misleading. It is not mostly about the crash, and it is virtually not at all about "how to save yourself", other than the suggestion perhaps to vote for Ron Paul or others like him.

Peter has already won many over. For the vast majority of readers they fit that description, making the book fairly pointless. Unfortunately he is less interested in nuts/bolts investing advice these days than the politics surrounding the issue.

Not a worthless purchase, but for me it was a big disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SCARY...., June 8, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy---How to Save Yourself and Your Country (Hardcover)
Some of the negative criticisms of this book claim that Schiff is recycling material from previous books. That may very well be the case but -- as I have never read any of his previous books -- that was no concern to me.

The central thesis of this book is that the crash of 2008 was not the "real" crash that Schiff had predicted. That crash is coming and its effect on America will be as bad or worse than the Great Depression.

Schiff is a Libertarian and many of his arguments are quite convincing. He focuses on our expanding 16-trillion-dollar debt and how neither political party is going to do anything about it. He points out that America's answer to everything is to simply inflated the dollar and one day the dollar-bubble -- like all other bubbles -- will burst.

His advice is tough but it is pretty consistent with Libertarian thinking: end entitlements and end the minimum wage. Americans should save more, produce more, and consume less.

His personal financial advice is a bit harder to accept. I'm suspicious of investing in gold. Also, he recommends buying ammunition. That seems a bit silly to me. I'm reading another book on finance that points out that, if we are in a Mad Max future where the police force no longer provides protection, your stock portfolio will be the least of your problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


172 of 210 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can lead a horse to water....., May 22, 2012
This review is from: The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy---How to Save Yourself and Your Country (Hardcover)
I came across this book just as I finished reading Paul Krugman's latest offering - End This Depression Now. It is clear that Krugman does't understand what money is and wouldn't dream of considering that the Federal Reserve IS the problem. Luckily for us Schiff does, providing us with simple common sense solutions based on sound economics. The solutions are indeed nasty but the alternative is frightening to imagine. Economics in One Lesson by Henry Hazlitt tells us that Politicians will always think short-term whilst wearing blinkers to the big picture so we can conclude that Schiff's advice will be ignored. Protect yourself accordingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and Productive!, May 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy---How to Save Yourself and Your Country (Hardcover)
I've completed reading The Real Crash and am WOW'd. This book gives some brief background as to how the U.S. got into this financial mess (for much more historic detail check out Crash Proof by Schiff), but most importantly, Peter hits on all of the major financial issues that exist in our country today, and he offers the simplistic suggestions for reform to fix our path. From education to health care, Peter writes in his easy to understand, and analogy-packed style, about how we can alter this destructive path we are on. In his usual honesty, Peter admits there is no win win here, but we can certainly guide ourselves towards a softer landing with a quicker, healthier recovery. I suggest this book for anyone that wants to learn about economics in general, or wants to learn about the real causes and effects behind present and past goverment policies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent synopsis of the free-market problems; limited on personal solutions, June 9, 2012
Schiff has a good history of predicting and understanding our financial situation. He doesn't just "claim" he knew what was coming in 2008. It's well documented. He was also recognized in an economics paper by Bezemer as one of only a handful who accurately documented the situation prior to its occurrence.

That doesn't mean he is completely right in his predictions, of course, but it certainly makes him worth listening to. He does a nice job in this book of providing examples of how a free-market system would not have allowed such enormous errors to build up unchecked (bad ideas fail eventually if there is no other force to prop them up). His solutions are very logical and need to be closely examined, especially by anyone who thinks the government can change reality by legislating it away.

However, I think the likelihood of his solutions being implemented are small: simply because they include acknowledging living through a few years of pain. Politicians that recognize reality won't stay in office, so our pain is coming in a more sudden and violent way (violent meaning figuratively, not necessarily literally).

Therefore I would have liked to have seen more in-depth discussion of personal investment protection. Particularly, I would like to hear him comment on how the situation might be different if China is not in as good of condition as he thinks they are. I'm guessing that weaknesses in China would change the inflation expectation, but wish Peter would have commented on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Blueprint of How to Save the Economy, June 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy---How to Save Yourself and Your Country (Hardcover)
At the outset, it must be said that "The Real Crash" is not an investment book, perhaps because Schiff's investment strategy hasn't changed in the past decade, but it is more of a blueprint of how to put the economy on the road to recovery.

In the first few chapters Schiff examines what he sees as the root problems of the US economy, which are mainly the enormous national debt that can only be serviced due to the artificially low interest rates. The main argument is that interest rates will be raised sooner or later. It's rather naïve to expect interest rates to remain at near zero levels forever. The reason for the rise in interest rates could be the change in perception of investors who will no longer view US bonds as a safe haven, or it could be a spike in inflation due to all the money printing done by the Fed to keep the rates low, which in turn will force the Fed to raise them. Nonetheless, higher interest rates are coming. And when they do, the national debt will be unserviceable, which will push the US government into default.

According to Schiff, an outright default is unlikely; a more likely scenario is that the Fed will intentionally try to keep inflation high in order to inflate the debt away and to keep the banks afloat.

After laying down the problems, Schiff goes on to tackle what he views as the main obstacles to recovery. Firstly, Schiff proposes that the US declares bankruptcy, which is coming sooner or later. Therefore, we might as well face this problem now rather than later. Second, letting the market set interest rates and not the Fed. Thirdly, reform Social Security, Medicare, etc. All in all, the underlining theme is to cut back government involvement as much as possible.

Schiff's ideas are nothing new to people who believe in small government, however, he has to ability to convey ideas in a very enjoyable and simple way. Even if you disagree with some of the ideas put forward, it is always useful to be aware of some "unconventional" ideas, especially in such uncharted times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hang on for the ride., May 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy---How to Save Yourself and Your Country (Hardcover)
It is a pleasure to write a positive review about this author and the book. I ordered the book over a month ago and have been waiting for the newest release since "How an Economy Grows". For those of you who are looking for interesting material that you will not learn in any school, college or on almost any other outlet, please purchase this book. Peter makes so much sense it is astounding.

I have read each of his books, multiple times, and listen to his radio show on a daily basis, and have spent the past four years unlearning all the nonsense we are taught in public schools. The message is clear, to the point and given in a manner that anyone should be able to understand. Peter is a great American as well as his dad, Irwin Schiff who has his own library of books that are must reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU WON'T WANT TO PUT THIS BOOK DOWN UNTIL YOU FINISH IT!!!, May 23, 2012
By 
f (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy---How to Save Yourself and Your Country (Hardcover)
I've studied economics in college for 6yrs, yet by far i've learned more about economics from just reading Peter Schiffs Books. This book is my favorite out of all his other books. Peter dissects complex problems and explains them in simple terms. If the majority of people in America read this book, i'm certain America would prosper once again, if they don't, then we're facing very hard times ahead...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 123 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No new information than what was offered in Crash Proof 2.0, July 2, 2012
By 
M. Jeffers (Raleigh, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy---How to Save Yourself and Your Country (Hardcover)
Highly disappointed with this book. The first 275 pages are just a historical rewind of how we got into the situation we are in today. Again, nothing Peter hasn't already covered. Check out page 284 the paragraph title "The Three Legged Stool". He basically states that his strategy 1. quality dividend paying foreign stocks in the right sectors. 2. Liquidity and less volatile investments, such as cash and foreign bonds. 3. Gold and gold mining stocks, hasn't changed. He states he has no reason to change course now and you can read his previous books to get the scoop on the strategy....well damn, why exactly did I buy this book then?

People are looking for specifics to take action and when you dig deep and look at what he breaks out for his 3 points, it's still too high level for the lay person to go investigate or take action. I can get over that he's pitching his company too. However, the lack of real substance, specifics just annoyed me. I really felt like the joke was on me that I would buy another one of his books. Don't worry, I've learned my lesson, never again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x994ac7d4)

This product

The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy---How to Save Yourself and Your Country
$25.99 $14.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.