Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lacuna Coil Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 27, 2012
*A full summary of this book is available here: An Executive Summary of Peter Schiff's 'The Real Crash': 'America's Coming Bankruptcy--How to Save Yourself and... (Paperback) - Common

The main argument: Since the housing and financial crash of 2008, America's recovery has been tepid at best. Unemployment has remained high; manufacturing has not returned; personal savings are as low as they've ever been, and personal debt as high; housing is still a mess, and banking not much better; and, to top it all off, government debt is awe-inspiring and seems completely insoluble. According to financial investor, commentator and author Peter Schiff, while all of this is certainly disheartening, it should not come as much of a surprise. Indeed, Schiff argues that all of this economic slumping is a natural result of America's misguided economic policies; including especially the Federal Reserve's manipulation of interest rates, the government's uncontrollable borrowing, and, in connection with this, the maintaining (and even expansion) of unsustainable social programs . For Schiff, these same policies led directly to the crash of '08 (which he correctly and very famously predicted), and are leading the U.S. directly into an even worse crash now. In his new book `The Real Crash: America's Coming Bankruptcy--how to Save Yourself and Your Country' Schiff outlines how America got itself into this mess in the first place, what the end game is likely to be, and what the nation and its citizens should do to make the coming unpleasantness the least unpleasant as possible.

The main problem--and where most of the other problems begin--according to Schiff, is the Fed's manipulation of interest rates. By interfering with the free market value of money, and making it cheaper than the market would dictate, the Fed encourages financial bubbles that then necessarily pop. When a bubble pops, the market needs to correct itself; however, over the past 20 years, the Fed has not really allowed this correction to take place, as every time a bubble pops the Fed has lowered the interest rate even further, causing more money to enter the system and a new bubble to form. First it was dot-com stocks, then it was housing, and now it is government spending.

As a matter of fact, while government spending has reached new and mind-boggling heights in the recent past, it has actually been ballooning in this direction for years, spurred on largely by the low-interest rates that the Fed has provided. The government has used this borrowed money to maintain and extend social programs (such as Social Security and Medicare), and, more recently, bailout packages for failing businesses and entire industries. All the while, the government has been going deeper and deeper into debt. A big part of what has allowed the American government to borrow as much as it has (and to keep on borrowing now) is the fact that the American dollar is the world's reserve currency, which means it is always in demand, and hence people and organizations have been willing to act as creditors in order to get it. For Schiff, though, the sheer size of the debt, and the fact that it is running away faster and faster everyday (and has no realistic chance of ever being repaid) will sooner or later turn investors away from considering the American dollar a valuable reserve--at which point it will lose its status as the world's reserve, and investors will stop investing in it.

At this point, the American government will have but two options. It can either declare bankruptcy, or it can print the money it needs to pay its debt. In either case, an enormous crash will result, for in the first case, an astronomical sum of money that the economy had assumed existed will suddenly be wiped away, and in the latter case hyperinflation will set in, and the American dollar will be whittled down to worthless.

At this point, the country will be forced to start over. For Schiff, this may not be such a bad thing, for, according to him, the nation has simply put itself in an unsustainable position, and the sooner it starts over the better. At that time, Schiff argues, America can finally get back to the small government and free-market forces that the country's founding fathers designed the nation around. While much of the book is focused on how the country can do this now, before the crash hits (in such areas as banking & finance, taxation, healthcare, education, the military, et. al.), Schiff very much believes that nothing can actually prevent the crash from coming, and that therefore, most of the rebuilding will have to be done after The Real Crash.

The book is very easy to read and the arguments laid out clearly and concisely, and backed up with both theory and historical evidence (though a little more of the latter would have been nice, on occasion). The author has done well to bring libertarian views into the mainstream. A full summary of the book is available here: An Executive Summary of Peter Schiff's 'The Real Crash': 'America's Coming Bankruptcy--How to Save Yourself and... (Paperback) - Common
4444 comments|392 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2012
This book may be useful to someone who has not read Schiff's other books, or who does not listen to his TV appearances or his own radio show. However, I was immensely disappointed to find out that this book is not very helpful in any practical sense.

The reason for that is that there is a single chapter (out of 28!) where he discusses how to protect your wealth from this new crash, and even that is pretty generic.

Mostly the book is his political beliefs in why we need restructuring of our money and system. I agree with most of that. However, I have read the majority of this before in not just one, but THREE other Schiff books! It's a rehash for cash, apparently, timed to take advantage of the economy and markets souring this summer.

Anyone who listens to his web radio program has already heard virtually all of this. But the title and subtitle are very misleading. It is not mostly about the crash, and it is virtually not at all about "how to save yourself", other than the suggestion perhaps to vote for Ron Paul or others like him.

Peter has already won many over. For the vast majority of readers they fit that description, making the book fairly pointless. Unfortunately he is less interested in nuts/bolts investing advice these days than the politics surrounding the issue.

Not a worthless purchase, but for me it was a big disappointment.
3939 comments|748 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
Dear potential reader,
I have always "appreciated" Peter Schiff for standing up to the talking heads on CNBC and the media in general. He WAS right about the first go around in 2008. Unfortunately, there is NOTHING in this book of any real value. It’s one of those; take advantage of the “cred” from the first success to make more money for yourself. I guess I would do the same if I were in his shoes although I really thought he was different than the rest of the Wall Street brats. This book is really just a set up to get you to call his investment firm to handle your money; pure and simple. Don’t waste your money; nothing new or eye opening. Anyone saying such has obviously had their head in the sand for the past 5 years. To say I’m completely disappointed in Peter Schiff is a mild understatement. I would really like to get my money back as I also bought his first book, but he earned it the first time around; not this time. I want my money back.
33 comments|71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2016
The problem is, Peter Schiff promoted his book as how to protect yourself from the crash, which is very serious stuff, and why it will happen is well described. But what gives him the authority to finish telling us why the problem exists and blather on with everything that's wrong with America's Federal Government? I didn't buy a book on that subject, but I got one with Mr. Schiff's personal views on how we should rebuild America to the extent of whether birth control is moral or Israel is to be supported, or all sorts of utterly non-sequitur issues? I appreciate what he says about the Fed and how politicians have enabled them, but to promote his Libertarian agenda at the expense of those who believed him enough to buy his book, only to be let down at his duplicity at being suckered in and then getting a lengthy, and boring, dose of his politics, was a real let down. Out of a 405 page book we don't get any advice on protecting our wealth until page 368. And part of how to do so is to invest in his funds and buy gold through his company.
Libertarian politics are great, generally for wealthy and successful people who have decided they don't need government except when it is convenient. I would look at Ayn Rand, and her 'magum opus' Atlas Shrugged. It's the bible of Libertarians. Ayn Rand came from an extreme socialist environment and was so glad to be free in America she wrote off ALL government. Vehemently. Yet when she was older and her books were no longer selling and she ran out of cash she was collecting social security, and she was being cared for by medicaid. It sure is nice to have government to fall back on when you get to an oops situation in life.
22 comments|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2014
I am only about 15 months late getting this review posted but I must say that in the meantime my opinion has not changed. Several parts of this book were very interesting and make perfect sense (the part on education, for example) and there are parts that if one had followed the investment advice would have been deleterious to your financial health.

I have followed Mr. Schiff's work for years as well as that of his former business associate, Mr. Pento. While much of what they write I believe, it may not happen for another 20 years and following their advice would have cost an investor quite a bit of money during the period 2009-2014. Again, I have read many other books by Mr. Schiff along with his articles that used to appear on a regular basis on the Financial Sense website.

The biggest problem with Peter's work, ultimately, is that he is a zealot on and adheres to a certain way of investing no matter what the current circumstances may be. Have I bought shares in companies he recommended? Yes. Do I believe the US dollar is being devalued? Yes. Do I believe one should own stocks/currency not denominated in US Dollars? Yes, but to a certain extent.

One has to be flexible when investing and sometimes leave your dogma at the door, for a while anyway, to make money. I understand one of the motivating factors that drives Mr. Schiff so against the Federales but hey, it happened a long time ago.

The last point I will make is that reading many of Schiff's and Pento's works one comes away with just a feeling that they are waiting to take particular glee when the average citizen falls into the abyss just so they can say "I told you so". There just seems to be a "nasty" quality that percolates throughout their books under the surface.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2012
Schiff has a good history of predicting and understanding our financial situation. He doesn't just "claim" he knew what was coming in 2008. It's well documented. He was also recognized in an economics paper by Bezemer as one of only a handful who accurately documented the situation prior to its occurrence.

That doesn't mean he is completely right in his predictions, of course, but it certainly makes him worth listening to. He does a nice job in this book of providing examples of how a free-market system would not have allowed such enormous errors to build up unchecked (bad ideas fail eventually if there is no other force to prop them up). His solutions are very logical and need to be closely examined, especially by anyone who thinks the government can change reality by legislating it away.

However, I think the likelihood of his solutions being implemented are small: simply because they include acknowledging living through a few years of pain. Politicians that recognize reality won't stay in office, so our pain is coming in a more sudden and violent way (violent meaning figuratively, not necessarily literally).

Therefore I would have liked to have seen more in-depth discussion of personal investment protection. Particularly, I would like to hear him comment on how the situation might be different if China is not in as good of condition as he thinks they are. I'm guessing that weaknesses in China would change the inflation expectation, but wish Peter would have commented on this.
33 comments|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2012
Some of the negative criticisms of this book claim that Schiff is recycling material from previous books. That may very well be the case but -- as I have never read any of his previous books -- that was no concern to me.

The central thesis of this book is that the crash of 2008 was not the "real" crash that Schiff had predicted. That crash is coming and its effect on America will be as bad or worse than the Great Depression.

Schiff is a Libertarian and many of his arguments are quite convincing. He focuses on our expanding 16-trillion-dollar debt and how neither political party is going to do anything about it. He points out that America's answer to everything is to simply inflated the dollar and one day the dollar-bubble -- like all other bubbles -- will burst.

His advice is tough but it is pretty consistent with Libertarian thinking: end entitlements and end the minimum wage. Americans should save more, produce more, and consume less.

His personal financial advice is a bit harder to accept. I'm suspicious of investing in gold. Also, he recommends buying ammunition. That seems a bit silly to me. I'm reading another book on finance that points out that, if we are in a Mad Max future where the police force no longer provides protection, your stock portfolio will be the least of your problems.
44 comments|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2012
I came across this book just as I finished reading Paul Krugman's latest offering - End This Depression Now. It is clear that Krugman does't understand what money is and wouldn't dream of considering that the Federal Reserve IS the problem. Luckily for us Schiff does, providing us with simple common sense solutions based on sound economics. The solutions are indeed nasty but the alternative is frightening to imagine. Economics in One Lesson by Henry Hazlitt tells us that Politicians will always think short-term whilst wearing blinkers to the big picture so we can conclude that Schiff's advice will be ignored. Protect yourself accordingly.
1010 comments|181 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2012
At the outset, it must be said that "The Real Crash" is not an investment book, perhaps because Schiff's investment strategy hasn't changed in the past decade, but it is more of a blueprint of how to put the economy on the road to recovery.

In the first few chapters Schiff examines what he sees as the root problems of the US economy, which are mainly the enormous national debt that can only be serviced due to the artificially low interest rates. The main argument is that interest rates will be raised sooner or later. It's rather naïve to expect interest rates to remain at near zero levels forever. The reason for the rise in interest rates could be the change in perception of investors who will no longer view US bonds as a safe haven, or it could be a spike in inflation due to all the money printing done by the Fed to keep the rates low, which in turn will force the Fed to raise them. Nonetheless, higher interest rates are coming. And when they do, the national debt will be unserviceable, which will push the US government into default.

According to Schiff, an outright default is unlikely; a more likely scenario is that the Fed will intentionally try to keep inflation high in order to inflate the debt away and to keep the banks afloat.

After laying down the problems, Schiff goes on to tackle what he views as the main obstacles to recovery. Firstly, Schiff proposes that the US declares bankruptcy, which is coming sooner or later. Therefore, we might as well face this problem now rather than later. Second, letting the market set interest rates and not the Fed. Thirdly, reform Social Security, Medicare, etc. All in all, the underlining theme is to cut back government involvement as much as possible.

Schiff's ideas are nothing new to people who believe in small government, however, he has to ability to convey ideas in a very enjoyable and simple way. Even if you disagree with some of the ideas put forward, it is always useful to be aware of some "unconventional" ideas, especially in such uncharted times.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2012
Highly disappointed with this book. The first 275 pages are just a historical rewind of how we got into the situation we are in today. Again, nothing Peter hasn't already covered. Check out page 284 the paragraph title "The Three Legged Stool". He basically states that his strategy 1. quality dividend paying foreign stocks in the right sectors. 2. Liquidity and less volatile investments, such as cash and foreign bonds. 3. Gold and gold mining stocks, hasn't changed. He states he has no reason to change course now and you can read his previous books to get the scoop on the strategy....well damn, why exactly did I buy this book then?

People are looking for specifics to take action and when you dig deep and look at what he breaks out for his 3 points, it's still too high level for the lay person to go investigate or take action. I can get over that he's pitching his company too. However, the lack of real substance, specifics just annoyed me. I really felt like the joke was on me that I would buy another one of his books. Don't worry, I've learned my lesson, never again.
11 comment|120 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse