Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia done right - Great treatment for classic series
Finally. After some meager single disc releases and a two-episode tease on the Ghostbusters Double Feature Gift Set (Ghostbusters/ Ghostbusters 2 and Commerative Book), The Real Ghostbusters finally makes a proper arrival on DVD, and does so in style. This isn't some hack release thrown together for a quick buck - Time Life and Sony really went all out to give RGB the...
Published on December 13, 2008 by Simon

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ghostbusted...
For any one who loved the show its for you. Its enough to fill your need with out spending all that money for the entire series and
episode Ghosts'R'us is worth the price. And you get so much more!
Published on May 4, 2009 by Kenneth L. Moody Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia done right - Great treatment for classic series, December 13, 2008
By 
Simon (Brampton, ON) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Real Ghostbusters, Volume 1 (DVD)
Finally. After some meager single disc releases and a two-episode tease on the Ghostbusters Double Feature Gift Set (Ghostbusters/ Ghostbusters 2 and Commerative Book), The Real Ghostbusters finally makes a proper arrival on DVD, and does so in style. This isn't some hack release thrown together for a quick buck - Time Life and Sony really went all out to give RGB the proper treatment, including Steelbook packaging, visual commentaries, interviews with the key talents, and more.

As mentioned by other reviewers, you can already grab the complete series set from the Time Life website, which has all 5 volumes, an exclusive Firehouse box and bonus disc. But if you're low on cash or only want a little RGB to satisfy that nostalgia craving, Volume 1 arguably gives you the most bang for your buck out of all the volumes. This set packs 30 episodes, the first 13 of which are the classic ABC season 1 shows, including memorable ghosts the Boogieman, Samhain, and Sandman. The Ghostbusters go Hollywood, Janine gets a genie, and Peter tells the story of how Slimer came to live in the firehouse. The other 17 episodes start the Season 1 syndicated package, including the episode "Knock Knock." The animation is at its strongest, Lorenzo Music and Arsenio Hall are on the cast, and the writing is at its best.

Individual volumes or complete series set, The Real Ghostbusters is a must buy on DVD. The show holds up much better than most 80s fare, and is great for original and new fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, another option!, December 10, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Real Ghostbusters, Volume 1 (DVD)
For those who don't know, Time Life picked up the rights to release the entire Real Ghostbusters series (including the Slimer & the Real Ghostbusters episodes), and are offering a complete series set available only on their website (with an MSRP of around $175-180.) Luckily for fans that don't want to drop 2 bills on the complete series, or for those who just want a single season of the show, they've decided to also release (at least) the first season as a separate set available at most retailers including Amazon. This is the perfect option for those who weren't happy with Sony's Best of discs, and are ready to mortgage their home for the complete series. Here's to hoping they release the other seasons separately as well.

As for the show, it's an interesting entry in the genre of 80s film cartoon spin-offs, with well written episodes and generally interesting animation. Though the show is visually a little different from the films, it's a great expansion of the characters and world. This 5-disc set contains the first 30 episodes, 5 commentaries, a collectible booklet, and a very nice steel case package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE cartoon of the 80's finally on DVD!, June 10, 2009
By 
John Lindsey "John" (Socorro, New Mexico USA.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Real Ghostbusters, Volume 1 (DVD)
Set a year after the Ghostbusters fought Gozer, the awesome four known as Peter Venkmen (Voiced by Lorenzo Music), Ray Stanz (Voiced by Frank Welker), Winston Zeddimore (Voiced by Arsino Hall) and Egon Spengler (Voiced by Maurice LaMaurre) now joined with friendly ghost Slimer (Voiced by Frank Welker) and with secretary Janine (voiced by Laura Summer) to fight the many forces of evil in the world.

A truly brilliant animated spin-off of the classic 1984 hit movie that suprised everyone around the world. In 1985 Columbia teamed up with DiC to do an animated series based on the movie as it premiered in 1986 to great ratings and acclaim from kids to adults thanks to the brilliant smart writing, excellent characterizations, humor and of course quality animation. It lasted from 1986 to 1992 as it became the true best cartoon of the 80's besides "Transformers" and "G.I. Joe", DIC's truest great cartoon show besides "Inspector Gadget" and "Sonic The Hedgehog" for it holds up very well thanks to Youtube viewing.

The show is finally on DVD in time for this year's 25th anniversary of the first film and the upcoming video game. This contains the first 25 episodes which starts with "Ghost R Us" where the Ghostbusters are upstaged by a group of ghosts who pose as ghost exterminators. "Killerwatt" has a power blackout where a this powerful Ghost named Killerwatt (Voiced by James Avery) is on the prowl, next "Mrs. Roger's Neighborhood" has an old lady possessed by a demon with a haunted house calls in the amazing four as they are trapped while Janine is in danger. "Slimer Come Home" deals with Slimer who ruins Winston's birthday suprise as he feels bad for the slimeball leaves to join a group of bad ghosts, "Troll Bridge" has a lost troll in the big apple having some fun while his Troll clan are mad for the now Ghostbusters must stop their reign of terror. "The Boogieman Cometh" is about the title creature that terrorizes two young children and now hire the Ghostbusters, "Mr Sandman Dream Me a Dream" has The Sandman who plans on making humanity rest by making their dreams actually come true for five hundred years as our heroes must stop him. "When Halloween Was Forever" has some ancient Irish ruins at the museum accidently set off a pumpkinheaded demon that wants to have Halloween forever, "Look Homeward Ray" has Ray returning back to his home town for a while but someone plots to make Ray look like a fool until that guy will find out who the real traitor is. "Take Two" is a self-referential episode where the Ghostbusters are flown to Hollywood to oversee production of a movie based on their story but then a prop is haunted by a monster and even includes brief footage from the original movie, "Citizen Ghost" has the origin of how Slimer first joined the team after the GBs fought Gozer. "Janine's Genie" is about Janine who temporarily joins the Ghostbusters as she is rewarded a brass oil lamp for a reward but it unleashes a Genie with deadly intentions, next "Knock Knock" has a portal to hell accidently opened as now the Ghostbusters must try to shut the gates of hell before man is devoured by evil. "Station Identification" has spirits haunting television sets as an evil ghost has created their own station for the amazing four must stop them, followed by "Play Them Ragtime Boos" has the men now in Louisiana on vacation as they discover a small town is haunted by jazz-playing spirits. "Sea Fright" has ghostly pirates that seek their lost treasure as now the Ghostbusters must stop, next is "The Spirit of Aunt Lois" features Ray's aunt who invites Ray and his pals to a seance conducted by a fake spiritualist that will unleash some mad ghosts. "Cry Uncle" has Egon's uncle Cyrus comes to visit but doesn't believe in his nephews work as Egon with friends must prove that spirits are real. "Adventures in Slime and Space" features Slimer accidently getting into one of Egon's experiments creating thousands of little slimers that will soon turn into a giant mean blue slimer that will slime the city unless the Ghostbusters can bring him back to normal. "Night Game" has a bizarre battle in a baseball stadium where baseball playing ghosts deal with the Ghostbusters to play ball with them, "Venkman's Ghost Repellers" has Peter's scam artist of a father peddling fake ghost-repellent ponchos as a ship must be saved from a weird dimension. "The Old College Spirit" has college students being haunted by former frat spirits at the GB's old college where they were kicked out, "Ain't NASA-sarily So" has our boys sent to space to bust a scary creature that sure ain't alien. ""Who You Calling Two Dimensional" has a famed cartoonist named Walt Fleischman of the 30's and 40's that was kidnapped by his toons for 40 years as the guys investigate the weird cartoon dimension. "A Fright at the Opera" has Valkyries terrorizes a opera house as now the Ghostbusters must put on their own show, "Doctor Doctor" has the four dudes covered in weird ectoplasmic chemicals that cover their bodies and somehow changes them. "Ghost Busted" has the boys in uniform decided to do something different to save their business once there has been a lack of ghosts for days as they reinvent themself as "Crime Busters", "Beneath These Streets" has New York suffering Earthquakes and the boys head into the sewers to discover that ghosts are behind it and finally "Boo-Dunit" has the Ghostbusters called to a haunted house of a deceased novelist where Winston with the guys must try to solve the mystery by actually being characters from the last unfinished novel of the writer.

All episodes are remastered nicely and has some great extras like introductions with commentaries on some episodes, featurette, image and design gallery and DVD-Rom stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Slime Time!, March 11, 2009
By 
J. Wood (Long Island, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Real Ghostbusters, Volume 1 (DVD)
The Real Ghostbusters was a difinitive series in that it was a major predacesor to the first TMNT animated series and was considerably dark for a Saturday morning children's cartoon. Some of the Ghostbusters' ememies were borrowed from popular mythology,(ie the above mentioned Boogeyman, Sandman and Samhain, the spirit of Halloween, and even the four horsemen of the apocolyps), and some of the ghosts were down right scarey. I agree with my fellow reviewers, this is a great set for those who are tight on cash but would like to enjoy some good ol' 1908's style ecto plasmic skull bustin' as Ray might say. Power up your Proton Pack, dust off your PKE Meter and get ready for ghost busting nostalgia at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who You Gonna Call?, October 4, 2012
This review is from: The Real Ghostbusters, Volume 1 (DVD)
I couldn't afford the pricey complete series, so I waited until Volume 1 was released. I grew up watching the cartoon and the episodes are still great to watch today. I love the tin case that contains the five discs and episode guide booklet.

The episodes are:

Disc 1
001-"Ghost R US"
002-"Killerwatt"
003-"Mrs. Roger's Neighborhood
004-"Slimer, Come Home"
005-Troll Bridge"
006-The Boogieman Cometh"

Disc 2
007-"Mr. Sandman, Dream Me A Dream"
008-"When Halloween Was Forever"
009-"Look Homeward, Ray"
010-"Take Two"
011-"Citizen Ghost"
012-"Janine's Genie
013-"Xmas Mark The Spot"

Disc 3
014-"Knock, Knock"
015-"Station Identification"
016-"Play Them Ragtime Boos"
017-"Sea Fright"
018-"The Spirit of Aunt Lois"
019-"Cry Uncle"
020-"Adventures in Slime and Space

Disc 4
021-"Night Game"
022-"Venkman's Ghost Repellers"
023-"The Old College Spirit"
024-"Ain't NASA-sarily So"
025-"Who're You Calling Two-Dimensional!"
026-"A Fright At the Opera"
027-"Doctor, Doctor"

Disc 5
028-"Ghost Busted"
029-"Beneath These Streets"
030-"Boo-Dunit"

Special Features: "Ain't Afraid of No Ghosts: Creating The Real Ghostbusters", The Real Ghostbusters Image Gallery: Promotional and Development Art; The Real Ghostbusters Design Gallery: Night Game; DVD-Rom Materials
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loooooong overdue..., March 10, 2009
This review is from: The Real Ghostbusters, Volume 1 (DVD)
It's about time they released this show the way they did. I've always been a fan, since the first few episodes aired on network television. I will be purchasing the complete series available at the Time Warner website. Thanks a and smurfwreck, for the heads up. Don't get me wrong, the way times are right now, it is nice to see that Amazon is providing the show seasonaly at a resonable price. I'm just impatient, plus the complete box set looks bananas! The animation was pretty sweet for it's time. I'm going to have a lot of fun getting my niece and nephews to get freaked out by the excellent stories. A must for any DVD animation library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Ghostbusters Vol. 1, August 10, 2009
This review is from: The Real Ghostbusters, Volume 1 (DVD)
Review of The Real Ghostbusters Vol. 1

Packaging: 4/5
The DVD Casing is Steelbook design (like MK Armageddon and Final Fantasy XII), Very appealing Cover design to make you say OOO! AWE! or NO FRIGGIN' WAY!! GHOSTBUSTERS!! (what I said with some editing *smiles*) Only complaint is that its DISC over DISC holding with no M-Lock to keep DVDs in place as they can become loose from dropping or from heavy retrieving (constant viewing)

Video: 4/5
Remastered to bring the show to it's former glory, it is very beautiful, very vibrant and vivid, however I notice some scenes in a few episodes where it would be vivid then dark and the closing credits look like VHS at a high bitrate but overall the vivid/low transition was very minor and probably couldn't be helped as the show is 23 years old and the credits who cares? hehe
*Fun little tidbit on DVD 4 after "We'll Be Right Back" on "Who you callin' 2-D?" slow down play and for 2 frames you will see a T2 900 number for the NES game or arcade 1.95 for 1 min and 1.45 after LOL

Audio: 5/5
The audio was pristine, no pops, hissing, no A/V mis-syncing, no low volume drops...just wonderful

Extras: 5/5
Episode Intros by cast and crew, Video commentaries by the crew on selected episodes, Music and SFX Audio track on selected episodes, Featurette with cast and crew, Promo and Art Image Galleries, Episode Scripts and Episode Guide Booklet

Price: 5/5
This one shocked me as I read reviews as this was the number one if ONLY complaint...and I have no reason to complain Time Life has done what no companies ever do....release a Series as a whole from the start that's right all seasons can be yours right NOW! and they give you 3 options:
1. The WHOLE DVD Series for $179.99 + $16.99 S&H (lowest they offer 10-14 business days)
2. 4 monthly payments with no interest...$44.99 x 4 (use the promo code to take off $35 ends 8/27...$144.99 or $36.25 x 4)
3. Buy individual set for $39.99 (got mine for $25 NEW....v2-v5 will be released in the future)

Still complaining?? (Good Grief!)
Look MSRP for DVD individually is $15-$20
2-Disc Movies and cartoons (3-5 eps.) $22-$30
So if you do the math of this Set in all options $125-$200 or $5-$8 per dvd with 6-7 eps a DVD you CAN'T beat that!

Overall: 4.6/5 or 9.2/10
Option 1: $144.99(with code)-$179.99 ($6.48-$7.88 per DVD)
Option 2: $36.25(with code)-$44.99 x 4 ($5.80-7.20 per DVD)
Option 3: $24.99-$39.99 ($5-$8 per DVD)

So unless you are Mallrats, you have options and stop complaining, because I got my Vol. 1 set retail and it wasn't MSRP, when you complain about price make sure you look at all options before crying about the price. That concludes my review I hope this helps you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We Now Return to the Real Ghostbusters...., April 9, 2009
By 
J. Inman (Lodi, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Real Ghostbusters, Volume 1 (DVD)
I was a huge Ghostbusters fan growing up in the 80s, and still am to this day. This cartoon left such an indelible impression on me that throughout the past 20 years different quotes or musical cues from the series often sprang into my head for no reason at all.

I purchased the individual discs that Sony put out a few a few years back but was just left pining for more. I was ecstatic when I heard the entire series was being released. I purchased the entire box set from Time Life a couple months back. I considered waiting until volume 1 was released on it's own but once I saw the firehouse packaging and the bonus disc that was included, I had to get it. Besides, I'm not very patient.

The extras are plentiful and the menus are nicely done. Some episodes have introductions, some have isolated score and sound effects tracks, and some have commentary.

Each volume comes in a beautifully decorated solid steel book case and contains five discs per volume, aside from volume 5 which has only four discs.

The episodes all look and sound great and are each shown in their entirety, including the talking logo that was used when going to and coming back from commercial breaks. In fact, if I were to have one complaint about the set, it's that the talking logo grows a bit tiresome. With six or seven episodes per disc, and the talking logo showing up about five or six times per episode, you're looking at having to see it around thirty to forty times if you select the `play all' option. I think it should have been featured as a bonus gallery. However, that complaint is so minor that it doesn't take anything away from this release.

This set truly sets a standard that other `complete series' sets should strive to achieve. With the release of the entire animated series and the upcoming releases of both the original film on Blu-ray and the video game in June, this is shaping up to be a very big year for us Ghostbusters fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 1980s nostalgia, January 2, 2009
This review is from: The Real Ghostbusters, Volume 1 (DVD)
I bought the complete series from Time-Life, which includes this first volume in the exact same quality Steel Book packaging. The show has been beautifully treated -- cleaned up and enhanced with occasional visual commentary tracks, brief episode introductions, and other special features.

Arguably, this first set marks the absolute best of the entire series. I am inclined to agree, though I am a completist at heart and wanted to enjoy the entire series, bonus DVD, and cool packaging that was offered from Time-Life. If you are a fan of the show, I would really recommend going that route, particularly when you can make a series of smaller payments instead of one lump sum.

For the most part, the show itself has withstood the test of time. It's not quite as wonderful and creepy as it was twenty-plus years ago when I devoured it as a child, but it's fun to watch and I look forward to sharing these quality shows when my daughter when she gets a bit older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Ghostbusters, December 30, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Real Ghostbusters, Volume 1 (DVD)
This is a great set for the fans of Real Ghostbusters. I dont know if they'll repackage this set but it comes with a steelbook, which is a nice touch. There are a few problems with the set

The show sometimes goes light and dark. Not alot of episodes have this problem but there is a few I noticed. Also, the episodes look good but its not the best quality. Looks like they put them on dvd and didnt bother remastering it.

The pictures on the dvd are the same for all sets.

I say buy this set if your a fan but you'll have to wait for the rest of the volumes to come out. Then when its all released, will they release it as a whole box set? I say either buy it as a full box set now for a few extra dollars or wait if your nota huge fan. I had a choice- save money or buy this set for two hundred dollars. I grew up on this show; My parents taped this show for me and I watched it until this set came out. I go with buy it now. Plus, you won't get the bonus dvd that came with the complete set and it also came with a nice booklet with every epsiode. You choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Real Ghostbusters, Volume 1
The Real Ghostbusters, Volume 1 by Arsenio Hall (DVD - 2009)
$39.98 $9.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.