Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Real Truth About Sugar: Dr. Robert Lustig's "Sugar: The Bitter Truth"
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
55
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 25, 2012
...the good news is this book does a sterling job of clarifying the entertaining, but often bewildering 90 min video that many of us have seen on Youtube and cable TV.

The bad news is that it makes it all too clear how simple it could be for Type 2 Diabetes and obesity to be avoided, by explaining in clear, every day English the horrific amount of sugar included in so much of the average American's diet.

(Ok, so that's not really bad news, unless you are the CEO of Coca Cola!)

Overall this is the perfect companion to Dr. Lustig's lecture, and a real eye opener as a standalone book even if you haven't seen or don't plan on seeing it.
11 comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2012
...I LOVE sugar. ..Actually I don't love "sugar" but I have a Sweet Tooth. This book made me realize that I was slowly killing myself with my love for sweets. That's the bad news. Now the good news is that it also helped me to see what I could do about it immediately and how I could take simple measures and still enjoy all the sweets I want ...safely. Obesity, cancers, cellular mutations ...a myriad of problems cause by this little addictive powder that we love so much. This book give the proven, verified, scientific evidence for the case against sugar and ...it's just a shame that more parents don't know about this. If they did they would STOP putting so much poison in their kids bodies. As a parent it made me make some immediate decisions for the sake of my kids ...who are extremely susceptible to this poison. I'm angry ...but I'm grateful to the author.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2011
The Real Truth About Sugar walks you through the video-step by step. It is nicely set up and well written. You can easily refer back and forth between the video and the book. The advantages of owning this book are you get a well thought out, clarifying book on a potentially confusing topic. You get additional material that is not in the video, explanations, and analyses. For anybody who has seen the video or will see the video, this book is highly recommended.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2011
I bought this after seeing Sugar The Bitter Truth. In addition to being the "cliffs notes" for the video, the additional material and analysis make a convincing argument about the negative health effects that increased sugar consumption over the last few decades has had. A great resource for anyone interested in health and nutrition.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2012
As is made clear in the Product Description, this book provides a means to further assimilate the rapid-fire technical presentation by Dr. Robert Lustig's 1.5 hour "Sugar: The Bitter Truth" lecture, which has as of this writing been viewed almost 2,000,000 times on YouTube. As such it is a "must have" companion to Dr. Lustig's viral video blockbuster. If those were his students in the video watching and listening to his lecture, I can well imagine how much Samantha Quinn's work would have been worth to them. If you still believe that today's obesity crisis comes about because we eat too much and move too little, I encourage you to get this book and watch the video to get the real story.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2012
Wow this perfectly explains some mixed information that I had been hearing about. I could never get down to the real truth... the information in this book makes perfect sense and I love the link to the video!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2012
Is Sugar Slowing Poisoning Us?

In this book, you can read about an in-depth study into that very question. I learned an important fact that sugar is not toxic immediately but can develop into something that slowly poisons your system over a period of time. Every day someone you and I know are being diagnosed with Type II Diabetes. It is the lifestyle of too many cakes, cookies and the sugar contained within them all that eventually catches up with us. This is a very interesting explanation as to why and how that occurs.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2012
This is an in-depth book looking at the sometimes political history of the many types of sugar used in the diet of the United States. While my family was looking to find more information about dietary sugar and corn syrup, we were given this book to help us in our study. Within the book, we found some hard-truth science about why we eat what we eat and how sugar, as the author describes, really might be a mild toxin of itself. There's a real blend of science and practical in the text, mixing chemistry ideas with a discussion of just what is in some foods at one of the leading fast-food eateries. This is a book for serious personal study. It is so completely referenced and thorough that you'll be glad you have it at your fingertips on your Kindle for repeated reading.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2012
This is a real eye-opener. Even though I watched the video, I still found the book immensely helpful in furthering my understanding exactly how truly poisonous surgar really is. This is one book I'll re-read and share with everyone in my family.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2012
I read very quickly and get impatient watching videos, so this book was good to get as it takes us through the contents of Dr Lustig's lecture.

I've been banging on about sugar for some time and researching it - the information contained in the book is very helpful, and not at all simplistic. The author also brings in Gary Taubes whose research and writing I admire.

Well worth reading whether you're a lay or science person. It certainly makes one think.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse