Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Pendragon" series captures the reader and draws it into a world of betrayal, suspense, and uniqueness!
The "Pendragon" series captures the reader's attention and draws you into a world of betrayal, suspense, and uniqueness! I have been reading the Pendragon series ever since one afternoon in fifth grade when one of my fellow peers recommended some book called "Pendragon." Sincerely, when reading the synopsis on the back of the book, I believed that it would...
Published on November 15, 2005

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Headed nowhere fast
The hype on this book is "fast-paced action and edge of your seat danger". That's fine, and that's what the book delivers.

Here's the problem. When the fast paced action subsides, there is always an undercurrent hinting that there will be a great back-story about Halla, and who Bobby is, and what Travelers are, and so on. This hinted at, promised overarching...
Published on October 16, 2011 by Pop Bop


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Pendragon" series captures the reader and draws it into a world of betrayal, suspense, and uniqueness!, November 15, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Reality Bug (Pendragon) (Paperback)
The "Pendragon" series captures the reader's attention and draws you into a world of betrayal, suspense, and uniqueness! I have been reading the Pendragon series ever since one afternoon in fifth grade when one of my fellow peers recommended some book called "Pendragon." Sincerely, when reading the synopsis on the back of the book, I believed that it would be..."cheesie." I was WRONG! The one reason why the Pendragon series is a remarkable read is because it is distinct in its plot and words. When reading the Pendragon series, I stay up as late as 12:00 or 1:00am intensely devouring the words of each page. Embarrassingly to say, I am currently a seventh grader and am presently reading Book Five of the Pendragon series, "Black Water." Read the Pendragon series and you will be drawn into a world of intrigue, thrill, and you will endure the most spontaneous and surprising events you will ever read in a young adult book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME., June 21, 2004
This review is from: The Reality Bug (Pendragon) (Paperback)
Okay, I've heard of good books, but this one blew my socks off. Bobby Pendragon is a Traveler. He goes to a place called Veelox, which is completely deserted. Everyone is in virtual reality. The residents don't even know it, but their world is crumbling as they enjoy virtual reality! Bobby has to stop this. Awesome book, awesome plot awesome characters. YOU WILL LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, January 28, 2007
By 
Puffrider (Wisconsin, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Reality Bug (Pendragon) (Paperback)
This book seemed just a tad bit dreary as far as the world goes but nonetheless it was a totally great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Yet, September 27, 2003
By 
"lbelle126" (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Reality Bug (Pendragon) (Paperback)
I have just started reading the Reality Bug and I think it is the best one in the series so far. I really like that Mark and Courtney have a bigger part in this book. I think they are a really important part of the story and I like to read about them. Plus, I think Veelox is a really cool territory and I can't wait to learn more about it. If you haven't read these books, you are missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars revealing, July 14, 2006
This review is from: The Reality Bug (Pendragon) (Paperback)
The fourth book in the series has the same idea as the first three but has a wicked, sudden ending. It gets you ready to begin the fifth book as soon as you've finished.

But what makes this book better is that a lot more is revealed in this book than in the others. It kinda refreshes the series to keep as in depth as it has been. Satisfying fantasy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D.J. McHales best book ever., April 20, 2004
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Reality Bug (Pendragon) (Paperback)
The Reality Bug is an awsome book! I loved it and stayed up hours of the night reading anxious to see what happens next. The characters are so well developed. The plot and story line are exiting and kept me glued to the book hungry for more! I can't wait to the next book in the series comes out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Penragon, The Reality Bug, April 11, 2006
This review is from: The Reality Bug (Pendragon) (Paperback)
Like most of the Pendragon books, Pendragon: The Reality Bug was full of action. I really liked this book because it kept me on the edge of my seat. This book begins when Bobby Pendragon travels to the territory of Veelox, and meets a girl named Aja Killian. She is a very harsh girl, and just so happens to be the Traveler from Veelox. They have to find a way to stop the territory of Veelox from going into complete chaos. The citizens of Veelox are all living in a tube that creates a perfect life for them. There is just one problem, and that is that while they are imagining their perfect life, Veelox is becoming deserted. Everyone is going into the tubes to get away from the troubles of real life. Aja and Bobby have to find a way to get them back into real life, of the evil demon Saint Dane will win his first territory.

This book would go into the genre of science fiction/fantasy. The author is D.J. MacHale. He adds a lot of different emotions to the book. Sometimes its sad, sometimes its romantic, and a lot of the time it is funny. This is one of the books that I cant stop reading, and I would recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Series, March 1, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Reality Bug (Pendragon) (Paperback)
This series is great in that it encourages kids to read. I have three children and each love this series. They can't wait for the next to be out and believe me, they've read them all. If you want your kids to read and if they like this sort of thing, this is the series to buy for them. True, it's a little rough, but they don't care or know.

**A book I would also recommend is The Unsuspecting Mage by Brian S. Pratt. This, the first installment of The Morcyth Saga is a great beginning for a new author. Battles, magic, gods, secret passages and intrigue, all the elements of a classic epic fantasy! Any fantasy reader will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, September 20, 2003
This review is from: The Reality Bug (Pendragon) (Paperback)
The Reality Bug is such an awesome book. When Bobby arrives on Veelox, Aja told him it was under control and that he should leave. It's a good thing he was sceptic about the territory. Aja's Reality Bug could really have done a lot more damage if she didn't have help. Too bad that Saint Dane had a counter for every attack Aja had. The ending has left me in much suspense. ALL the rules have changed. It's a good thing Mark and Courtney can help a little more, now that they are Acolyte's.The whole book is suspenseful and the end leaves you hanging for the next one. The Reality Bug is honestly the best book yet, in this series. If you haven't read them all you really should. The entire series is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Headed nowhere fast, October 16, 2011
By 
Pop Bop "Pause and Reflect" (Denver, Colorado, United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The hype on this book is "fast-paced action and edge of your seat danger". That's fine, and that's what the book delivers.

Here's the problem. When the fast paced action subsides, there is always an undercurrent hinting that there will be a great back-story about Halla, and who Bobby is, and what Travelers are, and so on. This hinted at, promised overarching story is probably what keeps people coming back to this series and what gets them through the increasingly frantic storylines of the individual volumes.

Well, if you really like these characters or if you really like MacHale's volumes as stand-alones, good luck and good reading. If you're just toughing it out to get to the final volume payoff, you might want to consider skipping ahead a few books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Reality Bug (Pendragon)
The Reality Bug (Pendragon) by D. J. MacHale (Paperback - September 1, 2003)
$8.99 $8.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.