Customer Reviews


337 Reviews
5 star:
 (179)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (53)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


198 of 214 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Track is.....amazing....
what can i say? this cd is beyond words. most of the rock music today is based on the singers bein pissed off at someone and mad at the world but Hoobastank is different. Douglas Robb sings with so much emotion that you feel like he's acually been through what he's singing about. here's my breakdown of the songs:
1. Same Direction- Great song and the right song to...
Published on January 4, 2004

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars JUNKMUSIC FROM THE JUNKMUSIC AGE
This age must be the worst age when we look at the musicproduction. 24-7 we are covered with junk from people with now ears. Hoobastank is one of 159 bands with the same sound.

There should be a revolution against this kind of music that all the radiostations plays.
Published on June 25, 2005 by Christian Svensson


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

198 of 214 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Track is.....amazing...., January 4, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
what can i say? this cd is beyond words. most of the rock music today is based on the singers bein pissed off at someone and mad at the world but Hoobastank is different. Douglas Robb sings with so much emotion that you feel like he's acually been through what he's singing about. here's my breakdown of the songs:
1. Same Direction- Great song and the right song to open the cd with
2. Out of Control- First single off the album. i loved it when i first heard it but it's overplayed. the only song about frustration
3. What Happened to Us- Different beat but it grows on you. great lyrics about a relationship falling apart
4. Escape- drums at the beginning are awesome. one of my favorite songs
5. Just One- song about wanting one chance to prove yourself. very encouraging
6. Lucky- this songs okay. kinda about floating on cloud 9 after finding someone you love. could be longer cause its too short
7. From the Heart- beautiful song about rebuilding dreams when no one else believed in you
8. The Reason- i listened to this song over and over again. Robb sings this rock ballad with so much emotion that you almost feel his pain and longing. Lyrics about changing for someone you love
9. Let It Out- good song between The Reason and Unaffected. a fun upbeat song but too repetitive.
10. Unaffected- second favorite song. i definetly connect with the song about people judging you before they ever meet you
11. Never There- upbeat song that says whenever i need you you're not there.
12. Disappear- 3rd favorite song. love the lyrics and everything about it. about a person who makes everything better when they're around you.
Buy this cd. its worth more then the 10 bucks you'll pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, December 23, 2003
By 
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
First off, I'd like to say that I ahve not really been a fan of Hoobastank. A lot of the songs on their self titled album sounded too similiar. The CD only had about 6 or 7 good songs on the CD.
The Reason is much mcuh better then Hoobastanks previous albums. I don't skip any of the songs. It is always in my CD player, day and night. This CD has much more distinguished guitar riffs and choruses.
Same Direction - A great opening track. Great guitar riffs. One of my favorites. 9.5/10
Out Of Control - The first single is very fast paced and fun. It makes out want to get up and do something right away but then to lay back down cause you want to listen to the CD. 9/10
What Happened To Us? - A t first this sounds like it's going to be a great track but then it changes tempo way to fast to actually sound good. Other then that the song is good. 8/10
Escape - This song sounds like a fast paced 3 Doors Down song. Very different from any previous song. 8.5/10
Just One - The intro to this song is very good. Too bad the chorus isn't as good. 8/10
Lucky - This song sounds really complete. Very good. 8.5/10
From the Heart - Again and amazing intro. But this time the chorus is also good. 9/10
The Reason - Now this is definately the best song on the CD. The style is very different from any other song by Hoobastank. It willprobably be the second release from this album. 10/10
Let It Out - A great hard song. It also sounds very good between "The reason" and "Unaffected". 8.5/10
Unaffected - One of my favorites by Hoobastank ever. The guitar is amazing and makes this track stand out. 9.5/10
Never There - A lot of other people don't like this song but I love it. The best hard song on the CD. 9.5/10
Disappear - And the CD ends with yet again another great song. Not quite as good of a closing song as "Give It Back" but is nonetheless an amaing song. 9.5/10
As you can see the CD starts off good and ends great. This CD will occupy my CD player for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection reaches its peak?, January 30, 2004
By 
Kevin (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
Very rarely does a band put out an album that you can listen to from beginning to end without skipping tracks. This time around I think Hoobastank really proved their potential with this album, it's pretty unfortunate that they're an underrated band but the quality of music is amazing, unlike their self-titled debut, there's more consistency to "The Reason". If you like music that's aggressive and can hold that aggressiveness even on the softer tracks, then there's no reason why you should pass this one up.
01. Same Direction - (5/5) - Great opener, it begins semi-light with a few strings but kicks in with a nice riff. The entire song is pretty energized and fast paced so I doubt it's something to get tired of.
02. Out Of Control - (4/5) - The first single from the album, I think it's a pretty good track though, like most singles, they get old really fast. If you've had enough of its airplay then just skip it and come back to it later, many of the other tracks could've surpassed this one as the first single.
03. What Happened To Us - (5/5) - One of my absolute favorites, it could be dubbed as the 'the typical soft rock song' but the chorus blows everything away. The strings on this track were pretty impressive as well. -- Should be the second single.
04. Escape - (4/5) - Okay there's always the song we tend to skip because the intro isn't catchy enough so we think it's a weak song, 'Escape' gets everything from the chorus, just like many other songs, the lyrics and bridges in between might seem a bit boring but in the end it's more than worth a listen, great vocals.
05. Just One - (5/5) - Another one of the favorites, if not the best track on the entire album. The best thing about this one is that you can wait forever for an instrumental/slow-down break that will never come. This song is extremely consistent and tight, everything, the drums, riffs, vocals, you name it.
06. Lucky - (3/5) - In my opnion the chorus tends to drag over and over, the vocals are amazing but come on, how many times can we hear "you" stretched out. This song could be compared with 'What Happened to Us', but the overall tone is more upbeat rather than 'poetic' if you will..
07. From The Heart - (3/5) - Rhythmically diverse, the beats go from moderate to high-paced to progressively slow. Not much else to say about this one, not a bad song, could've been better though.
08. The Reason - (4/5) - Your perfect "just broke up with girlfriend/boyfriend" dwelling period song. I was a bit suprised that this title track wasn't a heavy song, it really demonstrates what the album is about and more specifically what the title means.
09. Let It Out - (2/5) - Probably the worst song put on this album, I wasn't really catching what the slight guitar distortion was about. And once it got towards the end of the song and "woo's" over the instrumentation started I had more than enough.
10. Unaffected - (5/5) - Good thing this came after the worst song. Love the vocals, perfect for the car lip synchers. A great example of the toned-town-yet-effective side of Hoobastank.
11. Never There - (5/5) - The last 'pumped up' track of the album, I don't get why this was placed towards the end, it seemed like it would've been better somewhere in the middle of the songs but what stands out the most are the riffs before each chorus. They're almost like 'guitar slices' that add a nice effect to the song. Another favorite.
12. Dissapear - (3/5) - Good way to end the album, the sound itself lets you know that it's coming to a close, slower pace, building up to an appropriate fade out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Reason to love this band!, October 24, 2005
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
Hoobastank's second studio release is exactly what anyone expects from any band; an expansion of their sound, while still sounding like themselves. "Same Direction" opens the album very much the same way "Crawling in the Dark" did their last. The band steps into harder ground with "Out of Control" which features screaming vocals from lead singer Douglas Robb and guest background vocals from Lostprophets. "What Happened to Us?" asks that very question about a broken relationship. "Escape" opens with a catchy drum solo and doesn't slow down after that. Opening with a sustained note from the last track, "Just One" is a track with echoed verse lyrics of "I want to..."'s and "I need to..."'s that fans will love. The opening acoustics of "Lucky" show the track's supposed sound...until the chorus breaks out everything the band has. Rise-from-the-fall track "From The Heart" raises an assignment to rebuild lost dreams. Hit and title track "The Reason" is easily the softest side of the band seen to date, and is a touching track that will open the soft-loving side of even the band's harder fans. "Let It Out" kicks off with a scream from Doug and later launches a chorus that is instantly singable. "Unaffected" sends a message of almost-lost hope, asking what to do about the problems that are being faced. "Never There" hits on the problems of an apathetic love. When "Disappear" comes around, fans should know they're getting another hit. Lyrics that anyone can relate to and a pure, simple melody give this track power over any listener. Overall, a definite recommendation of mine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sleeper Masterpiece, March 30, 2004
By 
MH (California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
I bought this CD after reading about H'stank in Q and NME and some other U.S. music Mag's. I've ben staying away from all the "dude" bands like Limp, Linkin", etc.
I was thinking this was just another offshoot of those bands. I WAS WRONG. The talent these guys have is just unbelievable. There is not a filler song on this CD. From the opening track, I was hooked and as each song progressed so did my ear. I love these songs. Totally melodic with an edge which is where I am in life.
"The Reason" speaks for itself. It's an instant clasic. Don't skip over any of the songs to get to this track. I do have a favorite track and that is, "What Happend To Us". I think everyone can relate to this one. I can't wait to see them live. Pick this one up - You will not regret the purchase. I'll let the songs speak for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Hoobastank!, December 19, 2003
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
As everyone knows, sophmore albums can be tricky for successful bands. Hoobastank seemingly reached fame overnight. Although playing the scene for years (under the name Hoobustank) they broke through with their first major label, self-titled, album in 2001. That album spawned three radio-hits ("Crawling In The Dark," "Running Away" and "Remember Me") and set the stage for this album. With "The Reason," Hoobastank completely obliterate their chance for sophmore jinx. Stepping out of the shadows of their mentors/peers in Incubus, this album completely expands on Hoobastank's sound. Everything that made the first album as good as it was is tripled on this effort. Energetic tracks like "Same Direction" and the first single "Out Of Control" (which features guest vocals courtesy of Lostprophets) are instant hits, while "What Happened To Us" and "Escape" benefit from the use of some sublte electronics. "Lucky" is a feel-good song that successfully blends acoustic guitars and keyboards. However, the true pinnacle of this album is the title track ("The Reason"). A soaring modern-rock ballad. I forsee this as being a major hit for them if it ever sees a release. Even if you don't like the rest of the album, this song will keep you coming back for more. Great lyrics and a stellar sound. It's the title track for a good reason because it is the best representation of Hoobastank's new sound. "The Reason," as an album, is definitely a massive step-up from the debut. Hopefully this album will be successful, because Island records is notorious for dropping bands that don't move enough units and I want Hoobastank to live on to make more wonderful music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best new CD's for 2003-2004, February 6, 2004
By 
David J Brude "bruddog" (Milpitas, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
This CD tops their previous effort in my opinion. The songs may be a bit mellower than thier previous effort but there is is still plenty of rocking going on. What you get in exchange for a little bit more mellowness is a dramatic increase in musicianship. Can't wait to see these guys again with Linkin Park, POD and Story of the Year!

Track by Track breakdwon
1. Same Direction (7/10)- Gets the CD off to a nice fast paced start with a quick beat. Verses are a bit weak but hits hard into a great chorus.
2.Out of Control (9/10)- The single that you've probably heard
on the radio. This is another fast paced song with a great chorus. Lyrically about somone having a tough time dealing with the pressures placed on them by another.
3. What Happened To Us? (9/10)- Great melodic guitar intro and dynamic vocals on this slow ballad type song. Chorus is acutally the weak part of this song as the guitars sound too similar to other songs.
4.Escape (5/10) Verses and the overall song a little too repetetive. Chorus saves it a bit but one of my least favorites.
5.Just One (8/10) Great fast catchy intro guitars. One of the faster and better songs on the album. This song talks about getting that one chance.
6.Lucky (5/10) Starts off with a nice acoustic guitar. I just thikn the verse vocals on this are bland. Chorus is Ok but not great in comparison.
7.From the Heart (8/10) Verse guitars similar why are you running away. this is another mid tempo song that builds into a great chorus talking about unfifilled dreams. Great emotion in the vocals. You can really feel this song.
8. The Reason (10/10) If you don't like ballad type songs then avoid this one. But if you do then this one is great as this should blow up big on the radio. Very slow simple, beautiful guitar line with beautiful vocals. Like the title says its about a loved one being the reason to be a better person.
9. Let it Out (3/10) I just don't like this song. Sounds like the filler song. Sounds like there trying to be some other band on this song.
10. Unaffected (10/10)Luckily the worst track on the album is followed by the best track that probably won't be a single. Great quick distorted guitar picking over mellow paced vocals. In my opinion this has the best chorus on the entire album. Again you can really feel the chorus as he is talking about people prejudging you.
11 Never There( 4/10) The Album just seems to fall off for me
after song 10. This an uptempo song sort of similar to song number 9.
12 Dissapear (4/10) The one mellow song that doesn't seem to work.
Though there are a few duds the rest of the album definitely makes it worth picking up. My favorite tracks are
1. Unaffected
2. The Reason
3. Out Of Control
4. What Happened to Us?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, July 7, 2004
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
1. Same Direction- 8.5/10
2. Out of Control- 10/10
3. What Happened to Us- 9.5/10
4. Escape- 9/10
5. Just One- 10/10
6. Lucky- 8.5/10
7. From the Heart- 10/10
8. The Reason- 10/10
9. Let It Out- 10/10
10. Unaffected- 9.5/10
11. Never There- 9.5/10
12. Disappear- 9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice sophomore effort, July 18, 2004
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
Hoobastank's self-titled album was good, and THIS album, The Reason, ain't bad either. It's no surprise why the title track became a monster hit -- and incidentally, that song is tied with "Disappear" as being the best song on the album. But because the band has a huge hit on their hands, it seems like some people just hate them for it (to know how I feel about that, refer to my "true meaning of 'sellout'" guide). But that's okay because the rest of us can see how great this album is.

As other reviewers have mentioned, this album is more low-key than their last album. But results are still impressive, as shown by songs like the romantic "Lucky". And when the songs aren't so positive, they can still work, as evidenced by "Never There", "What Happened to Us", and the aforementioned title track.

There are other good songs on here too, like "Escape" and "Same Direction". But there are a few missteps as well. I don't think I would have cried if "From the Heart" wasn't on here, and "Out of Control" is just that (sorry, I tried my best to like that song). But this is still a great album from Hoobastank. Like their first album, this album also gets four stars, so pick them both up if you're a fan.

Anthony Rupert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best albums i own!, October 21, 2004
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
yes like many others i heard the reason and started to like hoobastank. but my friend gave me the album and i fell in love straight away with them and 10 months later im still playing it non stop. heres my view on the songs:

1. Same Direction: 8/10 at first this song was ok but the chorus is catchy and its a really good melody and i got attached to it.

2. Out Of Control: 9/10 the beat to this song is insane and its great for driving or just jumping up and down!

3. What Happened To Us: 8.5/10 its pretty good. lyrics are cool and that funky music at the end hooks me in every time.

4. Escape: 8/10 love the drums at the start of this song. its pretty poppy but still a good song to sing along to

5. Just One: 9/10 a fast upbeat song with excellent melodies.

6. Lucky: 7/10 this ones a bit mellow and sappy. not the best song on the album

7. From The Heart: 5/10 i never liked this song ever. the music is good but i hate the chorus and the melody.

8. The Reason: 10/10 one of the sweetest songs ive ever heard in my life. even though it gets over played heaps i can still listen to it. dougs voice is beautiful on this ballad.

9. Let It Out: 8/10 another good rock song but it reminds me of just one. its still good though...

10.Unaffected: 11/10 my favourite song on the album. love the words, love the melody just love everything about it!

11. Never There: 8/10 its a good song. it grows on you and dougs voice is cool in this song.

12. Dissapear: 7/10. everyone loves this song but i never got into it that much. it goes for too long and and it gets annoying sometimes. i like the lyrics but i feel it gets too repetitive.

overall this album is fantastic, better than the first album i believe. everyone should have a copy of this album in their collection. i cant rave on enough about how good this band is, especially live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa23ef228)

This product

The Reason
The Reason by Hoobastank (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.