Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a surprisingly good movie! definite must watch!
first, i mostly watch only chinese movies (about 99% of the time). so grudgingly i borrowed this movie from my brother to watch when i get bored. it's a good thing i wasn't expecting anything out of it.

about 10 minutes into it, i was riveted. the actions (fight scenes) were very solid and the casts were great! i was just going "wow!" whenever the characters...
Published on September 24, 2008 by Shiri

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star Movie
Wow! I got pulled in hook, line, and sinker for this stinker movie! The great reviews must have been done by those with low expections as this movie was badly written and the worst fight scenes - can't fight well - then a master in another scene? I could hardly wait for for this one to end. I trashed this DVD. Maybe the land fill can hold the stink of this movie.
Published 4 days ago by MrEd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a surprisingly good movie! definite must watch!, September 24, 2008
This review is from: The Rebel (DVD)
first, i mostly watch only chinese movies (about 99% of the time). so grudgingly i borrowed this movie from my brother to watch when i get bored. it's a good thing i wasn't expecting anything out of it.

about 10 minutes into it, i was riveted. the actions (fight scenes) were very solid and the casts were great! i was just going "wow!" whenever the characters fight. it was that good! everyone fought like they all learned martial arts when they were born which makes those scenes that much more convincing!

pay attention to the lead actress; for such a skinny gal, she sure fought with surprising agility and strength. she really impressed me!

the plot, action and storyline flow nicely together. quality of the film is very evident as the story unfolds - everything looked good. if you are a martial arts fan or just love kung fu or action movies, this will leave you satisfied. the story is fast paced so you won't get a chance to get bored! :D

pick this up (especially the new special release by dragon dynasty) and you'll have a great (action) movie on hand! i know i will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a great martial arts movie, a GREAT MOVIE, May 16, 2009
By 
SB (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rebel (DVD)
This movie is fantastic. The incredible martial arts choreography and physical talent of the stars is only one facet of a truly multi-dimensional work. In fact, it is extremely deep, and is as much a dramatic historical tragedy as it is a rousing action film.

Most martial arts movies use historical settings as either an excuse to let the kicks fly, or perhaps as a rallying point for historical and national pride. This movie goes far beyond those flimsy constructs. It deeply probes the colonial nightmare of Vietnam: the humiliation of occupation, the way it tears at every level of the social fabric, from city life, to villages, to institutions, to families, and male-female relationships. The way it corrupts the colonizers and the colonized. And the movie shows the true cost of rebellion: that one must be prepared to sacrifice life as one has known it...and the cost of rebellion will be paid by many more people than the individual who chooses to rebel.

The national pain of Vietnam is given no easy catharsis through rebellious violence, either. Indeed, the message of the movie seems to be that for all the physical power of the characters, nothing could change the inevitable grinding of the logic of colonization and conflict that gripped the country. The acts of rebellion the movie depicts certainly lead to more bloodshed, tragedy, and pain than any kind of triumph. The personal redemption of the hero is won through the blood and suffering of those around him.

For those looking for some great fight scenes (as I was when I put it in my player), it certainly doesn't disapoint. The gritty fights remind me of the choreography of Sammo Hung - but with the added flair of the traditional Vietnamese forms, and the high-flying style of the star, Johnny Nguyen.

The movie also features wonderful period sets, and the lush and beautiful scenery of Vietnam, both of which are characters in and of themselves.

In conclusion, this is an exciting and important film that should appeal to many different audiences, and which provides real insight into both the national identity and historical consciousness of Vietnam, and into the nature and social ramifications of colonization itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one of the best action movie in 00s, August 30, 2008
By 
Katz "deerstudio" (Yokkaichi, Mie Japan & Los Angeles CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rebel (DVD)
I first saw this movie at the film festival in LA after overhearing a lot of good reviews from people who saw this film at the previous film festival.

First, you don't really expect anything from the movie made in Vietnam. I've never paid attention to films made in Vietnam. So when I heard that this film was made in Vietnam and it's action movie. I was expecting to be cheap Hong Kong style cinema.

Well, I was wrong.

Good plot. Good story. And fabulous action sequence throughout the movie, including a lot of explosions!

If you like Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon.... although the story takes place in 1920... you MUST watch this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dustin Nguyen Plays An Ecellent Villain!, May 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rebel (DVD)
I wanted to see this movie for a couple of reasons, I love action movies and I'm a huge fan of Dustin Nguyen. I remember him from his days on 21 Jumpstreet, opposite Johnny Depp(who I also adore). Dustin has generally always played honorable characters. His role in The Rebel as Sy is breath taking to watch. Nguyen gives the character such charisma, unpredictability and sly wit that you almost forget he's the bad guy. Out of all the actors in this movie, I'd say Dustin Nguyen is by far the most enjoyable to watch. He gives a remarkable performance. Even with salt and pepper hair, Mr Nguyen still makes me melt.

The movie is extremely well written and very well acted. There is other eye candy in the movie:Johnny Nguyen(no relation) who plays Sy's rival and the beautiful Veronica Ngo. This movie was an incredible escape for me from the minute it started untl it ended. Do yourself a favor, buy this one. If you rent it, you'll end up buying it. It's THAT GOOD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rebel delivers!, October 30, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rebel (DVD)
These days I'm more of a skeptic with modern day martial arts releases, as many of them are heavy on guns, light on actual martial arts. The Rebel was a great surprise with a steady stream of fast-paced hand to hand fights, with points for originality in the coreography. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that personally I'm not a fan of a lot of editing during a fight scene. I like to watch the fight straight on, too many cuts take me out of the fight, especially since I'm one who likes to watch the techniques closely. It wasn't a huge problem in The Rebel, but a few times was too much for me. Still, there was enough true martial arts all through the film to make it very much worth it! Decent acting, and an actually good story sealed the deal. I'd recommend it to any martial arts fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I guess even a traitor can be changed by the love of a good woman... a woman who can put you in a scissor head lock!!, August 2, 2010
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rebel (DVD)
THE REBEL is one of those rare martial arts pictures in that the story content isn't just there to frame the action sequences. The plot is straightforward but has substance to it, and the three lead actors are given intense parts to play. It's a Colonial period piece, set in 1922 in French-occupied Vietnam, and the Frenchies were so cruelly subjugating that the impoverished peasants were forced to rebel. And is it me or does the white man's burden tend to cheese off all the other nationalities? The froggies were so foul back then that, in the audio commentary, Asian cinema expert Bey Logan, informed that Frenchmen yet linger in Vietnam today, cracks a joke: "If I was French I would have left town."

Le Van Cuong (Johnny Tri Nguyen) is suave and French-educated. He wears stylish white suits and he's an agent of the colonial government, seeking to snuff out seeds of insurrection. He works for the sadistic, power-mad security chief Sy (Dustin Nguyen), and while they're not exactly friends they seem to work well together. Until, of course, a beautiful girl drives a wedge between them. The girl is Vo (Veronica Ngo, a.k.a. Thanh Van Ngo) and she's the fiery daughter of the rebel leader. When Vo is captured, Cuong helps to spring her from prison and off they go on the run, pursued by a venomous Sy and his minions.

This picture apparently shattered film box offices in Vietnam, and, sure, why not? THE REBEL boasts polished production values which lend to the viewer a definite sense of place and time, Vietnam circa 1922. THE REBEL was done under a modest budget (although this budget is huge by Vietnamese standards), and maybe you'd be startled to know that they only had two vintage cars to work with and that they used these two cars exhaustively throughout the film, under several guises. Shot heavily on location in Vietnam, there are many beautiful countryside sceneries to soak in. And the acting is really solid, maybe even surprisingly solid. Johnny Tri Nguyen is a Vietnamese-American martial artist and a Hollywood stunt man, except that he shows real promise as the conflicted main lead. He easily demonstrates that he's just more than a guy who can kick all pretty. Having said that, his aerial moves are really nice.

The bad guy is played - and don't laugh - by Dustin Nguyen, he of 21 JUMP STREET fame. And I said don't laugh because Dustin Nguyen exudes a twisted and surprisingly menacing presence. His character makes use of the "Iron Shirt" discipline (Dustin's own description) which renders his flesh impenetrable to blades and blows.

But the real find is Thanh Van Ngo. A singer-model who had no prior background in martial arts, Veronica trained for several grueling months before shooting the film. When you see her on screen she looks like she's been kicking people viciously in the face all her life. Veronica Ngo has got amazing screen presence, the looks, and the martial arts skill, and I don't think there's been a male and female lead couple this badasss since Jackie Chan teamed up with Michelle Yeoh in POLICE STORY 3: SUPERCOP. I was astounded to learn that Veronica broke her foot during filming and, in some scenes, had to prop herself up on an apple crate.

Okay, there are spots when the film drags. But the story overall is compelling and I've mentioned the good acting, and there's enough nationalistic fervor here that I could totally see why this was big whoop in Vietnam. The martial arts is superb. The cast barely does any wirework. Johnny Tri Nguyen and Veronica Ngo do their own stunts (not counting when Veronica broke her foot and had to have a walking double). Johnny Nguyen incorporates Muay Thai and wushu techniques and makes it a point to feature moves from the Vietnamese martial arts discipline of Vovinam. Nguyen's aerial moves are from the Vovinam arsenal, and I love Veronica's signature move which is this scissor headlock she imposes on her opponent with her legs before she torques him to the ground, and in the middle of this there's this neat thing she does where she spreads her arms wide like a butterfly. Another thing the film does well is maintaining a realism in terms of how combat would go when people bring guns to a martial arts fight. There are overwhelming casualties when folks try to swarm armed soldiers, and yet it's done believably whenever an unarmed guy does manage to close in on the guy(s) with the firearms.

By the way, disgustingly, that was a real eye in that one scene.

This Dragon Dynasty release comes with two DVDs. Disc 1 has the feature presentation and the quite entertaining audio commentary from stars Johnny Tri Nguyen, Dustin Tri Nguyen, and Veronica Ngo, and Asian cinema expert Bey Logan who asks all the right questions. These guys were having fun recording this.

Disc 2 has:

- The Making Of featurette - in which we learn, among other fascinating things, that the blood splatter on Johnny Tri Nguyen's face caused by his shooting of an assassin is actually caused by some guy off camera, on cue, spitting red liquid into his face (00:37:37 minutes)

- Three in-depth interviews: "Empty Hand, Noble Heart" - the interview with Johnny Tri Nguyen (00:31:49 minutes); "Cry for Freedom" - an interview with Veronica Ngo (00:33:28); and "The Dark Destroyer" - an interview with Dustin Tri Nguyen (00:35:22)

- "One Man Army" is a martial arts demonstration by Johnny Tri Nguyen as he talks about and recreates some of the best Vovinam moves from the movie (00:03:18)

- "Iron Jacket" is a deleted scene from the Preview Cut of THE REBEL which has a shirtless Dustin Nguyen going thru some form of kata (00:00:41)

- A Behind-The-Scenes Gallery (with eleven brief featurettes) focusing on the film's action/stunt sequences as the cast & crew work out the logistics. The "Take One for the Team" clip shows one stunt guy getting repeatedly bloodied by Vernoica Ngo during the jail break scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First-rate, September 20, 2009
By 
William Bolton (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rebel (DVD)
I wasn't expecting much from this movie, but I was intrigued because I haven't seen many Vietnamese movies, and though I enjoy martial arts films I'd never seen a Vietnamese one. Actually, according to Veronica Ngo in her extended interview on the bonus disk, this is the first. But, though it might be the first martial arts film with a Vietnamese director and cast, it ranks with the best that HK has produced. An interesting story, great characters and action, wonderfully executed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Wing Chun Made Superior, October 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rebel (DVD)
This is an exhilirating and highy entertaining movie. A raging unstoppable river of [...]-kicking. The biggest box-office hit in Vietnamese history and one of the year's most talked-about films. The REBEL is a sweeping martial arts epics set in the 20's French-occupied Vietnam. Johnny Tri Ngujen (the Protector) starts as an elite double agent tasked with taking down his own country's freedom fighters. However, when he meets a beautiful rebel (pop star Veronica Ngo), he rethinks his loyalthy to the oppressive French regime and fights back against his sadistic captain (Dustin Tri Nguyen, TV's 21 Jumped Street). Featuring an acrobatic fighting style rarely seen in the US and an absolutely gripping story, THE REBEL is entertaining mix of martial arts and historical drama. CAVEAT: I looked at the movie over and over again because of its unique martial arts style. An article that Vietnamese martial style (yes it has a name, as Israel martial art also has a name but I forget)is an improvemnent of "Wing Chun" appeared sometime ago in TIME magazine. But, Wing Chun seldom kicks above the belt and in order to maintain balance, acrobatics is largely avoided. Tae Kwon Do, which is 70% kicking has a similar but distinctly different kick. My best bet is that the kicking style of Vietnamese martial art is derived from Savate.The closest I have seen such kicking is from the later part of "Kyokushinkai Karate Complete", a martial arts renowned for its brutality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, May 13, 2009
This review is from: The Rebel (DVD)
I love martial art movies, so naturally I wanted to check this one out. In the end, I was surprised at how involved in the story I had become; the action scenes became bonuses. It's an awesome well rounded movie, which I would definitely recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Martial Arts Movie, September 3, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rebel (DVD)
This is one great movie. Very surprised it is not better known than it is. Fantastic fight scenes. If you like martial arts movies, then you must get this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Rebel
The Rebel by Charlie Nguyen (DVD - 2008)
$19.93 $13.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.