Customer Reviews


467 Reviews
5 star:
 (375)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!!!
When you start a new book, you can tell pretty quickly if its gonna be a great read. Being
a military history buff, with a penchant for reading anything Spec Ops related, I have
read over 100 Biographies, memoirs, and historical accounts from SEALS, Delta, and all
the other elite units. I have a very small stack (less than 10) of books that are 'READ...
Published on April 13, 2012 by Nemesis

versus
37 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At times very obviously not from Brandon Webb's pen...still awesome.
Book Content: 4*
Kindle Edition Format 2*

Hence the 3* rating.

PLEASE READ WHOLE REVIEW BEFORE LEAVING FEEDBACK

This was one of those books where less than 15% in (Kindle Version) I was getting a bit tired of some very obvious `story telling'. I do not doubt that everything in this book is based on fact but at times some simple things...
Published on July 23, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!!!, April 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When you start a new book, you can tell pretty quickly if its gonna be a great read. Being
a military history buff, with a penchant for reading anything Spec Ops related, I have
read over 100 Biographies, memoirs, and historical accounts from SEALS, Delta, and all
the other elite units. I have a very small stack (less than 10) of books that are 'READ
AGAIN' and 'RECOMMEND' to friends and family. This will be added to the stack. The
last one I added was Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell, who the author speaks about
in his book. When you think you have read them all or you won't learn anything new,
pick this up and be humbled. A fantastic read! And for the uninitiated, check out his site
sofrep.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Inspirational, Instructive, and Entertaining Read, April 11, 2012
This review is from: The Red Circle: My Life in the Navy SEAL Sniper Corps and How I Trained America's Deadliest Marksmen (Hardcover)
I highly recommend "The Red Circle" to anyone who wants to learn how to overcome the hard obstacles that life throws in front of them. Brandon Webb writes from the unique perspective of a highly trained Navy SEAL "operator" but some of the best take-aways from the book occur because Webb succeeds in explaining the critical role that the mind plays in accomplishing a goal, overcoming fear and surviving hardship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, April 11, 2012
This review is from: The Red Circle: My Life in the Navy SEAL Sniper Corps and How I Trained America's Deadliest Marksmen (Hardcover)
My girlfriend recommend I read this book, and being an athlete I can't say I have much interest in or time for reading. I flipped through the first couple of pages to humor her and was hooked. The book captivated my attention from the get-go and for the first time in years I finished a book within two days. I think anyone can relate to this book and it's cool to see an inside perspective on so many interesting things and stories. It's a fast read packed with stories that are mind blowing. Definitely an awesome glimpse into the life of a really inspiring dude. Thanks, Webb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Red Circle. On Target, April 27, 2012
This review is from: The Red Circle: My Life in the Navy SEAL Sniper Corps and How I Trained America's Deadliest Marksmen (Hardcover)
To me a memoir is successful if the reader closes the book with the feeling that they have insight into the character and nature of the person righting the book. Too often memoirs are elaborate self justifications written by people with something to prove to others. The Red Circle delivers on the first count and surprisingly makes no attempt to justify anything to anyone. Brandon Webb makes no bones about who he is and how he got there and in being so brutally honest in the telling of that story, Webb pays a real compliment to his audience. The challenge in telling a story about Navy SEALs and Special Operations is that so much of it is secret that most writers are left with stories that are thin on operational details, leaving the reader no better informed than if he just read a newspaper account. Webb manages this task by writing as a witness to the operations in question and rather than dwell on the minute details brings the reader into the bigger picture of the operation. His account of tunnel ratting in Afghanistan is riveting to read. The way political considerations back home can effect the mission of what amounts to a mixed platoon of SEALs and Marines on a simple rec mission in the field is angering and amazing to read at the same time. Webb is at his best when he describes the smells, sounds and emotions of close quarters battle in the War on Terror.
In The Red Circle the reader is not going to be sold a rah-rah tribute full of glowing praise for the mythic status of the Navy SEALs and other SpecOps types. Webb doesn't pull a single punch, if he's going to say that a particular SEAL is a turd and can't pull his weight he going to call him out by name. Harsh as it may seem, it serves to humanize these people. We find that these extraordinary men who serve in the Navy SEALs are even more impressive by the fact that they are not supermen but very mortal and subject to the same failings as the rest of us. They drink, they fight, their families break up, they back-stab each other, they compete constantly for status and reputation within the teams. They forgive honest error and even human failings but are brutally intolerant of incompetence or indecisiveness. Webb is to be commended for treating his readers like adults who can accept the multi-faceted personalities of his fellow SEALs as they go about their bloody business.

Webb's story of the Navy SEAL Sniper program is equally instructive. The reader comes away with the sense that the SEAL Sniper is someone who has taken the science of ballistics and turned it into an art form of movement breathing and Jedi like concentration and focus. A concentration and focus that all comes down to the tiny image seen in the rifle scope's Red Circle. A place where matters of life and death are decided by just a few pound of trigger pressure. In a real sense that may be the whole point of Webb's book. This is how SEALs live their lives, just a few pounds of trigger pressure away from life and death at any moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At times very obviously not from Brandon Webb's pen...still awesome., July 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Book Content: 4*
Kindle Edition Format 2*

Hence the 3* rating.

PLEASE READ WHOLE REVIEW BEFORE LEAVING FEEDBACK

This was one of those books where less than 15% in (Kindle Version) I was getting a bit tired of some very obvious `story telling'. I do not doubt that everything in this book is based on fact but at times some simple things are laid on a bit thick. Before I go further its worth noting that Brandon mentions right at the end that he narrated events to his co-author in the shape of scattered notes, napkins and long phone conversations. Example: The whole start of the book of Brandon's childhood seems to have been written by someone completely different from the actual SEAL accounts of the book. At one point there is stories of Brandons exploits working on a dive boat and the author makes claims to justify events.

There are quite a few flawed dive stories but as an example; At one point a group of divers (he mentions they are beginners doing an advanced deep dive) do their first guided dive of the morning. When they come up one girl is missing...problem is no one can go back down because (according to the author) after their long dive no-one could dive for at least 12 hours due to the required surface interval. Anyone who has done any form of Open Water course can quickly tell you this is absolute nonsense. If you had ignored the recreational dive table where the maximum recreational depth on air is 40 meters (pick one, they are all based on navy tables!) you couldn't get to a 12 hour surface interval unless you screwed up so bad that you had to stay out of the water as a precaution to avoid DCS (which wasn't the case here as it was a `normal' dive). Anyway...given the fact that he was a SEAL, small facts like these are quite an oversight considering a lot of people who read these kind of books are qualified enough in some ways to easily spot these embarrassing little fibs. It's a way to make stories believable and once or twice is ok, but when this happens in a few ways in the first chapters of the book it makes it hard to take the rest seriously. In all fairness Brandon did mention that most of his childhood stories came from his mom, so maybe she narrated it to the co-author but then you'd at least expect Brandon to read it himself before publishing to avoid mistakes like these.

HOWEVER.

The rest of the book is awesome and completely redeemed itself. It really was if someone else started writing! Brandon's career was an amazing journey and I won't go in to detail as most of the reviews above cover this but it is definitely worth reading.

All in all, the military content is super solid and there are some very interesting facts. One of the things I enjoyed most about the book apart from the SEAL content was the section of sports psychology and its application to the sniper program. Brandon references `With Winning In Mind' which is an awesome book and its great to see that it even found its place in an elite unit like the SEALS.

Final comment: Once again the Kindle version (Kindle 3) fails horribly with the quality of the images at the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, April 11, 2012
The Red Circle is a fascinating peek behind the scenes of what really goes on in SEAL training and then how that training plays out in combat. The back story of Brandon's unusual childhood revealed what compelled him to make the choices he did and kept the book personal and fresh. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK FOR EVERYONE, June 9, 2012
This review is from: The Red Circle: My Life in the Navy SEAL Sniper Corps and How I Trained America's Deadliest Marksmen (Hardcover)
Excellent book for anyone to read no matter your generation, political affiliation, sex and/or ethnicity.
I am not a history buff, military person, nor am I interested in guns and/or shooting them.
I count myself as the least likely person to read this book but did and loved every page.
The Red Circle is a fascinating, well written book.
In the few days it took to read it, I could scarcely put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, April 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Red Circle: My Life in the Navy SEAL Sniper Corps and How I Trained America's Deadliest Marksmen (Hardcover)
Great book about a true hero. Mr. Webb has a very informative and interesting website, [...]. From there, I was introduced me to his upcoming book. Reading the articles on his site had me very excited about his book... Must say it was well worth the wait. I'll proudly put this one on the shelf with other greats. Thank you, BW, for your service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch - Far more than the great SEAL story you may think...., April 12, 2012
By 
J. G Scott (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Red Circle: My Life in the Navy SEAL Sniper Corps and How I Trained America's Deadliest Marksmen (Hardcover)
I grabbed this book as soon as I heard it was coming out and had very high expectations. I was not disappointed at all. From very deep personal issues, through the harshness of BUD/S and various levels of leadership the author takes us through his journey into the world of the SEAL via a shortened childhood, battles with his dad and some great early mentors in the dive world.
Whether you are looking for insight into the GWOT (Afghanistan is simply spellbinding), what it was like in the teams prior to 9/11 or you simply want a rollicking good story this work is for you. Be prepared, I could not put it down and soaked up some vital insight in leadership - lessons anybody can take to heart. I especially enjoyed the accounts of changing the SEAL sniper course based on the author's previous experiences and examples of men he looked up to and those he simply despised. Be prepared for a serious twist in the end, and a true reveal as to a great proud moment. Reading this work gives me more energy as we look to solve our issues. Here stands a classic man, willing to go full Monty to tell his story.
I will read it several more times.
Buy copies, send them to friends, family and your congressman....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From SEAL to CEO This Is a Must Read, April 11, 2012
This review is from: The Red Circle: My Life in the Navy SEAL Sniper Corps and How I Trained America's Deadliest Marksmen (Hardcover)
'If you are going to read one book about Navy SEALs, read The Red Circle. If you are going to read one book about snipers, read The Red Circle. If you are going to read one book about leadership, read The Red Circle. If you are going to read one autobiography, read The Red Circle.

The Red Circle takes you on an amazing entrepreneurial journey. From his early years working on a dive boat, to sailing the high seas, to becoming a member of The U.S. Navy SEALs and eventually redesigning the way the elite SEAL Sniper school trained and conducted business, Brandon Webb's attitude, focus, and leadership style offers something for everyone. So whether you are gearing up to become SEAL operator or make a lasting impact in the board room read The Red Circle'

Randy Pazen, Senior Organizational Development Consultant and Executive Coach, International Top Tier Defense Company
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Red Circle: My Life in the Navy SEAL Sniper Corps and How I Trained America's Deadliest Marksmen
Used & New from: $1.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.