Prime Music


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Customer Direct Add to Cart
$6.47  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Amazon.com Add to Cart
$10.83  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Includes (What's this?)
IMS Distribution Add to Cart
$11.92  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
The Red Light District
 
See larger image and other views
 

The Red Light District [Explicit Lyrics]

LudacrisAudio CD
3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (260 customer reviews)

Price: $6.47 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by cdgiveaways and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, Oct. 22? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Amazon's Ludacris Store

Music

Image of album by Ludacris

Photos

Image of Ludacris

Biography

Ludacris knows that rap is essentially a man’s world -- and the three-time Grammy winner is doing something about it. On his eighth album, the multi-platinum rapper wanted to level the playing field a bit, so he crafted Battle Of The Sexes, a spirited collection that gives men and women equal billing.

"Battle Of The Sexes is getting a male and a female perspective all on one ... Read more in Amazon's Ludacris Store

Visit Amazon's Ludacris Store
for 43 albums, 4 photos, discussions, and more.

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

The Red Light District + Word of Mouf + Chicken N Beer
Price for all three: $26.72

Buy the selected items together
  • Word of Mouf $5.99
  • Chicken N Beer $14.26



Product Details

  • Audio CD (December 7, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Explicit Lyrics
  • Label: Def Jam
  • ASIN: B00065JTAQ
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (260 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #35,493 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Intro
2. Number One Spot
3. Get Back
4. Put Your Money
5. Blueberry Yum Yum
6. Child Of The Night
7. The Potion
8. Pass Out
9. Skit
10. Spur Of The Moment
11. Who Not Me
12. Large Amounts
13. Pimpin' All Over The World
14. Two Miles An Hour
15. Hopeless
16. Virgo

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Another multi-platinum album has been completed. The creator is Ludacris. The album is "Red Light District". The result is another Ludacris masterpiece.

Amazon.com

Think what you want about Ludacris, but no one can deny that he is hip-hop's king of choruses. Luda's hooks are big, brassy, and loud; they're tailor-made for club crowds and radio programmers. Some songs, like "Get Back," practically sound like one long hook, every line a potential anthem. At times, it's easy to forget that Ludacris knows how to rhyme too. His taffy-pull verbal style isn't as lyrically intricate as Nas's (who appears on "Virgo") and can't match Trick Daddy's thuggish bravado ("Hopeless"), but few other rappers exude his level of charisma. On "Number One Spot," Luda acts like he's strong-arming his way to the top, but it's really charm that propels the charge. Even on a song like "Two Miles an Hour," dedicated to "those who spend more on their car than their relationship," he's more clever than clownish in selling the concept. Red Light District has its share of filler, but, track for track, Ludacris still delivers satisfaction. --Oliver Wang

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ludacris is the man January 14, 2005
By Big Jon
Format:Audio CD
A lot of rap cds these days are thick in production, but thin on content. Well, Ludacris is the opposite, but not in terms of music. Luda's attributes are primarily length, while thickness isn't something he's known for. But who cares? Most rappers are neither long, nor thick. The fact that Ludacris is so long (we're talking a foot, buddy) more than makes up for his Sharpie marker thinness. Yeah, we cut (and I do mean cut, at least from my end), but I'm not about to put my man down because I never got paid; I never expected money. In fact, aside from some internal bleeding and an upset stomach a la George Michael, I'm quite satisfied with the experience I had. Luda is truly a man of the 21st century: he doesn't discriminate. That you can get with girls and guys alike just shows that you are open-minded, so I'll never put Luda down.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get Back MF! You Don't Know Me Like Dat!!! December 8, 2004
Format:Audio CD
"If your spinnin rims spin counterclockwise...you are not pimpin!!!!"

Ludacris returns ( did he ever leave?!?) for his fifth studio album. Yes, fifth album, in four years as well as a group album and numerous guest appearances. It seems as if we should be Ludacris'd out by now but we aren't amazingly. He seems to reinvent his flow on guest appearances and they indeed increase anticipation for his albums ( Lovers & Friends, Sugar, Stomp, Oh, Whole City Behind Us...etc). So does this album deliver even with the onslaught of Ludacris? You bet it does. Ludacris steps his game up lyrically on this one. Instead of constant braggadocio and game spitting he talks about life a little on this album. He still gets down with his flow and with rewind worthy lyrics. The beats are tight too but kinda chill, for Ludacris standards, but I guess that was part of the goal for this album.

The album, at first, is kinda hard to listen to; unlike his others that you could just jump right into. If you just scanned the album you would think it was wack, as I did at first. But give it some time..it'll grow on you. Luda delivers on tracks like the Nate Dogg collaboration Child Of The Night, and gets down with Trick Daddy on Hopeless. Spur Of The Moment is pimped out west coast beat perfect for sippin on lemonade chillin on the porch. It's a very nice feel good track...arguably the best song on the album. It features the smooth DJ Quik on the track; although he doesn't produce the track, it sure sounds as if he did. Very smooth track. Pimpin All Over The World is another great track with a great beat and pimpin lyrics. To me, the best song on the album would have to be The Potion, a Timbaland beat. Luda's flow on this joint is flawless and the beat is bananas.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starting all over again December 16, 2004
Format:Audio CD
Its hard to dispute that Chicken N Beer was not his worst album. So with that said, Red Light District is much better. For better or worse, less skits and more music. Basically Luda is starting all over again. Back for the 1st time and Word of Mouf can be argued as his best, all depends on opinion. This one is not as solid as those 2 but not a disappointment like Chicken N Beer. There's no regular guests spots on this album all new faces. They do a good job, but I wonder what a Luda album with no guest spots would sound like. For the most part there are no songs that you just cant listen to but there is some filler, maybe 2 or 3 songs. He's not really rappin' bout the south all that much anymore, its more about how much money he has. Which is a lil' surprising because usually an artist starts rappin' about all his $, he loses all hunger and makes no good music. This album is an exception to the rule. All in all a solid album, worth the buy.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Format:Audio CD
Okay. Ludacris without a doubt has skills but he sometimes fails to make a good album. His first two were great but Chicken N Beer was horrible and he keeps the madness moving with this album. The Good: the intro wasnt bad plus it leads off into the second single and one of the better cuts on the album, Number One Spot. His first single Get Back was alright although it wasnt a groundbreaking cut its cool(why does that video look like a cheap imitation of Redman's I'll Be Dat?). Child Of The Night featuring Nate Dogg is another notable cut and DJ Quik joins in on the fun on Spur Of the Moment. Pimpin All Over The World is another highlight and will somebody PLEASE tell Honey Mike that he is not funny! Honorable Mention: The Potion. The Bad: A classic example of beat wasting is practiced on Put Your Money feat DMX. Nice beat but the bland lyrics about compulsive gambling make it filler. Pass Out is another dull crunk wannabe that should have been disposed of with the quickness. Two Miles An Hour is boring. Not because of the laid back beat by DJ Toomp but because the lethargic rhymes by Ludacris and how the hell do you sign your name in the streets? With pee? The Ugly: Blueberry Yum Yum, featuring Sleepy Brown is the worst smoke joint ever made! The corny beat and the stupid wordplay by Luda makes you want to quit smoking actually. Who Not Me featuring Small World and Dollar Boy is the second worse track on the album as the song itself sounds like it was put together in five minutes. Hopeless with Trick Daddy is dull as s***. I admire them for attempting to talk about something of substance but the song was too lifeless to get into. Dishonorable Mentions: Large Amounts(GARBAGE) and Virgo feat Nas and Doug E. Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
great
Published 14 days ago by stacey cummings
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Light
This is an older rap album but it is still something I constantly enjoy listening to since it reminds me of the good ole times!
Published 15 months ago by Jl Asperstrand
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent
i loved this CD it was very good. the album cover images case and disc were in very good condition and overall this was a very good buy. Read more
Published 21 months ago by Erek
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Me Some Luda
I love this whole album, some nice slow songs as well as some get angry tunes, the whole album is good
Published 23 months ago by boonschotzbeadz
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome but you already know that.
This album is great. Luda is one of the few rappers that can rap a word with the same word and come off as credible. His inflection is what makes the difference. Read more
Published on November 6, 2009 by Michael J. Duda
4.0 out of 5 stars "Get Back!!!"
The only reason I bought this CD was because of the song 'Get Back' because they play it at the end of Tropic Thunder! The other songs are okay. Read more
Published on January 3, 2009 by Pumpkin Man
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Album!
In celebration of Ludacris' more recent success with his #1 album "Release Therapy", I've decided to check back on its predecessor, "The Red Light District". Read more
Published on December 1, 2006 by CrazyWhacko_88
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not my favorite
I'm not really a fan of rap. I do have some top 40 hits rap when i hear it, but really I'm a fan of hardcore. But really, I have love Ludacris since Word of Mouf. Read more
Published on September 24, 2006 by Kill Your Heroes
4.0 out of 5 stars Ludacris - The Red Light District
Ludacris doesn't wait long to follow-up his 3rd solo album, 2003's "Chicken -N- Beer." In December 2004 his 4th album, "The Red Light District" was released. Read more
Published on September 16, 2006 by ThaRealest0431
3.0 out of 5 stars Luda's District
Ludacris once said that he writes the vast majority of his rhymes while driving, so he drives with his legs. For someone who writes while driving, he is really talented. Read more
Published on August 11, 2006 by Mikeisha Best
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category

cdgiveaways Privacy Statement cdgiveaways Shipping Information cdgiveaways Returns & Exchanges