Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy New
$14.99
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
The Rented Mule: A Novel has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Rented Mule: A Novel MP3 CD – Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged

4.1 out of 5 stars 1,722 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
MP3 CD, Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged
$14.99
$2.50 $21.06

Top 20 lists in Books
Top 20 lists in Books
View the top 20 best sellers of all time, the most reviewed books of all time and some of our editors' favorite picks. Learn more
$14.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 1 left in stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • The Rented Mule: A Novel
  • +
  • The Dummy Line
Total price: $29.98
Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

Review

"As he demonstrated in his debut, The Dummy Line, Cole has a quick-paced, winning style, dexterously juggling multiple points of view. For fans of Carl Hiaasen or Elmore Leonard." —Library Journal --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

Bobby Cole is a native of Montgomery, Alabama, and president of Mossy Oak® Biologic®. Additionally, he is an avid wildlife manager, hunter, and active supporter of the Catch-A-Dream™ Foundation. He lives with his wife and daughter in West Point, Mississippi. Bobby is also the author of the novels The Dummy Line and Moon Underfoot.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • MP3 CD
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio; MP3 Una edition (March 1, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1480538280
  • ISBN-13: 978-1480538283
  • Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 0.5 x 6.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1,722 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,490,046 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Bobby Cole, a Montgomery, Alabama, native, is President of Mossy Oak BioLogic. He is an avid gamekeeper, hunter, and supporter of the Catch-A-Dream Foundation, who loves writing in his free time. His books have made multiple best seller lists. Bobby lives with his wife and daughter in West Point, Mississippi.

Check out Bobby Cole on Facebook to learn more about what he is up to! www.facebook.com/bobbycolebook

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
How many thriller/mysteries can last 502 pages and still be good? Not many, if any at all and, unfortunately, THE RENTED MULE proves the point. I'm a huge fan of THE DUMMY LINE, but Mr. Cole sorely needed an editor with cropping scissors for this book. Pages 150 to 300 were pretty much unnecessary. Redundancy was rampant.

I said it was unfortunately too long, because the story is pretty good one. The ending is also very good. No one does chase scenes as well as Mr. Cole. The main character is very very similar to Jake Cosby in the THE DUMMY LINE and its sequel, MOON UNDERFOOT, but that's ok, the formula works.

In this book, Cooper seems to have the idyllic life, with the exception of his working like a, well, rented mule. His druggie gambling partner wants to sell the successful business he has built and his wife has already spent the proceeds of the sale. He is lusting after the perfect woman, but other that, everything looks fine. Then everyone wants his piece of the company and all heck breaks loose. He is set up as the fall guy and then has to extricate himself. There is not a lot of cerebral effort in his actions, but there is that great chase scene.

This book is okay, especially if you don't mind skimming an appreciable amount of it. I think I'd rather go back and reread THE DUMMY LINE though.
1 Comment 126 of 134 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I enjoyed this third offering by author Bobby Cole, after The Dummy Line and Moon Underfoot. He has quite the talent of bringing his characters alive on the page, letting us readers peek into the nooks and crannies of their lives.

Cooper Dixon, the protagonist of "The Rented Mule," is a similar character to Jake Crosby from his first two books. An everyday good old boy who loves fishing and hunting, he definitely isn't perfect. He makes mistakes going through a mid-life crisis and by making those mistakes, hurts others.

The bad guys in the tale are quite the motley group. I loved reading about them - bad guys but not totally bad.

The story takes place in and near Montgomery, Alabama and it is apparent that author Cole is writing about a place that he is familiar with and that he loves.

"The Dummy Line" is still probably my favorite out of the three books but this latest tale is definitely worth reading. It is a little wordy but I enjoyed reading about all the characters. It is a bit of a mystery/thriller also and I liked those aspects of it. I am also glad there was epilogue to the story, tying up all the loose ends rather than leaving us readers hanging off a cliff.
Comment 76 of 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I honestly couldn't even get into the story. I found myself distracted by the cliches that seemed to be in every sentence, every word that the characters thought or spoke. The socialite wife who is living beyond her husband's means, the drug-addicted, embezzling business partner with a gambling problem and a bookie...

And I realize that the author was trying to give an impression of his characters having a regional accent or dialect, but I thought it was distracting. Phrases like, "darlin', I'm takin' my boy fishin,'" with all the apostrophes, only go so far before they just become tiresome, especially when all the characters talk that way. I realized I was rolling my eyes at some of the conversations between bad guys: "yo, Homey, whattya want, icin' somebody ain't part of the deal," and that's when I gave up. It's rare that I don't finish a book, but I just couldn't get past my issues with the writing.

Just a note: I did not quote the above phrases directly from the book - call it paraphrasing.

I'm disappointed.
7 Comments 46 of 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
The Rented Mule
Bobby Cole

This is the third book that I have read by Bobby Cole. I was looking forward to reading this as it stars a new character.
Bobby Cole’s is great at building suspense and holding my attention with adrenaline pumping scenes, All if that is encompassed in this novel; The Rented Mule.
There were a few parts that dragged here and there and some of the characters and their dialogue had my eyes rolling. I think some of this could have been edited out because the main and strongest storyline was interesting and kept me reading to the end.
Overall, I still think The Dummy Line is Cole’s best novel and I am still planning on reading his next novel.
1 Comment 49 of 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Not many books disinterest me so quickly, but this one did. It comes across as a collection of cliches. I'd give examples but I don't want to be a spoiler. (Based on the number of 4 and 5 star reviews, some people enjoyed it, so you might too.)

One reviewer said that it could have been 200 pages shorter - I think that they were being generous.

The kindest thing that I can say about it is that I would classify it as a beach read... if nothing else is available.
1 Comment 21 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I frankly don't understand all the positive reviews this book has received. The Rented Mule is, to put it bluntly, badly written; the author violates many of the basic rules of writing, and does not have the talent to get away with it.

First, there is the eternal writing maxim: show, don't tell. Cole is constantly telling us things instead of showing us; so instead of painting a mental picture of characters and action and letting us form our own opinions, he forces his own opinions down our throats. By telling us what to think, he prevents us from really engaging with the material.

Second, his narrative voice is clumsy and intrusive. When the narrator of the book is impersonal (that is, the classic "omniscient narrator"), the narration should be in correct, unobtrusive English; idiosyncratic narration should be used only when the narrator is a character in his/her own right. Cole's awkward, error-strewn prose is constantly getting in the way of smooth reading.

Third, too many of Cole's characters are clumsy stereotypes - and, in particular, his bad guys (the partner, the villain, the wife) are so devoid of any redeeming features that they are, ultimately, uninteresting. (The kidnapers, on the other hand, are rather engaging even when they're stereotypical - so Cole is capable of creating decent characters, sometimes.)

Fourth, Cole constantly drops product names and celebrity references into the narrative, presumably in an attempt to lend verisimilitude to the story; but in fact, all he manages to do is make a long, clunky narrative even longer and clunkier.

And fifth, the book is simply too long, and with too many characters, to support its plot. Somewhere inside this 500-page clunker is a decent 300-page book, yearning to escape the confines of the author's compulsion to shovel more and more characters, incidents, and wasted words on top of it. Bobby Cole needs to hire an editor - preferably one with an axe.
1 Comment 6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The Rented Mule: A Novel
This item: The Rented Mule: A Novel
Price: $14.99
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com