The Revelatory Text: Interpreting the New Testament as Sa... and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $24.95
  • Save: $7.80 (31%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 9 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for *FREE* Super Saver Shipping! Excellent customer service, qualifies for Amazon A to Z satisfaction. All pages and cover are intact (including the dust cover, if applicable). Spine may show signs of wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. May include "From the library of" labels.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Revelatory Text: Interpreting the New Testament as Sacred Scripture, Second Edition (Michael Glazier Books) Paperback – July 1, 1999


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$17.15
$10.00 $1.42

Frequently Bought Together

The Revelatory Text: Interpreting the New Testament as Sacred Scripture, Second Edition (Michael Glazier Books) + Dynamics of Theology
Price for both: $39.52

Buy the selected items together
  • Dynamics of Theology $22.37

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Series: Michael Glazier Books
  • Paperback: 248 pages
  • Publisher: Michael Glazier; Second Edition,New Edition edition (July 1, 1999)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0814659438
  • ISBN-13: 978-0814659434
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6.1 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #277,463 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

. . . remains one of the most significant books in English on the interpretation of Scripture . . . . The Liturgical Press are to be thanked for making this hope-filled and faith-filled book available to another generation of readers.
The Furrow


A lucid and compelling argument that recent theories of interpretation combine to offer a new way of understanding the Bible as spiritually revelatory. Students of theology, spirituality, and feminist studies will profit immensely from the critical insights of this provocative synthesis.
Anne Carr, Professor of Theology, Divinity School, University of Chicago


By drawing on the resources of the best contemporary hermeneutical theory, Schneiders breathes new life into familiar notions such as inspiration, revelation and the Bible as 'the Word of God,' while her proposal for a 'hermeutics of transformation' breaks new ground for a creative dialogue between scholarly study of the Bible and its use in the Church. Carefully thought-out and elegantly written, this work will be a standard for theologians and biblical scholars for years to come.
John R. Donahue, S.J., Professor of New Testament, University of Notre Dame


Once again Sandra Schneiders leads the way through the difficulties of biblical interpretation, this time with a major study of contemporary hermeneutics and the New Testament. Her claim that 'contemporary New Testament scholarship actually lacks a developed hermeneutical theory,' that New Testament scholarship knows what to do but lacks the critical consciousness of the effectiveness of what it is doing, is an amazing but well-founded claim. She sets out to construct such a theory, using some of the best tools of philosophy, theology, spirituality, and tradition for the task. The result is a lucid exposition that will help many steer their way between the sharp rocks of scientific and literary methods which presently divide the scholarly community and will no doubt be a major resource and springboard for further development for years to come.
Carolyn Osiek, R.S.C.J., Professor, Department of Biblical Literature and Languages, Catholic Theological


A major theoretical defense of hermeneutics as transformation in the tradition of Ricoeur and Gadamer, this book should be required reading for all exegetes working within a Christian tradition. The author advocates a wholistic model of interpretation which incorporates the broad range of strategies of reading found in the academy today. Her model treats the Bible as the founding text of Christian spirituality and insists that a Christian imagination plays a crucial role in our encounter with and understanding of the text.
Pheme Perkins, Professor, Theology Department, Boston College


Just as the New Testament is a classic, Dr. Schneiders' contribution to our understanding of its interpretation will undoubtedly become a classic in its own right. Schneiders engages some of the most pressing questions which have haunted biblical interpreters - academics, ministers, diverse kinds of believers - since the Enlightenment. As usual, Dr. Schneiders' exposition is coherent, carefully organized and, because of its brilliant clarity, accessible to scholars and non-scholars alike.
Alice Laffey, Professor, Department of Religious Studies, College of the Holy Cross


Once again Sandra Schneiders has brought her creative and critical insights to bear on the hermeneutical question and has produced a text of great clarity. Her book challenges its readers not only intellectually but as Christian believers. It will not only advance the current dialogue on biblical interpretation but will be a sourcebook for the study of spirituality as well.
Mary Milligan, R.S.H.M., Professor of Spirituality, Loyola Marymount University


. . . the major value . . . is how it weds the academic and religious, doing justice to each.
Edgar V. McKnight, Research Professor and William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor Emeritus of Religion, Furman University

From the Publisher

This major contribution to the study of the Bible shows that interpretation of the New Testament as religious literature is vital to understanding the authentic nature of the texts. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful By Linda Orlin on February 25, 2000
Format: Paperback
It is so good to see The Revelatory Text back in print! It is one of the most important primary reference tools for the study of scripture available. The writing style is rich in language and challenging in the application of exegetical principles. Schnieders also provides the standard by which most theology schools and seminaries structure their understanding of sacred scripture within a historical context. Her language has now become the common form of expression in theological conversations today. The only difference between this re-printed version of The Revelatory Text and Schnieders' first edition is the second preface. Since Schneiders wrote a classic the first time, she now only needs to comment briefly on it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
19 of 26 people found the following review helpful By Jarrod Ryder on October 2, 2002
Format: Paperback
Sandra Schneiders has in this work provided students and theologians alike with an invaluable resource on hermeneutical study, and post-modern Biblical scholarship. Her attempt to work with the text from an existentialist experience is refreshing considering the complete secularisation of Scripture by other authors. However, when engaging her example hermeneutic of suspiscion, I asked myself, "Is this Christian existentialism or is it Feminist existentialism." Once again, infant Christianity appears as the butt of a scholastic enterprise that projects current ideology onto ancient text, and what makes this all the more difficult is that it involves at times imaginative reconstruction. Despite its reflection of popular white middle class ethic, this book is a handy resource, if only for its dealings with 'scientific methodology', and Schneiders' immense notions of spirituality refreshingly engage Sacred text, filling a vacuum in modern academic theology.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Douwe Kamstra on March 31, 2008
Format: Paperback
This book does give a good overview of hermeneutics. Although I found the book difficult to read, it is still worthwhile to use.
The reason for difficulty is the fact that Schneiders uses a lot of repetition of words. What would have been handy in the book is to use schemes to prove or to justify statements as opposed to only text.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Search