Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 5, 2007
I took many courses with Georgia Heard when I was a graduate student at Columbia University. She changed my life as a teacher and writer. I cannot stop writing poetry and fiction because of her. Nor can I squelch my desire to work with students (primary school through adult ed) on their own poems.

The products of my students' writing and my own writing knock the pants off practically anyone who has a heart. Thank you, Georgia, for helping so much fantastic stuff to blossom.

All of her books are jewels. This book in particular is a steamer trunk packed with a zillion ways one can look at the revision process.

Buy the book and use it. See Georgia in person when she speaks at conferences. Write your hearts out, then re-read this book and write some more.

It's why we're here on earth.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2003
Georgia Heard has created an exceptional guide for teaching students the revision process of writing! Her knowledge and skill are clearly apparent as she leads you, the teacher, through what can be an otherwise overwhelming task. With "The Revision Toolbox," Georgia Heard makes it easy to see how her ideas make sense and how they will work. This text is extremely teacher friendly. The book design can be easily implemented into classroom mini-lessons, one-on-one conferences and centers that students rotate to. Heard provides reference guides for student use, she also uses many examples from student writing and her own in order to model the instructional ideas. This book can enable you to empower your students to enjoy the writing process!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2007
I have used this book so many times with my third graders. Heard has some fresh, creative ideas on the different types of revisions that come up in Writers Workshop. If you love writers workshop this is a great addition to your library!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2006
Georgia Heard communicates clearly - in her poetry, in her writing. This book is a helpful collection of strategies and reminders that are straightforward and clearly expressed. For example, it addresses the importance of verbs, as the driving force of sentences, and of using specifics when naming nouns and then provides simple techniques and examples for practice. My middle school students and I find it valuable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2006
This book is a valuable tool for any teacher of writing. It gives a number of ways for teaching writers to look at revision with leads, voice, setting, character and much more dealing with the craft of writing. Each activity is easy to implement and can be utilized to fit any teacher's classroom situation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2015
I love this book! It includes lots of great ideas for mini-lessons in Writer's Workshop that can be adapted and applied to multiple grade levels. It wasn't a difficult read either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2009
This revision toolbox is a great source to show the differences between editing and revising. The book offers strategies and suggestions that are easy to implement in the class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
The book is an easy read and includes some good examples. Nice for a starting teacher, as we used it in one of my classes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2013
Does exactly what it supposed to. Very happy with the final product. Worth every penny I spent on it. Yes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2007
This is another excellent book from Georgia Heard. As always, Georgia has provided ideas that can be applied immediately to one's own classroom. I highly recommend this book for anyone who is focused on improving writing in their classroom.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse