Customer Reviews


1,633 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,241)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (291)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


966 of 1,043 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most important book written since COMMON SENSE
Dr. Ron Paul's THE REVOLUTION: A MANIFESTO is a concise (167 pages) and convincing argument for a return to America's libertarian principles. During his campaign for president, Dr. Paul established a very diverse following: Republicans, Democrats, Greens, and "even some anarchists," he would joke. In truth, many people were drawn to him due his obvious sincerity -- a...
Published on April 21, 2008 by Jason Seagraves

versus
109 of 133 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overview of Very Sound Policies yet does not address opposing views
Ron Paul presents the most logical and non-politically driven viewpoint on all facets of government that exists among the political elite. In The Revolution: a Manifesto, Paul briefly covers many facets of his objectives including views on foreign policy, monetary policy, abortion, free trade, and an assortment of laissez-faire convictions.

This book will...
Published on July 30, 2008 by TW


‹ Previous | 1 2164 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

966 of 1,043 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most important book written since COMMON SENSE, April 21, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dr. Ron Paul's THE REVOLUTION: A MANIFESTO is a concise (167 pages) and convincing argument for a return to America's libertarian principles. During his campaign for president, Dr. Paul established a very diverse following: Republicans, Democrats, Greens, and "even some anarchists," he would joke. In truth, many people were drawn to him due his obvious sincerity -- a breath of fresh air! -- even if they did not fully agree with or understand his ideology. Now they will understand and become Austro-Jeffersonians, one and all!

The first chapter, "The False Choices of American Politics," demonstrates why those Ron Paul supporters who do understand his message cannot bring themselves to vote for either McCain or Hillary/Obama, or even to really care who among them wins: There is very little (if any) substantive difference between them. They may disagree about when and where to use foreign intervention, but never over whether it should be used at all. They may disagree over how fast interest rates should be cut by the Fed, but never over whether the Fed should exist. You get the idea.

Chapters 2 and 3 are titled "The Foreign Policy of the Founding Fathers" and "The Constitution," respectively. Here Dr. Paul challenges his neocon and liberal opponents to openly condemn the wisdom of the founding fathers, which they do with their actions, or else follow it. The framers of the Constitution were far from unanimous -- there were bitter disputes among so-called "Federalists" (Hamiltonian nationalists) and "republicans" (Jeffersonian decentralists) -- but today's neocon/liberals reject the wisdom of both parties, taking an expansive view of their powers that even Hamilton himself would have seen as excessive.

Chapter 4, "Economic Freedom," may be an eye-opening one for many readers. First, there are the liberals who were attracted to Dr. Paul's campaign, who may for the first time be presented with a contrast between the true Austro-Jeffersonian libertarian brand of capitalism and the inflationist, Kudlow & Company / Forbes magazine variety. Secondly there are many "paleoconservatives" I met who supported Dr. Paul but were under the mistaken impression that he was against free trade -- nothing could be further from the truth! In fact, as Dr. Paul points out here, he is 100% in favor of unilateral, unconditional free trade and 100% against quotas, sanctions, embargoes, duties, and protective tariffs. He does oppose phony "free-trade" deals like NAFTA and the WTO (joining many liberal Democrats in doing so, but for different reasons) not because they "steal American jobs" (they don't), but because they limit trade too greatly. Furthermore, they erode constitutional sovereignty and work for the benefit of politically connected elites, something with which libertarians, paleocons, and liberals can all agree.

All three constituencies will also cheer Chapter 5, "Civil Liberties and Personal Freedom." Here the contrast between Jeffersonian libertarianism (once considered "liberalism" before that philosophy was given a bad name in the early twentieth century) and the so-called "conservatism" of the neocons and post-WWII New Rightists is perhaps at its greatest. Ron Paul supports the Constitution and the limits it places on government -- which makes him a "blame America" leftist among the neocon punditry, all apologists for the liberal Wilson/FDR/Truman/LBJ foreign policy, by the way.

But the best and most important chapter, without a doubt, is Chapter 6, "Money: The Forbidden Issue in American Politics." Here Dr. Paul expertly details the operations of the Federal Reserve System in stunning clarity -- no conspiracy theories or half-truths that often further obfuscate discussion of the secretive monetary authority. The Austrian (and true) perspective on the Fed is not to be horrified that the Fed isn't a government agency (it is, even if indirectly), but to be outraged that all banks are essentially arms of the government. We don't need the government to have even more control over the money supply, we need it to have no control whatsoever (the exact opposite of what movies like FREEDOM TO FASCISM seem to suggest). What's more, Dr. Paul doesn't spread the myth that the Fed somehow profits as an entity when it creates money (its profits go to the Treasury), but instead, politically connected individuals and businesses profit at the expense of working-class and poor families. You see, the effects of inflation are not uniform -- the Fed System works as a wealth redistribution system from poor and middle-class to the rich and politically connected. How so? Buy this book and find out!

Finally, the book ends with the self-titled seventh chapter in which Dr. Paul lays out a moderate and realistic course that could be accomplished over one or two presidential terms. I'm tempted to share this blueprint for you here but I don't want to discourage anyone from buying the book. Instead, I'll use the last few words of this review to lament the fact that this blueprint will certainly not be implemented by the next president. Perhaps a young man or woman who volunteered for Ron Paul's campaign in 2008 will work his or her way up through the political establishment and be swept into office, with a like-minded Paulian Congress, sixteen years from now (just as Reagan followed sixteen years after Goldwater -- not that either of these two are to be looked at as heroes. . .). We can only hope that the Republic can endure that long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,159 of 1,255 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ron Paul's Legacy, April 12, 2008
Ron Paul's legacy--from decades of principled defense of freedom, peace, and sound money--is inculcated in this very important book. Just the right length, it convincingly and eloquently advances the Ron Paul philosophy. It's a book for beginners and for all of us, no matter how well-read, on liberty, Austrian economics, the Federal Reserve, the free market, the welfare state, and the warfare state. No mere "campaign book," this is one for the ages. And I especially appreciated the suggested reading list at the end. Ron, thank you for your shining example in congress, for teaching millions through your presidential race, and for being--as this extraordinary book shows--the Tom Paine of the second American revolution. Fellow Ron Paulians, we have only begun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


579 of 647 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now or never . . ., April 17, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think it is fair to say that Ron Paul has risked his life by identifying the essential elements by which the power élite controls our lives. Dr. Paul is a giant in the fields of sound Constitutional doctrine, sound economics, and the philosophy of freedom. Having spent years reading hundreds of books on these same subjects, I can truly appreciate how he has not only mastered these subjects but has provided the quintessential reading list for lovers of liberty everywhere.

The book is a wonderful synopsis of the hopes and expectations of the Founders and how we have fallen short of those expectations and is sprinkled with insightful quotes from Thomas Aquinas, Ludwig Von Mises, Frédéric Bastiat, et al. In short, it is exactly what it claims to be . . . a manifesto - a statement of political principles and intentions.

And what are those intentions? A call to action to complete the revolution started in 1776. One man cannot start a revolution, but like Thomas Paine with "Common Sense" he can waken a dormant spirit. Let the revolution begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


193 of 216 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manifesto of the Revolution, April 18, 2008
This book is a must-read.

I truly believe that historians will one day write of THE REVOLUTION as the book that inspired a national movement to reverse America's decline.

It begins with a reality check. Our entitlement programs are insolvent. The dollar is collapsing yet we continue to borrow billions from China every day. National bankruptcy looms while we play empire games abroad, weakening our national defense and stirring up hostility against us. And the political class offers no alternative. Artificial limitations on free debate ensure that the right questions are never asked, let alone answered.

The book's core message is that our current path is unsustainable. Either we face the facts and revert gracefully from empire to republic, or financial reality will make itself known in increasingly uncomfortable ways until the system degenerates into chaos.

It seems impossible to me that anyone could read this book from cover to cover and come to a different conclusion. In concise and captivating prose, Ron Paul takes a rhetorical wrecking ball to the conventional wisdom about terrorism, foreign policy, the economy, healthcare, taxes, trade, the war on drugs, foreign aid, international institutions, and much more. He lambasts the media and political establishments for sustaining the illusion of a fantasy world while liberty and prosperity are silently strangled.

When the dust clears, all that remains standing is the legacy of our founding fathers. Ron Paul eloquently defends the original intent of the founders and the continued relevance of the Constitution. He draws for us a beautiful picture of America - the way it was meant to be, the way it still can be.

Forget the campaign-season rhetoric about unity and change. Here, finally, is a message - a manifesto - around which Americans can unite. "In the final analysis," Ron Paul writes, "the last line of defense in support of freedom and the Constitution consists of the people themselves."

It is that time. The system is compromised. The government is not coming to the rescue. The media will only distract you. The future of our Republic will be decided by you and me. As a first step, let us rouse our neighbors by spreading this book far and wide.

Ron Paul has written a masterpiece that deserves to be read by every American. It enlightens and inspires from the first page to its final sentence:

"Let the revolution begin."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


159 of 181 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Conscience of a Constitutionalist, April 20, 2008
THE REVOLUTION: A MANIFESTO
by Dr. Ron Paul

If you've been following Ron Paul's candidacy, you probably already own some of his books. You may have donated money or time to his campaigns, or even had a chance to see him speak in person. But since he's not the "presumptive nominee", you may be wondering, "is it necessary to read more of this man's ideas"? The answer is yes.

The reason for this is simple: Ron Paul is the most visible proponent of authentic constitutionalism in the U.S. political arena at this moment. The book contains chapters on the issues that Paul is well known for, including noninterventionist foreign policy, "sound money" and the defense of civil liberties. The core of these positions is a deep understanding of the U.S. Constitution. As Dr. Paul correctly notes, the debate about the role of government has mutated over the years into a squabble between various groups for government favors. This pits all the groups against each other, but what's even worse about it is that it weakens our own sense of individualism and expands the role of government into our lives. The Presidential race doesn't dominate the content, and this book will certainly be read and recommended by pro-freedom Americans long after the November 2008.

The concepts that Dr. Paul advocates have been called "radical". Certainly they stand in bold contrast to D.C. conventional wisdom of all the administrations during my lifetime. Therefore one would expect a book like 'The Revolution' to be emotionally charged and aggressive or cranky. Fortunately this is not the case. The words in this book are written in a style that is informative but easy to understand. Dr. Paul demonstrates that he is considered an outsider for holding ideas that used to be held as conventional wisdom by freedom-loving Americans. As such, they aren't his own ideas, but those of a great tradition in U.S. political thought. You will read decades-old quotes from economists that seem just as timely today as when they were first spoken. You will also encounter some of Dr. Paul's inspirations, and hear anecdotes about his time in congress and his medical career. Although he isn't afraid to criticize negative tendencies in the political class, the book is refreshing in it's optimism and appeals to human dignity. What has been done with this book is very difficult, especially considering some of the ridiculous accusations leveled at the Paul campaign.

During the course of the presidential race, Dr. Paul has been criticized by some Republicans for "not being conservative enough". In particular, these issues are NAFTA-style trade, the drug war, foreign policy, "pork spending" and his states' rights position on abortion. He addresses these debates in this book, and makes it clear that his positions are more in step with the Founders than any of his critics. But even in these segments, Dr. Paul rarely mentions his opponents by name, and the tone isn't hostile or bitter. I believe that this is because his priority isn't in making people tear each other down, but instead to return our focus back to the values of respect for life, liberty and private property. The reality is that Ron Paul has talked about all these issues for years, and has been principled and consistent in his political career. This book contains the words of a man that we should listen to, partly because he is better informed than most, but especially because he speaks truth to power.

"During my public life, I have earned the nickname Dr. No, a reference to my previous occupation as a physician combined with my willingness to stand against the entire Congress if necessary to vote no on some proposed measure. As a matter of fact, I don't especially care for this nickname, since it may give people the impression that I am a contrarian for its own sake, and for some reason I simply relish saying no. In those no votes, as in all my congressional votes, I have thought of myself as saying yes to the Constitution and to freedom."
-Dr. Ron Paul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


145 of 165 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only campaign book with something to say, April 20, 2008
By 
Scott Hilleque (Driftwood, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Every election cycle, most presidential candidates write (or have ghost-written) a book to be released during the primary contest. These cliché texts are almost always the same; heartfelt anecdotes of formative years, hard work done to overcome obstacles and establish themselves in their adult lives, and finally a series of platitudes and vague commitments to right the wrongs, fight the good fights, and to put in the hard work needed to make the world a Better Place(tm). In short, sophomoric emotional crap that doesn't help in any way to clarify the candidates abilities, positions, or principles. Worse yet, you will almost never find a statement indicating the candidates justification for a policy position, references to materials they base their opinion on, or any sort of historic or scientific facts that support their conclusion.

The best you can usually hope for is a vague sense of "liking" or "respecting" the candidate. Of course, since they control the flavor of the story (I.E. the spin), you usually come away with exactly the impression they want you to have. For some people, perhaps most, this is enough to win their vote. Since all candidates are pretty much the same, they figure, the best you can do is vote for the one you see as likeable, with a strong presence, and a real-enough sounding claim to hold office.

This book shows it doesn't have to be that way. In his 20 years in the U.S. Congress, Ron Paul has written hundreds of position papers regarding our nation's policies. These papers were brief, coherent, and comprehensive statements of his decision making process. They provide insight into what he believes and why he believes it. If you disagreed with one of his stances, you could seek out and contest the very materials it is based on and argue against it using principle and reason.

"The Revolution" is as a distillation of those hundreds of brilliant papers, updated with current events, and interspersed with prescient quotes from the founders and other luminaries like Bastiat, Rothbard, and VonMises. This book is not like the vanity pieces produced by most campaigns. It offers real insight into the principles that Ron Paul has built his economic, social, and political world view upon. I would recommend this book to anyone, but especially to those unsatisfied with the quality (and quantity) of political debate in this country and hoping for something more substantial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


169 of 193 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Single Most Important Work on Politics in the 21st Century, April 20, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been a Small Government Republican all my political life and have actively campaigned for Ronald Reagan and Bob Dole. It seems pretty clear that Ron Paul is the only politician who is willing to stand up for our freedoms and our American Values. The expansion of Federal Power over the past two decades (as accelerated under the current administration) has eroded our basic civil liberties and corrupted our political system. In this book, Ron Paul points to another way that will restore our liberties and make our nation strong again. It is time to recognize that both parties in our "Two Party System," have been bought and paid for by corporate and other nefarious interests who care for nothing but their own enrichment. Read this book and pass it along to others.
On a personal note, if Ron Paul isn't on the ballot in November, I'm writing him in and encourage everyone else who values freedom to do the same. If enough of us "waste our votes," in this manner we will eventually send the message that Washington needs to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 133 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Revolutionary Manifesto, May 1, 2008
I was excited to get this book in mail, but a little worried that due to its small size I would not get any new information than what I had gotten listening to Ron Paul debate and give speeches.

I was wrong! The book, though slim, is quite packed with good information. His argument's are more fully developed and criticisms are answered.

Especially worthy of comment are the chapters on economic matters. His fluency in the economic sphere is a breath of fresh air. A politician is finally being candid about government money, and the overarching system that is destroying the dollar.

The chapter on the constitution was also great. There was a small discussion on executive orders that taught me something I did not know before.

The recommended reading section is also welcome for those who want to get into detail.

So, why 4 instead of 5? There was a guy who said that Ron Paul supporters are having all non-5 star reviews deleted, and that we (supporters of Paul) are like cult-members, unquestioning of his policy, etc. So, I decided I could find a fault with the book. I was disappointed there were no endnotes and no index. But sorry, I happen to agree with his policy. It's not blind, cultish, it's simply that I find his arguments compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Easy To Read & Understand Book...A Must Read For All Americans to Understand What Our Founding Fathers Wanted - When..., April 27, 2008
An Easy To Read & Understand Book...A Must Read For All Americans to Understand What Our Founding Fathers Wanted - When They Created the Declaration of Independance & The U.S. Constitution.

I Highly recommend this to even the folks who laughed at Dr Paul in the GOP Presidential debates...and went the other direction, to vote for the same old rags that we have been having for a long time. The Rags like our current President, and The Clintons, etc....all the way down the line since Abraham Lincoln...YES...he has
The Real Lincoln: A New Look at Abraham Lincoln, His Agenda, and an Unnecessary War
Listed on the back of his books to further read...

Ron Paul...you deserve an A+++ for this book!!

Quote from this book: "Truth is Treason in the Empire of Lies..."

More Excerpts follow:
"Every election season America is presented with a series of false choices. Should we launch preemptive wars against this country or that one? Should every American neighborhood live under this social policy or that one? Should a third of our income be taken away by an income tax or a national sales tax? The shared assumptions behind these questions, on the other hand, are never cast in doubt, or even raised. And anyone who wants to ask different questions or who suggests that the questions as framed exclude attractive, humane alternatives, is ipso facto excluded from mainstream discussion.

And so every four years we are treated to the same tired, predictable routine: two candidates with few disagreements on fundamentals pretend that they represent dramatically different philosophies of government.

The supposedly conservative candidate tells us about "waste" in government, and ticks off $10 million in frivolous pork-barrel projects that outrage him--the inevitable bridge-to-nowhere project, or a study of the effects of celery consumption on arresting memory loss--in order to elicit laughter and applause from partisan audiences. All right, so that's 0.00045 percent of the federal budget dealt with; what does he propose to do with the other 99.99955 percent, in order to return our country to living within its means? Not a word. Those same three or four silly programs will be brought up all campaign long, and that's all we'll hear about where the candidate stands on spending. But conservatives are told that they must support these candidates, and so they do, hoping for the best. And nothing changes.

Even war doesn't really distinguish the two parties from each other. Hillary Clinton and John Kerry voted for the Iraq war. With the exceptions of Dennis Kucinich and Mike Gravel, even the Democrats who postured as antiwar candidates for the 2008 primary elections are not especially opposed to needless wars. They typically have a laundry list of other military interventions they would support, none of which make any sense, would make our country any safer, or would do a thing to return our country to fiscal sanity. But liberals are told that they must support these candidates, and so they do, hoping for the best. And nothing changes."

"When Republicans won a massive off-year election victory in 1994, neoconservative Bill Kristol immediately urged them not to do anything drastic but to wait until the Republicans took the White House in 1996. Well, the Republicans didn't take the White House in 1996, so nothing ever got done. Instead, the Republican leadership urged these freshman congressmen to focus on a toothless, soporific agenda called the Contract with America that was boldly touted as a major overhaul of the federal government. Nothing could have been further from the truth. The Contract with America was typical of what I have just described: no fundamental questions are ever raised, and even supposedly radical and revolutionary measures turn out to be modest and safe. In fact, the Brookings Institution in effect said that if this is what conservatives consider revolutionary, then they have basically conceded defeat.

Needless to say, I am also unimpressed by the liberal Left. Although they posture as critical thinkers, their confidence in government is inexcusably naive, based as it is on civics--textbook platitudes that bear absolutely zero resemblance to reality. Not even their position on unnecessary wars is consistent--Hillary Clinton and John Kerry both supported the Iraq war, for instance, and the major Democratic candidates in 2008 who claim to be antiwar are generally eager to invade some other country apart from Iraq. Even Howard Dean was all in favor of Bill Clinton's intervention in Bosnia, going so far as to urge the president to take unilateral military action beyond the multilateral activity already taking place. Liberals at the grass roots, on the other hand, have been deeply alienated by the various betrayals by which a movement they once supported has made its peace with the establishment.
No wonder frustrated Americans have begun referring to our two parties as the Republicrats. And no wonder the news networks would rather focus on $400 haircuts than matters of substance. There are no matters of substance.

My message is one of freedom and individual rights. I believe individuals have a right to life and liberty and that physical aggression should be used only defensively. We should respect each other as rational beings by trying to achieve our goals through reason and persuasion rather than threats and coercion. That, and not a desire for "economic efficiency," is the primary moral reason for opposing government intrusions into our lives: government is force, not reason.

People seem to think I am speaking of principles foreign to the Republican tradition. But listen to the words of Robert A. Taft, who in the old days of the Republican Party was once its standard-bearer:

"When I say liberty I do not simply mean what is referred to as "free enterprise." I mean liberty of the individual to think his own thoughts and live his own life as he desires to think and to live; the liberty of the family to decide how they wish to live, what they want to eat for breakfast and for dinner, and how they wish to spend their time; liberty of a man to develop his ideas and get other people to teach those ideas, if he can convince them that they have some value to the world; liberty of every local community to decide how its children shall be educated, how its local services shall be run, and who its local leaders shall be; liberty of a man to choose his own occupation; and liberty of a man to run his own business as he thinks it ought to be run, as long as he does not interfere with the right of other people to do the same thing. "

As we'll see in a later chapter, Taft was also an opponent of needless wars and of unconstitutional presidential war-making.

This is the Republican tradition to which I belong."

End of Excerpts

By The Way...I am a NON-NEOCON-GOP(Republican) and not a Libertarian!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ron Paul's Revolution., April 26, 2008
_The Revolution: A Manifesto_, published in 2008, is a campaign book by Ron Paul, U.S. Presidential candidate in 2008 and Texas Congressman. This book outlines Dr. Ron Paul's program for America which essentially consists in restoring liberty to the American people and upholding the United States Constitution. While Ron Paul's message is unique among all the candidates for president in this upcoming election, his campaign has been blackened out by the media. Nevertheless, he enjoys a sizeable following and has achieved records in campaign contributions. What Ron Paul promises is a substantial change from the usual form of U.S. politics and a return to the principles of the Founding Fathers as spelled out in the Constitution and the Bill of Rights. To Ron Paul, this means among other things a non-interventionist foreign policy, a limited and substantially scaled back government, a return to economic freedom along with a restoration of lost civil liberties to American citizens, and a new look at the money issue and the Federal Reserve banking system. During his terms in Congress, Ron Paul has earned the nickname "Dr. No", because he is a medical doctor and because of his refusal to vote against the U.S. Constitution. While Ron Paul is running as a Republican, he represents an Old Right non-interventionist form of conservativism or libertarianism that is not found amongst the majority of Republican candidates today. Ron Paul has criticized the neoconservative component of the Republican party for quite some time, but he also finds today's Democrats to be equally at fault. In fact, Ron Paul finds the whole political class to be possessed of individuals who largely seek power for its own sake and have little interest in the principles of liberty upon which the United States was founded. This book outlines Ron Paul's plans for peaceful revolution and a return to the United States Constitution.

In the first chapter of his book, Ron Paul explains the false choices in American politics. Here, Ron Paul explains how the Republican party has been co-opted by phony neoconservatives. At the same time, Ron Paul finds fault with the Democrats for largely agreeing with the Republicans on issues of intervention abroad while demanding an equally problematic and substantial intervention at home. Thus, Ron Paul sees little difference in the two main political parties. In the second chapter, Ron Paul explains the foreign policy of the Founding Fathers. Ron Paul quotes George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, and John Quincy Adams showing how the Founders maintained that America should not meddle in the affairs of other nations. Ron Paul then shows how the events of September 11 were used by the Bush administration to excuse a strongly interventionist foreign policy and an invasion of Iraq that violated just war principles. Ron Paul also argues that Clinton's wars effectively amounted to the same thing and that while the Democrats may claim to be anti-war, they frequently push for interventions abroad and have offered no alternative to the debacle in Iraq. Ron Paul also argues that foreign aid should cease, both on moral and pragmatic grounds, and particularly as concerns the nation of Israel. Ron Paul mentions the case of suicide bombers, but shows how their religion is largely not the central issue of concern but rather their resistance to an occupying power. Finally, Ron Paul mentions various classical conservative thinkers and shows how they uniformly spoke out against empire and unnecessary foreign meddling. In the third chapter of this book, Ron Paul focuses on the Constitution. To begin with, Ron Paul effectively shows how the Constitution has been subverted, particularly by those who maintain that the Constitution is a "living document" (showing how in effect this allows for the government to behave in any manner it wishes contrary to the Constitution and thus reduces its effect to nothing). Ron Paul also focuses substantially on the Bush administration, showing how presidential power has increased and how blatant disregard for the Constitution and Bill of Rights has been effected. Ron Paul also shows how the power of Congress to declare war has been subverted since the Korean war by the president. Ron Paul also discusses such matters as abortion (Roe v. Wade) and the death penalty, showing how such issues have been ruled upon by federal judges with total disregard to the rights of the states. Ron Paul also considers the case of the draft and the federal income tax, showing how both are not only unconstitutional but immoral as well. In the fourth chapter of this book, Ron Paul considers the case of economic freedom. Ron Paul shows how excessive regulations have a damaging effect on business. Ron Paul also argues for property rights and individual freedom. Ron Paul also shows how free trade agreements such as NAFTA and sponsored by the WTO are in fact nothing of the sort, but rather attempts to get the United States to surrender sovereignty to a supernational body. In the fifth chapter of this book, Ron Paul considers the case of civil liberties and personal freedom. Ron Paul shows how civil liberties have been lost, mentioning the Patriot Act and much post-9/11 legislation that in effect gives police state powers to the federal government. Ron Paul also shows how habeas corpus has been suspended and torture has been used against those labeled "enemy combatants". Indeed, Ron Paul argues that the War on Terror has been used to excused much underhanded dealing and spying on private citizens by the federal government. Further, despite the Republican opposition to such tactics used by the Clinton regime, they have largely turned a blind eye to the vast abuses of the Bush regime following September 11. Ron Paul also considers the federal War on Drugs, arguing that this should be an issue for the states to deal with and local communities rather than the federal government. Ron Paul maintains that like Prohibition (which at the least was proposed as an amendment to the Constitution), the War on Drugs has resulted in increased crime and black market drug dealing. Ron Paul also mentions the case of medical marijuana and the subversion of the rights of the states. Finally, Ron Paul mentions the issue of home schooling and shows the complete failure of much of the public education system. In addition, Ron Paul shows how alleged screening for mental illness amongst youngsters may be used to weed out individuals who hold to certain philosophical or religious beliefs. In the sixth chapter of this book, Ron Paul mentions the "forbidden issue in politics", that of money. Ron Paul shows how the Federal Reserve rather than dampening the effects of economic booms and busts in fact makes them worse. As a sound money theorist, Ron Paul offers an alternative by lowering taxes on gold and silver, thus allowing for trade in these precious metals and possibly preventing an economic collapse brought on by a declining dollar. The money issue is particularly important, because no other candidate dares mention it, and because it has not been brought up in the political arena for many years. Finally, Ron Paul ends with a chapter calling for his peaceful revolution. Ron Paul reiterates his main points, showing how we have surrendered our sovereignty by becoming dependent on government. In particular, Ron Paul reaches out to the young by a call to personal responsibility and self-reliance. The book ends with a call to revolution just as our Founding Fathers experienced their call against the oppression of a despotic government.

Ron Paul remains one of the few men in the political arena willing to tell Americans the hard facts about the current state of affairs. He also remains one of the most ardent defenders of liberty. Despite his detractors, and the media's attempt to black out his campaign, Ron Paul's message is one of common sense and high importance. As such, I believe this book offers hope to our nation that would appear to be going the way of the Roman empire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2164 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Revolution: A Manifesto
$8.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.