Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love the show, but the DVD media is strange
I've purchased 1st and 2nd season. The 1st season is mastered much better than the 2nd. The content on the 1st season DVD set is not interlaced, and is mastered on printed DVDs. The 2nd season appears to be mastered on DVD-R media (the label on the DVD jacket calls it DVD Download), and the content is interlaced which reduces playback quality.

Still, if the...
Published 23 months ago by Pavel

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DVD-R and heavy copyright protection
Know that these discs are copies (DVD-R), not real DVDs. Read the "DVD-R Note" on the product page. They are blue on the bottom rather than the standard DVD (chrome-ish?). They are heavily copyright protected as well, which makes viewing them a hassel. They will not play on my macbook pro. They also wouldn't play on my girlfriends DVD player, which has never had an...
Published 24 months ago by Blake


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DVD-R and heavy copyright protection, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show: The Complete Second Season (3 Discs) (DVD)
Know that these discs are copies (DVD-R), not real DVDs. Read the "DVD-R Note" on the product page. They are blue on the bottom rather than the standard DVD (chrome-ish?). They are heavily copyright protected as well, which makes viewing them a hassel. They will not play on my macbook pro. They also wouldn't play on my girlfriends DVD player, which has never had an issue with any DVD or even burned CDs. We got them to play momentarily on a Playstation 2 but they quickly started skipping and freezing. The back of the DVD case has a note that reads "THIS DISC IS EXPECTED TO PLAY BACK IN DV VIDEO "PLAY ONLY" DEVICES, AND MAY NOT PLAY BACK IN OTHER DVD DEVICES, INCLUDING RECORDERS AND PC DRIVES." I have been unable to play the DVDs and will most likely return them rather than buy a new play-only DVD player. I wouldn't trust the quality of these discs. I love these three guys and their amazing show, but this product caused nothing but frustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love the show, but the DVD media is strange, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show: The Complete Second Season (3 Discs) (DVD)
I've purchased 1st and 2nd season. The 1st season is mastered much better than the 2nd. The content on the 1st season DVD set is not interlaced, and is mastered on printed DVDs. The 2nd season appears to be mastered on DVD-R media (the label on the DVD jacket calls it DVD Download), and the content is interlaced which reduces playback quality.

Still, if the 3rd season comes out on DVD I'll buy it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, only one complaint..., January 7, 2012
By 
David O. (Mesquite, Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show: The Complete Second Season (3 Discs) (DVD)
I was reading the review about poor packaging, and I just wanted to say that mine came packaged fine. It had cover art, and so did DVDs, exactly like my season 1 set. I ordered after that person, so maybe they changed something.

If you watched season 1, it's just more of the same hilarious chit chat. You should know what to expect. My only real complaint is that, unlike the previous season, there are not any English subtitles. English was not my family's first language, and many have trouble with non-American english accents (UK, Ireland, Australia, etc). So the lack of subtitles was disappointing. That's all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest things you will ever see!!!, June 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show: The Complete Second Season (3 Discs) (DVD)
I actually had a chance to compare this DVD with Jerry Seinfeld's "I'm telling you for the last time." While Seinfeld is outstanding, the insights of Karl Pilkington are the funniest things you will ever hear. The great thing about Karl is that he is not preparing to be funny but is simply saying what comes into his warped mind. You can hear Karl explain how ashtrays can treat kidney stones, how a bee had a heart attackm and how the inside of his body is shorter than the outside. This is priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awesome show, BUT, March 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show: The Complete Second Season (3 Discs) (DVD)
I love this show it's extremely funny, but as a previous comment was made, THIS IS A BURNED COPY. Really pixilated, sound is quiet, and you know it's burned because the discs are blue on the bottom. I took a chance after reading the burned copy review hoping it was a fluke. Don't make the same mistake I did, Horribly disappointed because I thought I was getting a legitimate copy. don't buy this from "Amazon LLC" in kentucky. will be getting a refund
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The show itself is awesome, January 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show: The Complete Second Season (3 Discs) (DVD)
One of the funniest shows ever. If you've heard any of their podcasts or have seen season 1, this season delivers as well. However, there could be more to the discs. As previous reviewers have mentioned, they are burned by amazon, which does have an effect on the sound quality which isn't as crisp or as loud as it should be. I had to almost double the volume that I'd normally have to for any other DVD. And I do wish there were subtitles, you can definitely hear everything they say, assuming you crank up the volume as well, but sometimes the exchanges go so fast, especially when Ricky and Steve start to feed off of each other. That said, it is Ricky, Steve, and Karl at their best, if you're a fan of their podcasts/ show, you really can't go wrong. In conclusion, the show more than makes up for the shoddy DVDs but if you are particular about features/ extras on a DVD, maybe wait and hope they come out with an official DVD. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love Ricky, Steve and Karl!!!, May 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show: The Complete Second Season (3 Discs) (DVD)
I have been following this trio with great enthusiasm for quite some time and they just never get old. The Ricky Gervais Show is hilarious and spontaneous, comprised of excerpts from the podcasts, its great to see the audio matched up with the animation. Their kind of humor is a welcome change from the crap that passes for comedy nowadays.
If you ever get a chance to listen to the 'Guides to...', definitely do so, I have been reduced to tears on many occasions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, February 17, 2012
By 
J-Dubs (Washington DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show: The Complete Second Season (3 Discs) (DVD)
I have noticed some others complain about the packaging. The case itself was fine, the only issues are it is burnt dvds. Warner has been doing this with their archive collection and ive never had any problems with them. All the discs in set play fine and i have no issues with the volume. So don't let the negative reviews scare you off, this is still worth picking up.

As far as contentwise, if you liked season one you'll like this. Its many hours of hilarious material from the podcasts. I was laughing so hard i was in pain, i definately reccomend picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Please put out a legitimate copy of this show..., June 22, 2014
By 
D Kez (Grandview, MO, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show: The Complete Second Season (3 Discs) (DVD)
Please put out a regular dvd version of this season! Not a DVD-R set! Yes, when you buy this season, you are getting a DVD-R copy. Come on HBO or Time Warner...whoever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ricky Gervais Show: The Complete Second Season (3 Discs) (DVD)
the show is funny as hell karl is one the funniest people on the face of the earth and he don't even try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Ricky Gervais Show: The Complete Second Season (3 Discs)
$35.99 $22.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.