Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulls you in
The Ride Home pulls you in from the first scene and keeps you turning pages until the end, as did Olson's earlier book, The Petoskey Stone. The plot makes you squirm as the main character pulls himself deeper into the quagmire of little lies and self-justifying decisions, making his predicament more complicated. But you've got to find out what happens! Rather than a...
Published on April 24, 2011 by Iris Ramie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
the ending of this book was terrible. it takes you through the whole story and leaves you with no real idea of what happens with the main characters. It was almost a good book, the story could have been good, but you never really feel like you know or understand the characters and there is no finality or closure to the issues covered in the book.
Published 3 months ago by dasher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulls you in, April 24, 2011
This review is from: The Ride Home (Kindle Edition)
The Ride Home pulls you in from the first scene and keeps you turning pages until the end, as did Olson's earlier book, The Petoskey Stone. The plot makes you squirm as the main character pulls himself deeper into the quagmire of little lies and self-justifying decisions, making his predicament more complicated. But you've got to find out what happens! Rather than a mystery with a twist, it's more of a twist on the mystery genre, with the main character playing both detective and criminal. I highly recommend this book and The Petoskey Stone and hope to see more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing resolution, April 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ride Home (Kindle Edition)
"The Ride Home" is the story of a journalist riding his bicycle home who is forced off the road by drunken drivers harassing him. In protecting himself, he injures one of his attackers seriously. The narrative of his emotional quandary and the ensuing events aptly draws the reader into the whole experience. A very absorbing psychological resolution caps the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Ride!, May 24, 2011
By 
mountainmama "Shirley Hicks" (Charleston, West Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ride Home (Kindle Edition)
The Ride Home by Jon Olson is a study of choices - how a couple of bad decisions can lead you down a path of destruction - a path of no return. We follow the footsteps of a man who makes a stupid mistake, and then proceeds to compound it by making even more foolish errors in judgment, until he has cornered himself into an untenable position - one from which he can see no escape.

The writing flows effortlessly; descriptions are neither too wordy nor too sparse. Mr. Olson is adept at relating events with unique insight, creating images that give a clear picture of what is happening, what the character is feeling, the mood, the tone of the setting.

I enjoyed the book immensely and I hope this author continues to write - he's a winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just keeps going and going!, June 29, 2011
By 
mom2twoboys "Writer, Reader & Mage" (Writing near a window, on a sunny day in Va!) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ride Home (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book! I love a book that starts off strong and can maintain that interest and energy the whole way through. This book does that. A great price, a thrill ride and it kept me guessing about what would happen next. This is an author to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow Jon Olson's story is an emotional provoking decision making psychological mystery/thriller that will grab you from the start, June 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ride Home (Kindle Edition)
The Ride Home title and the cover picture grabbed my attention quickly and never gave up through his whole journey. While following Mark ( who is a journalist ) and the decisions he makes throughout the book shows me that Jon put a lot of thought and gut wrenching decisions into this story. Jon has honed his skills tremendously with this book and it shows me that he is very capable of writing a lot more books that will make him a success with his writing ability . There are many twists and turns, up and downs and Jon put the best and only logical ending to this story. IMO. I held my breath through some of the situations that cropped up several times.

Jon's books were very well formatted and edited. Nothing annoyed me at all.

I do not know this author in any way. I am just a reader who is hooked on new authors and love it when I come across someone like Jon who makes me want to keep reading his books. JMO but I think Jon has a future ahead of him with his writing ability and his talent. Of course if his next book isn't up to par it will be back to the drawing board :>) Great book Jon !! I am counting on you.
I highly recommend this book The Ride Home and his 1st book The Petrosky Stone. ( The insert link is not working at this time but i will try it again later )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read, September 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ride Home (Kindle Edition)
This was a quick, easy read. I did enjoy it but it just didn't 'grab' me as much as other reviewers. The plot was good but a little predictable. The main point of this book is how you can get yourself into such trouble just by not telling the truth.
The main character is just 'pulled' along by events that were, for the most part, out of his control. Ultimately, the victim becomes the criminal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and suspenseful..........., August 8, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ride Home (Kindle Edition)
This book held my interest from beginning to end. There is really no mystery for the reader other than what the outcome will be. The mystery is for the characters in the book as to why the protagonist is acting the way he is and saying the things he does. I like the author's writing; this is the first book I have read by him, but I will definitely read more. I found the protagonist, Mark, to be a likeable character in spite of his flaws and failings. He definitely made one bad decision after another. Each lie he told created more havoc in his life and put him deeper in the hole he dug for himself until there is no way out. Things just get worse and worse for him until he can hardly go on living. Little by little, he becomes an emotional wreck. Ultimately, a resolution for his problems is provided, but you have to read to the end of the book to find it! I thought the author did a great job of providing page after page of suspense as to what the ultimate price Mark will pay for his actions. I did not notice errors or formatting problems at all. I will recommend this book to others as it is a good and interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ride Home (Kindle Edition)
the ending of this book was terrible. it takes you through the whole story and leaves you with no real idea of what happens with the main characters. It was almost a good book, the story could have been good, but you never really feel like you know or understand the characters and there is no finality or closure to the issues covered in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read the reviews. It's worth it!, June 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ride Home (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book! It made me anxious to try the author's other works. A lot of what I read is determined by reading the reviews. Excellent character exploration, a thoughtful and exciting plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Good effort, but not professionally written, April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ride Home (Kindle Edition)
Poorly written, ending too abrupt and not credible, the whole story was contrived. The characters were one dimensional and uninteresting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Ride Home
The Ride Home by Jon Olson
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.