Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEL REY ANTHOLOGY OF LOVECRAFT'S BEST
This is an anthology of some of the best works of Howard Philips Lovecraft (HPL), a pulp horror- and science fiction- writer of the 1920s and 30s. Lovecraft had a distinctive style of writing, meant to convey through description an atmosphere of awe and wonder of the universe, which he believed a rational mind would experience as horror. His works have influenced...
Published on June 17, 2006 by Alexander Scott

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than Average Collection
"Transition", the third in a series of books documenting the complete range of HP Lovecraft's works, offers a prespective look at the author's earliest stories, and constrasts these with the pieces that would eventually seal his cult popularity. While many of the early pieces (with "The Beast in the Cave" being a notable exception) are hardly worth the...
Published on May 10, 2003 by Troy Manning


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEL REY ANTHOLOGY OF LOVECRAFT'S BEST, June 17, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Road to Madness (Paperback)
This is an anthology of some of the best works of Howard Philips Lovecraft (HPL), a pulp horror- and science fiction- writer of the 1920s and 30s. Lovecraft had a distinctive style of writing, meant to convey through description an atmosphere of awe and wonder of the universe, which he believed a rational mind would experience as horror. His works have influenced generations of writers including Stephen King, Brian Lumley, Ramsey Campbell, and Robert Howard. The content of THE ROAD TO MADNESS is some of HPLs most evocative, chilling, and enduring tales. And I almost missed them.

You see, I thought I had everything by Lovecraft. But I would catch allusions to things like the "Martense kin", "the U-Boat", and Arthur Jermyn. I couldn't find these references in any of my books, when I realized I was missing THE TOMB. Rather than buy this out-of-print book, I picked up ROAD TO MADNESS. It has served me well as a general collection of the most enduring elements of Lovecraft's fiction. The 3 Del Rey collections (ROAD TO MADNESS, BEST OF HP LOVECRAFT, DREAM CYCLE OF HP LOVECRAFT) are pretty comprehensive of HPLs corpus. I am posting below a list of the contents of THE ROAD TO MADNESS under the heading of other sources for the same stories, to let you decide how much overlap it has with other anthologies you might own.

AT THE MOUNTAINS OF MADNESS AND OTHER TALES

"At the Mountains of Madness "

"The Evil Clergyman"

"The Shunned House"

THE DOOM THAT CAME TO SARNATH

"The Crawling Chaos"

"The Festival"

"In the Walls of Eryx"

"memory"

"Nathicana"

"The Tomb"

"The Tree"

"Under The Pyramids"

THE LURKING FEAR AND OTHER STORIES

"Dagon"

"Arthur Jermyn"

"The Lurking Fear"

"The Moon-Bog"

"The Temple"

"The Unnameable"

"The White Ship"

THE TOMB AND OTHER TALES:

"The Alchemist"

"The Beast in the Cave"

"The Book"

"The Festival"

"He"

"The Horror at Red Hook"

"In the Walls of Eryx"

"Poetry and the Gods "

"The Street"

"The Tomb"

"The Transition of Juan Romero"

"Under the Pyramids"

[Possibly no other source]

"Cool Air"

"Herbert West, Reanimator"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book and inspiration., September 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Road to Madness (Paperback)
This book is excellent for mature readers 12+. When kids (like me, I'm 14) find that ghost stories start to seem a little childish... these stories are a step up. After I read this book, I would sometimes find myself staring off into space, thinking about one of the stories... this book will put so many ideas into your head, you will look at the entire world differently. Lovecraft is a master author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Tales for Collectors and Other Freaks!, August 25, 2001
This review is from: The Road to Madness (Paperback)
This collection of stories by H.P. Lovecraft apparently was put together for hardcore collectors, but it does have many treasures for those who are just beginning to discover his work. The book begins with several "Early Tales" from Lovecraft's formative period. Some go as far back as his teenage years. In these early stories Lovecraft was still nailing down the style that would later become so influential. Unfortunately some of these tales aren't very good, especially the very predictable "The Beast in the Cave," and the others are high on stiff prose and low on ideas. So this early stuff is a real treasure for collectors but may be a struggle for everyone else. However, once you get over that hurdle, this book starts to pick up steam with a steady supply of fascinating and freaky tales of horror and the supernatural. As the title indicates, most of these short stories contain people going mad, and you may be wondering about your own sanity at the end. Highlights include the Frankenstein-style tales "Herbert West-Reanimator" and "Cool Air." My favorites appear toward the end of the book, with the sci-fi style "In the Walls of Eryx," in which Lovecraft shows a surprising flair for conceptual science fiction. The mini-novel "At the Mountains of Madness" may be Lovecraft's all-time best - a masterpiece of occult history that leaves you with a very spooky feeling afterwards. For those who are just discovering Lovecraft: while you're reading the stories, sometimes you'll find yourself struggling through his dense, slow-moving prose (which hardly ever contains dialogue), and his obscure references to the occult. But once you put the book down, and the stories work their way to the back of your mind, you'll start feeling creeped out. VERY creeped out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contents of this book, March 2, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Road to Madness (Paperback)
The Beast in the Cave, The Alchemist, Poetry and the Gods, The Street, The Transition of Juan Romero, The Book (excerpt), Dagon, The Tomb, Memory, The White Ship, Arthur Jermyn, The Temple, The Terrible Old Man, The Crawling Chaos, The Tree, The Moon-Bog, Herbert West--Reanimator, The Lurking Fear, The Festival, The Unnamable, Imprisoned with the Pharaohs, The Shunned House, He, The Horror at Red Hook, Cool Air, Nathicana, At the Mountains of Madness, In the Walls of Eryx, The Evil Clergyman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go buy this book!, January 28, 2000
This review is from: The Road to Madness (Paperback)
I heard about HP Lovecraft a little while ago, but never read any of his works until about a month ago when I bought the Best Of collection from Del Rey. I loved it, so I bought this book after getting through most of the first one. After reading The Beast in the Cave, I was hooked on this too.
The best thing about Lovecraft's storytelling is the way he describes things so vividly, and yet leaves a lot to your own imagination. Although he can drag on at times, the stories always come together in the end. One of my favorites is Dagon, with an incredible introduction and conclusion. My personal favorite was probably Memory. It was one page, and it gives you just a taste of Lovecraft's brilliant imagination.
One last note: the cover on this book is incredible. John Jude Palencar is a great artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LOVECRAFT'S BECOMING!!!, August 19, 2001
This review is from: The Road to Madness (Paperback)
Many of Lovecraft's villains and heroes, which he so smoothly incorporates into his tales, are none other than scholars who are dangerously treading the realms of forbidden knowledge; and hence, desperately attempting to reveal the occult secrets derived from 'actual' hidden and historical documents of the past. He so cleverly weaves these yarns with both fact, fiction and legend, and mysteriously arrives at the ultimate conclusion that "yes, the world and its inhabitants are basically living in a totally unknown void of time and space, yet they are afraid to acknowledge it." One reading these gruesome short stories is left at the threshold of what is and what really may be. Most of these tales are earlier works written in his teens, but are nevertheless disclosing pieces of art prior to his becoming into one of the masters of horror - if not thee master. Mr. Lovecraft hinted at alot more than he outright stated in his writings, and many firmly believe he was either onto something or most likely, something was onto him, which very well may have drove him to the road to madness and to ultimately persuade him to produce the 29 chilling tales of horror encapsuled within this book. GET THESE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical Lovecraft mixed with less known works., January 25, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: The Road to Madness (Paperback)
Howard Phillips Lovecraft ... a writer who has been granted both respect and contempt over the decades, the founder of a school of purple prose-laden horror that has, despite critical approbation, not only survived but thrived in book and cinematic form. New devotees join the cadre of writers who have continued various aspects of Lovecraft's Cthulhu mythos, and Lovecraft himself has had a cinematic avatar in two made-for-cable alternate universe movies, and never mind the rock band named after the man himself (or the growing collection of music based on or inspired by his work.)

Del Rey have been releasing a series of Lovecraft collections in trade paperback, each one with a new introduction and a handful of macabre illustrations. This volume is set up as something of an overview, hence the title, and features not only well-known tales such as "At The Mountains Of Madness" but a selection of early (and more derivative) pieces, a poem that reads like congealed Coleridge, and several collaborations, including a notable adventure produced with the aid of Harry Houdini and a science fiction tale that takes a horrific turn.

The Transition Of H.P. Lovecraft makes a fair introduction to Lovecraft's entire body of writing, but if the mythos is more of interest, then the better choice would likely be the earlier The Dream Cycle Of H.P Lovecraft, though "At The Mountains Of Madness" and "Herbert West - Reanimator" should not be missed.

--Steven McDonal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars he's mad, i tells ya, mad!, May 26, 2001
By 
Matthew McPherson (Landisburg, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road to Madness (Paperback)
This volume contains a lot of reprints from the smaller books published a few years ago, but if you don't have them, pick this up: it takes up less space. This volume includes Lovecraft's first stumbling attempts at writing (they're still a helluvalot better than I could do) and some fragments, but not all of them (it doesn't include 'Azathoth' which is tied with 'The Rats in the Walls' for my favorite story by Lovecraft). It does include 'Herbert West - Reanimator', which is way classier than the movie 'Reanimator', even though Lovecraft thought the story was garbage. It also includes 'the Lurking Fear' (once again, way classier than the movie) and 'At the Mountains of Madness', which wins my 'Story I Most Want to See Made Into a Movie' award. All in all, a great volume if you don't already have the aforementioned stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning! The best horror writing I've ever read., March 12, 2004
This review is from: The Road to Madness (Paperback)
My original review for "The Transition of H.P. Lovecraft: The Road to Madness" was posted on January 10th 1999. The title and review was written as follows:
Title:
A true master of the macabre.
Review:
My only complaint about the writings of H.P. Lovecraft would be that many of his stories are of a similar nature and theme. Irregardless of this I found most of his stories to be extremely impressive works of fantasy and horror.
H.P. Lovecraft is a true past master. If you like anything that has ever dealt with horror, fantasy, or sci-fi, then you would be doing yourself a great disservice to not read a collection of Lovecraft stories at least once in your life.
I was very, very impressed by my first encounter with Lovecraft's work. I will read more of his material before my life is over.
End of original review.
I am very pleased with my original review and have re-reviewed it to properly put it under my correct name and Amazon.com identity.
The only thing new that I would like to add to this re-review would be this: the last story in this collection is called "At The Mountains of Madness." This story is hands down the best horror story I have ever read in my entire life. Nothing I have read since has equaled it, and nothing ever will. I consider it a profound pleasure that back in 1999 I read a horror story that will stand for the rest of my life as the greatest horror story I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nightmare come true for Lovecraft fans..., August 30, 2000
By 
Phil Brown (Birmingham, Al USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Road to Madness (Paperback)
As an avid reader of Lovecraft's Macabre, I couldn't resist picking up this book and the other two in the series (The Best of H.P. Lovecraft, and The Dream Cycle of H.P. Lovecraft). And it turned out to be a great addition to my library. The starring attraction is At The Mountains of Madness, which automatically makes the book worth the meager cost. One of the nice things about this collection is that it traces some of the early themes in Lovecraft's work to their later maturity. Although the stories are quite varied, you needn't worry about them straying from Lovecraft's trademark theme: cosmic ignorance is a wonderful commodity. I highly recommend this to addicts and newcomers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Road to Madness
The Road to Madness by H.P. Lovecraft (Paperback - October 1, 1996)
$16.00 $10.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.