Customer Reviews


503 Reviews
5 star:
 (348)
4 star:
 (110)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great transfer to Blu-Ray!
More than likely, you already know whether you like this movie or not. The
question you may be asking is "If I own the DVD, is it worth upgrading to
the BD version?" I'm happy to report that this is a great transfer, and is
a major upgrade from the DVD version, assuming that you have a audio/video
system that can allow you to see and hear the...
Published on January 14, 2008 by Nicodimus

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too flashy but fun.
The Rock has been edited like it's been thrown into a food processor. This makes it very hard to watch and causes most of the action scenes to become a blur. But, having said that, the only bad thing about the movie, it's really quite fun and the music's good too. I reccomend that you buy the soundtrack. And, as always, Sean Connery is great, but he's still only the...
Published on December 4, 1998


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great transfer to Blu-Ray!, January 14, 2008
By 
Nicodimus (Hanover, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rock [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
More than likely, you already know whether you like this movie or not. The
question you may be asking is "If I own the DVD, is it worth upgrading to
the BD version?" I'm happy to report that this is a great transfer, and is
a major upgrade from the DVD version, assuming that you have a audio/video
system that can allow you to see and hear the difference. The picture is
far more detailed than the DVD version, and the uncompressed PCM audio
track is fantastic. Kudos to Disney for doing an excellent job on this one.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criterion gives proper DVD treatment to The Rock., February 19, 2001
By 
Kenshiro (United States) - See all my reviews
Buena Vista released The Rock as a movie-only edition back in 1998 and anyone who knows their DVD must have been less-than enthusiastic about the release (this reviewer included), and hoped that someday the film would be revisted with a special edition release. Fortunately, that day has come! This new Criterion DVD release features a 2.35:1 matted widescreen presentation, anamorphically enhanced for 16x9 televisions, something which was sorely missed from the Buena Vista disc. This disc also has a new Dolby Digital 5.1 surround mix, which is a remixed track of the original 5.1 mix on the Buena Vista disc, which was rather good, this track just improves on it. Criterion, doesn't stop there though, a DTS 5.1 surround mix has been added for your sonic pleasure. And for a film such as this, both audio surround tracks are a welcome addition, especially the DTS track which was newly-remixed and digitally mastered specifically for this Criterion DVD.
The area where this Criterion version really puts Buena Vista's to shame is in the special features department. Now for people who own the Criterion laserdisc of this film, these extra features might seem familiar. But for first-time viewers of the Criterion release of this film, you'll be very pleased with the extras you get here. Supplements abound on the second disc in this 2-DVD set, you'll have hours of enjoyment sifting through all of the extras presented in this package. The only gripe I have about this disc is the commentary track recorded for the film. Sean Connery is suprisingly absent from it. Which, for me at least is a disappointment. But that's only a minor gripe, this disc is one of the best Criterion has relased for a film on DVD. So throw out your old Buena Vista DVD/VHS/LD copies of The Rock, and get this Criterion DVD. I highly recommend it, especially if your a fan of this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent film with great extra features, July 3, 2004
By 
Ted "Ted" (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is for the Criterion Collection DVD edition of the film.
In this director approved Criterion Collection release, we are treated to some excellent materials.
The film follows the story of Francis Hummel (Ed Harris), a retired marine who takes hostages on Alcatraz island. His demand is that the families of soldiers killed in covert operations be given compensation. He treatens to launch VX nerve gas into the city of San Francisco if his demands are not met. A navy SEAL team is sent in to neutralize the threat. Helping out is Stanley Goodspeed (Nicholas Cage), a chemical weapons expert, and John Patrick Mason (Sean Connery), the only man to have escaped from Alcatraz.
The film has great acting and there are some good laughs in the film also. There are many action packed scenes including a car chase through the streets of San Francisco and the cars are often airborne when they go on the hills.
The Criterion DVD has many special features and is on a deouble disc set.
Disc 1 contains the movie with optional audio commentary by Director Michael Bay, Producer Jerry Bruckheimer, Technical advisor Harry Humphries, and actors Nicholas Cage and Ed Harris.
Disc 2 contains a theatrical trailer and TV spots, a video interview with producer Jerry Bruckheimer, a blooper reel, a special about the film's premiere on Alcatraz, scenes from a TV special "Secrets of Alcatraz" that contains interviews with actual former inmates and a history of the island from Native American times to modern times.
There is a special "Dos and Don'ts of Hollywood Gunplay" with the film's technical advisor Harry Humpries and Marshall Teague. This specail contains depictions of errors made in action films regarding the use of guns it emphasises saftey and common mistakes including gun drawing techniques that don't "work" such as the "gangster grab" or the "wyatt earp pull".
There are also 2 features on the films special effects. One is on the dive sequence and the other is on other effects, like the cable car crash. There are also storyboards, production stills and drawings.
This is a must biy for fans of the movie as well a fans of the Criterion Collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intelligent, Adrenaline-Pumped Thrill Ride!, November 24, 1999
By 
Robert Blake (Santa Monica, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rock (DVD)
The Rock is one of the greatest of all action films. This is a movie that not only presents some incredible, if not stunning, action sequences, but also a smart plot and intelligent screenplay. This is a film that really works in it's genre to the fullest. Director Michael Bay is a master of this material and adds great style and vision to already excellent material. The screenplay by David Weisberg, Douglas S. Cook and Mark Rosner has a touch of intrigue here, a touch of adrenaline there, a splash of rambo here, and the effect is great on the big screen. "The Rock" never slowes down but never gets dumb either. Elements taken from other films are lovingly polished to a gloss. Nicolas Cage, Sean Connery and Ed Harris all give convincing performances that ignite the screen along with everything else. "The Rock" also has some of the best of all action scenes. The chase scene through San Francisco is pure excitement and thrills and amazingly filmed. "The Rock" is intelligent, action-packed, and a wild, thrilling adrenaline-pumped ride that's also wonderfully stylish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rock defintely rocks on blu-Ray!, May 28, 2008
By 
John Lindsey "John" (Socorro, New Mexico USA.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Rock [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
At San Francisco in Alcatraz, a group of terrorists lead by ex-general Hummel (Ed Harris) who demand a ransom as they threaten to launch missles with deadly gas into the San Francisco bay area if they don't get what they want. FBI chemical warfare agent Stanley Goodspeed (Nicolas Cage) now must join up with former criminal Mason (Sean Connery) to rescue the hostages and stop the madmen from threatening the city.

Explosive and action packed thriller which is Michael Bay's crowning achievement besides "Transformers" delivers all the thrills and chills that anyone needs. Jerry Bruckheimer and the late Don Simpson lavishly produced this movie and Michael Bay was just perfect to do this movie, the movie does co-star Tony Todd ("Candyman) and Michael Biehn. It's got excellent action sequences, terrific performances by the cast, humor, a little romance and a good plot makes this a sure fire crowdpleaser to any action lover out there.

This Blu-Ray makes the movie never looked or sound this great before! the extras are phenomenal like a movie showcase spotlight that shows scenes that showcase the ultimate in HD pic and sound, Audio commentary, World Premier of the movie, featurettes, interviews, Trailers and TV Spots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wait for Criterion Collection DVD, January 27, 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rock (DVD)
This is one of the few action movies I think still holds up and this DVD presents it pretty well but there are basically no little extra things on it. Wait for the Criterion DVD to come out. It will more than likely have an anamorphic transfer (since they started doing that), great sound and it will also have a lot of extras like a history on Alcatraz, outtakes and of course a commentary. But unless you really have to have it and don't care for supplements, you can't go wrong with this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe director Michael Bay's action masterpiece, June 13, 2004
By 
Kenji Fujishima (East Brunswick, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rock (DVD)
Okay, perhaps I am being very hasty with making that proclamation, since I'll admit I haven't seen any other Michael Bay film other than this one and ARMAGEDDON. Still, I cannot imagine that this much-maligned director has made a better action movie than this one. ARMAGEDDON was an ugly, bloated, flagrantly manipulative piece of action drivel. THE ROCK, on the other hand, may be just as manipulative, but I'll pick this very good pure action flick over ARMAGEDDON any day.
What's good about this particular action movie? Unlike ARMAGEDDON, THE ROCK doesn't attempt to be something more than good action entertainment. There are no synethetic emotions and all that nauseatingly insistent patriotism that seriously marred ARAMGEDDON, despite the fact that the antagonist of this movie is a former general who is looking for restitution for families of soldiers who died in combat under his command. THE ROCK is purely what it is, an action flick. As it turns out, it is a very skillful one at that, with convincing performances from all three leads (Sean Connery, Nicholas Cage, and Ed Harris) and exciting action scenes all around.
As for the plot, no, it is not particularly fresh (with elements borrowed from DIE HARD and even PULP FICTION), but the script adds some interesting elements to the equation, particularly with Ed Harris' General Hummel, who all throughout shows significant sympathetic human dimensions that make him stand out from the usual one-dimensional snarling villain. I liked those touches, as well as the twist at the end, in which the villains of the story seem to shift. It is with that twist that THE ROCK truly does stand apart from the action-movie crowd.
I always love a good action movie, and THE ROCK is definitely one of the good (if not absolutely great) ones. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Welcome to the Rock", March 30, 2003
By 
T O'Brien (Chicago, Il United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Rock is an excellent action movie with a great cast and excellent action sequences. A rogue general and his squad of renegade Marines have taken 81 hostages on Alcatraz and is threatening to fire rockets armed with VX gas into the Bay area if their demands are not met. The general, Frank Hummel, wants $100 million for recognition of what his men have done for the US over the past thirty years. Not willing to give him the money, the FBI sends in a Navy Seal team to try and take down all the rockets before they can be fired. Along with them are a chemical weapons expert and the only man to ever escape from the impregnable island fortress. This is a very enjoyable movie with plenty of action. The whole cast is very good with plenty of good roles for the supporting actors. For a great action movie that never slows down from beginning to end, check out The Rock.
Sean Connery stars as SAS agent, John Mason, the only man to ever successfully escape from Alcatraz. His performance is very good with plenty of great one-liners. Nicolas Cage is equally as good as Stanley Goodspeed, the chemical weapons expert who must try to disarm the rockets. Ed Harris turns in an excellent performance as rogue General Hummel, who eventually begins to question what he is doing. The excellent supporting cast is great as well with plenty of notables giving good parts. The Criterion Collection has an impressive list of extras added on. Rather than going through them all, I'll just say that if you like the movie, you'll like the DVD. For an excellent action movie with great cast and even better action, check out The Rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than most Bruckheimer films., May 23, 2000
This review is from: The Rock (DVD)
You can always tell a Jerry Bruckheimer/Michael Bay movie even if you only see about a minute of it.
What is their obsession with explosions?
Granted, for this movie, they were pretty much necessary to certain parts, i.e., the thermite plasma and the incendiary bomb dropped into the tunnel system. But their other movies (Armageddon, Con Air) go way into the realm of the unrealistic.
I got to wonder if the movie would have been better if it been made by a different team.
One thing that was really annoying, something I didn't notice until recently, was the constant sounds of weapons being cocked.
A guy could be holding an M16 or an MP5 and all he'll do is move it a few inches and you'll here the chuk-uk of the action being worked. I got to admit it sounds cool, but in real life, each time you hear that sound, a round would fall to the ground.
Bruckheimer/Bay put too much of their own B.S. into movies and that really takes away from it.
I think "The Rock" is their best film, due mostly to the actors.
Basically, a good action movie but too much B.S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darth-Jeyl review The Rock-Criterion Collection, March 24, 2001
By 
"darth-jeyl" (Asheville, NC USA) - See all my reviews
Hey, Darth-Jeyl here, about to review the Rock-CC (Criterion Collection).
When I first saw the Rock back in 1996, it immediately became one of my favorite action movies of that year. It was for me, so rare to see an action film that was so focused on its story, character development, and at the same time be very entertaining. The story was good, the characters believable, the acting was solid, the soundtrack was powerful, and the directing was excellent. When the film was introduced to DVD for the first time in 1997, it left a lot to be desired. The DVD transfer for the film came straight from the Laser Disc version, and was non-anamorphic (Not enhanced for widescreen TV's). The DVD was also featureless, carrying only the teaser trailer for the film. The only good thing about the DVD was it's 5.1 Dolby Digital surround track. Four years later, when I heard about a Criterion version of the film coming out to DVD, I had low hopes. Why? Let me explain. This is the second time Michael Bay has released one of his films from Criterion. The first movie he launched from Criterion was Armageddon. Though the DVD featured a lot of extras, a 5.1 Dolby surround, and a new digital transfer, the video wasn't Anamorphic. That was a big disappointment, since the other DVD version of the film wasn't anamorphic either. So, when I heard that Michael Bay was re-releasing the Rock as a 2 disc Criterion edition, I thought it was going to be like the Armageddon Criterion Edition. Now that I got the DVD, let's move on to the full review.
Story: When a highly decorated, retired Marine General (Ed Harris) and his army seize a stockpile of chemical weapons, and take over Alcatraz (aka The Rock), he demands Restitution to the families of the soldiers that died in covert operations. If the payment is refused, he will launch the chemical weapons at the heart of San Francisco. As the Pentagon debates on how to handle the situation, they decide to send an elite Navy Seal team to go into Alcatraz, disarm the weapons, and take the island. Since the power of the chemical weapons is extreme, they bring in an FBI Chemical Expert, Stanley Goodspeed(Nicolas Cage) to help them with the disarmament. The problem, how do you get into Alcatraz? Since all known experts on the island are dead, they bring in a former Alcatraz prisoner John Mason(Sean Connery) who once escaped Alcatraz, to assist the team on getting in. Thanks to Mason's knowledge, the team makes it into the island undetected. However, after walking in to an unsuspected trap, everyone on the team except Mason and Goodspeed are killed. Now, it's up to a chemical freak who has never seen combat, and a former prisoner who hasn't seen combat for over 30 years, to carry out the mission alone. Their problem? They've got 20 professionally trained killer marines on the hunt for them, 15 deadly chemical weapons to defuse, the entire population of San Francisco to save, and only 15 hours to complete the mission.
Disc 1-The Movie: The Rock on Disc 1, is presented in it's original aspect ratio 2.35:1 in an anamorphic transfer. Which means it's ENHANCED! Not only that, but it's also got a new digital transfer that looks absolutely gorgeous. There are hardly any signs of grain, the colors look very solid, and the letterbox framing is very accurate. This is one of the best transfers Criterion has ever released for a film. For the audio side, we get 4 audio tracks. A Dolby Digital and DTS 5.1 surround sound tracks, a 2.0 Dolby surround, and a Commentary Track. To sum up the audio for ya, if you have a 5.1 Dolby or DTS setup, it will destroy your home. From the beginning of the film, the surround sound action is nearly constant. If you want to see what the audio is really made of, go to chapter 11(Car Chase), and crank up the audio. The Commentary track for The Rock features Director Michael Bay, producer Jerry Bruckheimer, actors Nicolas cage and Ed Harris, and technical advisor (and ex-Navy SEAL) Harry Humphries. Please keep in mind that this is not a group commentary. This is one of those commentaries where each participant recorded their portion separately and were than edited together. I know a lot of people who despise these types of tracks, but for this particular one, it really works. Each participant has something very useful to say about almost every scene in the movie. If you really want to know a lot more about the Rock, check out this track, it's actually the best part of the whole set in my opinion.
Disc 2-The Features: For the second disc, we get an average amount of features that are common on almost every 2 disc set. There is a lengthy interview with Jerry Bruckhimer that I found quite nice, an analysis of the dive sequence which is really cool(All those swimmers were puppets!), a movie magic episode on the film's special effects, a really nice documentary about the dos and don'ts of Hollywood gunplay, a documentary on Alcatraz itself which covers almost every aspect of the island's history, promotional material such as trailers, TV spots, and The Rock world premiere on the Alcatraz island itself, and a bunch of story boards and production drawings.
Final Comments: Well, this disc was a pleasure to get. I can finally watch the Rock as it was originally intended on my 16x9 television. I'm glad Criterion did all the right stuff with this DVD.
Goods: Great movie, good acting, Excellent Transfer, Great sound, wonderful commentary track, nice extras, and ENHANCED!
Bads: Though the second disc has many extras, some of them have almost nothing to do with the movie. Many people might find some of the extras pointless.
Darth-Jeyls rating: 8 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Rock [Blu-ray]
The Rock [Blu-ray] by Michael Bay (Blu-ray - 2008)
$14.99 $9.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.