Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


148 of 152 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leave your name and number and I'll get back to you
First let me say, this review is not of the company that puts out this dvd or the manner in which the dvd was released. I agree they should have all the movies together in one set and could have made it match the seasons. But, movie and music companies always leave something to be desired in how they release things so I am not gonna write a review of that. I am writing...
Published on October 29, 2009 by C. Gregory

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's My Volume 2?
Here's an upset customer: Don't get me wrong--the content is wonderful: "The Rockford Files". But what happened to Volume 2? There's nothing worse than buying a home video from a supplier that first introduces a product by dangling the possibility of another volume to complete the movie series, and then--nothing. What happened, man? Volume 1 didn't make enough profit for...
Published 5 months ago by Dr. Morbius


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockford Rocks!, November 24, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Movie Collection - Volume 1 (DVD)
I have grown up watching The Rockford Files. I have purchased all 6 seasons and enjoy watching them! This movie collection is no different. I was thrilled when I found that the Rockford movies!

The movies included in these 2 discs include:

* I Still Love LA
* A Blessing in Disguise
* If The Frame Fits...
* Godfather Knows Best

You won't regret buying this movie collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where Have You Gone, James Garner?, August 17, 2009
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Movie Collection - Volume 1 (DVD)
I believe the original 1970's television series "The Rockford Files" was one of the finest drama series ever made. This was largely on the strength of the performance of James Garner in the starring role, in addition to the fine scripts by people like Steven Cannell, David Chase and others. Garner NEVER put in a bad performance, something that few actors of even the most successfull series can say. The stories, both those that had more comic aspects (such as those with the unforgettable character Angel, played by Stuart Margolin) or those with a more serious storyline always kept the attention of the audience and provided top entertainment. Few other series can say this.

HAVING SAID THIS, I am afraid that I can not wholeheartedly recommend the movies that made up the revival of the series in the 1990's. These movies fell victim to the common problem of all revivals using a famous older star. Whether or not they are concious of it or not, they are being paid a fortune, they have nothing to prove, they usually don't have the energy they had when they were young, and they know that the show can not be made without them. This almost inevitably has the actor ease up and it frequently seems that they are simply going through the motions. Unfortunately we see this syndrome in these movies. As fine an actor as Garner was in his glory days, by the time these movies came along, he simply was not the same man. In addition, the nature of television had changed between the 1970's and 1990's. The 1970's had directing oriented towards a "natural" feel regarding lighting, sets, camera angles and such. In the 1990's there is something more of a "surreal" feeling in which rather unnatural lighting is used and the furnishing of the sets seems sterile compared to that of the earlier period, which I personally don't care for. Also, because of changing taste, things like profanity and explicit talk about sex became more accepted and this is often used as an out for lazy writers who don't have to work hard in order to make more creative stories, relying simply on the decreasing shock value to hold the audience's attention.
It is also sad to see fine supporting actors such as Joe Santos and Pat Finley (Jim's pal Dennis Becker and his wife, Peggy) who were so dynamic in the original series seemingly becoming aging relics. James Luisi, who was so good as Rockford's nemesis Lt. Chapman in the LAPD here appears as simply a goofy caricature.

The bottom line is that these movies are yet another proof of Thomas Wolfe's immortal line "You Can't Go Home Again".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockford files volume 1 TV movies, November 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Movie Collection - Volume 1 (DVD)
Anyone who truly loved the TV series will love these movies. They are clever, well written, the sound is excellent,
the picture is excellent, and James Garner is wonderful! Its great to see all of the regular actors return, except for Rocky (Noah Berry Jr) as he had passed on!! All in all I recommend getting this two disc set, can't wait for
the next set, thank you, Universal Studios, for putting out this set. It is enjoyable to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WISH THERE WERE MORE, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Movie Collection - Volume 1 (DVD)
Binge watched these four updated movies & am heartbroken there aren't any more available on DVD. The older, wiser, refreshed Rockford was a treat for all of us & very tastefully dealt with "Rocky's" passing from the show & from real life, a true loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Real 70's Show!, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Movie Collection - Volume 1 (DVD)
This is the ultimate 70's show! It's all there : LA,the beach, the fast car,( vintage 74-78Firebirds all gold in color), a handsome Jim Garner as the leading character,private detective Jim Rockford. Add in the supporting characters and each hour is magic.His friend "Angel"(Stuart Margolin) the frantic hair-brained ex-con friend whose scheming and self serving antics exasperate Rockford. Then there is Beth Davenport(Gretchen Corbin) a fair-haired female attorneyalways on standby to ease the pain of trouble Rockfords is getting into whilst detecting and add Joseph Rockford( Noah Beery) an old fashioned hands on father who worries and shares the worry over his son's daily exploits. Always there is Rockford's quest to solve crime and seek out the villians who he eventually brings to justice often with the assistance/interferece of local police and especially with detective Sergeant Becker who not always sees his detecting as helpful . This is a good story laced with lots of laughs and takes one back to a social cultural time that was still dawning in the age of Aquarius . One cannot help enjoy the Rockford Files.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like TRF, you have to have this DVD set, June 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Movie Collection - Volume 1 (DVD)
As a longtime Rockford fan, I was so glad to see Universal finally release the show on DVD. I have all the DVD releases and they are all done well. This includes all six seasons plus the first four CBS Rockford movies. The only regret I have is that the last four CBS TV Rockford movies have yet (as of June, 2011) to be released. But, since I have DVDs of these shows copied from TV, it could be worse. Still, I hope Universal releases those movies sometime soon. I do have one minor complaint and that is the First Season, at least my copy, was done on two sided DVDs which requires better care. The rest are on single sided DVDs. If you like TRF, you need the set. As an aside, Yahoo has a group, TheRockfordFiles which has many members and is a good source for information on the history of the show and much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't go wrong with James Garner!, July 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Movie Collection - Volume 1 (DVD)
We (my family)like watching the Rockford Files because you can enjoy it without excessive violence or vulgarity, unlike the new stuff on TV today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say? It's James Garner!, March 24, 2013
By 
Hyzenthlay (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Movie Collection - Volume 1 (DVD)
If James Garner doesn't do it for you, you don't want this movie collection. They're all good, but having a stepson like the fine fellow in "Godfather Knows Best," I can tell you that was the biggest fantasy ending I've ever seen. Should have had Glenda the Good Witch fly down, warble something, and just *prang* him with her wand. The real deadbeats don't get those epiphanies. Well, rarely. They're more like Angel, just moving on to someone else to con.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please !, October 16, 2010
By 
Kate (Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Movie Collection - Volume 1 (DVD)
I have read all of the other reviews before me, and agree with some and disagree with others. Firstly, as others have said I loved The Rockford Files. It is hard to dislike anything that James Garner is in. And that is the case for me with this set. I am amazed that the role was so well reprised so many years after the original series was made. Even though older, Rockford still seems much the same, and more. Perhaps he seems more life experienced. The character seems more mellow and warm in his relationships and this is appropriate for the age of the actor, and makes his character continue to be charismatic. That his character is still physical allows the continuity necessary for the role to be so successfully reprised. Please bring on any more movies that were made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockford Returns!, July 24, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Movie Collection - Volume 1 (DVD)
The Rockford Files have always been one of my favorites from the great 1970's.
James Garner and his cast were first rate in acting and the photography was great,
allowing the viewer to be part of the stories. Unfortunately, James Garner became ill and could not finish the last season.

I was so anxious to see Jim's return in the Rockford Files Movie Collection Vol. I. Very sad, Noah Beery had passed away and was greatly missed. Loved Noah's
photo on Jim's desk. Jim returned with great episodes with a great cast! Cannot
wait for Vol. 2 to be released.

I have all the Rockford Files in my library and always find all episodes very interesting, creative and great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Rockford Files: Movie Collection - Volume 1
$26.98 $15.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.