Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Book is in Good condition: All pages are intact. No underlined paragraphs or ink notes. May have small notes in pencil. May be a few pages with highlighting. Minor wear to pages and cover. Please email with any condition questions. Ships within 1 to 2 business days. We guarantee all of our items, your satisfaction is our main priority.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $0.70
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • The Romantic Music of Schoenberg: Verklärte Nacht, Pelleas und Melisande
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

The Romantic Music of Schoenberg: Verklärte Nacht, Pelleas und Melisande

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, September 24, 2002
"Please retry"
$9.95 $2.74

Product Details

  • Audio CD (September 24, 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Telarc
  • ASIN: B000003D0B
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #86,869 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Sehr Langasm
2. Etwas Bewegter
3. Schwer Betont
4. Sehr Breit Und Langsam
5. Sehr Ruhig
6. Anfang
7. Sehr Rasch
8. Ein Wenig Bewegt
9. Sehr Langsam

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By David Saemann VINE VOICE on June 9, 2009
Format: Audio CD
Given Yoel Levi's penchant for Shostakovich and Sibelius, it may seem odd for him to be turning his attention to an arch modernist like Schoenberg. Of course, the two works on this disc are safely in Late Romantic terrain. Transfigured Night is beautifully played, with all the beautiful string tone and fine ensemble one expects from the Atlanta Symphony. That said, Levi tends to distance himself from the emotion of the work, preferring to elucidate the textures without building up high drama. Those of you familiar with the classic Horenstein recording may miss its fevered pitch. Pelleas and Melisande is expertly dispatched. The unusual woodwind and string sonorities that became a settled feature of Schoenberg's orchestral works are exceptionally vivid, though delicate when required. Here Levi responds fully to the drama of the piece, and there never is a dull moment. Sound quality throughout the disc is very good to excellent. I remember paying full price for this CD. At its new reduced price, it is a real steal. Those of you who only want one recording of these works may want to consider the excellent pairing of them by Karajan.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in