Customer Reviews


387 Reviews
5 star:
 (252)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little x-men, dash of buffy, and a whole lotta awesome
I picked this book up on a whim while at the bookstore. Just seemed really interesting. Once I started reading I didn't want to put it down. There is just enough humor to keep it from feeling overly stuffy and just enough intrigue to keep it from being overly fluffy. The idea of a secret spy agency that is designed to monitor the world's supernatural goings-on is not a...
Published on January 8, 2012 by texasflower

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent start with a very pronounced slope
Yeah, so the premise of the novel is that Mwfffwwnnxxzzy or whatever her name is loses her memory in some sort of strange and unexplained attack. She has weird powers and is in possession of 80 billion letters from her past/real self (I mean honestly, the sheer amount of verbiage from her former self is bananas). She's part of some supernatural spy agency and is one of...
Published 22 months ago by BH


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little x-men, dash of buffy, and a whole lotta awesome, January 8, 2012
This review is from: The Rook: A Novel (Hardcover)
I picked this book up on a whim while at the bookstore. Just seemed really interesting. Once I started reading I didn't want to put it down. There is just enough humor to keep it from feeling overly stuffy and just enough intrigue to keep it from being overly fluffy. The idea of a secret spy agency that is designed to monitor the world's supernatural goings-on is not a new one, but the author takes it and makes it his own. There are definite parts of the book/plot that remind me of xmen, buffy the vampire slayer, xfiles, harry potter - but at the same time not in a bad way. The book melds all those together very well. It's a good read from start to finish. I look forward to reading more from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wry humor, unusual supernatural beings, and a deeply absorbing mystery!, January 12, 2012
This review is from: The Rook: A Novel (Hardcover)
When I think of The Rook the first word that comes to mind is 'fun.' Great fun actually. But to simply say that The Rook is 'fun' would be facile on my part. The Rook is a terrific read for a lot of reasons.

Foremost The Rook is very well written. The mystery of why Myfanwy Thomas is without her memory and who did what to whom is hard to crack. As soon as I'd thought I'd figured it out, the story proved me wrong. Not because of authorial plot shenanigans, but because the unraveling of the mystery was very well handled. I really enjoyed how this is done with new Myfanwy being aided by information left behind by old Myfanwy. Myfanwy is a wonderful character. She's trying to figure out how to do her job as Rook and racing against time to find who in the Chequy harmed her and why. The Rook is not a short read (nearly 500 pages), but I barely noticed the length.

The Chequy is itself amazing. It's a fantastical governmental agency. Think FBI/CIA rolled into one that handles supernatural threats. Yes, other supernatural agencies exist in literature, but none quite like the Chequy. How the Chequy functions is explained well, but never bogs down the story. I really enjoyed seeing how the Chequy works, how threats are handled, and meeting the people with whom Myfanwy works, despite that fact that one of them wants her erased. Mr. O'Malley's scrupulous attention to detail creates a believable, if somewhat unusual, governmental agency.

The upper echelon of the Chequy are fascinating characters themselves. Because Myfanwy is trying to figure out which of them might be after her, we get to know each of them well. I certainly enjoyed learning about them and their powers... and trying to figure out who did it and why.

Mr. O'Malley has infused The Rook with wry humor, unusual supernatural beings, and a deeply absorbing mystery. The Rook made me laugh out loud, entertained me, and kept me fascinated from start to finish.

I give The Rook 5 Qwills.

Posted at The Qwillery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shut Up and Take My Money!, April 20, 2012
This review is from: The Rook: A Novel (Hardcover)
About once a week I get really excited about a new novel I'm reading, declaring that it might just be the best book I've read all year. Ask my friends, they'll resignedly confirm this. In keeping with tradition, 80 pages into The Rook by Daniel O'Malley my excitement was running full bore. "You have to buy this book! It is so freaking awesome!" I would say. Their reply: finish the book, write a review, and then tell us to buy it. Yeah well I've finished the book, this is me writing the review, and at the very end I'm going to tell you to buy it.

If you look up reviews or descriptions of The Rook you are bound to come away with a quite the impression. I've seen comparisons made to X-Men, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Ghostbusters, Monty Python, Men in Black, The Maltese Falcon, and The Bourne Identity. I would agree with those comparisons and hazard to throw in a few comparisons of my own. The Rook also blends the supernatural and the mundane like Lev Grossman's The Magicians, and may even be considered reminiscent of some of the creepier episodes of Doctor Who. So yeah, that is a lot to take in. It sounds like this O'Malley guy took a sci-fi/fantasy buffet and crammed it all in a blender. Fortunately the result isn't some hideous fictional slop, but a genre-bending supernatural spy thriller smoothie.

Myfanwy Thomas opens her eyes and she is not who she was. Surrounding her are dead men wearing suits and latex gloves. She is aching from a serious beating and soaked to the bone from the rain. In her pocket is a letter from her body's previous occupant warning her of an imminent threat to her life. She is given two options: run away and live in comfort or find out who has betrayed her and given her a wicked case of amnesia. And so begins Myfanwy's service in Her Majesty's Supernatural Secret Service.

I cannot believe that The Rook is Daniel O'Malley's debut novel. Seriously. I know of plenty notable authors that go their whole career without writing anything near as inventive and entertaining as The Rook. It's almost criminal how good this book is. It even has an amnesia plot for God's sake! Amnesia plots are usually so awful. Myfanwy, without Myfanwy (pronounced like Tiffany but with an `M') I'm not sure O'Malley could have pulled it off. Myfanwy is thrust into the cloak and dagger world of the Chequy, a secret organization dedicated to defending Queen and Country against paranormal threats, with only letters from her pre-amnesia self for guidance. The two Myfanwy's really can be considered separate characters. The pre-amnesia version is shy and soft spoken, an excellent administrator with the disturbing knowledge of her impending doom. The post-amnesia version is much more assertive but still finds herself in way over her head as she adjusts to life as a Rook on the Court of the Chequy. Both Myfanwy's are lovable and the first person narrative is full of wry wit.

Other members of the Court consist of: Gestalt, four bodies (three male and one female) all controlled by one hive mind. Heretic Gubbins, a contortionist whose body is seemingly made out of rubber. Eckhart, a soldier who can sculpt metal with his bare hands. Grantchester, an executive with the ability to release nerve gas from his pores. Alrich, a seductive creature of the night. Farrier, a woman who stalks the dreams of others. And Wattleman, who I regretfully forget what his power is. These characters are both wonderfully diverse and vastly interesting. My particular favorite is Gestalt because the idea of one mind controlling four bodies simultaneously and separately is just the coolest thing ever. One of these super-powered leaders of the most powerful secret society in existence is responsible for Myfanwy's amnesia and she must discover who and why.

Despite being a member of an organization that battles threats from mankind's darkest nightmares and possessing an extremely useful super-power of her own (the gift of control over other people's nervous systems by touch alone), Myfanwy is a glorified paper pusher. She is a bureaucrat and a darn good one at that. Not only must she adjust to a new life and conduct investigation into the traitor, but she is also responsible for the daily domestic affairs of the Chequy. The Chequy is an absurdly cool organization and I would love to see some of the action from the combat personnel but O'Malley does a superb job of infusing Myfanwy's occupation with action. Reading about Myfanwy conducting operations from her office is thrilling enough and when she finally does roll up her sleeves and gets some dirt (or fungus) on her hands it is even better.

The Chequy's long standing enemies, the Grafters are equal parts disturbing and awesome. A scientific brotherhood of fleshcrafters get an A+ for originality. The threat the Grafters pose is substantial and despite all the danger and suspense O'Malley layers in copious amounts of humor. There is one paragraph listing all sorts of supernatural horrors that had me laughing all the way through. The Rook is a sort of meta-book, much in the way that The Cabin in The Wood is a movie that encompasses the whole of the horror genre. The Rook is one half homage, one half spoof, and one half evolution of the genre. Don't check my math on that.

It goes without saying (because I've been drooling in affection for the last seven paragraphs) that The Rook is an amazing novel. Fun and imaginative, O'Malley has written an instant classic. The ending remains my only complaint, once again I have come across a sort of anti-climax, but don't let that prevent you from buying this one. O'Malley has a bright future paved in gold and I simply cannot wait for the next Chequy novel. The Rook is the best book I've read all year, go buy it.

*The magical Goatfairy grants The Rook by Daniel O'Malley, 10 out of 10 cheesewands*

Nick Sharps
Goatfairy Review Blog
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book makes me angry, February 6, 2012
By 
R. Garcia "Gadget lover" (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rook: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
If you're actually reading a review of a book then I imagine you've been in this situation before. You turn the last page (swipe the last location, whatever) of a fantastic book and then it hits you.

It's over.

That book that so completely swallowed you whole has ended and there's no more. No more exciting revelations. No more interesting characters. No more wondering what's on the next page because there is no next page.

And then the anger sets in. Anger because you know, no matter what, the next book you read can't possibly be this good. You'll likely pick up something tepid or boring or uninteresting, at least by comparison to what you just finished. And you're angry because all books should be this fun but they aren't, they just aren't.

The Rook is one of those books. So if the brief description available on the page or other reviews hasn't swayed you, then at least you can be warned that reading this may ruin other book reading for a while.

At least until the sequel comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent start with a very pronounced slope, October 24, 2012
By 
BH (NYC, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rook: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Yeah, so the premise of the novel is that Mwfffwwnnxxzzy or whatever her name is loses her memory in some sort of strange and unexplained attack. She has weird powers and is in possession of 80 billion letters from her past/real self (I mean honestly, the sheer amount of verbiage from her former self is bananas). She's part of some supernatural spy agency and is one of the 8 overlords that run the place. Keep that last point in mind as I want to stress again that she's lost all of her memories, identity, and knowledge. Anyway, she very quickly, as in 1-2 days, is up to speed on the intricacies of her agency, the supernatural world at large, and actually very much more capable than Mytzlplx Jr. She runs an agency that is a mix of MI5, MI6, CIA, FBI, Goldman Sachs, Social Services, and Opus Dei and has no idea about any of it but somehow masters everything in no time flat. *sigh*. Reminds of those old fantasy novels I used to read where the archetypal sheep herder became a hybrid of Snake Eyes from GI Joe and Gandalf in two chapters after learning to focus his mystical testosterone and 1/2 a lesson from some dude with hippie hair and a beard.

Anyway, onto where it gets REALLY bad. After a halfway interesting start the author decides that none of these super spies/Jedi are astute enough to pick up on little Miss Amnesia and, even more bothersome, that every little action needs pages of exposition (e.g. "Muffany ate a Toblerone. She did it because she was hungry and chocolate has calories that the human body metabolizes in order to fuel its operations, it also causes cavities, and may promote weight gain. Consult with your doctor in case of..." etc.)

I'm a little over halfway through and am struggling over whether to power through to the end or consign the remainder to my Kindle graveyard. I'm really quite perplexed by the volume of positive reviews as the development and progression of the book really deteriorate quite markedly as it progresses. It doesn't deserve 1 star less on its own merits than the comparison to some of the absolute dross I've randomly purchased on Amazon. Urban Fantasy/Horror is an interesting genre but the talent it appears to attract is really quite awful outside of a few exceptions. Go read the Felix Castor series. Stay away from this one (and Pagan, my previous review, that was a straight up abomination and the author should be beaten with a Kindle).

P.S. Amazon needs to stop censoring reviews that are in no way profane. If this gets through Big Brother it is because I changed two words that, perhaps, don't mean what they think they mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but flawed, August 7, 2012
This review is from: The Rook: A Novel (Hardcover)
The Rook is a fine summer beach read. It's light and frothy fun--with its wild world full of superpowered secret agents and grotesque monsters, there's always something interesting going on. Like a typical summer blockbuster, though, it works best when you're willing to shut your brain off and look past some slapdash plotting and questionable logic.

It's not a knock against the book, but be warned that the "Supernatural Secret Service" tagline is a bit misleading. The Rook bears far more resemblance to a superhero comic than horror story or spy novel. The members of the Chequey are each gifted from birth with a unique, superhuman ability--a premise that feels more than a little similar to Marvel's X-Men comics. (Or--a more precise analogy for serious comic book geeks--with their opulent wealth and chess-based ranks, they're essentially a good guy version of the Hellfire Club.) Yes, there's a vampire, and some of the antagonists are Lovecraftian grotesques, but the book never delivers the dark, atmospheric chills of horror or growing paranoia of a good spy thriller; this is all about fast pacing and big, explosive action setpieces.

Though The Rook's story and setting owe a lot to comics, its silly and irreverent tone most closely resembles the fantasy parody writings of Terry Pratchett. There's a lot of implausibly goofy behavior both from the eccentric, dysfunctional staff at the Cheque and their various antagonists. Fortunately, the humor amuses more often than not (though never quite as much as the author's winking tone seems to think).

The book's humor, however, is at odds with its occasional attempts to build drama. On the one hand, we're invited to laugh at the Cheque as a group of buffoons. On the other hand, we're asked to believe that they are an elite, highly-trained secret agency, facing dangers too terrifying for the average populace to know about. The Rook spends a little too much time with the former to pull off the latter successfully, and as a result, there's a lack of tension when the story tries to switch to the dramatic. Action scenes move briskly, and minor Cheque agents die in droves, but it's hard to take things seriously when characters are only a few pages away from snapping back into comic mode.

The plotting is loose and episodic. It's lively, but not always satisfying. The story begins with a great hook in Myfanwy's amnesia and discovery of her powers; letters from her pre-amnesia self initially provide some vital drive to the plot, and fill in backstory quickly. As the book goes on, though, the letters from Myfanwy 1.0 are increasingly given to meandering anecdotes. And what plot information Myfanway 1.0 does have to give, she provides slowly in long letters that read conspicuously like an author doling out flashbacks rather than a character relaying facts that will be critical to the survival of her future self. Myfanwy 2.0 seems much more concerned with going about the daily business of her job than in trying to figure out who took her memory; all of her discoveries fall into her lap either in the course of her work at the Cheque or through Myfanwy 1.0's letters (which she reads at random, plot-convenient intervals, rather than taking the logical course of reading them all at once). Still, when the plot wanders, it's almost always to an enjoyable place. The diversions are usually amusing enough that it's hard to begrudge them, even when they don't have a significant place in the overarching plot.

The book's rushed and unsatisfying conclusion is less forgivable. A major antagonist is found by tracing a fax number (not through any fancy supernatural means, mind you--just a normal, any-police-station-could-do-it-in-3-seconds trace). This antagonist is then dealt with entirely off the page. The reveal of the traitor within the Cheque lacks dramatic punch, undermined by the loose plotting and a lack of any plausible motivation. Most frustratingly, there's never an explanation for the many prognostications pre-amnesia Myfanwy received about the forthcoming theft of her memory. Considering the amount of weight the story gives to the mystery of these predictions, the lack of payoff is conspicuous.

O'Malley's biggest weakness is character voice. Most of his characters are upper-crust British spies, but they sound more like American high schoolers, frequently using slang and swearing in a distinctly American manner. Nearly all of the female characters, including Myfanwy's meek, pre-amnesia self, refer to other women as "chicks," sounding about as authentically British as Larry the Cable Guy. There's also little difference between the voices of the characters, despite their widely varying ages and backgrounds.

And then there's O'Malley's unfortunate fondness for overly descriptive "said" descriptions. People rarely just "say" things; they "remark wryly," "declare boldly," and "observe dryly." This is a habit any editor or creative writing teacher should flog out of a writer at first opportunity. The tone of a line should speak for itself. Following up a witty line with a "remarked wryly" is like a comedian following up a joke with "Pretty funny, right?"

For its flaws, though, The Rook is still a fun read. Breezy, light, and full of action, the pages fly by. Like a bag of off-brand potato chips, it's not particularly nutritious, and there are undeniably better options out there, but damned if it isn't still hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really?, August 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rook: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
There's nothing quite so confounding as disliking a book, then coming to Amazon and seeing it has wall-to-wall five stars.

"The Rook" isn't a bad book, it's just not worthy of "best book of the year" type praise that's getting bandied about. Too many ideas, too much exposition, and a story that never quite settles down in a single place leads to a novel that it's almost impossible to get too invested in. The plot device of letters the main character has left to herself started out fine, but then quickly denegrated into the author using it as a flashback device. The cheat-sheet of who's-who in the Rookery read like glossary entries cut and pasted through the story to bulk up the word count.

My main complaint is with the characters. It seemed like the "supernatural branch of the MI5" was solely occupied by teenagers on free period of high school. Exclamation points were liberally scattered through the dialogue, making me feel as if I was in the middle of "Mean Girls: The Novel." No one came across as a truly mature adult. I ended up scanning the last few chapters just to get finished with it.

I do read a lot, so this doesn't hold a lot of weight, but this isn't one of my "best books of the year". It's not even one of the best books I've read this month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Annoying overused plot-device torpedoes my interest, October 20, 2012
By 
Steven Rehrauer (Massachusetts, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rook: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
A woman regains consciousness standing in a park, with an array of unconscious or dead strangers at her feet, not knowing who or where she is. A letter in her pocket is addressed "Dear You", and claims to have been written by herself, before she lost her memory.

It's a really great hook! And not a bad plot-device. If you're to solve the mystery of "you", who better to help you know about this past life you've lost than the "you" who knew it?

Unfortunately, the "Dear You" letters are overused, and quickly wear thin. Here's a movie analogy. Imagine that there's two movies; one being the movie itself, and the other being a "Making Of" documentary about the movie. You might want to watch both of these movies. But now imagine that they're spliced together. You get ten minutes of movie drama, and then it's interrupted by ten minutes of documentary explaining what you just watched. Would anyone want to watch both movies at the same time, spliced together like this? I doubt it.

Yet, that's what the seemingly endless set of "Dear You" notes did to this novel for me, the reader of it. They were generally too chatty, long, and tedious. Who, knowing they're going to have their memory wiped in the future, writes letters to themselves like they might write multi-page Facebook updates??

Because the author wants this character to be capable of impersonating, well, herself, the character clearly needs *SOME* help in knowing her own background. A more conventional device might have served better here: A friend taken into confidence. That might have revealed the back story in a more natural way, and would have given the character someone to converse with. As it is, she keeps retreating to private places to read more "Dear You" material, which is (of course) not interactive. Interrupt-itis!

Perhaps because I kept hitting these speed-bumps in the story, I also began to no longer suspend disbelief about the entire magical "universe" the author is creating. I believe the intended effect for the main character's employer was that it feel like a kind of for-adults cross between Hogwarts and Scotland Yard, or perhaps the X-Men. But the powers some of these people have are just... bizarre, and pointless, ultimately not believable. A girl who can shoot insects from her mouth??

I'm about midway through the book, have lost most interest in finding out how it resolves, and probably won't finish it.

It's not awful. Just not compelling enough to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of cliches and convenient plot devices, October 21, 2012
By 
Stefani140 (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rook: A Novel (Paperback)
I was very excited about this book before I read it. It has an interesting and exciting premise. Someone "waking up" in the middle of a bunch of dead bodies with no idea who they are, how they got there, or just what the hell is going on. Then they discover a letter to themselves saying "Yes, I knew this would happen...someone is trying to kill you, you need to find out who and why." THEN you add into that, this woman works in the high rank of Rook for an organization that investigates supernatural occurrences. Anyone who knows even a little about me would know that at this point I'm practically drooling over the thought of this book. Unfortunately I failed to enjoy anything in this book past about chapter six. This book's main problem was an inexperienced author who had no comprehension of knowing how to structure a story well and an editor who fell asleep at the wheel.

My first sticking point with this book was the main character's name. The author shouldn't have to tell me that MyFawny rhymes with Tiffany. Which isn't even the proper pronunciation of the name, which the character even says more than once! It's just a weird name. Every time I saw it the same thought ran through my head, my fanny. Every single time! It always just made me give a little snort of laughter and I couldn't get over it.

Then there was the letters and communications from "Thomas", which is what MyFawny calls her personality from before the amnesia. At first this information was interesting and I thought we were edging closer to figuring out who tried to kill her. But after awhile the information was not interesting anyone. I found myself yelling at the book about how much I didn't care and could we please get back to the plot! It only got worse when the author started interrupting action scenes with these info vomit sections. Quite literally the battle is going on, bodies are falling, people are being attacked, and we get treated to 10 pages about dragons that proved to be related to the main plot...well not at all. I literally fell asleep 4 times in the middle of this information vomiting.

I also had a problem with the female point of view. It was just off and wrong and felt awkward. For example, right after the wake up to amnesia MyFawny stands in front of a mirror assessing the quality of her breasts and showing appreciation at her lack of cellulite. Now, being a woman and knowing a lot of women, I can tell you that women do not behave this way! In another circumstance MyFawny gains control over someone's body who is trying to stab people and her first thought is "oh she's on her period." Again, really? Then we also had a huge problem with MyFawny CONSTANTLY belittling and passively aggressively attacking women who she thought were attractive. Referring to them as bitchy or hoping they slept their way to the top and were really idiots. Most women don't feel that way. I started to wonder if the author had ever even talked to a woman because he can't write one.

Now we have the fact that this is set in London, but half the book sounded entirely American. For example, MyFawny orders blueberry pancakes. Now, my fiance lives in England and I asked him about this, and he has never really ever seen pancakes at all on a menu unless it was a restaurant that sported an American menu. Other Americanisms abound like couch instead of sofa, lunch instead of dinner, dinner instead of tea, cell phone instead of mobile, sidewalk instead of pavement. It just was terribly obvious. It was even written with American spellings. The author is Australian so there's no reason the spelling couldn't at least be more accurate. Then about halfway through the book it turned into "Bloody hell where did I put my mobile!?" It was such a shocking change I actually did a double take.

Finally, the plot was a mess. The main point, according to the synopsis, was to find MyFawny's would be assassin. That was largely ignored and the plot didn't progress at all until it miraculously got solved in the last 50 pages. Instead we had this totally different plot entirely, which frankly wasn't very interesting. By the time we got to the ending I just wanted it to be over, I wasn't looking forward to anything and then it just got more depressing. The ending was so cliched that I just started to laugh hysterically and couldn't stop myself. The bad guy kidnaps MyFawny just so that he can have her explain how she found him out and so that he can gloat about his evil deeds. Then she miraculously turns the situation around and saves herself! Excuse while I wipe a tear from my eye, the hysterical laughter is back.

This book was just bad, there is no other word for it. It has a fascinating premise and a few really good characters but all of that amounted to nothing. Right now this is not planned for a series, and I think that is the right move to make. Please, I beg you, just let it end here.

This review also posted to my personal blog and other book sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subversively Funny, Geek Chic Chick Lit, June 7, 2012
This review is from: The Rook: A Novel (Hardcover)
I've been told I'm a Geek Girl. I love tech, Trek, and all things Sci-Fi/Fantasy. But I am most assuredly not a Chick Lit kind of girl. Romantic beach books and tanning beds do not excite my gears. But if a thinking woman with a sneaky sense of humor could ever elevate Chick Lit to something wonderful, this would be it. The author's a man and probably wouldn't be caught dead reading Chick Lit, but stay with me here.

I won't repeat what other viewers have said--it's all good stuff between these covers, we agree on that. This book, and especially this character--because it's really all about Myfanwy, pronounced, quite accidentally, Miff-any--is as fine a piece of characterization as anything I've seen in a good long while. Wry touches of the absurd and the adorable are lovingly intertwined throughout the plot. My favorite examples: Thomas' pet rabbit (I won't ruin things by divulging its name), oh, and the oracular duck! And a well deserved dragon fatality that reminded me of exactly the type of person I was as a teen (the less said about that, the better). More than once, after laughing myself to a wheezing state, I basked in the glow of this book and thought of writing a very short love letter slash thank you note to the author (yes, too creepy, didn't do it).

Once the book was finished and I found myself unable to enjoy anything else because it wasn't a sequel to The Rook (thank you very much Mr. O'Malley), I found out it's also available on audio and had an equally good time listening. Except for having to push pause while I spent precious listening time guffawing.

Take a chance on The Rook. Especially if you enjoy the funnier side of Charles Stross or John Scalzi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Rook: A Novel
The Rook: A Novel by Jane Rusbridge (Hardcover - January 11, 2012)
Used & New from: $1.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.