Customer Reviews


2,412 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,250)
4 star:
 (719)
3 star:
 (278)
2 star:
 (104)
1 star:
 (61)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


351 of 374 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Twinning Of Good And Evil
The Round House digs deep into unearthing the very nature of justice in a world that is rarely just and seldom fair.

Our narrator - an Ojibwe lawyer named Joe Coutts - recalls his 13th summer from the perspective of time. Joe's position as the only child of tribal judge Bazil Coutts and tribal clerk Geraldine Coutts kept him feeling loved and secure until his...
Published 22 months ago by Jill I. Shtulman

versus
172 of 212 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the National Book Award fool you...
I'm going contrarian on this one. Even though The Round House won the National Book Award this year and received mostly 5 star reviews on this site, I thought it was a poorly constructed story that slowly plodded along.

The overall premise (which had the potential to be interesting) revolves around how hard it is to arrest and convict a rapist on an Indian...
Published 21 months ago by Sarah's Book Shelves


‹ Previous | 1 2242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

351 of 374 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Twinning Of Good And Evil, November 4, 2012
This review is from: The Round House (Hardcover)
The Round House digs deep into unearthing the very nature of justice in a world that is rarely just and seldom fair.

Our narrator - an Ojibwe lawyer named Joe Coutts - recalls his 13th summer from the perspective of time. Joe's position as the only child of tribal judge Bazil Coutts and tribal clerk Geraldine Coutts kept him feeling loved and secure until his mother is brutally and sadistically raped as she attempts to retrieve a potentially damning file. Although the rapist is rather quickly identified, the location of the rape--in the vicinity of a sacred round house - lies within that "no-man's land" where tribal courts are in charge and the neighboring Caucasians cannot be prosecuted, no matter how heinous the crime. Thrust into an adult world, Joe and his best friends Cappy, Zack and Angus are propelled to seek their own answers.

This novel shines for many reasons, particularly because of the urgency and power of the descriptions. The aftermath of the rape is described in unflinching and dynamic prose - no manipulation, and no turning away. One of the ancillary yet important characters - the damaged and conflicted Father Travis, a war veteran - is so beautifully and powerfully fleshed out that it is impossible to not be riveted to the page. Each character, in fact, is realistically drawn, complete with the ambiguities that reside in each of us.

This is a finely nuanced novel that, like a Rubik's cube, examines violence and our responsibilities in a number of ways. One of them is through the prism of religion: the Roman Catholic belief that every evil ultimately can be transfigured to good as opposed to tribal justice traditions. Ms. Erdrich ties in a tale about a "wiindigoo" or evil spirit, which makes a person "become an animal, and see fellow humans as meat." In instances like this, the destruction of the wiindigoo is the only possible answer.

Throughout, Ms. Erdrich uses symmetry as she contrasts one belief to the other. the contrast of ideal justice versus best-we-can-do justice. Past beliefs versus contemporary realities. The dark and the light that reside in each of us. And perhaps most glaringly, the "bad twin" and his spiritually generous twin, named - appropriately - Linden and Linda, two sides of a coin.(Interestingly, within these personas, evil is portrayed as seductive and attractive and good is physically ugly and needy. All is not what it appears on the surface, the author appears to say).

I have not read much of Louise Erdrich before, so I cannot contrast this book with those that came before it. I will say this: it is unlikely to recede from my mind anytime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "My father read local history, `and the white man appeared and drove them down into the earth'...an observation of the truth.", November 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Round House (Hardcover)
Author Louise Erdrich, a member of the Chippewa (Ojibwa) nation, here writes one of her most powerful and emotionally involving novels. Though it starts as a crime story on the reservation, it quickly becomes an intense search for justice on all levels. It is also an examination of the lives of her characters, both old and young, as they face the challenges of reservation life. Their lives, as she shows in this novel, are seriously restricted by 1988, when this novel's action takes place, and any Native American who wants to honor the "old ways" on the reservation must now survive on infertile lands which cannot support him. Their culture has been seriously compromised by the arrival of Catholic missionaries who have weaned them away from their myths and traditions. Significantly, legal jurisdiction over crimes involving Native Americans now involves tribal officials, state police, and even the FBI.

In a powerful opening scene, filled with symbols and portents, thirteen-year-old Antone Basil Coutts (Joe), only child and namesake of Judge Coutts and his wife Geraldine, is helping his father to pull tiny seedlings from cracks in the foundation of their house, awaiting Geraldine's return from her office. When she finally arrives at home, she is almost unrecognizable, so badly beaten she can hardly see, reeking of gasoline and so traumatized by rape and other crimes that she has become mute. Young Joe knows that it will be up to him and his father to identify who has done this. They begin to study his father's old cases searching clues.

Joe is still a child, however, and though his empathetic father wants to protect him as much as possible, Joe becomes obsessed with getting his mother "back," determined to find and punish the rapist on his own. These tensions add drama and meaning to the novel, and Joe's contacts with others, both in his family and outside it, expand the scope. The sweat lodge ceremony is described, the extortion of elderly Indians by a white-owned supermarket on Indian land is detailed, the raucous and sexy (and hilarious) talk of elderly family members is recorded, the "flirting" of a stripper living with Joe's uncle is tension-filled and emotional, the appearance of ghosts to Joe, and the efforts of a local priest, a former soldier injured in Lebanon in 1983, are all described to powerful effect, keeping the interest and involvement of the reader at high pitch.

As in her other novels, Erdrich provides a sense of continuity by including characters from other books in this one - including the priestly Nanapush (from Tracks), who was an inspiration to Mooshum, thought now to be one hundred six years old in this novel. Mooshum, whose story is told here, was also a main character in The Plague of Doves, a book which also includes Judge Antone Basil Coutts, father of this novel's main character Joe, and Corwin Peace, father of Joe's friend Zach. By repeating these characters through successive generations, Erdrich provides a genealogy and sense of history which add to the sense of time and place, and highlight the changes, not all of them good, taking place within the community. The novel, one of Erdrich's best, will keep serious readers totally engaged with its sensitive descriptions and insights, even as those interested in just a "good story" will celebrate the action, excitement, and the issues it raises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


186 of 215 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crying out to heaven for justice., October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Round House (Kindle Edition)
In Round House, we are taken to the world of the reservation through the eyes of Joe. His father is a Justice and his mother works the census, thus knowing the secrets of the world around them. When his mother is brutally raped, Joe roams his world seeking to find a way to return his mother to the world of the living and protect her. He and his best friend Cappy come to understand what passes for justice on the reservation. On his search, we are taught the inner world of spirituality that he inhabits and the adults teach and reveal to him. From his family he learns the basis of his moral code, and a priest describes the sins that cry out to heaven for justice.
Enrich uses details to paint this world. Adults remember the first Birkenstocks seen on the reservation. Joe and his friends locate a stash of Hamm's beer and try to determine what type of person left that brand. The houses are so clearly described, we can envision ourselves walking into them.
The people who live here are also vivid to our minds. Their clothing and their walks reveal themselves to the reader.
These characters are diverse and open to our hearts. Erdrich builds a masterful novel which is well worth the read. When it ends, we blink our eyes startled to return to our chairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


221 of 263 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brutal Rape Whose Story Comes Together Slowly, October 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Round House (Hardcover)
In 1988, Geraldine Coutts gets a phone call telling her to go to the Round House on her reservation. There she is raped and beaten. With her is a young woman named Mayla and Mayla's little girl. The story of their ordeal is slowly revealed in this compelling novel.

Geraldine's husband is the head judge of the Ojibwe nation in North Dakota. He and Geraldine have a son named Joe who is slowly placed in the role of parental child as his mother retreats more and more into herself and does not leave her bedroom. She is suffering from depression and trauma that separates herself from the rest of the world.

Who is responsible for this crime in the criminal justice system - the white criminal system or the Indian system? This comes into question time and time again.

Joe relies more and more on his closest friends - Cappy, Zack and Angus - for support. His father is emotionally distant and his mother is gone from him completely as she stays in her darkened room in silence.

This is one of Erdrich's stronger books. It is heavy and intense with with some lightness of spirit to offset the intensity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5/5 stars - great writing ~ abrupt ending, November 4, 2012
This review is from: The Round House (Kindle Edition)
The Round House takes the reader back to an Indian reservation in North Dakota in1988. Thirteen year-old Joe Coutts lives with his father, a tribal judge and his mother, a records clerk on the Ojibwe reservation, a job which required her to "know everyone's business". One Sunday afternoon as Joe and his father were pulling weeds from the garden the mother mother, Geraldine heads out to her office to retrieve a high profile file. When she doesn't return by the time dinner time approaches, father and son become concerned and prepare to go look for her. They find her stunned, beaten and bleeding and smelling of gasoline, yet sitting in her car in the driveway of their home.

Who attacked her, and why isn't Geraldine willing to talk about her attack? Why are things so secretive and why isn't Joe told something about the attack at least? Of course bit by bit information about the attack, where it happened or who might be responsible is slowly shared behind the scenes, but from the perspective of Joe, the thirteen year old narrator, all he sees is his once happy and active mother holed up in her room, spiraling into a deep depression and afraid to even leave her room. "Her eyes were black pits...." Joe feels helpless and is not sure what he can to to make his mother feel safe again. Joe has an idea and enlists the help of his buddies, Cappy, Zack and Angus in trying to find out who attacked his mother and plotting what they feel would be appropriate revenge.

Although the theme of this novel is a dark one and one might think it would make for a depressing read, that is not the case. There is so much to hold the readers interest in this story. From the element of mystery with the attack, the adolescent antics of Joe and his friends as they try to find out about the attacker, and the Indian folklore of ghost and ancient myths shared by the elders made this a page turner. The pacing and the way the author took the edge off what could have been too much tension and a depressing story, ended up anything but, in my opinion. Although I thought the ending was a bit abrupt, I was more than satisfied by this novel, and plan to continue reading more by this author.

4.5/5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Juveniile Revenge and Coming of Age, October 11, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Round House (Hardcover)
Two themes that are interwoven at the same time.

A poignant story of interlocking themes which leaves one wondering until close to the end who did it and why!

First we have the story of a 1988 rape and why it happened plus the story of a young Indian boy and his friends coming of age in 1988 on an Indian Reservation in Hoopdance,ND.

This whole sequence of events is told in the voice of the 13yo voice of the rape victim's son, who only wants his life to return to the way it was before his mother was raped. In other words - innocence preserved.

Some of the most humorous moments are depicted in the storytelling of the HORNY old grandmother named Ignatia Thunder and her recollections of paramours recent and distant. Her depictions of their attributes both large and smalll are a secondary thrill to the overall story. Grandma Thunder is most distant from any Grandma any of us has ever known. :)

Yet the primary story focuses on Antone Bazil, Jr. aka - Joe and his buddies Zack, Cappy, and Angus plus his desire for revenge on whomever violated his mother.

With a major and subplot this is a story highly recommended for those interested in coming of age and Native American themed stories as am I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking, November 16, 2012
This review is from: The Round House (Kindle Edition)
I have to say, at the very least this book gets in your head. There were moments early on when I couldn't put the book down, and then once I got toward the middle I had an incredibly easy time putting the book down. It would be disingenuous to say the book dragged at any point because that's not quite what happened (at least I don't think so). Rather, the book started to get more complex, and as it grew more complex, it was easy to forget about the main conflict in the story. I'd become so engrossed in the main conflict that when the story started moving around a bit more than I was expecting, it jarred me out of my trance. I was lost, and it took a fair bit of concentration to work through the remaining pages.

That isn't to say this isn't a very good book, of course. It is. And it was great to spend a little more time with some of the characters from Erdrich's "Plague of Doves" (my favorite of her novels).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FUTURE CLASSIC, October 3, 2012
This review is from: The Round House (Kindle Edition)
THE ROUND HOUSE is a well-written masterpiece that I believe one day students will be reading in school, like To Kill a Mockingbird. A coming-of-age future classic that is captivating from page one and gripping to the end.

Annoyed with the investigation progress on the brutal attack of his mother, thirteen year old Joe and his three friends set out to find justice.

This is a spellbinding and touching novel that I found to be most memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


172 of 212 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the National Book Award fool you..., December 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Round House (Hardcover)
I'm going contrarian on this one. Even though The Round House won the National Book Award this year and received mostly 5 star reviews on this site, I thought it was a poorly constructed story that slowly plodded along.

The overall premise (which had the potential to be interesting) revolves around how hard it is to arrest and convict a rapist on an Indian reservation due to an intricate web of Indian tribal and Federal law. But all the strings of the story were so subtle and loosely woven together that, when I got to the end, I still didn't know enough about some of the key pieces of the rape case or the ins and outs of the law to make sense of things. In fact, I couldn't figure out why the story was even set on an Indian reservation or included seemingly arbitrary interjections of Indian folklore until I read the Afterword to the book. The Afterword would have better served readers as a Prologue or Foreword. So, note to future readers, you may want to read the Afterword first.

I also tried to figure out why Joe's friends blended together in my head and realized that no one in the book has a distinct way of talking, making it easier to get a feel for their personalities...in fact, there is very little "dialogue" in the book at all and the character development suffered because of it.

Maybe I'm just too dense to pick up on all the pieces of a VERY subtly communicated plot (but, I don't think so)...or maybe I'm an outlier when it comes to this book's readers and the National Book Foundation judges (could be...). But, I just think books should be enjoyable to read and this one wasn't.

For more reviews, check out my blog, Sarah's Book Shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 136 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Her Other Books..., November 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Round House (Hardcover)
I want to address the issue raised by a couple of people--the lack of quotation marks for direct speech. Get use to it because more and more writers are eliminating them. The first time I read a novel--or maybe it was a short story--without them, I too was a little frustrated. But this is what I have discovered: we don't need them if the writer writes skillfully enough.
The plot of this novel I really like. But I have a problem with a lot of first person narrators. For me Harper Lee set the standard. Joe is looking back at what happened to his mother when he was a 13-year-old living on a reservation in North Dakota. She is raped, a woman who deals with the demographics of who is and who is not a Native American. Joe's father is a judge for the reservation. And the issue regarding the rape is who has jurisdiction, the reservation or the United States, apparently not an uncommon problem. That part I like.
However, Louise Erdrich seems to want to show just how much she knows about Indian ways and often takes the reader off on tangents that have little to do with the plot. There is a birthday party for Joe's elderly grandfather. At the party his friend, an old Indian woman who has been married several times tells about her sexual experiences in language that just is not believable, almost pornographic. I am not offended by it, but somehow in this novel it just seemed out of place, seemed so unnecessary. And that isn't the only example of when I found the novelist to be wandering. Some of these might easily have been used in short stories.
I usually read a novel rather fast, but this is one of those that was slow going because it wandered. But I got through it and will give it, at most, a three star review. And I have decided that I will avoid more Louis Erdrich novels. This is the first one I have been able to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Round House LP: A Novel
The Round House LP: A Novel by Louise Erdrich (Paperback - October 2, 2012)
$27.99 $20.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.