Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Royal Diaries book about Victoria's childhood.
Ten-year-old Victoria is a princess, but her life is anything but easy. Her father died when she was less than a year old, and she has no memories of him. Being a princess means having no privacy, which is why she decides to write her personal thoughts and feelings down in a secret diary. She describes her life at Kensington Palace, attending parties, going on summer...
Published on October 17, 2001 by Rebecca Herman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Queen Who Was Only Human
Victoria is a girl who's family is in Debt. She misses her dear half sister Charlotte so she uses the diary to write things for her. But everywhere she goes Victoria is spied on. The house is bossed around by Sir John Conroy who wants Victoria and her mother to completely rely on him. Anyone who disagrees is fired. Victoria has no one to trust and no friends except for...
Published on June 14, 2002 by Relena Darlain


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Royal Diaries book about Victoria's childhood., October 17, 2001
This review is from: The Royal Diaries: Victoria, May Blossom of Britannia, England 1829 (Hardcover)
Ten-year-old Victoria is a princess, but her life is anything but easy. Her father died when she was less than a year old, and she has no memories of him. Being a princess means having no privacy, which is why she decides to write her personal thoughts and feelings down in a secret diary. She describes her life at Kensington Palace, attending parties, going on summer holidays by the sea, her tiresome lessons, her dislike and distrust of her mother's financial advisor, her worries over the deteriorating health of her uncle, who is the King, and more. In this book, the young Victoria, between ages ten and twelve, comes alive as a very real girl with feelings, hopes, and dreams. I highly reccomend this newest book from the Royal Diaries series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling New Royal Diary!, October 19, 2001
This review is from: The Royal Diaries: Victoria, May Blossom of Britannia, England 1829 (Hardcover)
Ten-year-old Victoria might be the princess of England but her life is horrible. Being the princess deprives her of all her privacy except for the secret diary which is her only refuge. Her personal thougts can only be a secret there. In her precious diary she describes the fact that her father the former King of England who died when she was just a baby, and the sad fact that she has not a single memory of him, and the fact that for this reason her mother treats her like a baby and won't allow her to have a regular life fearful she would get sick. She also describes her life with the tiresome parties, lessons, and going to the palace by the sea. However she also has bigger things to worry about such as her mother's personal advisor who she feels is up to no good and distrustful while handling the fact the her uncle, now the King of England's health is deterioting. Young Victoria pours her feeling out in this book on her hopes, aspiration, and the duty of being princess that weighs down on her. In this book about the longest ruling queen of England you will truly see the feelings of a young girl who is truly helpless about the world around her but still carries hope. In many ways you can relate some of her life to ours today. I love this new Royal Diaries book and I think this debut title by Anne Kirwan couldn't have been better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent debut for Kirwan, December 24, 2003
By 
"royaldiaryfan2000" (Aston, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Royal Diaries: Victoria, May Blossom of Britannia, England 1829 (Hardcover)
I read this book about two years ago and since then I am not ashamed to admit that I have re-read it and looked through it continuously over the years. (...) It's not the best of the series but it is VERY well written and very throroughly researched and an interesting read. I literally felt like I was reading right from Victoria's journals. I can only imagine how much research went into this book! There are so many facts and so many characters and so many feelings that you go through throughout this stunning and beautiful book. I love the Royal Diaries: have them all, have websites, get them all as soon as they get out, contact authors frequently for updates, etc. I'm not just saying this because I love the series, I really did enjoy this book very much. I do recommend it, because unlike other books, it's not the author's fault that Victoria may not have had as an exciting of a childhood as say Eleanor or Elizabeth did. I personally think that Victoria's childhood is the most like kids' today. I mean, when's the last time you went hunting on a safari w/ Nzingha or was married off at 13 to a boy you never met. (...) Give this book a try. You may like it, you may not. But I think the author's gift for writing and eloquent speech makes up for the somewhat ordinary but traumatic childhood of Victoria.
There were a few glitches I'd like to share, but I think these are the publisher's fault.
On the family tree in the appendices, were it gives the number of George III's children in a small side-box, 'George' is spelled 'Georgre'. Also, there is a character in the tree called 'George of Cumberaland, King of Hanover'. 'Cumberaland' should be 'Cumberland'. And Mary Adelaide (she's in the upper right of the tree) had the dates 1883-1897. She was born much earlier than that. Her brother right next to her has the birth year of 1819. Over a 60-year difference. (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book, June 23, 2002
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Royal Diaries: Victoria, May Blossom of Britannia, England 1829 (Hardcover)
I own this book. I really like it. It's about a young girl who is in the Royal English family. Her life is taken over by Sir Conroy, who is determined to make her a perfect little girl. Victoria can't stand Sir Conroy, and wishes he were sent away. One day, she realizes that after King George IV and Uncle William die, she will be Queen. Then things start to get serious as Victoria is tested by many people, to see how smart she is. Her mother's governess De Spaeth is sent away, and Victoria wonders if anyone else will go, too including her governess Lehzen. It was a very good book, with only a little details missing which is pretty rare for me! You should read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V. Good, December 28, 2001
By 
Jessica Cameron (Decatur, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Royal Diaries: Victoria, May Blossom of Britannia, England 1829 (Hardcover)
"Victoria" is one of the best books in the Royal Diaries series. In the book, Princess Victoria is a very normal girl, which is rather unlike the portrayals of other young princesses in this series. She has issues with her mother and her pseudo-stepfather. One of the aspects of this book that made it more real was the fact that Victoria, during this time period, was a very distant heir to the throne. Some of the things Victoria said or wrote (i.e. "v. good") were very Bridget Jones-ish. This book was a great read, with a very distinct, witty sense of humor that went with it. Entertaining, with historical merit and value. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Victoria, before her era. Great addition to the series!, December 14, 2001
By 
This review is from: The Royal Diaries: Victoria, May Blossom of Britannia, England 1829 (Hardcover)
In 1829, a ten-year-old Victoria finds little privacy and must always find ways to hide her new secret journal. The journal, originally a leger from the stables, recounts Victoria's days as a Princess of pre-victorian era. She speaks of her mother's controlling financial officer and the all the -almost silly - royal customs. We find a very real and believable young girl in Victoria through this diary. Even at such a young age, you can see the passion and wit the modern British Queen was famous for.
This diary is set when Victoria is 10-12, most likely for the reason that Victoria had a real diary from 13 and on. Anna Kirwain's debut Royal Diary is englightening, history packed, informative and brimming of future potential. IMHO, I think this diary also has the best cover out of the diaries so far. A wonderful book to add to this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May Blossom of Brittania, December 8, 2001
By 
Sophia (Northampton, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Royal Diaries: Victoria, May Blossom of Britannia, England 1829 (Hardcover)
Queen Victoria is often underrated, but Anna Kirwan's new work creates a compelling picture of Victoria as a young girl. Kirwan's Victoria is clever and observant and very funny, and reminds us that every dowager queen was once nine and ten and enjoyed playing dress-up. Anna Kirwan's masterful character develpoment makes this a smart and endearing book about a delightful character. The book is obviously impeccably researched, and gives the reader insight into the historical period about which Kirwan is writing. Yay, Anna!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Queen Who Was Only Human, June 14, 2002
By 
This review is from: The Royal Diaries: Victoria, May Blossom of Britannia, England 1829 (Hardcover)
Victoria is a girl who's family is in Debt. She misses her dear half sister Charlotte so she uses the diary to write things for her. But everywhere she goes Victoria is spied on. The house is bossed around by Sir John Conroy who wants Victoria and her mother to completely rely on him. Anyone who disagrees is fired. Victoria has no one to trust and no friends except for her Governess Lehzen who Victoria clings to in hopes of not losing her. While Victoria is even forced to play with Toire, Conroy's daughter, who tells on Victoria and lies to her father. Even the people Victoria can trust like her Uncle Leopold are so far away and she barely sees them. I liked the book but it was a bit tame and there was no major plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, Interesting Enough, January 1, 2003
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Royal Diaries: Victoria, May Blossom of Britannia, England 1829 (Hardcover)
Victoria: May Blossom of Britannia was a pretty good book. I think it could have been more interesting, but that may be because I am one of those readers who LOVES details. My friends that have read it like it very much. Aftern reading Victoria and hearing HER side of her story, I feel as though I better understand Queen Victoria, May Blossom of Britannia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, July 5, 2003
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Royal Diaries: Victoria, May Blossom of Britannia, England 1829 (Hardcover)
Victoria was an OK book. It was a bit boring and what made it the hardest for be was that it takes place when she is only 9 and it's hard to relate to a 9 year-old. It was OK. I highly reccomend Cleopatra VII, Nzingha, Jahanara, Eleanor, and Sondok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Royal Diaries:  Victoria, May Blossom of Britannia, England 1829
The Royal Diaries: Victoria, May Blossom of Britannia, England 1829 by Anna Kirwan (Hardcover - November 1, 2001)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.