Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars do-it-youself repair
I love this book! Part first aid, part do it yourself podiatry. Learn to diagnose and treat running injuries. Shin splints, stress fractures, they cover it all. Then, learn to diagnose and treat the underlying problems.
Everything is clear and practical. Weak arches? Here's how to tape your feet to support them. Need heel cushioning? Use makeup...
Published on August 24, 2000 by P. Tufts

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book is copyright 1980. Old, outdated information on much of it.
This was a big disappointment. I bought it because I saw a recommendation for it after I had an injury from running. I felt the author left key information out of the book. He never even mentions the peroneal tendons (tendons that run under the ankle to the outside of the foot and also to the big toe, and manage the stability of your steps) ... of which I have huge issues...
Published 18 months ago by W Davis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars do-it-youself repair, August 24, 2000
By 
P. Tufts (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Runners' Repair Manual: A Complete Program for Diagnosing and Treating Your Foot, Leg and Back Problems (Paperback)
I love this book! Part first aid, part do it yourself podiatry. Learn to diagnose and treat running injuries. Shin splints, stress fractures, they cover it all. Then, learn to diagnose and treat the underlying problems.
Everything is clear and practical. Weak arches? Here's how to tape your feet to support them. Need heel cushioning? Use makeup sponges.
This is a must for anyone who runs hard. By learning to diagnose and treat yourself, you'll prevent injuries and improve as a runner.
--Pat / zippy@cs.brandeis.edu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent book for beginners &/or runners with foot problems., October 20, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Runners' Repair Manual: A Complete Program for Diagnosing and Treating Your Foot, Leg and Back Problems (Paperback)
The most comprehensive book in terms of foot related injuries & pain. Problems are discussed & practical solutions are offered.
Unfortunately, it recommends full sit-ups vs back-friendly crunches & it doesn't sufficiently address iliotibial band syndrome - a very common problem for runners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Tome, December 16, 1999
This review is from: The Runners' Repair Manual: A Complete Program for Diagnosing and Treating Your Foot, Leg and Back Problems (Paperback)
I was first given this book as a gift when I was a teenager, and I found it to be an invaluable reference for understanding the physiology of various injuries as well as what contributed to the injuries. At times, the oft-repeated mantra of "rest, ice, compression, and elevation" gets old, but it really is on the mark.
This book belongs in every distance runner's library, together with Coe's Better Training for Distance Runners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book is copyright 1980. Old, outdated information on much of it., March 27, 2013
By 
W Davis (Mariposa, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Runners' Repair Manual: A Complete Program for Diagnosing and Treating Your Foot, Leg and Back Problems (Paperback)
This was a big disappointment. I bought it because I saw a recommendation for it after I had an injury from running. I felt the author left key information out of the book. He never even mentions the peroneal tendons (tendons that run under the ankle to the outside of the foot and also to the big toe, and manage the stability of your steps) ... of which I have huge issues with. He also glosses over the condition of supponation, and how to handle it. (Basically doesn't discuss it at all) I felt I knew more about this than the author. Also, he recommends running with a heal strike first. I know there is a lot of disagreement on this, but as an advocate of chi-running, heal strike seems to cause bad form and injuries. I wish I could return it. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs a new edition please!, February 9, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Runners' Repair Manual: A Complete Program for Diagnosing and Treating Your Foot, Leg and Back Problems (Paperback)
This is a very helpful book for runners. I bought it in 1982 when I was doing triathlons and I have consulted it many times in the intervening years and especially recently now that I'm in my 50s and returned to serious running. This book is 31 years old and therefore it desperately requires an update with the latest medical and scientific research plus current training and physiotherapy best practice. My suggestion is that Dr Weisenfeld and Ms Burr team up with someone like Jeff Galloway plus a sports physiotherapist to make this The Necessary Book for every runner's bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book!, March 13, 2003
By 
D. T. Brown (Birmingham, AL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Runners' Repair Manual: A Complete Program for Diagnosing and Treating Your Foot, Leg and Back Problems (Paperback)
I bought this book at a race expo many years ago, and it is the most widely used running book I have. It is clearly written and easy to understand. The advice is practical and non technical--and it works! I have lent this book to many of my running buddies who have had aches and pains, and I have used the book a lot myself. In fact, I am ordering a second copy that I can keep for myself since more often than not, when I need it, someone has borrowed it. I strongly recommend this book for anyone who runs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but somewhat out of date., March 14, 2010
By 
MegRnr (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Runners' Repair Manual: A Complete Program for Diagnosing and Treating Your Foot, Leg and Back Problems (Paperback)
This book contains a lot of good information, and some that is out-of-date. For example the chapter on how to buy shoes talks about shoe glue as though every runner uses it. I've never heard of it. I'm no expert, but in all my reading and research I should have come across it by now if is so ubiquitous. Also, the chapter on how to run instructs the novice to strike with the heel first because it stretches the calf. There is a lot of emerging information that indicates that heel-striking causes injuries and that a mid-foot strike is best. This book says that a mid-foot strike will cause the calf muscles to tighten.

This book is also a bit sexist. For example: "You ran when you were two- or three-years old and never stopped running till you were about twelve if you're a woman, and sometime later if you are a man." WHAT!!! And don't get me started on the porn-mustaches.

That being said, it does have a lot of good information and I can see myself referencing it for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for experienced runners, February 15, 2004
By 
Ann L Davies (Lake Orion, Mi USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Runners' Repair Manual: A Complete Program for Diagnosing and Treating Your Foot, Leg and Back Problems (Paperback)
The first chapter of the book, "I tried running once and didn't like it", was inspiring. I am 40 years old and new to running; this book helped me learn how to start running and keep running without serious injury. It doesn't tell you that you need to acquire expensive gear to start, just start slow and easy. It tells you when you do need to get good shoes and provides solid advice on what type and how to buy shows. I have hard to fit feet and the book provides useful and detailed information on how to adjust the fit of running shoes. This book does not provide training programs, but instead helps with treating everything from minor aches to major injuries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Runners' Repairs, February 21, 2006
This review is from: The Runners' Repair Manual: A Complete Program for Diagnosing and Treating Your Foot, Leg and Back Problems (Paperback)
All those little things that are happening either to myself, or to my cross country runners now have some good solid information on treatment and remediation. It is a great help to pinpoint problems for self treatment first rather than see a physician for nagging injuries that will respond to self treatment. It is an easy read but full of information. For example, the neoprene wrap on shoes for runners that have chronic problems with sprained ankles appears to be a clever solution. Good resource, down to earth, practical!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love running, this book will help you keep running without injuries forever, July 12, 2006
This review is from: The Runners' Repair Manual: A Complete Program for Diagnosing and Treating Your Foot, Leg and Back Problems (Paperback)
This more like a user's manual. A truly useful reference to everything related to being healthy before, during and after your running session. You will even find tips on how to choose the right shoes for you. Learn how to diagnose any discomfort before it becomes a potential injury.

Clear, practical concise, written in a very readable way, you will like this book as much as you like running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Runners' Repair Manual: A Complete Program for Diagnosing and Treating Your Foot, Leg and Back Problems
$15.99 $10.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.