Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best game that I have played in a long time
First off, this game is a 4.5.

Am I the only one that didn't know this game came out? I never saw a single preview of it. Also, every site that I see just seems to describe it poorly, and I had no interest in it. Only after I saw a portion from Jess Chobot did I say that looks fairly interesting.

This game is basically GTA meets Assasins Creed I and...
Published on December 20, 2009 by C. Helm

versus
16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lackluster, but good game
I recently picked up The Saboteur for the Xbox 360 after being hesitant of the title after Pandemic Studio's last big title Mercenaries 2 had so many unfixed bugs in it. I figured the same would happen with The Saboteur and after Pandemic Studios got shut down, that about sealed it for me.

Nonetheless, I picked up The Saboteur anyway out of boredom...
Published on December 18, 2009 by J. Hall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Mix of several games, April 3, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Saboteur - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game kind of felt like a combination of assassin's creed, gta, and mercenaries with a minor hint of rpg. There is a decent sized free roam map with an abnormally large amount of towers, propaganda speakers, petro (gas) stations, armored vehicles, and more to blow sky high. Like assassin's creed you can climb buildings to add more sniping advantages, cover, and well just add to the depth of the game. Don't expect to be climbing like Altiar or Ezio though. I felt like sometimes i was playing a remade version of gta during ww2 in nazi occupied france, you can grab people out of their cars and drive off, run over civilians, there was even the alarm system; the worse things you do the higher the alarm and the more heavily armored the nazis get who come to deal with you. The hint of rpg is you can buy upgrades for example your weapons and cars...also you can level certain things up by achievements, if you go around blowing up a certain amount or type of tower your explosive skills might rise and give you new abilities, if you go around spartan kicking and punching nazis you might learn how to sucker punch. Overall this game was pretty good, the campaign was good yet not amazing, there is almost no soundtrack, its slightly difficult to maintain control over the vehicles when driving, and some of the things Develin say just sound stupid however authentic it actually is.

The reasons to buy this game are great free roam gameplay, good weapons and cars, different spin to WW2 games previously made. Combination of alot of other great games. Game upgrades and nearly endless free roam activities. Also its pretty cheap right now so its a great game for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun but can get repetitive, February 8, 2013
By 
Nicky (ROHNERT PARK, CA, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Saboteur - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Wow I remember playing this game years ago! Fun but can get repetitive. Even when you beat the game there are still side missions similar to the GTA games, which is nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not all that impressed, February 8, 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Saboteur - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Greetings Amazonites!

The Saboteur had a very interesting premise: be a character aiming to cause havoc to the Nazis in WW2 France. It held some promise of something very different from the slew of WW2 shooters out there. Ultimately, I didn't find the game impressive at all. It seemed bland, uninspired, and not all that different from other 3rd person shooters like GTA, Red Faction, and so on. In short, it seemed to be waiting to impress but never quite got there.

Note for parents: this game does have some nudity and very, very alluring female bodies. The retail version came packaged with a free code to download something that made the cabaret women completely nude (no bras, nada). There's also plenty of language in nearly every piece of dialogue. If you're concerned about this type of stuff, then please be aware the game is not suitable for kids.

ENVIRONMENTS (3 stars): Visually, the game delivered well. Areas that are under Nazi control are black and white, with certain elements in color (Nazi flags and lights, for example). It's a very cool effect. Areas that are free from Nazi control become fully colorized. It's a great visual cue, but I didn't think it added anything extra to the game. I enjoyed the black and white with splashes of color more than the color. All the buildings, characters, and vehicles are all top notch; one of the better visual games for the 360.

Since I've seen a lot of WW2 era stuff in games, movies, and photos, I wasn't amazed by the scenery in Saboteur. There's nothing to separate it from the pack. Everything looked good, but there wasn't anything unique. A lot of the elements could have been lifted from other games, and the enemies were all generic. Nothing special.

The sound and music were good. Some parts, like the cabaret, created a great audio environment. Other parts were lackluster. The quality of all the audio was top-notch, but it didn't really create any WOW moments.

GAMEPLAY (1 star): the controls were poorly organized. I spent too much time trying to remember the different combination of controls required for brawling, shooting, driving, talking, opening boxes, and so forth. There seemed to be a different button scheme required for each scenario. You may not have any trouble with this part, so take it with a grain of salt. I appreciate games that keep the control complexity to a minimum. This game did not do that with any appreciable effect.

Some 3rd person games are easy to navigate and orienteer--this game was not. The camera was okay, but it seemed to move in awkward angles sometimes--like when you're climbing a building or fighting. The focus was not where it should have been for the action. For me, the camera really took away from the gameplay.

Driving was pretty good. Some vehicles were pretty fun to operate. I can't say it was great, but it was better than walking everywhere! The map did a good job of showing you the route to take, but the streets were sometimes hard to navigate.

DESIGN (2 stars): the story held out a lot of promise, but it failed to materialize. The idea was to start harassin the Nazis in France by blowing stuff up, stealing stuff, taking out targets, and so on. The missions were all predictable and often repetitive. If you played any games like this, then you get the idea: go blow this up, go get this thing, go kill this guy, go and meet this person, etc, etc. There was a backstory with the main character losing a brother to the Nazis, but the boring mission setup made that revelation less impactful.

I didn't feel any connection to the characters. The voice acting was great, but the characters' motivation seemed stale and uninspiring. I'm not sure why they were doing what they're doing, when they're doing it. This might not matter to you, but in a game wrapped in a story like this, I expected to understand why it was happening. The opening sequence shows a conversation in a cabaret and then you're told to meet the guy in an alley nearby; there's no where else to go and nothing else to do but go meet him. I found that pointless and irritating. Why not just show all of these things in a cinematic? There's no player choice early on the game--none at all.

There is a skill system in the game. After completing missions, finding stuff, and beating enemies the main character can gain or upgrade various skills. Some include brawling, weapons, etc; there are pre-requisites for certain skills, so you can't really customize until later on. The early choices seemed very restrictive, as well.

Nutshell: I'm not sure what Saboteur was trying to be, or how it was trying to get there. The opening sequence seemed more about the naked woman singing than the character's motivation; there was no choice in the beginning and early parts of the game. The controls were clunky and confusing at times. The game looked good, but it never felt like a believable, engrossing game. It wasn't something I WANTED to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like hearing Sirens and doing the same thing 2000+ times..., May 28, 2010
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Saboteur - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
If you go for the achievements, this one gets tedious and repetitive real quick. I like the main story and there are some good fights there; but, the rest of this one is more of a chore than a pleasure. To get people's respect, you have to take out thousands of Nazi installations - the catch being that there are only 5 different types of installations (spot lights, sniper towers, tanks, etc...). I've spent 80 hours planting bombs on the same type of targets over and over - have barely made a dint in the loyalty achievements. Another stupid achievement in a game with this much 'busy work' - standing around doing nothing (you get points for that)?! You will find yourself having fun but doing cookie cutter crap in a seemingly endless sprawl of Nazi installations. Eventually, you say 'this is really stupid and I hate that alarm / police siren'. Just end it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Husband can't stop playing Saboteur, February 6, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Saboteur - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
After seeing the review on X-Play, I purchased Saboteur for my husband for Christmas. I thought the game looked pretty--good scenery for a wife to watch while she's in the same room. Neat cars, interesting characters, and famous voice actors. And he likes it, too. He's playing it right now. He gets up every Saturday early to kill some Nazis. I'm proud of him--trying to free France and all. He's a good Irish soldier. He loves the different bombs and ways to get around. He blew up a train the other week, and I thought he'd never stop talking about it. Dang, he loves this game. All the sudden, my husband is five-years-old and skipping around the living room over his Nazi killing. Ok, not really, but he's having a damn good time. (And he's not complained about any game-play issues, either.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Assasin's Creed, August 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Saboteur - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I was looking for a game like Assasin's Creed. Folks were talking about this for a while. I wanted to give a shot. Game overall is not bad, but feels like a downgrade from Assasin's Creed series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK game, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Saboteur - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game has been decent. I ordered four games together, and this was the one I was most looking forward to. So far I have not been exceedingly pleased with it. The game mechanics are a bit clumsy, and the storyline is boilerplate WWII. I'm glad it was inexpensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OKAY, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Saboteur - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
It is no longer supported so do not expect to get additional online content from EA. Overall game is ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars freaking amazing, May 14, 2012
By 
shadow walker (Louisville, KY USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Saboteur - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The saboteur is an extremly addicting, humorus, thrilling, fun game. You play as an irish guy during world war 2, who wants to get revenge against the nazi's. This game has alot of pro's and only a few con's.
The pro's are that the game is very interactive. There is no "jump 20 feet and get right back up without a scratch" stuff even tho it's like call of duty where you take like 20-30 bullets before your charachter say's owch. It last's a pretty good while which is hard to say for most games now days. it took me 2 or 3 days to beat it, and after you beat it, there is some major replay value. the graphics are insane, and show alot of detail from a whisp of smoke to a massive explosion. The weapons are really cool, and ammo is fairly easy to find. The guns are very time-period realistic and each has it's own strength and weakness. There are a nice range of vehicles that have their own strenghts and weaknesses to.
The con's of this game are fairly samll, but can be eyesore's to someone who care's about each game being differnt from one another. The climbing systmem is way to similar to the climbing system in the assassins creed series, and one of the car's names in the saboteur is "altiar" which is also the name of the main character in the first assassins creed. when you get into trouble and are being chased by nazi's it's really hard to get away from them sometimes and can take 5-10 minutes to just get rid of them which is very tiresome and boring. before you liberate an area in the game, the colors for everything are black and white (people, buildings, cars etc.) and it gets pretty depressing after awhile. The game is not meant for younger children beacuase the very begining cut-scene show strippers, and say's "F" at least three times within the first 5 minutes of the game. Think of a 40's version of grand theft auto set in paris. Other then that, this game was amazing.

pro's:
1.) Good long story line
2.) graphics
3.) replay value
4.) amazingly fun

con's:
1.) very similar to some assassins creed aspects
2.) depressing, repitious black and white colors
3.) language and partial nudity

This game is extremly fun, and well worth the money. i'd recommend it to anyone who likes action/adventure games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It Could have been awesome!, April 10, 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Saboteur - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game looks like it could've been freakin' great if they had just done well with the gameplay, which is what practically all good games that just aren't the best have in common. First, the story and style of the game rock, the black and white thing, the concept of being who you are... It's all a classic badass type of deal. Someone already said it was GTA 4, mixed with Assassins Creed, the problem is it is a mediocre version of both put together to be a mediocre game. The gameplay is decent but the whole assassins creed climbing thing blows, theres hardly any control and, like in Assassins Creed, you have the alarm mode where people are out to get you but instead this game it goes off all the freakin' time. You are always having to end up leaving the area to restart because ever nazi hates you for no reason (although I guess that's realistic...) Also the gunwork isn't as good as GTA 4. Overall it's a decent game if you like the challenging frustration type of games where you know exactly what you want and need to do but it's just not working well but that crap pisses me off...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Saboteur - Xbox 360
The Saboteur - Xbox 360 by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
$29.99 $26.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.