Customer Reviews


279 Reviews
5 star:
 (227)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full Screen Clauses
The three Santa Clauses films were a cute franchise for the Disney company. Tim Allen was and still is a hot Disney Property. The first film is a modern day Xmas classic. The other two films were good, but didnt live up to the first films promise.

Disney has smartly gave the public a gift, wrapping all three films in one package. However this version is full...
Published on October 2, 2008 by Bennet Pomerantz

versus
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Yell at Santa
THE SANTA CLAUSE: 3 MOVIE COLLECTION is a three DVD box set that includes all three movies of the Santa Clause trilogy from Walt Disney Pictures. The three movies included are:

THE SANTA CLAUSE-Scott Calvin is a divorced Dad. Much to his ex-wife's chagrin, his six-year old son still believes in Santa Claus. On Christmas Eve, an unexpected visitor falls off of...
Published on November 19, 2008 by tvtv3


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full Screen Clauses, October 2, 2008
This review is from: The Santa Clause: 3 Movie Collection (DVD)
The three Santa Clauses films were a cute franchise for the Disney company. Tim Allen was and still is a hot Disney Property. The first film is a modern day Xmas classic. The other two films were good, but didnt live up to the first films promise.

Disney has smartly gave the public a gift, wrapping all three films in one package. However this version is full screen and formatted to a TV set. Others have remarked that is a problem, I dont like it..but many of my friends and family dont care if the film is the same as the cinematic focus. So I know what people are getting for xmas this year

So at the price of these films it is a good buy at the price and a great holiday gift

Bennet Pomerantz AUDIOWORLD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Yell at Santa, November 19, 2008
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (Sorento, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Santa Clause: 3 Movie Collection (DVD)
THE SANTA CLAUSE: 3 MOVIE COLLECTION is a three DVD box set that includes all three movies of the Santa Clause trilogy from Walt Disney Pictures. The three movies included are:

THE SANTA CLAUSE-Scott Calvin is a divorced Dad. Much to his ex-wife's chagrin, his six-year old son still believes in Santa Claus. On Christmas Eve, an unexpected visitor falls off of Scott's roof. All that remains of the visitor is a sleigh and eight reindeer on Scott's roof, a red and white furry coat, and instructions that if involved with the accident to put the coat on. Scott does and soon finds himself zipping around the world delivering packages through chimneys. He eventually winds up at the North Pole and is informed by a group of elves that he's the new Santa. Scott believes the whole thing is a dream and goes about his regular life. But as the year progresses Scott's hair turns grey, he gains a ton of weight, and his face doesn't stay shaved. Scott has to either accept his new job or disappoint children around the world, including his own son. Special features include "So You Wanna Be an Elf?"; Santa's Helper - a trivia adventure game; and "Making Santa snacks with Wolfgang".

THE SANTA CLAUSE 2: THE MRS. CLAUSE--Eight years have passed since Scott Calvin became the new Santa Claus and the elves at the North Pole think he's the best Santa ever. But there's a problem. It turns out there's another clause to the agreement that Scott made years ago and Santa has to be married. Santa has a year to find a wife and get married. Otherwise the elves' favorite Santa will be gone with no memory of what has happened. Special features include deleted scenes; a gag reel; "Operation Toy Box: Save Santa" set-top game; and the making-of featurette "Inside the North Pole With Curtis".

THE SANTA CLAUSE 3: THE ESCAPE CLAUSE--Things have been going smooth at the North Pole for over a decade. Santa has taken a prominent place at the Council of Mythical Leaders and has been a strong opponent to Jack Frost. Frost doesn't like it and believes if he was Santa, the world would be a much better place. His cold heart leads him to discover one last clause to the Santa agreement. If he can get Santa to say a particular phrase he will be zipped back through time to the moment he became Santa and someone else can take his place. Frost plots his move carefully and Santa soon finds himself zipping through time and living as Scott Calvin in a miserable world that would make Mr. Potter from IT'S A WONDERFUL LIFE very, very happy. Special features include a blooper reel; alternate opening scene; "On the Set with Tim and Marty"; Christmas carol-oke; and "Greatest Time of Year" music video with Aly and AJ.

THE SANTA CLAUSE is the best of the movies in the set and the films progressively decrease in story development and entertainment value through the series.

The only major complaint I have about the set is that the films are all in fullscreen with no widescreen option. I prefer watching movies on my regular television in the widesreen format.

Overall this is a nice holiday collection available at a reasonable price. THE SANTA CLAUSE is the only film of the three that might someday be referred to being a classic, but they're all decent movies that the entire family can watch together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 106 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Right idea, wrong format, August 28, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Santa Clause: 3 Movie Collection (DVD)
I've been waiting for them to get smart and put out a three disc set of the three Santa Clause films, since I don't have any on DVD yet. I agree with most critics in thinking that the first is the best (in fact, I think it's our generation's "Miracle on 34th Street"), the second not as good and the third not as good as the second. I still like some aspects of the third film though, especially the whole "It's a Wonderful Life" aspect of what would have been different if he had never become Santa.

So what do they do? They put out the trilogy in a reasonably priced set, and they only make it available in full screen!!!! I think that DVD sales have shown that most fans want the films in widescreen, so this is ridiculous. I've got to believe that the only reason they're doing it is because they still have a huge inventory of unsold full screen copies, so they're hoping that releasing it this way will move some of them. Well, I didn't buy them in full screen when you put out the first two as a set that way, and I won't buy them now. I guess I'll keep waiting for them to put out the set I want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Fun!!, September 26, 2008
This review is from: The Santa Clause: 3 Movie Collection (DVD)
I LOVE this movie and am disappointed that others cannot just sit back and enjoy this movie for what it is...a family movie to share with your kids and/or grandchildren. Every year after Thanksgiving when we come back from vacation we put the movies in and put up our tree and decorations.It has become a HUGE family tradition with us and it would not be Christmas with out it. I am thrilled they put it in a set and cannot wait to purchase it for one and two share it with my own family, I think this is our generations Miracle on 34th street like someone else said and am glad to have it to share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deceptive Marketing pushing old format videos, December 26, 2012
By 
RC51 (Fort Wayne, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Santa Clause: 3 Movie Collection (DVD)
There is no indication on the outside of the box or description of the video format. I bought this in a big box store before I read the reviews here. If I had known these were full screen instead of widescreen versions, I would not have purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Santa's, December 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Santa Clause: 3 Movie Collection (DVD)
How can you not love these 3 movies. I will watch them all the time even after Christmas. Tim Allen is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Times Three, November 27, 2009
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Santa Clause: 3 Movie Collection (DVD)
These truly are some great movies. The first one has become an annual tradition for me.

Our series stars Tim Allen as Scott Calvin, a divorced dad who doesn't have a good relationship with his son. In the first movie, a Christmas Eve accident finds Santa dead on Scott's front lawn. When he puts on Santa's suit to appease Charlie (Eric Lloyd), he finds himself under the Santa clause. No matter what Scott wants, he is going to become the next Santa. This is by far the best in the series with lots of spot on laughs.

But the time the second movie rolls around, Scott has grown to love his new identity. So when he comes under the Mrs. Clause, he scrambles to find a wife by Christmas Eve so he can keep being Santa. Yep, we've got another Christmas romantic comedy. But it works quite well and is enjoyable.

The third movie finds Santa dealing with a disruptive Jack Frost (Martin Short) who wants a holiday of his own. While he deals with his in-laws and other visiting family, his wife is about ready to have a baby. Will that be enough to make him trigger the Escape Clause? This one is more silly and slapstick. I enjoyed it more on the first viewing. Again, it doesn't hold up to the original, but it is still fun in its own right.

This set contains no new extras. You get the three individual releases in a box, so if you already have one or more of the films, there's no reason to get this one. Additionally, if you prefer widescreen movies, you'll want to skip this set since these are the full screen releases. However, if you don't have these films, this might be your best way to get them.

Granted, all three movies are fairly predictable. But they also offer great Christmas laughs. I know I'll be enjoying them for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite Movies!, September 5, 2009
By 
M. A. Skeckowski (Eastchester, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Santa Clause: 3 Movie Collection (DVD)
These are my 3 favorite movies, and its nice that the box holds all 3 dvd's (it's easy to know where they all are).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Movies; Disappointing 1 Star Collection, December 29, 2008
This review is from: The Santa Clause: 3 Movie Collection (DVD)
Like any fan of Christmas Movies these 3 are a great interpretation of the Santa Claus Tale. I love these movies they are funny and get you in the Christmas Spirit!

However, This "Holiday Complete Collection" as they claim to call it leaves a lot to be desired; Like the WIDESCREEN VERSIONS OF THE MOVIES!! Any true Cinema fan knows that Widescreen is the only way to watch movies, you see the director's whole vision, not just what will fit in the screen, and particularly with the Sweep of Flat Widescreen TVs over the OLD CRT TVs, you would think that a WIDESCREEN collection would be a no-brainer for a commercial money giant like Disney.
I agree with the another AMAZON reviewer who said it's like they repackaged the UNSOLD FULLSCREEN DVDs to CON you into buying them in this set.
Don't waste your time or money, you might as well buy the Widescreen versions individually, and save yourself a disappointing headache and get what you really want!
Love Tim Allen, Love the Movies, currently MAD at Disney!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the Family, September 14, 2008
This review is from: The Santa Clause: 3 Movie Collection (DVD)
These movies are great for everyone in the family. I love that there is nothing remotely offensive for children's viewing. Many movies these days sneak in stuff you wouldn't want young children exposed to. The storylines to all three are very imaginative and each one is clearly linked to the previous one. Only bummer is that it will be released in full screen and not wide screen, considering how many people have gone to wide screen tvs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa211190c)

This product

The Santa Clause: 3 Movie Collection
The Santa Clause: 3 Movie Collection by Michael Lembeck (DVD - 2008)
$39.99 $27.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.