Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 16, 2013
I grabbed this book to read to my son's class at school. He wanted a book that was a "boy" book. This totally worked. It is hilarious!! The whole class (elementary school) LOVED it! They were all smart enough to know that the boy was being naughty and that you really shouldn't try to trap Santa with Bombs and Bengal Tigers. The illustrations are captivating and amazing. The kids wanted to read it again and again. This is a story they won't get sick of. The girls laughed just as hard as the boys. Kudos to the author on a great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2012
Bradley Bartleby is a very spoiled and self-centered little boy. He makes demands and expects those demands to be obeyed. He has even dared to make demands of Santa Claus. He demands Santa to bring him every item he has on his long list.

Santa sees all the bad things Bradley does all year round. So every Christmas Bradley receives only one pair of lovely socks under the tree from Santa. This was the last time this would happen he thought. He went into a rage and his parents tried to pacify him by telling him they had bought all of the gifts on his list. But that was not going to satisfy Bradley. Evidently he wanted Santa to meet his every demand just like everyone else in his life.

So he schemes and steams, rants and raves. Then he starts setting traps all through his house to trap Santa next Christmas and take every toy and gift from Santa and his sleigh.

What will the other children do if Bradley traps Santa and steals all the toys and gifts? What kind of Christmas will that be without Santa?

The author has given an extreme example of the behavior of many children's expectations of Santa and Christmas. Then she shows our children how such horrible behavior is looked upon by others and how this behavior is rewarded by Santa not giving into the child's demands. Negative behavior meets negative consequences.

The illustrations WOW! BOLD! VIBRANT! Very in sync with the story. They will delight and tickle every child's imagination that opens this book.

Be sure to get the book before Christmas. It may help children to have a more positive and realistic attitude about their wishlist for Christmas. I need to send a copy to my five daughters so they can share it with my fifteen grandchildren. Hey, maybe Santa's list will be a little shorter this year. NOT!!

I highly recommend this book.

Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Peachtree Publishers for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2012
To the beastly Bradley Bartleby, no behavior is too bad. After all, he was born bad. The older he gets, the badder he becomes. His selfish demands are always met by his rich parents for the sole reason they are terrified of their spoiled son.

Every year Bradley has the audacity to make demands of Santa with such a huge list, his father has to hire a team of secretaries to type it up. And every year the kindhearted Santa leaves the spoiled brat the same thing, a pair of socks.

Bradley becomes so enraged, he spends the next year building a trap for Santa Claus. By Christmas Eve, his parents have to move to a hotel to escape the danger. Luckily for Santa, Bradley's evil plan backfires and he finds himself looking through the wrong side of metal bars. Never one to leave a child with nothing, Santa gives Bradley the usual socks with a few surprises.

The digital mixed-medai illustrations complement Emmett's witty humor. Bernadette's impeccable skill using dark colors and shadows enhance the sinister actions of a ghastly little boy. Not a nice and fuzzy Christmas book, but destined to become a holiday favorite for those who can't resist a little naughty.I HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, The Santa Trap as a well-crafted picture book to be enjoyed by parents as much as children.

This review was written for my blog, Boys to Books. I received the book at no charge from the publisher for review purposes. No financial compensation was received.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
This book is a winner. All the children I've shared it with have gotten a kick out of it. Maybe it's because of the exaggerated humor, maybe it's because Bradley is so very bad, or maybe it's because it's satisfying to see Bradley get his just desserts, whatever the reason, the book provides an enjoyable reading experience. The text reads smoothly with lots of alliteration and just enough description. The illustrations complement the text perfectly with lots of silly details that children will enjoy looking at and talking about. A kid-pleaser for sure! Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
Ever since Bradley Bartelby was born he's been a very bad boy. Every year at Christmas he makes a giant list of what he wants but he always gets the same present from Santa.....socks! His immensely wealthy parents buy him everything he wants anyway but he wants Santa to bring him presents like everyone else. So this year he plans on making a trap to steal all of Santa's presents. Throughout the year he puts dynamite in the chimneys, trains tigers, and cuts trapdoors creating one big Santa Trap out of his house. Of course his plan backfires and he gets caught in his own traps.

This was definitely not a cheery, holiday book. Bradley was one greedy, angry, and determined little kid. I was a little disappointed with the ending. By the end of the book we don't know if Bradley has learned a lesson or if he will go back to his same old bad boy ways.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2012
When reading to the kids I find the older ones making fun of the books the younger one likes, and the younger one has no patience for the ones the older kids like.

But from page one of this one, which I was reading to the 3 year old, all of them gathered round, shut their mouths and enjoyed.

S'awesome. !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2010
Well if you want something different to the usual children's Christmas picture books this one is it. Bradley Bartleby has been a bad child since birth and with deadbeat parents he's gotten worse as he's gotten older. His rich parents have given him whatever he wants, in fact they've become terrified of him. But there is one man who isn't intimidated by Bradley. That man is Santa Claus. Ever single Christmas Santa doesn't give Bradley a thing from his wish list, instead he gives him a pair of socks. This constant humiliation is too much for Bradley and he decides he will get revenge on Santa, kill him, then take all his presents. Home Alone style for a year he converts his parent's house into a giant Santa trap. He booby traps the chimney with dynamite, puts guillotines in all the doors and windows, trains tigers to rip apart Santa, and builds trapdoors in the floor. Instead of stopping him or calling the police his parents just leave and Bradley's left home alone waiting for his annual intruder. I'm not going to give away what happens next, but rest assured being a kids book it never goes into bloodshed.

It's an interesting book that will no doubt appeal to many kids, especially those who are into horror stories. You might not want to read it to children who can't yet tell the difference between fiction and reality though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2013
Bought for an annual Christmas party for my grandsons and they thought it was hilarious. Good story line and wonderful ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
I am six, this book will scare you but it will also make you laugh. Don't worry it has a happy ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2016
Very funny and fun book. My kids loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.