Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Sarah Jane yet
I've enjoyed this show since the beginning, and considering it's a kids show, I've always found it to have some surprising maturity and depth. And the things that really annoyed me about some of the early Dr. Who episodes (e.g. fart jokes and childish "gross-out" moments) were always present but less annoying in the Sarah Jane Adventures, because of the context and target...
Published on November 19, 2011 by phantomfan

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American fans have been cheated!
Every story in this season is terrific, but the U.S. set does not have any special features. In the U.K., this series was released with a fantastic special feature--the complete "Doctor Who" adventure from 1975, "The Pyramids of Mars," with the 4th Doctor and Sarah Jane. They should have included it in the U.S. edition as well.
Published on January 14, 2012 by Mary


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American fans have been cheated!, January 14, 2012
By 
Mary (Harrisonburg, VA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures: Season 4 (DVD)
Every story in this season is terrific, but the U.S. set does not have any special features. In the U.K., this series was released with a fantastic special feature--the complete "Doctor Who" adventure from 1975, "The Pyramids of Mars," with the 4th Doctor and Sarah Jane. They should have included it in the U.S. edition as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Sarah Jane yet, November 19, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures: Season 4 (DVD)
I've enjoyed this show since the beginning, and considering it's a kids show, I've always found it to have some surprising maturity and depth. And the things that really annoyed me about some of the early Dr. Who episodes (e.g. fart jokes and childish "gross-out" moments) were always present but less annoying in the Sarah Jane Adventures, because of the context and target audience. Well, I'm happy to say that season 4 not only does away with childish gross-out-ness (for the most part), the stories have a more serious and mature tone than seasons past, with more emphasis on character (although they have always been very good in this respect). Also some noticeably improved acting from Tommy Knight, and very solid performances from the other two. Even a moment from Rani that moved me to tears. Clyde, as always, is my favorite, and he has a great season here. And Elisabeth Sladen, of course, is simply stunning as the Sarah Jane we've known and loved for so many years. She will be very missed.

There was only one episode I didn't care for (and it was a huge disappointment, being the one I was looking forward to most), but it still had some fine moments. All five of the other episodes were truly stellar - much better than I was expecting even after three very good seasons. In fact, I honestly think with this season, the Sarah Jane Adventures has finally arrived - yes, it is AS GOOD as Dr. Who, and considerably better than some of it.

Even if you haven't watched previous seasons, do yourself a favor and grab season 4. Dr. Who fans won't be disappointed.

And yes, there is a season 5, currently airing in the UK. Obviously there will be no more, so I hope it lives up to the very high standard set in this season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A happy and bittersweet DVD set, March 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures: Season 4 (DVD)
THE SARAH JANE ADVENTURES started its fourth season with a surprise, the departure of costar Tommy Knight ("Luke") and K-9. He reappeared via web conversations with the main cast and occassional walk-ons.
The high point is the long-delayed onscreen meeting of Sarah Jane and her immediate predescessor, Jo Grant. It's a great story. Even better, it includes a postscript where Sarah Jane gives a rundown of the post-Doctor activities of all the Companions known to modern Earth.
The bittersweet part is at the time none of the viewership knew how ill Elisabeth Sladen was. She and the producers knew. The final episode plays with the idea of replacing Sarah Jane by a new character but .... no, I'll stop there.
The series ends with a fitting curtain call, both for the series, the character, and the actress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saved the Best for Last, February 22, 2012
By 
FYI (Rocky Mountain West) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures: Season 4 (DVD)
No one got splooshed at the end, except for a tiny splat on Clyde, thank you very much! Elisabeth Sladen is wonderful, as usual. We'll miss her. What a gift to us fans that she was given this Doctor Who spin-off. We just finished watching her in Doctor Who: Invasion of the Dinosaurs (Story 71), the one with the wonky dinosaurs (if you get it, watch all the specials on disk 2 first, they include an interview with Sladen, and a great making-of). The team of fine young actors, Luke (Tommy Knight), Clyde (Daniel Anthony), and Rani (Anjli Mohindra) do a great job. The superbly talented Gareth Roberts wrote several episodes, as did Russell T. Davies, and we're treated to a wonderful, poignant reunion between the Doctor's companions with Sarah Jane Smith finally meeting Jo Grant (Katy Manning). This can't be missed by Doctor Who fans of all ages. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still Great, January 2, 2012
By 
Kindle Customer (Williston, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures: Season 4 (DVD)
Considering that this was the last season before we lost Elisabeth Sladen to cancer, some of the story lines this season were sadly ironic, but that didn't keep Sarah Jane Adventures from being as entertaining as ever. I will miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah Jane Adventures conclude, December 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures: Season 4 (DVD)
This Doctor Who spinoff is entertaining and not just for children; it's for adults, too--the child-at-heart, the ones who love Sarah Jane Smith, ending on a happy note, as Sarah Jane defeated the aliens that once more try to invade our world, with the help of her teenaged friends, Clyde and Rani, son, Luke, a computer, Mr. Smith, and her dog, K9. In a separate adventure, they meet up with the Doctor (currently played by Matt Smith) and companion Jo Grant(played by Katy Manning). This is the last chapter, unfortunately, as Elisabeth Sladen, the actress who played Sarah Jane, passed away in April of this year, and she will surely be missed in the world of Doctor Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The show itself is just "OK" but its keeps to its Dr Who roots, December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I should not that I am old enough to remember Sarah Jane Smith from her Tom Baker days. That era was my first introduction to Dr Who and it will always hold a special place in my heart. Whenever I think "Companion" the first one I think of is Sarah Jane! That connection alone is enough to draw me into this show and too fully enjoy it. The appearance of K-9 help here as well.

I stop short of giving it 5 stars as this show seem best targeted for younger viewers. Yes Dr Who is supposedly targeted for younger audiences as well but Dr Who fully understand that it has a very large adult audience and it makes sure that they are served. The Sarah Jane Adventures fall a little short here. They are still very watchable for an adult Whovians as long as you don't expect too much.

Note to all Whovians! If you don't invest the time into this series that's understandable. However you should at least make the time to go back and watch the year three appearances by David Tennant and the year four appearance by Matt Smith!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Amazing Sarah Jane Adventures, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The extremely talented Elisabeth Sladen brought so much life to the show and put so much of herself into it. There was something almost magical about Lis, something unreachable and raw, a sort of acting that just came naturally and was performed with such a passion. From her time with the third and fourth doctors in the 70s to having her own spinoff in 2007 she has managed to brilliantly enchant millions of children across multiple generations over a span of 40 years. She is hands down the best Doctor Who companion, so much so that she was given her own series, and portrayed it so beautifully. If there was chaos and loss, then you could feel her pain and sorrow, and it burrowed itself into the deep depths of our hearts, leaving footprints that would last forever. She made everything, from creatures found in the shadows of our nightmares to the brilliance and wonders of the universe, so real and you felt like you were there. Unlike the alieness associated with the Doctor, Sarah Jane, like Sladen herself, was generally warm and loving. You couldn't help falling in love with the show along with all of the characters within it. Sarah Jane inspired the characters in the show as well and gave them better lives, from Clyde and Rani to her adopted son, Luke. Sarah Jane had this familiar and comforting sense about her and her presence made you feel at ease, no matter the situation. The slight catch in her voice as she confronted the latest intergalactic terror could transport you. It's hard to explain really but she made me feel like as though I had known her my entire life. She brought the world of Doctor Who to life and played the role with such conviction and truth and she never seemed to age, either in looks or spirit. I have found no fault within the series and will, with certainity, announce that this is the best show that I have ever seen and has exceeded my expectations. Sarah Jane Smith, the Doctor's one true assistant, will always be remembered and never forgotten. Rest in peace, the remarkable Elisabeth Sladen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death of the Doctor, February 21, 2014
Having never seen the series I didn't know what to expect. I actually enjoyed it and even though it was a children's series I didn't feel like it was dumbed down. I knew that David Tennants doctor had been in the series but I was surprised and overjoyed that Matt Smiths Doctor also made an appearance. It was a good story and to see not one but TWO old companions was like a school reunion of my own!
I highly recommend this episode, especially if you were a fan of the old series and a nod to David Tennant's regeneration was a warm fuzzy as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This entire series is great!, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures: Season 4 (DVD)
Loved it! Can't wait to see the Fifth Season! If you are a Doctor Who fan, this is a more family-friendly spinoff than Torchwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Sarah Jane Adventures: Season 4
The Sarah Jane Adventures: Season 4 by Various (DVD - 2011)
$29.98 $21.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.