Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better than the First!
I've been dying to get my hands on this and couldn't remember what the advance order delivery date was but it is today! I have just thumbed through it a bit, but even from what I've seen the book is as good or even better than the first. Scott has lately been dabbling in closer shots (as Robert Capa said, "if your pictures aren't good enough you're not close enough" --...
Published on August 31, 2012 by Mr. Lee

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blog better
His blog has better pictures then what was published. I like street style but unfortunately most of the pictures taken was of people who went to the fashion shows. His blog has better pictures of people who can really mix the lows and highs...and they are not people in the fashion industry coming on going to a fashion show.
Published 22 months ago by jenna


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better than the First!, August 31, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been dying to get my hands on this and couldn't remember what the advance order delivery date was but it is today! I have just thumbed through it a bit, but even from what I've seen the book is as good or even better than the first. Scott has lately been dabbling in closer shots (as Robert Capa said, "if your pictures aren't good enough you're not close enough" -- or something like that.)

Scott has an uncanny eye and his aesthetic is just amazing. He covers a broad range of subjects here and, while some of the styles may not be for everybody, everybody in this book belongs there. Bravo, Scott!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blog better, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sartorialist: Closer (Paperback)
His blog has better pictures then what was published. I like street style but unfortunately most of the pictures taken was of people who went to the fashion shows. His blog has better pictures of people who can really mix the lows and highs...and they are not people in the fashion industry coming on going to a fashion show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sartorialist; Closer, September 22, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (River Forest, IL, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sartorialist: Closer (Paperback)
I adore Mr.Schumann's website & check it a few times during the week for inspiration. This book is as good as his previous compilation, except that the pages started falling out the third day of owning it. It is probably difficult to publish so many photos economically but I am pretty disappointed in the quality of the book itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Diverse Collection of People, Comfortable in their own Clothes, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
'The Sartorialist' is the title of a street style photography website created by New York based photographer Scott Schuman. Since it's inception, the site has generated upwards of 14 million page views per month, and Mr Schuman, with style blogger Garance Doré, was recently awarded the 2012 Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Media Award.

'The Sartorialist' website was created to share photos of people on the street that Mr Schuman thought looked great. Over time, his content and narrative has evolved with a fascinating collection of people he's photographed around the world, especially in New York, Paris and Milan.

In August 2009, Mr Schuman published his first photography book, 'The Sartorialist', which featured many samples of his photographs, some of which had already been posted on his website, and many that had never been seen before.

The success of that publication has led to a second edition entitled 'The Sartorialist: Closer', which, like the first book, includes many photographs of people he's met and encountered going about their lives at work, on the streets and in café's.

Mr Schuman explains the reason he calls this book 'Closer' is that he has become driven to understand the individuals he's photographed better, to "bring me closer to the true essence of the person while still capturing them as stylish subjects."

Since creating the website, the author is also getting closer to exploring the character diversity that he had dreamed of. In this edition, there are more photographs of people from different walks of life, like shepherds, cowboys, nomads, house painters and bartenders, as well as New Yorkers and Parisians.

Like his first book, there are some images that will be familiar to followers of the website, but there are many more fascinating and remarkable photographs never published before.

There is very little narrative throughout the book. Except for a few explanatory passages, you are left to your own imagination to figure out where the photograph was taken and judge for yourself the true character of the people that grace the pages with their fashionable, and not-so fashionable clothes.

Mr Schuman has traveled the globe, capturing remarkable images of people as they were. The common denominator is that however they are dressed, or clothed, they all look so proud of their identities, of who they are, which brings us all closer together.

The book inspires us to find ourselves and forge our own identity. Being happy in our own suits is all that matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott the Man does it again & hopefully again, July 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not that many words are needed to describe or review this amazing piece of work. If you are a follower and lover(yes i said lover) of The Sartorialist the site-blog and The first book then you have already decided to get this book. Is a must have in my collection and 1 of my most treasured possessions, it's an easy go to for inspiration on days that my brain is overloaded with style indulgence. And if you have ever met Scott Schuman or watched his videos or hear him speak about his passion, you would know that this is his true calling. He is as close to a gatekeeper of the right to express yourself through fashion and personal style that we have had come along since Bill Cunningham and Grace Coddington. He is of true beauty,poise,grace,humility,and confidence all things needed to create the utmost gentleman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great inspiration book, October 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sartorialist: Closer (Paperback)
I don't agree with the other costumer who said this book is better because the pictures are " closer ".the format of the book is the same as before. It's even close to the first book in the number of close ups they have included. However like Scott himself mentions, he is closer to his subjects. Each picture has a story, more so than the last time.it used to be just about an interesting combination of clothing articles for Scott, but now, in his second book, you can see that people DO matter as well. The subject, their facial structure or emotions,their visual position and background, all that come into play. Schumann tries to capture each person in their own element and habits and life style to present the most and that's why I love this book so much better than the first. Although if you are into street style, the first book is a must as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really a good book and very well made. Buy one while you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved How effortlessly fashionable Italian men and women can look. They truly dress to impress but appeared as not much thought was put into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful Visual Treat, May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Course ordinary people dressed in extra ordinary ways that make them beautiful. Slices of life can be seen and one copy of this is worth more than many fashion magazines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Diversity was good. Trendy city life well captured. Not many new ideas but different characters interesting. Will recommend the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Sartorialist: Closer
The Sartorialist: Closer by Scott Schuman (Paperback - August 29, 2012)
$30.00 $19.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.