Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction to the Hobby.
Warning! Carnivorous plants are addictive. Don't be fooled by that cute little Venus Fly Trap or Sundew and think that you will just buy one. Wrong; one will morph into five, five into twenty-five, and the next thing you know, you will have a great terrarium set up, carnivorous houseplants competing with your African violet, and planters outside that the neighborhood kids...
Published on August 24, 2005 by Sean Kuhlmeyer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
For a new revision, I expected more pictures of recent hybrids.
Published 4 months ago by Michael LaForest


‹ Previous | 17 8 915 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it so much I ordered one for a friend., March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Savage Garden: Cultivating Carnivorous Plants (Paperback)
Very useful for determining the type and culture needed for many carnivorous plants. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in these plants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great information, from the roots up., March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm a professional horticulturist and i've always thought carnivorous plants were amazing, exotic. When i learned in high school that even my plain jane home state, Ohio, is native habitat for sundews and pitcher plants, I was hooked.
I'm finally able to start my CP collection, and this book is an amazing resource, even better than I had hoped. Each genus has an overview, and each species has a very specific outline for its cultivation with things like optimum soil mix and suitability for different types of conditions.
The pictures supplementing the text are good, clear, and usually from the author's collections. However, I like the pictures of the in the wild even better -- I will probably never get to see a meadow of Sarracena leucophylla growing wild.
The author addresses the 'myth' of carnivorous plants as pest control with the truth (that theyre more often predated upon themselves) an even what pesticides work best for which pests.
The authors years of experience are obvious with a casual, informed and easy-to-read book for pros and curious newcomers alike.
Buy this book before you buy that pretty pitcher plant and feed it Miracle-Gro!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Carnivorous plant book, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book for anyone interested in growing carnivorous plants(CPs). It is fulled with information on growing all types of CPs.Every aspect on growing these plants is covered in depth. If you want to start growing CPs than this book will help you get started right and be a successful grower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This has a lot of very useful info. I just wish it had more info and diagrams on setting up terrariums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good job and very informational., February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Savage Garden did a great job explaining how to grow and take care of carnivorous plants. It talks about different species and their origin. Very detailed when talking about growing. Also,it is easy to understand and gives specific instructions on different ways to grow carnivorous plants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, February 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent book! Very informative. I would recommend this to anybody interested in learning about these beautiful plants. Also check out this authors website for more info!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good concise guide to carnivorous plants, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having grown a number of temperate and tropical carnivores over the years, I find this book to be excellent for instructions on the care and feeding of carnivorous plants, My plants are doing much better since I followed the suggestions in the book (though my Nepenthes is still sulking).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is a must have, December 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i am new to planting some of these plants
and wanted i wanted to make sure that i was getting the right soil, lighting..ect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Savage Garden, December 23, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Ann Arbor, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This book is amazing and I think everybody even remotely interested in carnivorous plant should read it. Peter is a great person and alway puts some humor in his texts. READ IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a must have for anyone starting out growing carnivorous plants. There is a lot to know that differs from regular gardening and it is all right here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 915 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Savage Garden: Cultivating Carnivorous Plants
The Savage Garden: Cultivating Carnivorous Plants by Peter D'Amato (Paperback - May 1, 1998)
Used & New from: $2.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.