Customer Reviews


515 Reviews
5 star:
 (354)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 101 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and evocative writing creates satisfying tale
Maggie Stiefvater's The Scorpio Races takes readers to the small island of Thisby, a place where nothing is earned easily, whether it be money or respect. Sean Kendrick has found that out himself, scraping by as a stable worker. He's no ordinary stable hand, however, since he is the only one able to truly control the fearsome capaill uisce, the carnivorous water horses...
Published on October 18, 2011 by Neutron Lurver Reviews

versus
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow, tedious, and depressing
I am sorry to say that I did not particularly care for this book. It was very slow to start with, and I felt it was fairly tedious to read. There was nothing particularly happy that happened at all. Now, I know that not all books have to be happy, but when a book is just... completely depressing... it's really kind of a drag.

The general premise of the book is...
Published on January 22, 2012 by Mandi Kaye


‹ Previous | 120 21 2252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put this down, June 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Scorpio Races (Kindle Edition)
Puck and SEan, Cor and Dove kept me wanting to read their stories. I wished I had
Been on the cliff cheering for them.
I love Maggie Stiefvater writing as it keeps you on the edge of your seat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed the world and characters, June 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Scorpio Races (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book and the characters of Puck and Sean. They both are fighting for a bit of happiness in a world that really isn't built for it and where life can be taken just by a snap of a finger. I thought a great job was done in capturing their personalities and why they would be drawn together. Puck is brash and proud and most importantly to Sean fearless. She knows what she wants and doesn't bother to hide it and goes after it. Sean hides all that he is feeling because he has learned too much emotion can cause your down fall...but this makes him overly cautious and repressed. He lives..but he is not alive. Meeting Puck finally gives him a jolt to wake him out of his self imposed seclusion and makes him pay attention to the world around him. Care about others.

I love the buildup in their relationship. That it was slow and subtle and quiet...fit the personality. I also loved the world created. The water horses and their power and savagery. The island a d its history and bleakness. If any complaints...I would like more a out the world. To me it ended a bit too abruptly. I want yo know what happens with Gabe and Quinn and everyone else. So....sequel?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, June 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Scorpio Races (Kindle Edition)
This book captures you and holds you until the end and you just want more and more I can't wait to see what th author writes next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST read book for teens and adults!!!, June 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Scorpio Races (Kindle Edition)
I just finished reading this story and this book is definitely on my top 10 list of "all time" favorite books, now. The story, characters, descriptions, details, and emotions that this story evokes are incredible. Someone in Hollywood would do well for himself/herself by grabbing this book and making it into an unforgettable movie!! Bravo Maggie Stiefvater! I'm telling everyone I know about your wonderful book:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slow beginning but great end, June 1, 2013
This review is from: The Scorpio Races (Kindle Edition)
I love how this book shows two characters views of what happens and the animal descriptions with emotions it is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, May 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Scorpio Races (Kindle Edition)
Read Lament by this author and liked it. When I saw this book I was intrigued by the story line. Completely original and very well written. Great character development and she really avoided cliche moments. I picked it up on a kindle sale for 2.99 but it's worth every penny of the full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quick read, May 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Scorpio Races (Kindle Edition)
I was pleasantly surprised by this story of racing, carnivorous wild horses. I enjoyed the characters whose relationship didn't center on romance, although there was an aspect of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, May 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Scorpio Races (Kindle Edition)
Another "different from the norm" from Stiefvater. She has a knack for telling her own story BUT with elements that sound and feel familiar. Her characters are fully developed and you can really "see" them . I would recommend this book from ages 13 and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seawater and blood, May 22, 2013
Maggie Stiefvater has already mastered faeries and werewolves. But in "The Scorpio Races," she turns her sights to a more obscure supernatural creature -- deadly Celtic water-horses -- and wraps them in a story of blood, sea mist and windswept beaches. While the story itself is rather slow to unfold, it gives Stiefvater lots of time to flesh out her teen riders.

On a small Irish island, there is a special race every November. Many men and boys ride the capaill uisce (pronounced "copple ooshka") -- the swift, beautiful, bloodthirsty water horses, which want to either drown their riders or eat their flesh. They often succeed.

Puck is the first girl to ever enter the race, but terrible memories make her reluctant to accept a capall uisce, so she decides to ride her land mare, Dove. If she doesn't win, she and her brothers will lose their home. Sean Kendrick is a boy with a special knack with the capaill uisce. He catches, trains and sometimes kills the water horses, and no one knows their ways better than he does.

But as the race approaches, both the young riders are confronted by terrible problems -- the entire village is opposed to Puck racing, and Sean clashes with his cold, cruel employer over a prize stallion. And even as Sean and Puck grow closer, they begin to fall in love... but only one of them can possibly win the race.

"The Scorpio Races" is a story rich with Irish atmosphere -- salt spray, grey stones, ancient rituals and a tradition reaching back further than memory. And unlike most teen fantasies, this one doesn't have supernatural creatures who look like sexy teenage boys -- the capaill uisce are violent, wild beasts who crave blood and the sea, evoking both terror and awe.

Like her Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy, Stiefvater alternates between Sean and Puck's perspectives, giving us different glimpses of their lives. The only problem with the plot is that it moves very slowly, but Stiefvater splashes it with stormy action scenes and a climax that races by at lightning speed. And her prose is simply exquisite -- one capall uisce is "a fearful dull Pegasus with disintegrating wings of sea foam" and teeth "the color of dead coral."

Stiefvater also crafts a pair of truly compelling lead characters -- Puck is a fierce, strong-willed young woman hurt by the loss of her family, and unwilling to let anyone tell her what she can't do. And Sean is a near-silent young man who has an innate touch with all horses, and a passionate connection to the stallion Corr. Their romance is handled delicately, with few words and lots of horse-training; it's also unusually complicated, since they both desperately need to win the race, but only one can.

While recognizable in its poetic prose and haunting tone, "The Scorpio Races" is unlike any other book Stiefvater -- or other paranormal-romance writers -- have ever created. Slow but sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scorpio Races, May 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Scorpio Races (Paperback)
Beautifully written--a wonderful story of a young woman finding herself and regaining her power after loss. A realistic fantasy novel based on myth that easily creates a suspension of disbelief in the reader. The protagonists are warm and likeable, and their connection to their horses is in itself a heart-warming story to tell. Lots of challenges for the characters and a thoroughly nasty villain. All in all, a great book--I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 120 21 2252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Scorpio Races
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
$4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.